"True Detective" Down Will Come (TV Episode 2015) Poster

(TV Series)

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
O M G. Simply Breathtaking action
rosalind-1010213 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I love this show anyhow, BUT this week the main characters all seemed to pull their best performances out the bag; Vince Vaughan was fantastic, not just trying to be a gangster - he built on his performance of last week and you could really feel it this week, his character really has depth now and his wife's starting to work with him too and that is really adding to the flavour, could be good. But, it's the last 10 minutes of this episode that took my breath away. I have to say it was the most brilliantly choreographed, acted and filmed action sequence I have EVER seen on a TV show EVER, absolutely fantastic, I was gripped, I know how the main (Rachel McAdams, Colin Farrell and Taylor Kitsch) characters felt! I want to almost fall to my knees in shock and try and catch my breath, I'm still shaking now, absolutely amazing action. Well done. Can't wait for next weeks show to see what the fall out is going to be and where the case will go on from here.
20 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Big Bang
raggedlyhandsome13 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This week's episode steps up the game in every way possible. The dialogue is much better, it doesn't feel stilted at all. Unlike many others, I loved the first episode, then felt the next two were good, but nothing special. But my mind is blown right now, just like in the last season, Pizzolatto outdid himself with the episode 4's ending. I had so many emotions. And I applaud the show for being realistic in some way, showing the consequences of the shoot-out. In most network police procedurals, shoot-outs happen, and after that, the detectives go for a drink, like nothing happened. But, here we see Ani and Ray crying, looking at the massacre that happened. The investigation finally moved a bit, I didn't get the feeling like the lines were just thrown in there, to sound smart, it all had a nice flow. The acting has improved, mostly Taylor Kitsch's. He was the weakest link for me this season, but in this episode, he killed it. I loved the scene between him and Ray.

This episode got me hooked, and I finally can't wait for the next episode. Bravo!

10/10
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Review of season 2: Episodes 3-4
85122213 July 2015
Greetings from Lithuania.

Episode 3 was a bit disappointing, to say the least considering the overall show. Only 7/10 - and that's the lowest rate for any episode among 1,2 seasons this far. Many plot lines, sadly anything didn't come to somewhere. I know, the story is still in a build up process, but still, a bit confusing and to messy.

Episode 4 is the best episode without a doubt so far in season 2. There is a great action scene, not as brilliant as it was in season 1 episode 4 with that one take mesmerizing shoot, but still a very tens and realistic one. But not only for this scene i'm giving 10/10 for episode 4. It kinda restored my faith in this season overall. With half of the season done, many plot lines and unfocused script (stylish or call it whatever) starts to making payoffs. Acting was very solid, and some other main characters get chance to shine, and not in the best colors. Script was more tight then ever, and easier to follow, but still not the most usual one, which is the good thing.

Overall, 7/10 for episode 3 and 10/10 for episode 4. With 4 episodes left in this season, i'm hooked more and more with this story. Interestingly, the same happened with my in season 1, i was totally hooked up and eventually blow away starting with episode 4, so maybe episode 4 will be a great start to "True Detective" magic.
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better Safe Than Something Else
ThomasDrufke12 July 2015
So yes, I have been quite letdown with the season thus far, but this week was a bit of a step up. It's not that the show has been bad, it hasn't. The performances have been surprisingly strong for the most part, it's just that the story hasn't been all that interesting. That and it's just harder to follow with all that's going on. This week had a lot of the same problems, but the final fifteen minutes of the episode won me over.

For a show focused on 'true detectives', the season has focused a lot on mob boss Frank Semyon, played by Vaughn. Semyon and his wife have been wanting to have a kid for a long time but are physically unable to do that. I have to admit, I'm struggling to understand why it is that Vaughn is so drawn to having a child. Nothing about his character thus far has led me to believe he likes kids and would like to have one. But more so overall that character just doesn't do it for me. I just haven't found him interesting enough to give him more than 5 minutes of screen-time an episode. It also could be the fact that there's so much going on in this show that I don't have time to process all that he does and the transactions and deals he makes. Onto Woodrugh's weekly storyline, which had him wake up unknowingly in the apartment of what appeared to be his ex-boyfriend. Once again, this show has a lot going on but this side branch intrigued me. Especially on how Taylor Kitsch played the scene. I felt sympathy towards Woodrugh, that is until I'm pretty sure he proposed to his girlfriend to save face to the media for the incident with his ex.

Farrell/Velcoro had a bit of a slow week in terms of character development but McAdams didn't. It looks as though she is being suspended for 'sexual misconduct to her co-worker. Along with the fact that she led an absolute disaster of a raid on a lead suspect. I think this final segment was well-directed and definitely well-acted. But it doesn't even compare to the ending of last season's 'Who Goes There', which it will inevitably be compared to (especially considering they were both the 4th episodes). But the ending could have been even better if the directing made it feel more intimate and real. The brilliance of the episode last season was the one-take where it felt like anyone could die with bodies dropping left and right. Yes, this episode had a certain amount of stakes and an ominous feel, I still feel like it could have been topped. With that said, I enjoyed this week a whole lot more than last week and feeling better about the season.

+Ominous ending

+Stakes raised

+Kitsch' performance

-Still too much going on

-Vaughn's character is still shaky

7.5/10
24 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Boring in the best way possible
ghost_dog8617 July 2015
My mini reaction to - True Detective: Episode 4:

While continuing to be filled with Emmy worthy performances and fascinatingly dark characters spouting poetic dialogue (with Vince Vaughn's Frank Seymon now emerging as the most interesting one) there seems to be a pattern growing: one extremely deep, extremely paced, but savagely uneventful episode, followed by the same kind of episode, but with a shockingly action packed ending. And while a slow and steady jog is the name of the game with this particular series, episode 4's blood bath of an ending did leave me antsy for next Sunday.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
So much talk but so little said
pushingpixels-0036416 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
If this show was fresh, if season 1 had never happened, no one would be talking about it. It has completely lost all the elements that made the first so compelling to watch.

Doubling the number of main characters and giving them each back stories as opposed to just Marty's family is season 1. This isn't Game of Thrones, why completely change the format that worked so well?

Going into this season I was apprehensive about the actors, but, conversely, Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn have done well with what they have. Rachel McAdam is not quite the tough cop she tries to portray, and who knows what's going on with the other one.

And that is precisely what I find myself thinking throughout the episodes - what is going on? The scenes are all quite long, but the dialogue is so unnatural it feels purposefully obscure. When they do try to have a realistic conversation, like when Ray picked up Paul after his mini-breakdown, it doesn't quite click on the same level as season 1, but at least they tried.

The raid scene was obviously a change of pace from the rest of the episode, and indeed the season. But even that felt ham fisted. There are so many cuts that the pacing of the scene jumps all over. Ani is chasing a car down on foot with a guy leaning out the car window shooting a sub-machine gun at her after so many people have already been killed, like she is wearing main-character-invulnerability- armour. She did a similar thing in episode 3 chasing down a masked man across a free-way, but there is no consequence, no development, just a thing that happened.

In terms of narrative it was difficult to feel anything substantial against the "bad guys" because it's not really clear who they are or why they would rather die than submit to a police raid, or at least just try to escape without some suicidal killing spree.

It will be interesting to see where the story goes from here. The torture and murder of one guy pales somewhat into insignificance after a horrendous police raid which resulted in so many deaths, including civilians, lead by the detectives investigating the aforementioned case. They should probably all end up in prison themselves, or at the very least no longer be police. Maybe then we can get on to season 3 a bit quicker and hope for better.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Even gunfire at this point is putting me to sleep...
alwaysdewright14 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I'm not going to lie, I dozed off many times as I tried to watch this episode. Familiar rambling dialogue and unnecessarily complicated story lines quietly coo'd me to sleep on the couch. When I awoke there was gunfire, our main characters running around confused and horrified by the deaths of bystanders and coworkers, and then that terrible, terrible freeze frame ending. When it was all over, I sat on the couch wiping the confusion from my eyes and watching the end credits. I decided to watch the episode again the next day and despite a full night's sleep and many cups of coffee the next day, I still had to fight to stay awake and stay interested in whatever was going on.

I understand the idea of a slow burn, to allow a complicated story time to develop, and the intricacies of ideas and characters to reveal themselves when ready. But seriously, what the hell is going on here? There's about 80 characters who seem equally unimportant (including our main characters). Their lives and their struggles are neither tangible nor worth investing in. I am yet to hear an interaction between characters that would, a) Be spoken by a real human being in real life, and b) Be interesting enough for me to want to care, want to solve this 'mystery' or want to keep watching.

A strength of season 1 relied on universal fears and mysteries, from pondering the meaning of life, our significance (or insignificance) on earth, to the horrors of a faceless boogie man and the cultist undertones that still exist across the country. That's why people from all around the world tuned in each week. We could easily be hooked by the crazy dialogue, and even crazier mismatched story and time lines. We wanted to tune in because we seemed to be going somewhere we've been afraid of going, but deep down needed to see for ourselves.

This season has none of that. All the universal truths are all rote clichés we want to turn our heads away from. Perhaps I'm biased but I don't really care about a tiny made-up corrupt city somewhere near LA that may or may not be based off a true story. If it is, I'm more interested in knowing about what actually happened than what Pizzolatto is trying to weave together with his overhead shots of the highways and close ups of brooding faces. We see this corruption everyday in the news or outside our doors, so there's nothing unique to retelling what is being retold every day. I'm not interested in another corrupt politician or police officer. And spare me the shootout between the 'good' white cops and the 'bad' Mexican gang. Do we really need to lean that hard on stereotypes? Are we going to find out that Rick Springfield and the guru guy are actually 'bad' because their lives and teachings are nontraditional and weird? Will Colin Ferrell turn out to be a 'good' guy because he has a 'good' heart despite his 'bad' exterior? Will Ani (McAdams) actually have a vulnerable and sensitive female heart beneath that knife-wielding masculine-rough exterior? Spare me.

After four episodes (and watching this last one twice), I've really lost interest in the characters and meandering plot of this season. I understand how die hard fans are grasping on and begging everyone to stay patient because (fingers crossed) there's a huge reveal around the corner... But after this episode, even a huge shootout can hardly keep me interested (or awake).
14 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Truly Amazing
APWhite912 July 2015
Excellent episode, of course

Spoiler Alert!: Similar to season one's 4th episode with the big shoot out; this time with an L.A. setting style. The three main characters are the only survivors...wonder why. Starting to get deeper into the characters issues. Emotions are heightened and their lives are very seriously stressful. It will be interesting to see what the consequences will be and how they move on. Also, how will the character feel about continuing their line of work after almost losing their lives and having lost friends on their team. I sense an explosive finale. Really feel like one of the main characters will die, maybe even more than one, but I hate to say it. If I had to guess, I would say Colin Farrell will be that one, but maybe that's too easy. Either way, it will be amazing and I look forward to it.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Well, it ain't no ghetto raid, that's for sure.
TheRedViper14 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
In this week's episode of everyone's favourite angsty pseudo-philosophical cop drama, the team continue faffing about L.A looking for leads in the Casper case; Ray continues to be a role-model father; Ani continues to act like she's so oppressed; Paul continues to have so many deep-rooted psychological problems it'd make Freud speechless; and Frank continues to balance between being a serious character and being unintentionally hilarious.

Now, I wanted to start this review off by listing the 'good' in this episode, but... nothing actually stands out as being good or particularly above average. Like my bitter and droll opening paragraph suggested, this episode sort of just meanders around in the exact same way the previous three episodes have. The team are still following up mostly useless leads on the Casper case, and everyone still has a ton and a half of personal issues. The only actual plot development occurred in the final few minutes, and even then I'm confused as to how relevant it will actually be (apart from killing off Ray's useless partner who the show clearly didn't want to have hanging around the main characters).

Speaking of the final scene, I feel that it's only natural that some people will compare it to the climactic ghetto raid scene at the conclusion of last season's fourth episode. However while that scene was masterfully filmed and acted by a dedicated and intelligent director, this episode's action scene was... not... that. As if in direct contrast to the ghetto scene in season 1, there are a ton of quickly edited cuts in this scene, a badly computer generated explosion, and awkward pacing that makes the scene just drag, and drag, and drag, well past the point of being exciting. We can only imagine how different this scene might have been had Cary Fukunaga stayed on as director for season 2. I'm thinking it would be different for the better.

Anyway, as for the rest of the episode, nothing remarkable occurred at all. There's yet again this season's trademark awkwardness in the form of Frank's many forced and bizarre "deep" comments and observations, a comical amount of overhead shots of L.A roads and cityscapes, and that one singer in that one bar who seemingly has no other place to go at nights.

I really wanted to like this season, but let's face it; we've already finished half of it. Let's look back at season 1 and compare how that concluded the first half of the season... Yeah, it's a bit of a stark contrast, isn't it? What this season sorely lacks is momentum. I don't feel like things are building up and getting more tense like I did with season 1. This episode - and season as a whole - has just felt like a bunch of random scenes thrown together in an attempt to resemble a cop drama, but really it just feels muddled, underwhelming and dull.
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What an Episode? Best shootout of all since S01E04-Who Goes There
mustafay13 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Loved this episode. Best action scene since the mentioned episode in the title.

The end was staged well, simply harsh;truthfully did not expect it coming since all but the three survived. So they have a mutual and shared instinct of survival which will make the bonds stronger in between.

Some say "Pizzolatto and company were trying to recapture the magic of the Season 1 Crash-and-Ginger escape from the housing project shootout, but couldn't quite pull it off." which I strongly disagree. Because all the script was written and completed long before the beginning of the second season. So they can not alter what they've written.

All I felt about it was that he wanted to spice up the stagnant plot of the story.

I guess the case is a lot more complicated then it sounds and than they think.

Well done Pizzolatto!
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Apoplectic
contactrida16 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
If not for Colin, this would be my least favorite show. But Colin went all surf's up when he told gay bike cop, "it's all just dust in your eyes, blink it away man." WTF! OMG the writing of this season has me apoplectic! Who talks this way?!? The dialogue is based on last season. Dudes! You can't make every line profound! Profoundness must be earned! Every character except Colin, thinks so deeply about their lines and their acting. It's like watching some NY acting studio class for beginners who have studied Shakespeare. It's an over-acting smorgasbord. The reason why season 1 of TD worked so well was because we had this highly genius, highly flawed man at odds with himself and the world; and he was balanced by this womanizing, man's man character who would love to have fun. Each character called the other one out on their bullshit. Really, Vaughn as a mobster? Really? His acting gets worse by the episode. And him pulling out teeth? Was that supposed to make him scary? God!!! And who the phuck serves a warrant on a known armed felon in broad daylight in the middle of the street? Like we didn't see that happening, "be careful out there" says the Vinci mayor. Come on!!! And for the love of all things holy, GET RID OF THAT GOD DAMNED SINGER!!!! Maybe that's why that bar is always empty. And where's the guy who cut up the waitress' face? Maybe he needs to come back and do some work on the singer's throat. Hey! Just saying. But I will watch next week and take Colin's advice and just blink away the terrible writing, directing and acting. Just blink it away man...
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sometimes your worst self is your best self
jasperan30 July 2018
One of the best episodes of any series I have EVER watched in my life. Outstanding acting and directing.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Lame Freeze frame says it all
jaider-0457218 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I just saw the fourth episode of the second season of True Detective. And I just witnessed one of the lamest moments in show business, ever. Alex Hall and Byron Smith, editors of this episode, decided all along with their supervisors to copy and paste the brilliant freeze-frame of Affonso Gonçalves in True Detective's epic ending of episode three of the first season. Where the ending the episode the Locked Room slowly builds towards the walking of Reginald Ledoux and freezing at the exact right moment when he turns around, accompanied by creepy breathtaking music, the freeze frame of this episodes ending is just a freeze frame. I can't believe that the production really thought it was a good idea to use this technique again, especially in the this lame manner.

But that is probably the problem with the series. It seems like they try to recreate first seasons awesomeness by copying things that worked really well in the first season and pasting it into the second season. Just look at the opening sequence. The images are sometimes near duplicates of images in the first season's opening sequence. The first episode also began fairly similar to it's predeceasing season, where the ending reminded me of the ending of the fourth episode of the first season.

There are still some good things in this season, whilst the story is incoherent, some of the characters/actors don't seem to work that well and the editing is far too fast for it's story. Th acting, production value and direction of photography is quite good or sometimes even breathtaking. But please, stop with copycatting your own show. I understand that this won't stop this season, but I hope next season will be quite different.

BTW: I totally do not understand the high ratings. I think it's hugely overrated, till now anyways.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
well here goes nothing
devon_mkn20 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The shootout i didn't expect , i kinda'liked it (just because i didn't expect it) , the full season 2 from my point of view it's crap,the only interesting thing this show could have and a lot of p***s are waiting for is for Rachel McAdams nude scene , the best show if you need to fall asleep , doesn't keep me waiting anxious for the next episode like the first season , i watch it like i said before , just to fall asleep.

I really miss the first season as a matter of fact i will watch the first season until i know it from memory before watching this boring show.

Don't intend to offend anyone just what i think of season 2.
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Sing me a war zone lullaby
quincytheodore12 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
As the series arrives at the mid-season, it has comfortably established the characters and then ceremoniously sends them to an all-out shooting spree. The episode sees one impressive action sequence after each of the major character is granted substantial development. Both the quiet brooding and loud war tune resonate incredibly well as this mark the best viewing in the second season.

Vince Vaughn as Frank patrols around town and meets assortments of clientèles, mostly dubious in legality, in an effort to regrow his empire. He's slowly becoming the criminal mogul in definite way. Colin Farrell as Velcoro has the most interactions with other cast this time around. There's inherent maturity in his persona, although it's barely apparent beneath the overwhelmingly visible stress.

Taylor Kitsch hasn't been consistent so far, but it appears he gradually becomes better. He opens up more with just the right personal touch, not just vague accentuating. He's still not as strong as Vince of Colin, but it's a start. The only female detective is, perhaps ironically, troubled by sexual complaint. Rachel McAdams shows decent grit, her reactions are still brash although they are quite believable for anyone in the situation.

Their chemistry is mostly respectable, mainly because with diverse variety there are more combinations of cast to work with. All of them eventually engage in one full blown shootout with tons of bullets and heated daylight explosions. Simply barraging rounds doesn't make a crime show, but the action is exceptionally done. Displaying hard violence and still giving the leads ample spotlight as they deal with the carnage.

Be it the contemplative musing or chaotic gunslinging, they are indeed looking like true detectives.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Louche
lavatch19 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
One of the operative words of this program is "louche," which means sordid and tawdry. That adjective describes the deeply troubled cast of characters in this saga.

For example, Frank Semyon has a wife that is truly devoted to him. The couple cannot have a child, so she suggests adoption. But Frank will only have a son coming from his gene pool. Frank's response sums up his selfish character to a tee: "At least with your kid, it's your sins." Frank clearly thinks that even his sins are superior to those of lesser men.

For Officer Paul Woodrugh, there is an ongoing struggle with his sexual identity, especially when he wakes up in the apartment of a strange man. When Em announces that she is pregnant, Woodrugh leaps at the chance to propose marriage. Of course, having a baby will solve all his problems!

Velcora has now all but given up on having joint custody of the son that likely is not of his paternity. In the one truly moving moment of the program, Velcoro gives his boy the gift of his father's police badge. It is likely that father and son will not be seeing much of each other.

All of these characters are troubled with painful memories, as they seek to come to terms with their past. The best line of the program is spoken by Antigone, when discussing memories with her newly reformed sister: "you don't remember them; they remember you."

After being suspended for the unlikely charge of sexual misconduct and workplace harassment of her fellow male officers, Antigone nonetheless keeps her special assignment and leads an assault on the suspected murderer of Ben Caspere. In the bungled operation at a warehouse, her small cadre of officers is ambushed. While the perp is killed, there is substantial collateral damage with dead police and innocent bystanders.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Really boring and Ridiculous action
sergio-kreeft20 July 2015
This season is starting to get boring and even the Action shooting in this episode is pitiful. They are going to enter a building and they just cross a street normally and then proceed to walk along the street all the way to the place of business as if they are covered in some sort of stealth fabric ?

The whole problem with this season is that they are trying to hard to give it that mystical feeling all over again. That Pulp Fiction marinade so to speak and they try to hard. They try to hard to keep any insight on the main characters from the viewer with the intention of it all falling into place once the season closes.

Nah, i am sorry ... This season isn't really working for me.
7 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Gearing up the Pace!
channelnoise14 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Episode 4 was one of the best of this season so far. The way story was developing and the way everything paced up was just classy. The director has done well in building the chemistry of characters in first three episodes. Now its all ready for some spiced up tricky,messy and troubling cop story. The acting has been brilliant by all three detectives, sadly they were being compared to Mathew McConoughey's True Detective. The settings are different and also the plot line is different, so makes no sense in silly comparisons. Episode 4 action was a booster in all sense, as now people are going to stick with it. Desperately waiting for episode 5 now!
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
About Time
shesetsail14 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Much much better. Sharp, shocking, still nowhere near the sublime moments of the first season, but pacey and engaging, at least for the second half of the episode.

We needed episodes 2 and 3 to truncate a lot of stuff between them, instead of the padding which has almost driven this season into torpor. Episode 4's a necessary rescue. It's not brilliant, but it's very interesting. The actors are being allowed to act, the plot is being allowed to move, and with the exception of the strange tale of Frank Semyon, the whole thing is finding shape.

Semyon has this extraordinary charisma and then loses the plot over avocado trees. The sugary coffee quip isn't cool, and the writer responsible for it needs time out. Vaughn's not bad; he's just being given lines that could sink a rubber turkey. Despite that, he creates a hypnotic Man Who Would Be King. His ruin is as close as everyone else's, but while they wade through it, he towers above it, even after his crash course in dentistry.

This is also the first time I have found the performances of McAdams and Kitsch even remotely interesting, while Velcoro is emerging from a cocoon of stereotypes and developing as a core of the show. The axis is all about him and Semyon, polar opposites connected in the room of the yellow light...I am looking forward to seeing how their intersection works out. As long as it doesn't dissolve into whining guitar and whining song and endless yellow light and half finished sentences.

Nuance can be overdone. Sometimes a shootout's the answer.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A bad day in Baghdad
greenwhich13 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I am enjoying the cast who act well, the cinematography and locations. I also enjoy the many interwoven story lines.

Although what I really cannot seem to my head around is the fiction, it may have worked in Serpico and Dirty Harry.

Turning L.A into Iraq just doesn't work today, those ghost busters, haven't followed protocol yet. Meanwhile some of them are also under I.A investigation. I agree that the action seen is the best a TV series has to offer, within extent to any shown logic, tuning down for the masses. It is just not practice to make a call of duty to Baghdad, unless they really want to see the L.A riots all over again. The Uni-dipshits aren't squat no they didn't swat, their losses should have only served to protect. Upon any getaway the logic used would have only been to pursue, but never to engage. Unless they all want to face manslaughter charges to prevent national riots, from their ineptitude of not surrounding, calling for backup, using the proper forces, or even a Google earth app. Spirit healers with gold bangles trying to be some deity, is not earthen thought. How does a perfect donor sample contain 100% saliva? Undoubtedly more laughs to follow in the fun replay from any rock'n'roll seen in this wild western show.

An explanation to follow of why that last scene is blundering mess of absurdity. As it seems humour is lost on some who are only gung-ho to lickspittle the great American shoot out.

I thought True detective lived up to it's name? This would have seen proper detective work. Not the ghost squad, who from their build up have only brought on the questions of just what their role is? I agree as a show, the acting is class, the action is class, the cinematography is class. However any execution by this plot is questionable towards any result, outside of possibly a circus crowd pleaser?

A known hood with a rap sheet a mile long warrants an investigation. An investigation would have seen any detectives making a case after investigating. Not trying to grab him, quickly are you coming lads. After investigating a threat posed, they would use a proper response, seen by their forces enclosing and fortifying their positions before attempting any breach. Definitely not turning L.A into a call of duty to Baghdad for all of those usual alien war zone specialist effects. These effects have prompted a local news feed to notice, when a Meth lab kaboom's and the sound of obvious gunfire is heard, but nobody has thought to phone a friend, not even the dead cops. The Uni's with paint me dead targets written all of over them, are out gunned by self styled Scarface's who hold elevated positions and better guns. The Uni's who haven't surrounded the building have allowed an escape, letting the gang drive directly into a pressed demonstration, continuing with their shoot out. Obviously this could easily result in the next American civil war, because these buffoons have not served to protect, allowing the gang to also kill civilians as well as more cops. Somehow the ghost squad even during their internal investigations have made aces, in this wild western noir show, brandishing commando knives and all. I am quite sure some have swallowed this conception for a later hip hip hurray.

I agree that this is entertainment, but it's motive remains to be quite yet seen
1 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed