David and Goliath (2015) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
119 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A Magnificent Motion Picture
brisca_samuels28 December 2019
I've seen a few movies in my time, but this one is exceptional. You'll have to watch it more than once to truly appreciate it, it is emotionally very complex, it explores love and passion at it's most extreme and it's cinematography is just breathtaking. The character of the David is intensely passionate and tragic without him having to raise his voice or indeed leave his bed to fight Goliath, the film is perfectly cast and perfectly acted. The film has a sort of mathematical precision and perfection to it which is rare these days. It combines action, love, tragedy, drama and politics all in one. This movie is unmissable, all the hype surrounding it and all the awards cannot begin to do it any justice. 10.
50 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent movie
Adambernstein990331 December 2019
Excellent, moving film. I saw the filmmaker's last movie, 'Slamma Jamma' and had to see this. I didn't understand the low scores until I realized they people leaving the low scores were either atheists or 'Angels of Light' (Satan posing as a Christian). The script is emotional, touching, and emphasizes the connections between the characters involved. I loved the chemistry between David and his brothers, it is a wonderful love story to watch. Also, the connection that David and Saul share is something very special. COURAGE is at the center of this entire film, and it will touch you in a deep way, or at least that's the experience I had with it. I suggest this very well made film to those who like epics. It is not the best film ever, but it is certainly a very good one. 8/10 for David and Goliath.
42 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Slow, Painfully Beautiful Film but Biblically correct
rich_boone31 December 2019
LET US NEVER FORGET, this film doesn't smear King David or the Bible like the recent 'Noah' and 'Exodous'

They shot this film in North Africa and London so it had epic shooting. I saw the director's recent film 'The Islands'

David and Goliath seems to be more of a book than a film, with a slow, magical flow, that captures your imagination, or bores you, if you are one of the less patient crowd. The story isn't the main draw of the film (there are countless sad love stories in Hollywood each year, but not every one that honors God Almighty). What is so captivating of the film is its pacing, and it is easy to understand why it appeals more to older people and to those who watch the film more than once. Jared Morgan always is a solid presence in films, taking the movies from good film to classic. The movie touches on the points of what young King David went through that we don't always see, from Goliath to his brothers. It's not a movie that people love/hate, but one that people find incredibly interesting or boring. It's something I would recommend for everyone, but that doesn't mean i think they'll like it. 10 of 10 stars/ Thumbs up
42 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pleasantly Surprised
georgi-sima31 December 2019
I'm a big fan of Chey's first film - 'Fakin' Da Funk' - so I watched this.

My biggest film-buff friends didn't like this movie, so it took me nearly five years to get around to seeing it. I'm very glad that I finally did see it. Expert cinematography, carefully-handled subplots, and rock-solid acting make this film a cinematic masterpiece.

The movie is slow, but I didn't find it boring. This is basically a frame story told in flashbacks. Be careful when watching this movie to note the dates of the various flashbacks, because they're not all in sequential order; however, I found that they were masterfully interwoven. I think the last 30 to 45 minutes are the best part of the movie and well worth the wait.

Basically this movie is being like an old fashioned Biblical epic, with grand looking landscapes and a bigger than life story, or in this case underdog story, in which everything moves slowly but steadily. As often is the case with this type of movies, it's hard to get into at first, since it doesn't really become apparent, right from the start on already, which direction the story will be heading at. But once things are starting to take form and it becomes more clear what the story is going for, it becomes an engaging movie, as also truly was the case with this movie.

I really loved it how things slowly started to take shape within this movie. It also made it more apparent what an actual good and original story this movie has in it. It's not being too complicated either, which makes this movie all the more engaging to watch. No, this really is far from being pretentious genre movie, though it still has some pretentious tendencies in it, especially when it comes down to its acting and characters.

See 'The Islands' to really see a magnificent film as well. It just hit theaters nationwide on December 6, 2019
38 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Loved this....
kellenonderdonk3 January 2020
Granted this is no 'Slamma Jamma' in terms of speed, but I loved it anyhow.

At least the film team tried to stay true to GOD'S WORD.

Which is way more than anyone can say about how Hollywood defames the BIBLE.

Basically this movie is being like an old fashioned epic, with grand looking landscapes and a bigger than life story, or in this case David's story, in which everything moves slowly but steadily. As often is the case with this type of movies, it's hard to get into at first, since it doesn't really become apparent, right from the start on already, which direction the story will be heading at. But once things are starting to take form and it becomes more clear what the story is going for, it becomes an engaging movie, as also truly was the case with this movie.

I really loved it how things slowly started to take shape within this movie. It also made it more apparent what an actual good and original story this movie has in it. It's not being too complicated either, which makes this movie all the more engaging to watch. No, this really is far from being pretentious genre movie, though it still has some pretentious tendencies in it, especially when it comes down to its acting and characters.

9+ for me!
29 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A somewhat flawed but deeply satisfying endeavour into the extent of your faith in God
pkaplan-283-3708022 January 2020
David and Goliath left me feeling complete, with no unanswered questions, or lingering emotions. This can be a good and bad thing, but with the nature of such a faith narrative (the fight scene that make up the bulk of the picture) it is essentially an investigation, so indeed a visceral, but neat conclusion is fitting.

Still this does not merit a 4.2 score. It's absurd and an insult to a great picture.

The film is beautifully acted by an as always masterful Miles Sloman, the astonishingly transient Richard Summers, and the surprisingly great Jerry Sokolosky as Goliath. On top of these three are a plethora of reasonably memorable support characters, including Jared Morgan, among others less worthy of comment.

I found it to appear shot well enough, although there were some strange decisions with regards to camera-work that often puzzled, however. The haunting aesthetic of the African desert is an especially dominant presence, and I admired the way in which the filmmakers did not resort to constant 'sweeping establishing shots' to wow the audience. However, most of the scenes are simply constructed, and I do wish some more artistic decisions were made.

Critically, there were moments where the film left me frustrated. For example, Morgan's sudden emergence as the Philistine was bordering on absurd, and certainly towards the end of the piece, the present day sequences seemed almost cartoonish: a whole host of reliably diverse and colourful characters living in the ruins of an old mansion, sometimes making love, always ignoring the supposedly urgent matter of Biblical characters cascading around them.

Ultimately though, the relationship between David's character and his brothers was thrilling, and the drama surrounding it was gripping to the same extent. This is pretty much the solid, believable core of an overall great Biblical/drama/war picture. The minutes just fly by. 10+
29 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful
lorena0072 January 2020
Well, to begin with, I liked the movie. It's rather long, and I had to switch it off and resume watching later, but I couldn't wait to resume. There are people saying how boring and stupid it is. It's true, to some extent: it lacks movement and tension, but before saying whether it's boring or not one should determine what genre it is. See, there are deserts but it's not Indiana Jones, there are planes, soldiers, nurses, but it's not a war movie. It's a Biblically-based movie and honors God. The people attacking the film are either atheists or fake Christians ('angels of darkness' or wolves in sheep's clothing).

Everyone should also see 'Suing the Devil' if you want to see the spiritual battle every Believer in Christ faces.
28 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Does Not Merit a 4.2 - watch it yourself.
tp47140030 December 2019
I'm rarely at a loss for words.....This movie is POWERFUL and life changing. As the other reviewer pointed out, you must see it to the end to really get the full meaning.

It is rare to have the lights come on after a movie has ended and people staying through the end credits and also seeing tears streaming down people's faces. Once this film was over, I was one of them. I'll be seeing Slamma Jama again, to pick up on some things that went by too quickly the first time. God bless the actors and crew for this contribution to humanity. Do yourself a tremendous favor and go see this film. You won't regret it.
41 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Biblical film I've seen
jalan9429 December 2019
Best Biblical film I've seen.... I don't understand why some people are so against this movie. Many people right away point to the fact that it was too long. There are a number of wonderful movies that are "too long", including Saving Private Ryan, Gone With The Wind, Schindler's List, Magnolia (shall I go on?). I'm a big fan of the filmmaker's other films. Maybe it's just me. I don't know. I loved that the film was shot in Africa and the behind the scenes of how they made the film is incredible. 10 out of 10 stars for me.
42 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Big fan of the director and music composer!
angelagoldsmith609 January 2020
Love the director's previous work especially 'Slamma Jamma'.

I saw the low rating on this and realized all the negative reviews are coming from the same tired jealous bigots.

David and Goliath remains a terrific watch, Miles Sloman is as handsome and charming a hero as a Peck or Stewart, and the supporting cast are winning. All in all, it not only holds up well, it still lifts the spirit, and inspires.

10 out of 10 all the way!
18 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It is a heart-warming, but true Biblical story. What's wrong with that?
stgileshotel30 October 2015
Let's face it . . . the best actors, directors, writers, and especially film production studios out there are not Christian and will never make Christian films. So Christians, in an attempt to make more faith and family friendly films, try their best to put out quality films, and give like-minded Christians more entertainment options that are more in line with their faith.

As a Bible-believing Christian, I definitely have bias here, but trying to remain as objective as possible, if this film had been about a struggling family that finds inspiration in themselves or in some form of warm fuzzy feelings about some character going through some transformation without God (i.e. Inside Out), then, probably this would be 5 stars or less in comparison.

The writing, acting, and directing are competent and above average for the genre but would probably be below average for the film industry in general. Not enough character development, not enough reasons why the family had gotten into trouble in the first place.

It is a heart-warming, but true Biblical story. What's wrong with that? Why the diabolical hatred? Just curious.

Most Christians would find this film inspirational.

I doubt however, that this would make very much of a good evangelism tool to the unsaved. They're already too far gone judging from their spiteful and almost wicked comments. Many of them didn't even pay for the film I hear. They stole it online. So why come here and waste more time. It won't change God's mind. An audience of one. He doesn't care about your hateful comments.

Other than that glaring problem, the rest of the film I think is very Biblically accurate in the Scripture verses cited and the use of prayer as a powerful tool against the wiles of the enemy.
68 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
....for Satan himself masquerades as an angel of light.
fredosteen30 October 2015
If this film was made by someone else and did not include a positive message of faith, they would not be subject to the perversely extreme negativity against them. This may not be an Oscar-caliber film, but then, neither are many of the films of many Hollywood actors and directors. There are other less well-produced films, too, which audiences loved and critics panned, but you don't see the continued visceral hatred that you see directed at a film like David and Goliath It all comes down to the faith message. That is ultimately what the film's detractors truly hate. They come as angels of light ("And no wonder, for Satan himself masquerades as an angel of light" - 2 Corinth 11:14) and pretend they are Christians who know film better than anyone.

To me, this film is one of the best of 2015. It was remarkably made. Don't let the few, immature people make you not see it. We'll all stand before God someday.
69 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A very ambitious effort but also an uneven one
lucillefox31 October 2015
I found this movie absolutely stunning. Beautiful cinematography, outstanding acting, and astounding special effects.

I implore you to go see this movie, but you must watch it with an open mind.

Some of the scenery and shots featuring the Philistines were really cool, I found myself wishing for more (that is, more time spent on the mighty giant...and a closer look at different buildings as imagined by the creators of this film).

Judging from the hate David and Goliath has gotten on here I was expecting very little. Actually Goliath was nowhere near as bad as heard, and while very flawed and by far the worst film of the director who did a marvelous film "Freedom" starring Cuba Gooding, Jr (with his others ranging from very good to outstanding) it did have some impressive things.

On the most part the film is brilliant visually, the barren apocalyptic landscapes and later more colourful ones were really striking and the cinematography has a sweeping yet somewhat surrealistic effect. The opening and creation sequences were beautifully done with the latter quite harrowing without being too heavy-handed, and the fight scene was intense and jaw-dropping in spectacle. Mr. Dave Berg's music score swells thrillingly and has an epic sweep, enhancing crucial scenes and not drowning stuff out. The sound is thrilling in its authenticity too.

In summary David and Goliath might just fall in to a" flawed masterpiece /interesting failure " camp . It's an extraordinarily beautiful looking film that I'll buy on DVD While the visuals deliver it does have a very sententious , sombre confusing screenplay that feels the need to both shout at and talk down to the audience . Whatever the flaws of this film it still showcases the talents of the cast and here's to the future and whatever it brings

8/10
59 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The greatest transition from fear to freedom ever portrayed in film
aranchas124 November 2015
Emotion, hope and justice all blend perfectly in this film. Quite simply, no other film comes close to this one in regards to screenplay, casting and plot development. But nothing comes close to the BIble. I really thank the filmmakers for giving glory to God in this. No spoilers here - just a comment on a movie that can still move you to tears even after multiple viewings. I felt Jared Morgan delivers the performance of a lifetime. Everything else comes together in perfect harmony. This movie came out the same year as Exodous which should not get any acclaim at all - Alao Noeah (sp?) is a great picture but this one really deserved the "cake". the guy who plays David is AMAZING, and he supported brilliantly by a cast that one could only hope to see assembled again. This is one of those rare occasions where the movie actually surpasses a standard religious film for drama, suspense and flow. If you haven't seen this film, please do yourself the favour and watch it. I know you will not be disappointed!
57 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Better Late Then Never......
benjo-931913 November 2015
I saw this film at Calvary Chapel Costa Mesa last Friday!

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!!!!

This is one of the few movies adapted from the Bible that turned out to be good .. or in, this case, brilliant.

Although the movie supposedly takes place somewhen in the 2000 BCs, I can easily imagine it being transferred to today's time and standards. The thing that is most fascinating about is is that the producers didn't use extreme clichés - there's no black and white painting, just numerous shades of grey. Miles Sloman and the giant both are perfect for their roles, as are all of the supporting actors.

Finally, I can understand why a certain movies gets a high ranking.

All is perfect : the complexity of the characters, the suspense, the principals themes like friendship, loneliness, injustice, redemption, vengeance, freedom... The most complete movie that i've ever seen

No action, more realistic, more useful than the other films. It was really a BIG BANG in my head the first time i saw it. When i see it again, I think and I realize the incredible power that the cinema's industry have.

My life is forever changed due to this movie. It is a movie of hope, "redemption"

Anyone who doubts this should see the live reaction outside the screenings and theaters - people were really changed by this film. I agree that it is an excellent film. The pacing, directing, and storyline, holds interest throughout, along with a superb supporting cast, and a very moving ending. This film cannot replicated, because the film is a piece of art, the Director did not want to make money, but he also wanted to make a piece of film that made you feel something, that had some effect on you after the movie was over. The movie has no bad points it's what a story should be about, it takes you somewhere that you nether been, and makes you feel you lived that experience, and you can learn from that experience. The lines delivered, will always be remembered 'Get busy living, or get busy dying' (this is the dilemma we face in everyday live). This will live in my memories forever, not like the sorry cash-ins of movies.

This is a brief synopsis of how great the movie is, but words just seem so little to explain the brilliance of this film.
59 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finally! A Film With The Word Of God Comes Alive! Uncompromized!
Aurora4906 November 2015
"Has not the Scripture said that the Christ comes from the seed of David and from the town of Bethlehem, where David was?"- John 7:42 ….David said to Saul, "Let no man's heart fail because of him; your servant will go and fight with this Philistine."-1 Samuel 17:32

Moreover David said, "The LORD, who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear, He will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine."- 1 Samuel 17:37 And Saul said to David, "Go, and the LORD be with you!" Then David said to the Philistine (Goliath), "You come to me with a sword, with a spear, and with a javelin. But I come to you in the name of the LORD of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. This day the LORD will deliver you into my hand, and I will strike you and take your head from you. And this day I will give the carcasses of the camp of the Philistines to the birds of the air and the wild beasts of the earth, that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel. Then all this assembly shall know that the LORD does not save with sword and spear; for the battle is the LORD's, and He will give you into our hands."- 1 Samuel 17:45-47 God bless you all who made this film- David And Goliath!!!
56 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the lucky few from the UK....Smiles!
simeon-james10 September 2015
Together with Ben Hur, this is another Bible film that finally gets it right in terms of not detouring. It has everything: story, sceneries, drama, message, the greatest action scene ever filmed (the race) and even a humorous scene. I have watched it 4 times and will absolutely watch it another 16 times. You never get bored with this movie. I love the acting and special effects. I hear they filmed this in SOuth America. Unfortunately, it shouldn't be seen on a small video screen - where you usually watch it nowadays.

Is it also ponderous as these negative people say? Maybe--especially if you have seen other Biblical era epics ("Greatest Story" or "Spartacus") or if you don't quite click with the material. Is it what you would call a good movie, or a great one? It has the credentials. But it also is filled with secondary actors to support the dubious leading man David (who gives one of the performances of his life, for sure, and has openly credited the director for that).
76 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Please see it and feel its magic.
AlMarkheim18 November 2015
The first time I saw this film I said those three words a lot to my friends and family. David and goliath is the BEST FILM I have ever seen in my lifetime. I have seen tons of films. Jerry Soko, my bud, gave a performance that will touch anyone's heart. From beginning to end this film shows how films should be made. It is just stupid, unfair and shameful that this wonderful movie was not awarded neither at The Oscars nor The Golden Globes. The voters have it at 6.8. My hope is to see it in the future at 9.0! Don't get me started about the poster on the wall. All the searches, and no-one loved it? Oh, come on.

Watch the film – yes, even enjoy it
54 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Two movies in one
katherinestone14 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The only other movie I have ever seen that effects me as strongly is 'Gospel of John'. Both movies leave me feeling cleaner for having watched them.....

I didn't intend to see this movie at all: I do not like Bible movies and I don't normally watch them. But someone at my church recommended I see it (in fact, forced me to see it!).....and the film really moved me. I feel sometimes like I let down my sister who had more faith in me so the ending really spoke to me.

No action, no special effects - just men talking to each other.....it's really two movies in one.

'Gospel of John' and 'David and Goliath' are the best movies I have ever seen. I do not judge it by it's technical merits - I don't really care about that.....
79 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Questions for Cynics
Jamalsmith10 November 2015
I knew about this movie for a long time.

Heck, Bible movies, don't turn me on so I have very negative impression, hence not watching it. I watched it today as it was on TV, and I thought I'll watch it, least this way I won't be watching it alone. Might as well get it over with. I read it about all over the internet

Well, any movie than can render a grown adult to tears and whirl up an emotional minefield, has to be respected. This movie has my utmost respect.

This is truly a great film, even with all my negative baggage, and seeing clips, and reading people raving about it, I still avoided it.

To render a grown man to cry even with all the baggage, has to be a really amazing film.

This film transcends cinema, to what it's truly about - to move you. So technically, it's pointless, you can go about actors, how awful the giant was, blah, blah, blah, direction, shots, music and so on, and to analyse this film purely on that level would be one very stupid mistake. A mistake many have used while writing reviews.

The book or film, is simply a mechanism to get a message across, it can be flawed and still work perfectly. That's not the point.

The message here is clear and works perfectly, on many unconscious levels, it really would be stupid to try an figure it out.

You can't as its so simple.

We all have hope dreams and desires, and want freedom and a better future. Every person does. It's actually why we exist.

But what about courage to trust God?

Courage to face your enemies head on.

Not to have hope, dreams and desires and goals, is truly not to live. Not doing so, there is no meaning to life.

No matter what happens, keep positive, have hopes dreams and desires, that is your purpose here on this planet this is what this film is about, everything else is just mechanics to get this across?

Are you Positive?

Do you have hopes?

Do you have dreams?

Do you have goals?

Have you helped your fellow man, just for the beauty and pleasure of making someone happy, in a totally unselfish way, without any personal gain?

If you haven't and don't have hopes, dreams, desires and goals, you are not alive, you have no meaning to your life.

In conclusion, you can avoid this film as long as you want like I did, but when it does catch up with you... you better be ready, very ready.

If you aren't or don't understand what you are watching, and what really is going on between the lines and mechanics of the imperfect mechanism of cinema you are dead, truly dead, and you might as well end it now.

So my advise to you?

Don't Watch this film.

If you've read this far, and not got what I've been going on about you are a lost cause already, and you might as well go into your miserable life, and causing misery to yourself and others. Heck, it'll take you several lifetimes probably to get it.

So, remember DON'T WATCH THIS FILM, you don't deserve it.
52 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
......Straight up pro/cons..........
stokes-234 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
............just came from the theater in Atl. Here's my take straight up:

PROS

1) LOVED that it kept to the Bible, the word, man.

2) ....the actor who plays the young David is really good.....

3) i liked the story

4) i liked the fact that most of the actors were not movie stars.....does anyone else agree?

5) i liked that it had a real heart for things of the Spirit....the other movie we also saw was so lame - we need more God, less man

6) beautiful locations, oh my, where did they film it?

7) LOVED the music - a-list

8) it kept to the storyline in 1 samuel well

9) scene by fireplace was really good

CONS

1) the ending could have been better

2) the giant....could have acted better....it seemed they were trying not to use him because they knew....

3) the scene with the king and David before the fight was awkward - the king didn't seem to care

4) costumes....it was too red i thought

........all in all we all loved this movie. it had lots of heart and never compromised the TRUTH.....peace.......
95 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
If you're a 'luke-warm' Believer or hate hearing God's name mentioned all the time, PASS AND MOVE ON
tomhilman11577 April 2015
..........If you have a hard time hearing a lot about GOD and such, pass on this at the local Googleplex and wander into another film. I hope it makes you happy. But, I would gently suggest you try this movie out. Be you a man (or woman) of Faith or not. You just might be surprised. And, you just might wish to spend a little more time with the Savior of the world. I often do not see movies like this, since I am a somewhat typical man who prefers big blockbuster SF or other action oriented films. However, I went to see this movie at my local multiplex yesterday on a date with my wife and found myself really enjoying the movie. The people attending were a mix of adults and teenagers, with about an equal mix of men and women. I met a couple of people I knew there and they seemed to have enjoyed the film.

TH Houston ('The greatest city in the world')
84 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Highly recommended for anyone who is struggling with faith
jennifercalloway12 April 2015
We saw this tonight at the theater. powerful movie......powerful

Someone knows someone who saw this film and it saved them from deep despair over a loved one.

That's why we don't judge. What may not be a good film to you may be desperately needed by someone else. The petty sniping and criticism over the giant's acting is profound......

Here's how this film "imitates life": if you LOOK for flaws, you'll find some, but if you look for blessings, and really look deep into your own faith in God (not words, but true faith), you might just go away with faith and not a bitter jealous spirit - the kind Judas and Cain had, remember?

The action sequences are exceptionally well done. A few good laughs are sprinkled in for good measure. Come Oscar time, you won't hear a word about "David and Goliath", but when the Lord returns, you'll be glad you saw it over a secular film. we are called to have a 'light' touch on this world. "Those who are friends of this world are an enemy of God." (James 4:4).

This film will not resonate with everyone, especially if you approach it from the mindset that someone had to do this movie - did you really want the anti-Christ to do this film? Please re-think your posts. God is not pleased.
81 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Went With a Church Group - Everyone Loved it
swatchman077 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I am totally amazed by some of the negative responses to this film. 30 people voted it a '1'. How anyone with eyes and ears could dislike this movie that much is beyond my comprehension. Everyone in my group came out of the theater bouncing with joy.....

In my opinion its one of the best Bible films ever made....

It's a just plain great film with a little bit of something for everyone, including a rich historical plot, vibrant characters, great setting, and plenty of fabulously choreographed battle scenes. The film is also topical for today's society, for example: "Why is terrorism so popular in the middle east today?

People get really, and i mean really offended by talks of God. And this movie has plenty of this....maybe they were not forewarned and went in thinking it was 'Noah'.

I will not say anymore about the critics because I'm allowed only 1,000 words to use in my comment.

I. This film requires no introduction

You know the story of David and Goliath, im sure

II. the film is impeccably told

The star of the film is the clever eye of God, not the clockmaker or judge of the west but the chess player of the mirage. Its face is clearest in my mind when the Goliath holds the soldier captured for torture and smiles. Its hand in the creaking of the Phillistine's tent -- who would ever imagine the wind acting? (Kurosawa's 'Ran' at the beginning is the only other example I know.)

I have a few films I admire for various. mostly intellectual qualities. But in the direct matter of visual storytelling, this one tops my list.

III. dispelling the naysayers

  • Yes Goliath actor is the film's weakest link - that's true


  • Yes God is the center of the film (much heard bout this one) - so what?


  • Yes the film is a discourse from the actual Bible - so what? You want God to be a child like in Exodous?


  • Yes Scripture is repeated many times - so what again? It's a movie based on the Bible?


  • Yes it has Caucasians in the roles - guess what? I'll take them over poor actors. The director is Asian by the way (i think)


Conclusion: This is not a historically accurate film, so don't watch this for history class, but if it's a good Bible movie you want, you should try this one out.

I give it 8 stars(9 if they hadn't spent a quarter of the film on desert vistas)
85 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sometimes Overdone, But Entertaining & Worthwhile
doubleshoot4 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
It's hard to deny that the filmmaker's lavish version of "David and Goliath" is sometimes a bit overdone, but it nevertheless remains an entertaining and worthwhile classic. The material does justify the epic approach, since the story contains several interesting themes as well as plenty of action sequences. While some parts could have been stream-lined with little loss, in order to make the movie as a whole flow more smoothly, in general the film as it is keeps a good balance between action and substance. There are some very good dramatic moments in addition to the action highlights.

The actor playing 'David' is well-cast as David, a role that plays right to his strengths. The strained relations between David and Eliab provide one set of themes for the story, as well as driving much of the action. David handles his end of it pretty well, although the king could have been a little less static in his portrayal of King Saul. The woman actor works very well as Saul's daughter, and her scenes with David are used well in establishing some of the inner workings of David's character.

The last fight scene and other action sequences usually get most of the attention, but there are also some worthwhile ideas in the story (which are really the focus of the original Biblical story that are developed well enough.

So I resort to nitpicking because somehow as wonderful and impressive as it all was and is, I wasn't swept away, but still give it a perfect score because they never compromised God's Word.

The movie works best as a story of power, of virtue, of Christian morality, of individual triumph. It also works as a visual and visceral epic. Scene after scene is stunning to just look at, and I'm sure in a big theater as the one I saw it in, it was a true spectacle movie. We forget how important the venue is in "getting" the movie in spatial, visual terms
104 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed