Captain Marvel (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
6,325 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Just a girl who won the "over power" lottery without any character depth.
htutmaung5 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
CGI and over power doesn't make a good film. It was like Marvel version of justice league. She could just fly through whatever she wants to destory. There wasn't any display of fight IQ or heart, something you see in Captain America or Iron Man. Just a girl who won the "over power" lottery without any character depth.
74 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
7.1????
aikenkatie1 May 2019
Someone's been monkeying with the real numbers, IMBD....you got some splainin to do! Terrible movie all the way around, and Disney? You may want to rethink the man the man bashing approach, as around half of all movie goers are, well, men. ( I'm a woman, btw, just one who won't put others down in order to feel better about myself) Seriously would like to go to a movie for some real entertainment instead of watching someone's else's political agenda garbage push. No need to say anything more about this huge waste of time, money and potential as others have already said it better. Such a shame all the way around.
124 out of 193 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The timing of making this movie does not make any sense at all, story-wise.
zhangle-845121 May 2019
This newly indroduced CM character is just shoehorning. Most of the storytelling in this movie is just contradictory with a whole lot of plots in some previous MCU films so this makes it more and more obvious that MCU executives were so anxious to make this movie despite that it may feel incompatible or cringy in regards to the previous films of this franchise. So this movie is basically not about storytelling any more, but about pushing certain agendas and politics. Maybe pushing agendas in a movie isn't necessarily terrible or evil, but good characters and storytelling should always come first. Building an unnecessary character and telling an unfit story, and in the same time, pushing agandas beyond the sensible limit, it just feels bad.
60 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
First time I've ever wrote a review. That's how bad this is
bagofnuts-226432 May 2019
I just came from the theater, I went to watch this movie before I saw avengers endgame so I knew more about the character that should be a large influence in the movie. It was so extremely disappointing that I am actually creating an account to review the movie. I'm not a professional writer, I'm just a fan boy, nurse and proud father of a 2 1/2 year old daughter. She is my everything and so is my new interest in feminism and girl power. I watched the Wonder Woman movie and was amazed. I was proud that my daughter could grow up, watch that movie and feel that she too could be a super hero. After watching this film, not only did it miss that mark, but it was all over the place. When my daughter is older I can only apologize that the leader in superhero entertainment missed the mark on a strong female character that is relatable in life. gamora, nebula and especially black widow have more defined positive roles in the marvel movies than Carol Danvers. This film should have been a revelation that women are stronger than men. It doesn't even touch on that position until the last 15 minutes. She literally is mentally pushed down and molded into what man wants to make her. She doesn't "awake" until the end. It is boring and unsatisfying. Marvel and especially Captain Marvel, missed the mark.
83 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Marvel Movie Ever
gabo_alepb6 May 2019
Bad writing. Bad directing. Superfluous and uneven. Brie Larson gave a cringe worthy performance.
64 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't believe the overall number of stars.
When you read the reviews and do a little math it's pretty overwhelmingly obvious that the score has been rigged.
79 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad very bad character
pandeyabhijeet25 April 2019
Only good thing is jackson Captain marvel character is most badly written character to date. Such a bad movie This movie is the reason why i am alienated from marvel.
71 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pure propaganda
ripper_spyky23 April 2019
Bad writing forced female lead A propaganda movie. Captain America retold but bad. Pure trash a waste of money and time. A CGI cat and a dead guy the only ones remerbamble from the movie
71 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Meaningless
Filmcapss3 May 2019
This is the most disappointing movie ever. It feels like it was made by a robot and not real filmmakers. Brie Larson is terrible as captain marvel and the plot is generic and not original at all. Awful movie
74 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hot garbage masqerading as female empowerment
curtishefner23 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The 2 stars are for good visuals. I liked the look of the movie. The story is a pile of incoherent fanfiction. Cinematography is about as predictable as possible...

If you've seen Brie Larson in Room, you know she can act well in a dramatic role. But the script for this movie does not play to her strengths. There is very little drama. When there is drama, it is dispelled by bathos or it has no stakes.

The audience could be invested if only there was a reason to empathize with any of the protagonists. But, since Captain Marvel never has to grapple with challenges beyond "I don't remember" and "Stereotypically abusive men didn't praise my perfection" - it's tough to relate. The true villain of this movie is Carol Danver's lack of self confidence. Though, this villainous doubt is usually hidden with snarky and snide comments, attempting humor. When Carol overcomes her lack of self confidence, she realizes that she is utterly perfect and totally powerful to the point of not being challenged by anything.

Captain Marvel (who isn't a captain) doesn't earn anything about her powers. It's like the opposite of Spider-man because there isn't even a typical sense of responsibility to accompany the powers. By "typical sense or responsibility", I mean the need to consider the consequences of action and inaction. Spider-man consistently grapples with risk to himself and others. He has a secret identity because he doesn't want villains to hurt his family and friends. And all other superhero movies in recent memory SHOW the audience the ramifications of failure and the NEED to get back up.

Remember the first Iron Man movie? Tony Stark was an arrogant, selfish rich kid pretending to be an adult. Then he encountered some major hardship and had to face his failure - the facade of his moral perfection got stripped away when the enemy was using his weapons. War profiteering - that had an effect on his chcaracter. Then he met a man who sacrificed to help him overcome. Then he went home and got coddled and told he was talking crazy - dang patriarchy keeping him down! So, Tony built a better suit with many trials and lots of experimentation and comical failure. And he learned to fly, then fell (almost to his death) as an ice block. He used his hard-earned knowledge to improve. Them he used his power to help the oppressed people who had been inoacted by his war profiteering - and got shot by the Air Force for doing so. Tony can barely go minutes of runtime without screwing up something or encountering some barrier to success. And those CHALLENGES endear him to the audience.

Carol Danvers is falling through the atmosphere when she has some kind if eureka moment or something that enabkes her to flawlessly fly. Too bad the audience of the film couldn't WATCH the inspiration happen. We see the result of the story moment, but we don't see the story.

What story we do see is totally nonsensical anyway though. Unstable tesseract goop empowers a pilot. Her enemy - who wants the tesseract and doesn't care about her at all - adopts her instead of killing her. She has no memory, so doesn't remember that she is powerful... except that she knows she can blast energy from her fists like Iron Man's hand stabilizers. But she believes her powers come from a microchip patch on her neck - even though NO ONE ELSE has a patch that gives those powers.

Why don't the others in her crack team get blaster arms from a neck patch? It's convenient for a soldier to not need to carry their weapons or remember to reload or clean their gun. "Disarm" is usually a metaphor, but in this movie it's literal. To take away Carol's blasters, you have to literally remove her arms... maybe her compatriots could benefit from such tech. But she didn't think to suggest that.

There are soooo many problems with this story. And I do mean the story itself. If Captain Marvel had been a man, the story would be just as bad. If you want specifics, just check youtube for videos that are 15 mins or longer about the movie. Lots of great observations about how the story is bad. The filmmaking is bad. The editing is bad. The visuals are good. The people are pretty. Everything else is bad.

And, come on! A stupid cat scratched his eye?! What a stupid way to destroy the credibility of Fury just fur a dumb joke. If this keeps up, Marvel's MCU will crash into dust.
83 out of 129 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
My new Superpower after this: RESISTANCE TO SHEER STUPIDITY!
FIHMPlan2 May 2019
Watch this and I guarantee you everything you believed dumb before would look like sublime philosophy by comparison.
66 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How 7.1/10
usmansaleem54225 April 2019
I scrolled reviews more than 500 and almost all of them were below 3. I am wondering how this movie got 7.1/10 rating...
185 out of 302 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The most powerful hero in the MCU (that destroyed all 10 years built MCU)
atipat-lorwongam13 May 2019
I dont have anything much to say, bad in every way!! I just dont enjoy watching this film!

Characters, story telling, background music, continuity of the MCU,

this movie is definitely the worst movie Marvel ever made till this date!
52 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't believe the hype
itsmehudson1 May 2019
Don't believe the hype this movie is way overrated and easily the worst marvel has produced so far
52 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Practically nothing good about it besides the Kree commando team
mtlabfall25 March 2019
This film
  • ruins MCU continuity
  • fails to inspire a single goosebump
  • bores
  • exasperates
  • is far too glib
  • tries too hard to be a feminist PSA (*show*, don't preach plz)
  • has a horribly miscast lead hero who is also poorly written
  • made me groan when Nick Fury's eye injury was revealed
  • shows a ridiculously happy-go-lucky Nick Fury that doesn't mesh with his MCU personality AT ALL
  • is possibly the worst MCU film (Ant Man and the Wasp anyone?)
  • doesn't deserve a 7 on IMDB (especially if Wonder Woman, a far superior film, is only .4 ahead)
  • can and should be criticized without political insinuations (i.e, I want female superhero films, just not crappy ones like this).
  • has mediocre at best fight scenes
  • has a sidekick character that - given the circumstances - makes an insanely poor decision to "come along"
  • has a weak character arc, the hero doesn't struggle enough to discover her powers and then has totally OP powers and THEN doesn't fully use them against a certain person (who won't be named, Spoilers)
  • deflated the possibility of having Skrulls as villains for upcoming films
  • made me revise my opinion of Brie Larson as a good actress
  • is regrettably diminishing my interest in the next Avengers movie
  • is regrettably making me wonder if this movie is what we'll look back on and say "Marvel jumped the shark"
491 out of 832 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bots maybe?
dh1196926 April 2019
So many negative reviews. I have a hard time believing the high ratings are real and I do not know anybody who liked the movie or brie's acting.
72 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terribe
patrickbivona20 April 2019
Boring, bad acting, terrible writting, and they cram the soundtrack down you throat. They tried really hard to make another Guardians movie, but ended up with a Guardians II movie.
55 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Did I Watch a Different Movie than Everyone Else?
ariahdixon8 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Just got home from seeing the movie and immediately told all my fellow MCU fans they need to see it. Then I hop on here and see negative review after negative review and I disagree with most of them! Feels like I was in a different movie! Only thing I will agree with was bad is the fact that we don't know of a Captain Marvel weakness. She's insanely overpowered. But I mean, so is Scarlet Witch if you think about it. Scarlet Witch could take down any of the Avengers if she wanted to. And she sorta did, in Ultron when she was making all of them see their worst fears. (By the way why has she not done that since that movie? But that's besides the point) The only weakness Scarlet Witch has/had was her love for Vision. But that wasn't introduced until later in her story. So I don't think it's bad that we don't know Captain Marvel's weakness yet. This is the MCU, she will have more storyline, this was just setting up for more to come. I actually think Brie Larson's acting was great. We learn very early in the movie that her character's being trained to control her emotions and impulses. That's the only thing she knows as she has no prior memories. Of course she's a little flat because of that. But then I find her character builds and develops as now she has the powers to match her confidence and ambition which gives her even more purpose. She starts regaining her memories and you can see her unfold as she feels love her old friend and the daughter. She stands up against the Kree people who she used to trust and shows them she's better off without them. She gives the Skrulls a chance and ends up fighting for them, and giving up her renewed life on earth for them. I find her to be a very different character towards the end than she is in the beginning. Do people keep forgetting that this movie takes place in the 90's? This was an early beginning story for both Fury and Coulson. Neither of them have gone through any of the crap they soon will so I think it's well done that their characters were quite different. They will develop with time. If you watch this movie, then all the other Marvel movies in chronological order, it'd be more clear. They also joke that Coulson is the "new guy", which to me explains his slightly timid attitude. I went into this movie trying to not let the politics affect my opinion. If you go into the movie already with a bad taste in your mouth, you might be disappointed. And I in no way support some of the things Brie Larson has said and done. But I don't find that any of that was brought into the movie and I am capable of letting those two instances be separate. I don't have to love and support every actor/actress in a movie in order to love the movie. I am a female in my mid-20's and I felt very empowered by this movie. My 29-year-old brother felt empowered. I feel like this movie is intended to be motivational for all audiences and doesn't try to tear anyone down. Goose was amazing and adorable up until he eats the bad guys. That was weird and uncomfortable to me but ok. Still love Goose! Is it the best Marvel has done? No. But I am overall very pleased with the movie and will be seeing it again and again. I just wish it gave us more teasers towards the rest of the Avengers and Endgame but I guess I can wait another month for that! If I have to!
2,849 out of 5,006 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
BORING
Srna116 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I recently watched Captain Marvel and I was surprised over how boring it was. I didn't have very high expectations compared to the other Marvel movies because the movie seemed rushed because Captain Marvel is in Endgame. But the movies was worse then I thought.

Captain Marvel isn't likeable because she is supposed to be this strong and clever woman that never fails. That results in no character development because if she can't fail she can't develop as a character. She has also the same personality in the beginning as she has in the end. All of her jokes and clever comments just isn't funny because they make her sound so cocky.

The big plot twist in the end that the she is working for the bad guys doesn't work if you have watched Guardians of the galaxy(which is an absolutely fantastic movie). Her backstory is way too rushed and doesn't have a impact in the end. The reason why she couldn't fully use her powers was because of some chip which was just boring.

This movie did also ruin Nick Fury and The Avengers. In Captain Marvel Fury loses his eye because of her stupid cat(which just popped up in the movies and is never explained where it came from) and the Avenger initiative comes from Captain Marvels spaceship which I don't like.

This movie was boring, Captain Marvel is unlikeable and you don´t really care about any of the characters even Nick Fury is boring in this movie. I don't recommend this movie to anyone and you don't need to see this movie to enjoy Endgame.
29 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What is this? Marvel!!
HiMoO210 May 2019
This movie shouldn't be one of Marvel's. It's shockingly driven to gender hatred from the scratch. This kind of Feminism is violent; where women are ripped off from their feminine identity and given masculine one. It's just the hair and the voice that make Marvel a women, otherwise you would see her as a man. Honestly, we don't need a masculine version of women to believe they do can men's jobs. Look at Wonder woman, a true heroin example; not this piece of dissolved identity that is sunk into the never-ending school battle between boys and girls. Additionally, Mar-vel was a man, based on the comics, who's given his power to Ms Marvel before dying and became her true mentor. Nonetheless, no body sees him in this movie, and no one redeemed him at all; yet a women took his rule and became her mentor. Gosh! Marvel! what is this?!
47 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not worth 7.1 rating
sandipman202 May 2019
I can't believe people have given it high rating. Such a disservice to the fans. Poor script and poor character development.
61 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unwatchable
santiaggoo20 April 2019
I had to leave the cinema before it ended. I didn't like anything of it. After 10 years of great movies (MCU), ive never imagine they will make a movie as bad as this one.
61 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
You don't need to watch this before Endgame
duongvietlinh7 May 2019
Captain marvel doesn't have any impact in the Endgame movie. With or without her it won't change a bit. So... And it's not a good movie anyway.
34 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Please don't hate me for being white brie larson
Unameb5 May 2019
The character captain marvel who used to be a man and changed for political reasons was thrown in right at the end of a 10 year story of I think 20 films. Luckily she wasn't a main character in endgame and I hope it stays this way for future films. There are a lot of timeline inconsistencies such as shield wasn't called shield till 2008 but in captain marvel which is set before 2008 Samuel l Jackson says it's shield. There are a lot of coincidences as well. The only reason this made 1 billion dollars was because of the name marvel not because it's good and certainly not because of brie larson. 1/10
34 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Thor is stronger
greenlantern20108326 April 2019
Not sure why this movie was made. It was unnecessary in my Opinion. They made her overpowered and seeing her in interviews makes her very unlikable. If marvel is going to go all spacey they should go with the guardians of the galaxy and make her dead lol.
64 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed