A Man Called Ove (2015) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
70 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Touching, entertaining and deep.
Graggoz30 January 2016
This movie is about an old man that appears to be grumpy. The story gradually reveals his back-story in a masterful way to explain his behaviour that will probably change your opinion of the main character.

I can honestly say that I have never before felt such a strong connection to a character in a movie. This is an absolute masterpiece.

The directing of the movie is also great. It's easy to understand who is who and when a flashback occurs even if you have not read the book.

The greatness of the movie will be most appreciated if you understand Swedish, but even if you depend on subtitles it will still be a gem that you should not miss out on.

I am very conservative with rating movies 10/10, but this one I think truly deserves it!
89 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Gran Torino"-reminding Swedish movie
paul-allaer21 October 2016
"A Man Called Ove" (2015 release from Sweden) brings the story of 59 yr. old Ove. As the movie opens, we see him bickering in a store over the price of flowers on his way to visit his wife Sonja's grave. Not long thereafter, he is given the boot at work, after a 43 yr. career in train maintenance. This leaves him with plenty of time to do the rounds of the small (and traffic-free) community where he lives. Then a young family moves in across the street, not knowing the many strict rules of the community. All along, Ove can't wait to join his beloved Sonja in the hereafter. At this point we're 15 min. into the movie but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: first of all, if you have seen the trailer, you are probably expecting something along the line of that other recent Swedish movie, the funny and irreverent "The 100 Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared", as certainly the trailer gives that expectation. Let me stop you right there, as "A Man Called Ove" turns out to be almost nothing like it, and in fact I will say that the movie's trailer is outright misleading. "A Man Called Ove" certainly has some funny moments here and there, but in fact deals a lot more with how someone deals with facing life without a dearly beloved significant other. The movie cleverly looks back at the budding romance between Ove and Sonja in a number of flashbacks, and it's not until the very last 15 min. that we get the full picture. (During one of those flashbacks, we hear Demis Roussos' "Forever and Ever" in the background, which I literally hadn't heard in decades. That guy was HUGE in Europe in the 70s.) The movie also looks at the importance of neighbors and the immediate community (and even integration of migrants, as the wide of the young family fled Iran and is now completely fluent in Swedish). The movie that came to mind as I was watching this is Clint Eastwood's "Gran Torino" of a few years ago. Indeed, certain parallels are uncanny (grumpy older guy, love for cars (in "Ove" it's a Saab), dealing with personal loss, adjusting to new neighbors, etc. Rolf Lassgard is outstanding in the title role, and kudos also to Barar Pars as the young wife from Iran.

"A Man Called Ove" opened with little pre-release fanfare at my local art-house theater here in Cincinnati. The Friday early evening screening where I saw this at was attended very nicely, somewhat to my surprise. So much the better! If you are up for a bittersweet Swedish movie about an older gentleman's adjustment to a new world, I think you will like this quite a bit. "A Man Called Ove" is worth checking out!
21 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beautiful movie
osonder26 December 2015
This is a beautiful movie that I warmly can recommend. Rolf Lassgård is acting great as always. This is a movie that will make you laugh and cry. The film is based on a book. I have not read the book, but my girlfriend had. She said that the movie was very good, and the story was well told. The movie have some actors that I have never seen before, but they all act good, and is lifting Rolf's role very well. I can warmly recommend this movie. I guess the movie will fit for all adult people (from 15 to 100 years old), and the movie make you have some thoughts, when the credits roll over the film at the end. I will not write any spoils here. See it for yourselves.
45 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Depressed women get quiet; depressed men get angry
Red-1258 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The Swedish film En man som heter Ove was shown in the U.S. with the translated title, A Man Called Ove (2015). It was written and directed by Hannes Holm, from a novel by Fredrik Backman.

Rolf Lassgård plays Ove, a man in his late 50's who has lost his wife to cancer, and lost his job due to redundancy. He is angry all the time, and demonstrates his anger by berating his neighbors, and making everyone stick to the letter of the regulations of the community in which he lives.

You know something is going to change when new neighbors move in. The husband is Swedish, the wife (Bahar Pars) is Iranian-Swedish and pregnant, and their two daughters are adorable. You can see the end coming right from the start.

What you can't see from the start is Ove's back story. Life has dealt him some bitter blows, some of them involving deceit by the people he calls "the white shirts." Ove truly loved his wife, Sonja, portrayed very well by Ida Engvoll. Now he has nothing and no one to love, and he takes this out on the world by being a pain in the neck.

The movie has some funny moments and some tragic moments, and, eventually, they all fit together. The film is well crafted, well acted, and well photographed. It's hard not to like a movie like this. Think about the movie as "It's a Wonderful Life" in Swedish, and without Christmas. Maybe the plot is obvious, but it moves you anyway.

We saw this film at the truly excellent Little Theatre in Rochester, NY. It will work well on the small screen. It's worth seeking out and watching. (A Man Called Ove has an excellent IMDb rating of 7.6. It's interesting that almost every voter liked it, and both U.S. and foreign reviewers enjoyed it equally.)
37 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
pleasant and moving
nneveregret10 May 2016
one of you guys may wonder why I am writing a review of this movie now. Im in South Korea so this movie didn't came out in cinema yet. nevertheless, I was waiting for this move after I got to know people seemed to love a book. Luckily, I got a preview ticket and could see it last night.

I was kinda expecting this was gonna be good because I checked IMDb reviews for this movie said this was worth to see. I enjoyed this move a lot more than I expected. I like a fan of movie having good story line more than spectacular SF or CG scenes. To be honest, I love watching great nature scenery so it doesn't need to have a good story line.

You can find about this movie's story line easily here and somewhere. so I don't write about movies much. I want to tell you why I loved this move a lot. First of all, Main character "Ove" acting is so excellent and involving. and his wife ensembles his character so adorably. Many scenes of his reminisces are very touching and got my eyes watery.

I had thought to myself how it could be sad to lose a lifetime partner. and how it could be happy to get a woman I truly love. Someone can truly change your life.

Characters and places in this movie were very restricted so it can be boring if you expect a very entertaining movie. If you go for movies that can give you a thought, definitely this will be for you.
35 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A warm movie, but not the best of its kind
blumdeluxe9 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I do have to say that I expected a bit more of this movie. It tells us the story of a rather grumpy old man that is isolated within his neighborhood and plans to bring his life to an end but is stopped by his own pedantry and a new set of people that bring a necessary chaos into his ritualized life.

While the plot itself surely has potential, at the same time it is not something you have never heard or seen before. Movies love to show the warm heart in otherwise cold characters and elder people are always a good target for that because they already have more stories to be told to explain how their bitterness appeared.

In this case, everything seems just a bit over the top. How every time he attempts to commit suicide something happens out of the blue is probably supposed to be of comical value but somehow just appears to be unrealistic. At the same time many of the characters seem a bit stereotypical or at least one-dimensional.

It is a warm film though, with a warm message and it is never wrong to have some more of those. I did feel sympathy for this old man with his cat and his wife, and I did feel touched by their accident and so it surely makes some things wright. That it teaches tolerance, among cultures as well as along sexual orientations, is also a very positive point.

All in all it is a warm film that doesn't harm anyone but the cold-hearted, but there are better similar ones existing.
22 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
evolve your relations
lee_eisenberg1 January 2017
Some of the movies that I find the most interesting are ones that focus on interactions between people from different cultures. "En man som heter Ove" ("A Man Called Ove" in English) is one such movie. The protagonist is a misanthropic, aging man in a neighborhood in Sweden. He spends much of his time telling people if they're breaking the law. But when an Iranian woman and her family move in, this becomes a new opportunity for him.

In addition to showing Ove's relationship with this new family, the movie uses flashbacks to establish what kind of a person Ove is. And believe me, there are some shocking things that happened in this man's life. I had never heard of the director or cast members before watching the movie, but I'm impressed with their work (including the cat). The movie has some clever scenes, but also makes sure to emphasize the characters' relationships with each other. I hope that Hannes Holm continues to make this sort of movie, and I hope to see Rolf Lassgård in more movies. Bra gjort!
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Feel good movie
psoilander7 January 2016
This movie is one of the better with Rolf Lassgård. To choose write this in English is a bit idiotic, if I choose to retain a bit from the spirit of the film. Everyone should write in Swedish!

You can tell a lot about a movie that does not take up much more than everyday events where most of the accident comes from Ove's life. Somehow Lassgård grasps the classic silence with deep melancholy traits that are often found in our northern latitudes. He uses all his (big) body language to express emotions which makes him to a brilliant actor.

Because children have a special role in the film, there is probably nothing in the world that can make a movie beautiful in itself. Lined up with grief and death the moments sometimes becomes strong. A dark wintry Thursday evening in a crowded movie theater there were many who shed tears.

There is also a clear generational perspective in the film too. The generation born in 1940th's are retiring and leaving earth on natural reasons. Of course it feels bitter. But also the world they left with their differences are a bit odd in our eyes. Who care about car brands today?

The new Swedes that blooms up with immigrants. Also the touch of our sometimes stupid and heavy mentality that smooths out cultural differences.

The beautiful hope that exists in our country.
35 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very funny and moving
adam_zeiloth26 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I did see the one man show with Johan Rheborg in the theater, so I knew what the story would be about, and Johan did a great job on the stage.

The story itself is very moving and its about Ove try to manage life after his life partners death. He have his patterns and many people around him making these patterns hard to follow. I don't want to spoil the movie by saying to much, but i thing this is enough to get a grip of what the movie is about.

I did have low expectation then many great books try to adapt to cinema and fail, and we have some great actors in Sweden, but many overrated actors also. This was the perfect cast and this movie moved me to many laughers and tears. I would go so far and say this is a top 3 of all the Swedish movies I seen in my 30 years. I could really recommend this movie to all viewers no matter how old you are or what kind of person you are.
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A humble journey through life from beginning to end
fdiorico31 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Definitely one of the must-watch films of your life!

This movie is definitely in the top 100 must watch films in the entire world. At least, it is for me.

It's a simple story of what life has to bring and how one handles it. It makes you realize that there is a reason for everything. There is a reason why this person is happy, why that person is grumpy and why the world is how it is. We all have our stories. A man's true character is not measured by mere first impressions. It is through opening ones' book slowly, reading the story and being a part of it.

There is nothing more I can say than, "Just see for yourself."
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Feelggod movie with much truth, but a bit too much sugar
OJT31 December 2015
En mann ved navn Ove (A man named Ove) is a Swedish-Norwegian co-production based on a success novel by the same name by Fredrik Backman, about a somewhat naive and grumpy man of 59, Ove. A railroad working man for 43 years missing his recently passed life companion and wife. Also being laid off at work, he decides to meet her again on the other side, and starts planning his suicide. But things don't seem to go his way this time either.

In many ways this is a quite typical Swedish comedy drama where some small tragedy is mixed with life and a god portion of feel good. Easy yo love, and to some felt like it has a deeper mission and meaning. And it has, and the film is funny to some extent. When it comes to giving the a serious message, the film loses itself on the way, and becomes a story a bit too far fetched.

If you don't take these too-far-fetched parts too serious, and with this the over exaggerated moral, this is a quite pleasant watch, though a bit too long for my taste.

Rolf Lassgård, a classy Swedish actor, makes one of his best roles ever, being the exactly same age as Ove here, but is strangely enough made very strange in the make up, and seemingly much older than he is in real life. It's also strange that people around him is insensitive to this grumpy mans awful behavior. Being so unlovable, there is simply no reason why this man should get so much affection and trust.

But, then again. This is pure fiction and entertainment. If you are able to see through this, you'll have a good time watching this tale of human relations and understanding.
19 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Could have been a lot better
sid199626 April 2016
The movie doesn't do the book justice. I believe the adaption could have been done a lot better. The movie leaves out a lot of crucial scenes that explain why the main character behaves the way he does. The script is also plagued with a problem that is common in Swedish movies. The fact that the dialogue becomes too theatrical and not ringing true.

Generally I felt that the acting was sub par. This is somewhat related to the problem with the dialogue; you feel like you're watching actors rather than characters. However, Bahar Pars, Ida Engvoll and Rolf Lassgård were the exceptions. They all did a pretty good job in my opinion.

However, although I felt the movie lacking in a lot of areas, the story is pretty good. But I recommend reading the book before seeing the movie, as the book, in my humble opinion, is a lot better.
29 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The life after the loved one departed.
Reno-Rangan24 January 2017
This is a Swedish film based on the book of the same name. It is sent to represent the nation at the 2017 Oscars and as for now, it made into the December shortlist. This is the tale of an old grumpy man and the life after the death of his wife. That would be a toughest phase of life for anybody. I am sure you had seen many films like this, but this one was slightly different, yet totally convincing on every topic it focused on. So funny, at a time meaningful and emotional, particularly how the tale ends.

In a small township, a 59 year old man called Ove lived most of his life and now he decides to take his life. But the attempt was prevented when a new lousy neighbour arrives and so it keep delays further. Now's the time to reveal all the reasons behind his dreadful decision with lots of flashbacks and current affairs. That he's a nightmare in his neigbourhood to those who break the rules. He's not a friendly type, because of his childhood and the lessons he learnt from his father to face the life as tough it gets.

The only friend he ever had did not last for a long. His wife was his world and then the job at the railway. The narration given a good enough focus on his romance life. His younger version, played by another actor reveals particularly the initial stage like how he had met her. I don't know these actors, but they all were so good. A perfect setting as well for the story to take place. I think the filmmakers did lots of best decisions and in the end it all paid off with a greater recognition in the international level.

"Honesty is the best thing, Ove. But sometimes honesty needs a little help."

A heartwarming comedy-drama for all age groups. I was looking for such a film and I realised only after watching it. The character Ove was designed awesomely and all the story events built around him was excellent. Covered most of the topics like friendship, love, neighbours, job, moral values, even the pet animals. Loads of fun, guaranteed entertainment if you are seeking a comedy film. As Ove was portrayed very seriously, all his actions, especially the newly arrived woman make major difference to end the film most comedic way.

The regularly visiting his wife's grave, the film beautifully gives an insight on the life of Ove being a widower and a retiree. But also how it all turns around for him who never laughs and finally he does, was the film's highlight. Like I always say, I'm not a book person, but I love watching films based on the good books like this one. An awesome adaptation and I hope those who loved the book, as well enjoyed the film.

Usually all the good films run nearly or over two hours. Because of the slow and steady developments in its characters and the story. For this film, you won't notice the time. The pace of the narration, including the lovable characters and the storyline makes you forget everything else. In a few days the 89th American Academy Awards nominees will be announced and I am sure it will make. Looks like this year, three Scandinavian films going to make the noise at the Oscars. In the meantime, I hint you not to miss it, either it wins or lose, it is one of the best films of the year around the world.

8/10
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Lovely Conventional Movie
ArminCallo-PalmSprings17 January 2017
This was a lovely, conventional film. No, really it's a movie rather than a film. And while Swedish, it reads very conventional Hollywood. Movie comfort food, if you will. Very nice, and a total feel-good movie for all ages. It leaves one feeling all warm and fuzzy. And besides that, well, that's about it. What stays with me? A sad sense of longing for community, so very rare today, especially in the USA.

Scoring the different elements of the film objectively, 1 to 4:

Script/Story: 3.5 - nice, well constructed. Loved the fact that flashbacks ride on scenes of suicide attempts. This was a nice, ironic feature of the narrative.

Cinematography/Visual Effects: 3 - conventional, competently shot. Not much more to say.

Editing: 3 - See above (heavy sigh -- conventional, competently edited. Not much more to say.)

Sound Effects: 2 - forgettable, nothing significant here.

Musical Score: 2.5, at times stereotypical, ie Spanish-y music for scenes set in Spain, etc. Competent, but not significant, which is very appropriate for the narrative structure.

Performances: 3.5, strong performances.

Production Design: Sets, Locations, Costumes, etc.: 3.5, production design great, iconic for the area and period feel of the storyline. But an Oscar consideration in hair & make-up, really??? What am I missing here?

Would I recommend this movie to a friend? Of course, total movie comfort food! Sweden's Terms of Endearment or Forrest Gump or . . .
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Lesions of death
cinemajesty21 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
"A Man Called Ove", a Swedish independent film starring Rolf Lassgard directed by Hannes Holm tells a story of a tired man at the age of 60, who rules a small suburban community with iron fist, by picking cigarette buds from the pavement to throw them into the trash. The character of Ove becomes an anecdote for a passing generation of the Self-Indulged. Director Hannes Holm realizes in his film a world under the dome of control, order and cleanliness.

An all-familiar house of cards gets created, which is about crumble with the arrival of new neighbors, a contemporary mixed couple of an Iranian woman and a Swedish homestead man with two daughters, who are about to ring the bell when Ove attempts one of his five suicides in the picture. Not as brilliantly bitter-sweet acted as the character of Harold in Hal Ashby's "Harold & Maude" (1971), performed by Bud Cort; yet Swedish actor Rolf Lassgard utilizes all his subtleties to carry the film from start to finish.

Nevertheless the spectators find joy in watching "A Man Called Ove" with precisely executed cinematography going hand-in-hand with matching acting beats from the leading cast and his supports and well-paced directions with the frequent use of flashbacks in Ove's young adulthood, where the relationship to his past wife gets developed. The adapted screenplay also prepared by Director Hannes Holm has the ingredients of a classic interpreting an aged adulthood being nearer to death, but finding some flashes of life throughout a daily routine.

The director, a well-educated craftsman of a filmmaking machinery, plays the story-line all too safe, totally relying on the acting experience of his leading man without getting him in any serious conflicts. This circumstance needs to compete thematically with Directors as Ken Loach, who established with his recent motion picture "I, Daniel Blake" (2016) a higher level of sophistication in his directorial vision by sending his main character on an odyssey into bureaucracy before dying of an exhausted heart.

Ove as the character of Daniel Blake share the same fate of feeling the uselessness when a life's work has been completed, which could arguably only be topped on entertainment levels by the collaboration of Director Alexander Payne and Jack Nicholson, with the in season 2001/2002 produced motion picture "About Schmidt" (2002); and further leaves "A Man Called Ove" as a film giving tributes to actor Rolf Lassgard, who performs in a part of a life-time with eye-winking yet chilling professionalism.

© 2017 Felix Alexander Dausend (for Cinemajesty Entertainments LLC)
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It had potential to be much more than it was.
Vikingbyheart26 July 2016
Scandinavia always surprises us with different movies and with very peculiar story lines. Based on the bestseller book by Fredrik Backman, En Man som Heter Ove (original title), or A Man Called Ove (in English), tells the story of Ove, an old grumpy widower, 59 year old, who despite having been deposed some years before as president of the residents association continues to watch over his suburban neighborhood with an iron fist. Depressed, lonely and tired of the monotony of everyday life, Ove is a picture of a person who has given up everything, including himself. Stubborn, moody, with firm beliefs and rigid routines, his approach to life and negative view of the world are put to the test when a new family moves into the house across the street.

To talk about old age and its dilemmas has never been an easy task, both in real life and on the big screen. Sometimes it seems that society wants to avoid or forget it, as if it was a distant drama to which we will never live or witness. Thus, it is common that actors with advanced age only interpret supporting characters, with roles that are far from the narrative's focus. However, when they had the opportunity to star in the leading role, they gave birth to great characters and great films. Among them are: Make Way for Tomorrow (1937), Umberto D. (1952), Ikiru - To Live (1952), Smultronstället - Wild Strawberries (1957), Cocoon (1985), Börn Náttúrunnar - Children of Nature (1991), Grumpy Old Men (1993), The Straight Story (1999), Elsa y Fred - Elsa & Fred (2005), Gran Torino (2008), Amour (2012), Nebraska (2013), 45 Years (2015) and the animation Up (2009).

With a sincere, poetic and humorous story, the Swedish writer- director Hannes Holm (known for Adam & Eve - 1999, Klassfesten - The Reunion - 2002 and Himlen är Oskyldigt Blå - Behind Blue Skies - 2010) addresses a sensitive issue in a subtle way. Humor is one of the key parts used in the process, being present at various times throughout the film. But we are also exposed to sad and tough situations as the story unfolds.

The action takes place both in the present and in the past. At first we are introduced to the older version of Ove, played by Rolf Lassgård (known for Jägarna - The Hunters - 1996, Under Solen - Under the Sun - 1998 and Efter brylluppet - After the Wedding - 2006). From the first impressions we encounter a guy who is rough, irritating, without kindness and also is the terror of his suburban neighborhood. He daily patrol the streets and sidewalks in search for irregularities and breaches of rules, which must be followed rigorously. Subsequently, through the use of flashbacks, we are introduced to his child version (Viktor Baagøe) and younger version (Filip Berg, known for Ondskan - Evil - 2003 and Odödliga - Eternal Summer - 2015). Thus, gradually, his past is revealed, explaining his current behavior, which makes us reflect and reassess our views on the main character.

The film deals with current concepts and issues such as immigration, globalization and changing values ​​over generations. Parvaneh, played by Bahar Pars (she acted in När Mörkret Faller - When Darkness Falls - 2006), has Persian origin and is the woman of the family who moves into the house in front of the protagonist. Contrasting with Ove's personality, she is passionate and opinionated, being responsible for bringing heat to the protagonist's cold relations. Parvaneh portrays the case of so many other refugees who emigrate to European countries in search of a better life.

The identification of the main character with the cars of Saab and the consequent dispute with the cars of Volvo, originally two Swedish brands, represents the nationalism. Ove was from a time when the products (consumer goods) were made within the country. Today, with global value chains and the internationalization of the economy, the goods have no borders and brands have become global. Half of Saab was bought by General Motors in 1990 and the remainder in 2000. In 2012 the company was purchased by China National Electric Vehicle Sweden AB. As for Volvo, in 1999 it was sold to Ford Motor Company. In 2010, Ford agreed to sell Volvo to the Chinese Zhejiang Geely Holdin Group.

Ove, as a small-town boy, lived in a different type of Sweden and world. Life had a slower pace and independence and manual skills, such as carpentry and mechanics, were more valued. The difficulties of the younger generation are expressed, for example, in the lack of interest and patience to read manuals or in how a simple installation of a washing machine becomes a challenge.

Apart from the excellent performance of Rolf Lassgård in the protagonist's caricatured role, the soundtrack is a treat apart. Engaging, it is captivating in the patrol's moments through the neighborhood and it's sentimental in the drama scenes. All the production work was very well done, from the cameras, photography, to the costume through the ages. Here we have to highlight a weak point in the script and direction. Although the first half of the film is great, as the story develops and its message and meaning are revealed, the director hastens to complete the book's plot and the movie loses some of its strengths in the second half. Some narrative links should have been better developed, as the change experienced by the main character and how the local community see him after that. As a final message Holm points out that life makes more sense when is shared with others. The film had potential to be much more than it was.

Originally posted in: https://vikingbyheart.blogspot.com.br
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Even the grumpy have a soft side
ccorral41921 September 2016
Sweden has chosen "En man som hater Ove" (A Man Called Ove) - English Subtitled, based on the Fredrik Backman's 2012 novel (I really need to start reading more) as their official Oscar Foreign Language entry. Ove (Rolf Lassagard - already a Seattle and Guldbagge Festival Best Actor winner for "Ove) is a grumpy old man who has lost his title of property manager to an old friend and his wife to an accident. Taking his misfortunes out on anyone and anything that gets in his way, neighbors and friends do their best to stay clear of his presence. Enter a young mixed race couple Parvaneh (Bahar Pars) and Patrik (Tobias Almbord) and their two young girls, who move across from Ove and painstakingly force him out of his doom and gloom existence. With a running time of almost 2 hours, the film tends to go on as it unravels Ove's hidden backstory. Luckily, director Hannes Holms and writer Backman have provided a unique environment to marvel at, and a cast of quirky lovable characters (especially Bahar Pars) to sustain one's interest. Foreign films are great, for many reason, a few of which are that we are introduced to unfamiliar actors and locations.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A heart-warming life story
kraljevic41126 January 2017
This is a story of a ridiculously grumpy and constantly irritated and annoyed old man who is a creature of habits, a perfectionist but also a lonely and sad man who recently lost his life partner, so he doesn't want to be a part of this world any longer.

What makes you compassionate with Ole is his rough events throughout his whole life. They gradually appear and slowly show the other side of an angry, frustrated man whom you then actually start to sympathize. He manages to find a key to his inner peace, even though he wasn't looking for it. All he had to do was open his heart once again.

You shouldn't judge a book by its cover. You should give everyone a chance to bring light in your life, even when you seem that it's too late to get anything fixed. What everyone deserves is a peaceful life and eventually a peaceful death. These are the things I've learned or at least remembered myself while watching this wonderful movie.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Deserves 5 oscars!
francisco89925 March 2018
One of the best movies I have seen in this decade. The direction is so well done, the sory telling is not linear but efficient. A weird character that ends up gaining your heart. Everything is good or autstanding in this film. Direction, Art Direction. Cinematography, A gem that should be seen by everybody. Congratulations to all the people involved.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"There comes a time in your life when you decide who you want to be."
classicsoncall4 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I can credit a mini-vacation to visit a friend for the good fortune of catching this film at a Richmond, Virginia art house, as I'm almost one hundred percent certain it would never appear in the area where I live. Because he (my friend) and his wife had read the book on which the story was based, the natural question was how closely did the film follow the original story, and with minor exceptions, it captured the essence well enough to deter any disappointment.

The picture almost immediately calls to mind Clint Eastwood's 2008 movie "Gran Torino" and the similarities are many. The principal character Ove (Rolf Lassgard) is a recently retired senior citizen who's wife has recently passed away, and his severe conservative code of ethics is displayed in the way he attempts to enforce the administrative codes of his neighborhood block association. Told in a non-linear fashion, the story takes us back to Ove's childhood and young adult life, with a tender and touching story of how he met his wife Sonja (Ida Engvoll), and how they both managed to persevere through an unfortunate accident that left her crippled but determined to live a normal life.

What could have been a morose story is emphatically brought to life when a new set of neighbors arrives next door to Ove, and he finds his ideas of immigrants consistently challenged. One gets the sense that Ove at no time wants to be bothered with other people, but at the same time finds it impossible not to reach out and help someone in a time of trouble or crisis. Having decided that he wants to join his beloved wife on the other side, Ove is constantly thwarted in his attempt to take his own life. In that respect, the film calls to mind another picture, this one from 1971, called "Harold and Maude". The difference however, is that the character Harold fakes suicide repeatedly to get a rise out of his family, whereas Ove seeks a real outcome. Or does he? The viewer must draw one's own conclusion, particularly after Ove declares that "Killing oneself isn't all that easy."

Because this is a Swedish film, the only one I've ever seen at this point, one rather major disconnect for me occurred when the Willie Nelson song "You Were Always on My Mind" popped up in the soundtrack. In a way, it did fit the occasion because it had to do with Ove's memory of his wife, but it just seemed odd and out of context. The other concession to American film making that I'm sensitive to because I've seen it so many times now, was a product placement for Coca Cola, which shouldn't amaze me so much in a global economy, but it was just too striking not to mention it.

Filmed in Swedish with English sub-titles, this is a competent film that one ought to catch if it should come your way. Along with the heartbreak of Ove's personal story, there are many moments of warmth and humor, and you'll catch yourself chuckling in spots that are both touching and ironic. Not necessarily a feel good movie in the traditional sense, though the picture has a way of working it's magic in a profound way.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the best Swedish movie
johanna-ewards18 August 2016
I was so surprised after I watched this movie, it really touched me!! I had no expectations but this is one of the best Swedish movie I have seen! A nice mix of both comedy, tragedy and love. And brilliant acting mainly from the head character Ove that is played by Rolf Lassgård.

The set up and the storytelling is a bit similar to the Swedish movie "the hundred year old man who climbed out of the window and disappeared". So if you like that type of movie you probably will like this one as well.

I strongly recommend this movie to everyone! It is a funny but still important movie that makes your heart warm.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Up (for it)
kosmasp2 September 2016
Those grumpy old man, with prejudices and all those other foul trades. You just have to love them. Well if they are in a movie and most likely to be changed a lot by the end of it. This is no different than a couple of other movies in the same vain, that give us an "unlikely" hero (I know it never seems like the right way to describe them) who does go through major changes.

Is that something that you like to watch? Than you know what to do. It's not knee jerking comedy/humor of course, but more the subtle kind. Both have their merits and it does depend what your personal liking is. There was a buzz surrounding this, when it played in cinemas and it was very well deserved
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Name In Turkish..
hcronos21 March 2019
I dont know who translates original title into Turkish language.I am sure original title doesnt mean ''Hayata Rovesata Ceken Adam'' Sorry but It is very stupid.Please work with people who know better Turkish and other languages.That doesnt fit IMDB...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
well made and good movie with a huge agenda
zeio-417 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This was a well made and good movie with a huge agenda. it could have been made without showcasing a mid-movie coming out sequence for one character and without a refugee. it sadly detracts from a purely human experience movie in that those characters could have been anyone but the film makers chose to inject refugees. however, despite the infection by social justice tropes, the movie was meritorious. my wife was bawling - too bad i dont get to be her version of ove despite walking the line with her and the kids kind of like ove.

and there was another review here that said 'who cares about car brands these days' - im half ove's age and yes, it does matter. where things are built and who builds them is how the world goes around. all the big tech big advertising companies who shall remain nameless who make all the "billions" take all the best, brightest and smartest people and they dont cure cancer - or make fusion energy a reality - or cure/treat autism - no, they shovel advertising in our faces. so yes it does matter what car your buy and where its made.

i thought the movie was well above average and was enjoyable even with subtitles.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Funny and touching even if sometimes predictable
sergelamarche28 February 2019
Unusual film with many unusual events with a funny twist. Predictably, his life was not going to end too fast. Clever use of flashbacks.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed