Red Oaks (TV Series 2014–2017) Poster

(2014–2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
58 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Awesome show!!
info-15468-120679 March 2017
I decided to give this show a try and I was immediately hooked! I binge watched the first 2 seasons. Sad to hear that season 3 will be the last. Wish there were more shows this well done on TV. Every character on the show keeps your attention in every scene.Give this show a chance. You will love it!
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Will leave you with a smile on your face.
barneywilson12 November 2015
Set in a country club in the 80's, Red Oaks is a story of the staff and members alike as they work their way through a summer of transition.

It's a feel-good show with likable characters and consistently engaging plot-lines that drag you in until your emotions are undoubtedly invested.

Notable mentions go to Oliver Cooper, who plays drug-dealing valet and lovable rogue 'Wheeler', and 'Nash', a tennis-pro and ace with the ladies, hilariously played by Ennis Esmer.

The cast was flawless with many names worthy of praise, however the stand-out is unquestionably Craig Roberts. Known widely for Richard Ayoade's Submarine, Roberts provides us with a neutral perspective of the chaos unfolding around him.

Ultimately, this is a show that Amazon can be thoroughly proud of, with overwhelmingly positive reviews and an equal number of cliff- hangers in the final episode of the season that I'm sure will leave many fans eagerly awaiting a season 2.

Strong first season and a definite must-watch. 8/10.

P.s - Craig Roberts bears an almost uncanny resemblance to Rob Schneider at times...or maybe it's just me.
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A warm friendly hug off the TV
forsyth193 February 2017
Recently discussed this show in a bar with a friend I'd recommended it too, who said he and his wife really enjoyed it and that watching it felt like receiving a warm friendly hug off the TV. With some alcohol in my system I felt I knew what he was driving at.

It's a shame Amazon doesn't appear to promote it as much as it could. It probably struggles to define what to sell it on. The first episode leads you to think rehash of Caddyshack but its not that or a gross-out comedy. Then you might think its a laugh at the 'crazy 80s' show like the Goldbergs, its not that either. My own view is its a very well-observed, well-acted, humorous (occasionally lol) coming of age tale that happens to be set in the 1980s, but I guess difficult to fit all that on promotional material.

The writing is excellent at balancing comedy, character development and the occasional emotional, heart-felt moments. The cherry on top is the soundtrack and rediscovering forgotten gems of 80s music - Talk Talk anyone? OK if you're cynical you might say the characters are cliché and could be distilled down to; the every-man, the stoner genius, the spoilt girl, nice but dim girl, the eccentric foreigner, the hard-nosed business man etc etc. But clichés persist as they tend to exist and when then they're this well portrayed all can be forgiven.

Anyway, I think demographics can help decide whether you'll agree with me or not 1) if you're late 30s or older i.e. you can recall a childhood without mobile phones 2)you're the kinda person who once in a blue moon reflects on your early relationships, your university or first job choices - did you really make the right choices? and 3) you just like well-written comedy and enjoy spending some time getting to know and give a damn about likable characters then give this show a go.

Like any good hug, you'll want it to go on, so all fingers crossed for a 3rd series.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Why Did They End The Show So Soon?
theopinionatedindian11 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Red Oaks - Amazon Prime's hit dramedy is back with a third season & we sure were thrilled to view it. The moment we were done with the first episode of the first season of the American show set in the 70's, we were bowled over. Every episode in the series is barely 22 mins long. While the first season dealt with the lead character - David Myers's (Craig Roberts) stint as a tennis coach for a summer in Red Oaks club. The second season spoke about the subsequent summer at the club. The season ended with David breaking up with his gf Skye & Skye's father losing his court battle. The third season does not see David back to teaching tennis at the club. David is working in the city for ad film company. There is a new woman in David's life in the third season. His parents have moved on & are both seen to be exploring romantic opportunities with others. David's mother - Judy Myers (Jennifer Grey) is doing well as a real estate broker, whereas his father - Sam Myers (Richard Kind) has found a way to monetize his love for food. Sam has finally found love in a woman. Doug Getty (Paul Reiser) is in a minimum security prison for the rich. His daughter Skye (Alexandra Socha) does make an appearance in this season as well. A lot of time is devoted to Wheeler's (Oliver cooper) & Misty's (Alexandra Turshen) relationship. Nash(Ennis Esmer) - easily the most popular character on the show, has quite a few ups & down in the third season. He is not quite himself. He is not seen making sexist comments or flirt with women in this season. With a run time of barely 22 mins, you end up wanting more. Every episode is entertaining & easy on your senses. Every character is well defined. Everybody in the cast does a good job. With Nash & wheeler becoming subdued versions of themselves, Doug has the best lines this season. The ending does leave a lot to be desired. Despite the makers having made it clear that they won't be returning for a fourth season, there are several loose ends at the end of the show. Fans of the show will not get the closure they will have hoped for. For those who are yet to see a single episode of this series, we highly recommend this series. And for those who have been following the series, do watch the show & bid goodbye to your favorite characters. We believe there was scope to extend the show by at least two seasons more!
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It grew on me.
csarneson2 December 2015
The pilot was good but not great. It was a light-hearted reminder of the 80s coming of age movie comedies that I grew up with. I wasn't really compelled to watch the next episode but ultimately I did anyways just out of curiosity. As the episodes rolled by I enjoyed them more and more. Yes some of the characters are formulaic but the entire show works. I started actually caring what happens to them in future years. After finishing the 10th episode I actually am anxiously awaiting next season. There are quite a few ways the show could go and I can't wait to find out. Yes I have seen better shows but for this genre I think it was well above average and certainly worth watching.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Pilot Worth Your Time-Will Build to a Great Series
chippatrick30 August 2014
This pilot sets up the characters at ROCC for multiple plot twists around hook-ups, rivalries and achievements as David hits a crucial period of his life. Left with the classic parental pressure to get a 'good job' and 'succeed' the opening scene with his father illustrates nicely the conflict with the realistic view of life that Nash shows him. He is the hilarious, paunchy quasi tennis-pro running the program while fending off hot Jersey 'cougars,' the golf pro and fellow staff.

As David's mom, the hardly recognizable Jennifer Grey character has the potential to be absolutely hilarious! Also, Wheeler the valet is reason enough to watch and vote for this series on Amazon to keep going. As the stoner with a brain, set amongst the 'doofus' parking lot crowd, he will surely be front and center in this comedy going forward.

Not all pilots are tight, and some classic comedies started out with downright horrible ones (i.e. Seinfeld), but this one sets the stage for innumerable plot twists to support this season and beyond!

Check it out and vote for it to continue on Amazon Originals!
32 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great New Comedy
randolphpat28 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
A fantastic show, original and funny in its own right, yet still pays homage to John Hughes and Caddy Shack fans. A usual Soderberg hits one out of the park. A little more populist than his great Section 8 work, Red Oaks follows the life of a character any Gen Xer can identify with. The dialog was snappy and clever, and after watching this one half hour pilot, I felt like I had been loaded with three hours of back-story.

In fact I have already grown to like these characters so much, as a viewer I am now able to sit back, relax and go pretty much anywhere the storyteller chooses to take me. A rare gift given to the audience of a sit-com.

Soderberg has broken my heart so many times before, presenting such wonderful material aired for just a season with an unanswered cliff- hanger.

I am fairly sure that this show is populist enough to keep its legs under it. I narrowly survived the cancellation of K-Street after one amazing season, so lets just green light five season now, shall we?
24 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great series and cast
Valsamal21 November 2018
Fell in love with this show Great cast Funny with a hint of drama But mostly makes you smile. Wish there were more shows like this set in the 80s also great music.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Oddly Affecting
kingofboise-428244 May 2018
The pilot was a rarity in that I actually cared about the characters and their storylines by the time it ended. And each episode keeps getting better. The pilot comes off a bit raunch-commy with boobs and f-bombs galore, but it simmers down after that, and the bit of mature content that remains serves the storylines. And I find myself, at odd times, getting choked up. The humor and silliness slows down and there are these wonderful moments of empathy and vulnerability-something most half-hour comedies can't pull off.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
'80 - Niceness - And actual time travel
yeah198025 October 2017
I started this with no expectations, actually all other Amazon Prime Video series did not get into me that much... OK, we are in the '80, so if you are born exactly in 1980 like me you are going to have a lot of revival moments, this is not sweating '80 like some other piece of TV streaming show (cough... stranger, cough... things, cough...), but there is a lot of quotes and reference everywhere. Then the whole plot is pivoting around niceness, and this is heart- warming, too many series are around just bad and evil characters, here you will find comfort after a hard work day. But the most important thing is: Time Travel. When I watch this show, time goes faster than ever! It is unbelievable how an episode slides smoothly to the end, while you think you are actually in the middle of it. This is actually the most sophisticated magic entertainment can do, and it must mean something if this happens.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my favorite shows!
jacobra-8305523 February 2019
This show quickly became one of my favorite shows - maybe even number one. It has such a good feeling throughout. It's sad that it had such a short run, but it was a perfect one.

Definitely recommend watching it!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It has my heart!
kuldeep_170513 November 2018
I loved the season 1 and season 3 a lot. Not everyone's piece of cake but I wish it would've never ended. It was so heartfelt experience and was feeling sad when the show ended.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Would Like to See a 3rd Season
BoomerDT9 January 2017
"Red Oaks" is the name of a Jewish country club in NJ, in the suburbs of NYC. Set in the mid-1980's, after watching the first episode I thought this would mostly be a bit of a "Caddyshack" ripoff. While life and the people who inhabit Red Oaks are a major part of this series, it is more of a coming of age type of story about 20 year old David Meyers, who is an assistant tennis pro at RO. David's at that point in life where he isn't sure what he wants to do. His father wants to him to follow in his footsteps and become a CPA while David wants to learn film. He is also caught in a dilemma in his romantic life. He's been dating Karen since high school, a beautiful and sweet gal who is an aerobics instructor at RO who is ready to become a wife but David finds himself smitten by Skye, the daughter of the President and richest patron of ROCC and is the spoiled stereotypical JAP.

And with this as the center of the story, we get to meet some funny and interesting characters. David's parents, well played by Richard Kind and Jennifer Grey, have gotten bored with each other and are splitting up. Ennis Essmer does a great job as Nash (short for Nassar] the head tennis pro and top notch seducer of the divorcees and widows at ROCC, who becomes something of a mentor to David. David's best buddy is Wheeler, a dope-head who dropped out of college from boredom, content to work as a valet and then bartender at the club till he finds himself smitten with the charms of Misty, a long legged lifeguard at RO. the funniest denizen of RO is comedy veteran Paul Reiser as Getty, the club president and owner of a Wall Street investment firm. Getty is an absolute arrogant prick who is used to getting his way and couldn't care less what the others may think of him. He's a poor kid who worked his way to the top and needless to say he's not thrilled with the prospect of his daughter ending up with an assistant tennis pro.

As in any series, some episodes are terrific, others are clunkers. Enjoyed it so far, probably enough dangling plot lines to take this through 4 seasons.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A gem of a show. Underrated and destined to be a future classic.
kspindler-120 September 2018
Shows like this are as rare as a blue rose. A heartfelt, true-to-life and funny portrayal of young adulthood. The leads are are great with Paul Reiser stealing the show with his best acting in years, if not decades.

In my opinion, what elevates Red Oaks to classic status are the directors involved in the show. David Gordon Green, Hal Hartley and Amy Heckerling direct the bulk of the episodes, and their experience as some of the best indie directors from the 1990s is clearly seen in Red Oaks.

If you want lighthearted entertainment I highly recommend that you watch Red Oaks.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Way more reviews on here for the better than bad
bbschatbase9 April 2017
Look at these faulty reviews of haters. This shows is awesome. Don't listen to the negative folks in here going out of there way to type an essay and persuade u to not watch. It's a fantastic show with much effort to fulfill the audience needs while watching an 80's comedy that is PURPOSELY PREDICTABLE.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loving it so far
dosefade1913 May 2019
Just finished Season 1 and I've been looking for a show like this for quite a while. It's great and a good time and the characters all have great chemistry, but I really don't think the seventh episode should ever have happened. No really. But besides that one episode, Red Oaks is pretty much all I've been looking for in a series. Comedy, Romance, a bit of Drama here and there. And it's set in the 80's which is always fun!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It spoke to me!!!
soundsreasonable13 February 2019
I literally stumbled upon this light comedy series when searching the net for a new series and something amusing to watch . I was around the same age at the same time as this series was set, so it made sense to give it a go.

I cannot praise the acting and production of these three (?) series high enough. My only gripe is it only really lasted 2½ series. Having said that the ending worked well and wasn't an anti-climax.nor did it feel rushed.

The actors were all well cast, with some stars of the 80's and the accuracy of the the clothing and sets was 100%

I think the highest praise I can give this series is when I watched it, it was like I was back in the 80's watching life as it was!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
80's with a Flair!!
horizonbts-206-62833613 March 2018
Stick with this one as it works, at first I wondered as the characters seemed kind of awkard or misplaced, it didn't take long to find out the story, characters, and setting all end up meshing well and bringing the fun of the 80's out of the past!! It's kind of like Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Caddyshack, Fast Times at Ridgemont High, and Risky Business all wrapped into one! Growing up and loving the 80's movies this is exactly what I needed in a series. The setting is at Red Oaks Country club so thus the feeling of Caddyshack only tennis is the big game here. Craig Roberts plays David Meyers the tennis guru at the Red Oaks club, kind of a poor man's Ferris Bueller, and the glue that keeps it all together, Ennis Emmer/Nash is the Bill Murray and it took me a few episodes, but I absolutely love his humor and what he brings to the table!! Finally there is Oliver Cooper who plays Wheeler-similar to a Spicoli of a Fast Times at Ridgemont High who loves to party and screams 80's into his character. The series has the language, the cars, the girls, and finally the style of the 80's. If you like me are looking for that 80's type of feel and miss those great movies, here it is all wrapped up into a neat little series. I am addicted now and I can't quit binging, again stick with it, and I am sure like me you will find it hitting on all cylinders with a great 80's flair. Kudo's to Amazon for opening up the 80's time capsule and I also might add very well done!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I expected more from Soderbergh
interlomas7730 August 2014
I wrote this review on the Amazon site but since this site is geared more for actual film critique I thought it would be a better fit here:

I'm not opposed to lugs, stoners, or horny dudes. In fact, I think the tennis pro was the funniest character in the pilot. But all the girls seemed alike. Whoever wrote this doesn't know anything about women, in fact no scenes exist with just the women characters--they're all seen through the eyes of the guys. That would be fine if this were Entourage (which I enjoyed for the first seasons) but isn't this supposed to be David's story? If he's the lead why don't "Girlfriend" (no idea what her name is, does it even matter?) and Wheeler get the same weight? The only time Girlfriend is without David is when she's with the sleazy Photographer (who was funny) on the green and once in a scene during which she doesn't even speak-- we're just watching her butt through the POV of that same Photographer dude. Okay.

The only non-attractive, non-sexually available woman was David's mom, and she took on a traditionally masculine role in leering at a woman. (Even the Asian Doctor was just hanging out looking seductive in David's dad's hospital room in one shot, as if waiting for him to get better so she could jump his bones. Doesn't she have rounds or something?)

There is ONE hot guy, who is a lifeguard and he is immediately dismissed as a cretin with barely the IQ needed to speak his very few lines. He's a cipher that only exists as an obstacle in Wheeler's pursuit of the object of his desire. The interesting guys--the 3D characters who populate the show--are normal looking and entertaining (if not altogether original). It would have been compelling to see the women get the same attention. Instead we get boobs.
28 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny with Potential
leftbanker-131 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The first thing to consider with a period piece is why is it set in the past or future and is that totally necessary to tell the story? I don't think "I would hit that" was an expression back then. Unless they really want to show off horrible clothes and hair and feature some of the worst music I've ever heard from that era I don't get the period piece thing at all. There's no reason this story couldn't be about today and it should be.

The best joke came when the photographer tool is talking about his job at the club and how it "lets me pursue my real passion" and the kid interrupts with, "Magic?" This was followed very closely by his dad saying that when it comes to grades a C is a Jewish F. The Indian tennis pro is really good as well as his stoner friend and both are funny. I like where they were going with the theme of trying to do something other than what everyone else does and what everyone else expects of you.

I'd watch this if it gets picked up. I panned The Cosmopolitans in another review but I don't know how we're supposed to vote on these.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bland
LouieInLove31 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
It's not very good! It's unoriginal and has a feel to it that I've come across before several times but can't remember where. There is a blandness to the writing and barring the obligatory occasional eighties track and clothing, it could be set any time in the past forty years.

I strongly suspect nepotism is at play here as surely this wouldn't get commissioned off it's own back. If I'm being honest, It's simply boring. Whilst watching I started to drift. It lacks the wit, sharpness and compassion of That 70s Show and is screaming out for an element of empathy for the audience to latch on to.

To reiterate, It's simply not good enough. I'd like to say more but there is nothing more to say.
13 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lovely little nostalgic series
gallowayrory1 December 2018
This show saved me. I was on holiday and my skygo app broke. Having just recently got prime I didn't realise most things were unavailable overseas. Most but not all.. It's taken me a year to get through all three series but now I'll miss it hugely. Thanks for all the fun and music!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What's to hate?
frank-loose25 September 2018
Refreshing writing and acting - hilarious and awesome to see old friends too. Paul Reiser fits perfectly
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cinematic perfection
brandonwilliam0620 August 2018
A realistic tale of people trying to figure out this little thing called life. Red Oaks hits all the feels while telling a story you just can't get enough of. It is funny, sad, happy, but most importantly, relatable. Red Oaks is what is right with television. A piece of cinematic perfection.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great show
Tyler-Courtney2 April 2018
All three seasons are worth your time. Has a bit of a caddyshack tone to it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed