Avengers: Endgame (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
6,866 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
An experience you'll gonna remember forever.
raudafitriani24 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
There is no way that I could describe my emotions for this movie. I'm totally speechless. I haven't laughed (even cried) this much in Marvel movie or even in any movie. I'm fully on my emotion, there are so many tears of joy and loss. Amazing story, the acting is outstanding, epic action, great CGI, the best storytelling ever told in a superhero movie, amazing performance. I love it more than 3000.

Happiness, sadness, pure joy, excitement... I'm gonna miss this moment in my whole life because let's face it- it's been awhile movies can bring such a big enthusiasm like this.

It is such an experience you'll gonna remember it forever. People are clapping, laughing, crying, full of a state emotion. It's 3 hours long but it went by like a finger snapping by Thanos, and now I'm thinking I'm actually in Quantum Realm because it felt like 5 seconds. Even though you know where the story is gonna bring you because it's still a 'superhero movie' but it left me speechless. It's not just a superhero movie, it's more than that.

**SPOILER ALERT**

Even some characters that you didn't like before, you will love them in this movie. Like Captain Marvel. I didn't like her before in her own movie but in Endgame they showed how powerful, how strong and how capable she really is. And now I kinda love her! But Marvel should really be careful of her line though, I didn't like some of her line like "I'm the strongest" and "You didn't win because before you didn't have me" duh. Also not gonna forget Hawkeye. To be honest, in Avengers I really didn't like Hawkeye because he's just a 'guy' with an arrow and just randomly showed up in any scene but actually he's character is so BADASS! Everything that we need, what we want is here.

Also I don't get it why some people can not accept that Thor is fat or treat him like a joke. I mean, this movie might be trying to give us a message about no matter what 'shape' are you, you can be a hero and save the world. To be honest, I like what they did to Thor, that man is depressed and taking the most responsible after he missed the shot to kill Thanos in Infinity War. Even though he already did killed him but it's not gonna bring back his people of Asgard. Also he's God of Thunder for god sake, he could slap his stomach with thunder and got his abs back.

I'm so happy too for Captain America. Finally he could do his dance with Peggy and I didn't expected that we could see the fight between Captain America with his own self. Also when Tony met his father really warm my heart, and we can see the 'real-life' Jarvis - I didn't expected that too.

When the whole superhero arrived it is so EPIC! The whole person in theater are screaming and shocked. Gives me a goosebumps and still left me speechless!

This movie is absolute perfection. The ending of this movie is we and the characters deserved. It gives a perfect balance for all these past 10 years. Epic and perfect ending, I was not disappointed at all. This movie was completely emotional and visually stunning. Now I get it why the Russo Brothers told us to do a Marvel Movie marathon before watching Endgame because this movie had everything to accomplish what left behind before all of this.

Ready or not, whatever it takes.

Go watch it for yourself.
3,399 out of 4,662 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The End of an Era!
ahmetkozan25 April 2019
After Avengers Infinity War, we waited for the Avengers Endgame. We wondered how the story would go on, how our heroes would turn back, what would be the end of Thanos. Many theories related to this have been put forward. Avengers Endgame was undoubtedly the most anticipated film of recent years. Normally, the higher the expectation, the higher the probability of disappointment. But this is not the case for Endgame. Whatever you're expecting, you find much more in the film. This means that the biggest concern about the film has disappeared.

On the other hand, another comparison comes up. Is Endgame more successful than Infinity War? We can comfortably say it Avengers Infinity War is just the beginning of the story. Endgame was the finale of the story. So we shouldn't think of these two films as two separate stories. There is only one story divided into two parts.

Avengers Endgame is, above all, a great homage to the ten-year history of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The story highlights the original Avengers team. Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, Hulk, Black Widow and Hawkeye are at the center of events. No character comes in front of them. Of course there are many characters that play an important role in the story outside the original Avengers team. Everyone's concern was that Captain Marvel, who was included in the Marvel world, overshadowed other heroes. We can say that this certainly did not happen. What is important in this struggle is not how strong you are, but how good you are. This comes to the fore in all areas. It gives good message about being a hero and a family.

Of course, Avengers Endgame has some critical aspects. For example, is the three-hour period necessary in terms of the story? It can be discussed. The head of the story moves much slower than the rest. It also drags the heroes into an emotional predicament. Then the tempo is rising and the heavy scenes we are watching are getting more meaningful. The last 45 minutes of the movie is fully action packed. But the last 45 minutes goes so fast that you don't even realize it. Action and battle scenes are really successful. There is not even a slight distress about visual effects. There are also slight logic errors in the film, but in general the story is so successful that these details become meaningless and insignificant after a certain point.

Lastly, Avengers Endgame doesn't have a movie end scene. Because after the film's final, there is no need for another scene. The Marvel legend Stan Lee appears with a small stage. But this is the last surprise scene in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Moreover, there is no clue about Marvel's future. This makes us wonder more about Spider-Man: Far from Home. 10/10
1,473 out of 2,276 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Overall an epic conclusion but inferior to Infinity War's pace and energy (SPOILER FREE)
This is probably the highest 8/10 I could give for an 8/10 movie.

There are some very good moments in Endgame and that's coming from a long standing MCU fan growing up with these movies. In creating an extensive and emotional journey for a lot of the MCU characters, it absolutely succeeds.

Endgame ultimately is an excellent conclusion to over 10 years of film but I feel the plot's pacing and direction is really lacking to Infinity War, which 'trimmed the fat' and was much more focused and energetic. Granted, Endgame takes risks but this might be a disappointment to some fans with its slower pace that focuses on character development over action and intense sequences. The run time probably should be shorter or streamlined. Less cuts and motion blur during fight scenes would've made it easier to track fights as well.

Respect for the Russo Brothers for taking the direction they did with Endgame and it really does satisfy but Infinity War is overall a more entertaining movie. It's not the best MCU movie but I can't dispute its great conclusion.
1,581 out of 2,628 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The ending made all 22 movies worth it
larshoeijmans24 April 2019
If you're going to watch this movie, avoid any spoilers, even spoiler free reviews. Which is why I'm not going to say anything about the movie. Not even my opinion. All I'm going to say is:

The crowd applauded 3 times during the movie, and stood up to clap their hands after. This I have never witnessed in a Dutch cinema. Dutch crowds aren't usually passionate about this. I checked the row where I was sitting, and people were crying. After the movie, I was seeing people with smudged mascara. That's all I have to say about the movie.
1,451 out of 2,410 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Amazing, but the more I dwell on it the worse it becomes
theroo20018226 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I have to say, my first reaction walking out of the cinema was that it was great. Probably an 8/10. You know there's so much fan service in this movie and I particularly loved the "I can do this all day" CA line from one CA to another. It was almost Toy Story 2, enlightened Buzz to naive Buzz banter.

I loved Clever Hulk, found Thor hilarious, though a bit annoying at times, and loved the references to past movies. Cap swinging Mjollnir around was beautiful.

The deaths in this movie were also pretty surprising but I agree with some of the more balanced reviews in here that it was bizarre that so much time was spent on Hawkeye - does anyone really care about him? Not really.

Killing off Black Widow was a surprising touch, but I, like many others, probably felt more of an emotional reaction to Banner's relationship with her and not Hawkeye (because no one actually cares about him). Renner, as an actor, just doesn't cut it much, unfortunately.

The real problem with End Game, is the time travel. I don't know why any movie franchise would ever want to deal with time travel knowing how much grief it creates. Sure they try to explain everything with their hilarious conversation about movies, but in the end, there are just too many questions left at the end of the day, particularly when they already try to explain it through the Ancient One.

The most glaring one of these is, if they change the past, they're changing another timeline, so how selfish is that? If Tony Stark snaps his fingers and kills Thanos, what happens to that original timeline? If he sent Thanos and everyone back, how does he magically know not to send Gamora back who is now stuck in 2023 - and so does that mean 2014 Quill never meets Gamora?!? What the hell? Essentially erasing the entire 2014 GOTG franchise in that universe. If Captain America goes back in time, he will inevitably change history in some way or another, so that is another timeline, right? So while everyone else's timeline is meant to stay the same in the present (as said by Stark) how does Cap end up sitting by the same lake as everyone else.

There are also way too many questions about new timelines created - but perhaps that is intentional, such as the Loki TV show. But this is why I hate it when they bring time travel into any movie and just add stuff to it to make it wrap up nicely in their own universe.

Also, don't get me started on how impossibly strong Thanos suddenly is without an infinity gauntlet? Even WITH the IG he couldn't stop Thor's Stormbringer, but now without the IG can easily defeat Thor with Stormbringer AND Mjollnir, Iron Man and Cap??? How convenient.

I also think Marvel made a serious mistake creating Captain Marvel, how is she brought in as a convenient deus ex machina and yet doesn't really stick around to show off all her abilities, and she can't even defeat Thanos single handedly? Pfft. That was rich. She can barely prevent Thanos from snapping his fingers, yet in Infinity War, Cap was able to actually hold off his hand too? Bizarre parallels.

So okay, sure, it was enjoyable to watch, but I just feel that there are too many plot inconsistencies creeping into End Game. There should have been better ways to get the infinity stones back, and I think someone stupid just thought time travel was the best way to do it,.
2,054 out of 3,484 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The writers got carried away, the directors over reached and the studio sacrificed the integrity of their product.
Paynebyname4 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I've just come from watching Endgame and I must say that I am disappointed.

I loved Civil War and I loved Infinity War. When I came out of those films, I knew immediately that they were great and that I wanted to see them again. With Endgame, I'm not sure.

I respect how they were prepared to show the consequences of what Thanos had done but by killing him off so quickly and then them having to do their own stone quest (hadn't we already seen Thanos doing this in IW) it felt slow and lazy. Worse still was that it felt very self-indulgent and attempting to be clever for clever sake.

Like how Back to the Future II considered itself clever for showing the events of the first film but with Marty flitting around behind the scenes to ensure that it all still happened. I know it's meant to be fan pleasing but it really felt like a gimmick and lacking in confidence. Almost like it was saying 'Hey guys, this will make you smile'. If you want to make me smile, concentrate on maintaining the quality of your product rather than directly trying to make me like you.

But the trouble with messing around with timelines and bouncing around is that it makes the audience start asking questions during the film. The linearity that we'd seen in IW and the imminent fast approaching threat is replaced in Endgame with a lack of direction and characters that are earlier versions of who the audience have seen.

In IW we were shown Thanos. He was written to be sympathetic or at least a character that we the audience could understand. He believed in what he was doing and this made him more rounded. But in Endgame, that version is dispatched quickly and we are supplied with a 2014 (?) Thanos who isn't the character we know but is just a token bad guy.

This Thanos hasn't made the sacrifice at Vormire, he isn't the guy that would empathise with Scarlet Witch for what she did to Vision. He has suddenly become a token cut out evil bad guy that needs to be defeated. Hell, the writers even manage to forget their own time loop by saying that this Thanos has learnt that he doesn't want to wipe out 50% anymore because they are too ungrateful. How does he know this when the 2014 Thanos has only just literally arrived in the post wipeout Universe? How has he had time to form the opinion that his previous quest for a 50% cull isn't worthy?

Is this a case of the writers being terrified that they had created a bad guy that people related to or was it a fear that they'd written themselves into a hole? Why go to the effort of creating that character in IW to suddenly kill him off at the beginning of Endgame just for a dramatic punch?

For me, the time travelling and stone gathering wasted time to create unimportant scenes that fundamentally undermine the films that came before. In my opinion it would have been better if they had shown the remaining Avengers preparing to do some Avenging and maintained the single minded linearity of IW of battling towards and reaching a post click Thanos and somehow reversing his work.

The more I think of the film, the more plot holes and frustrations manifest themselves. Thor's drinking and man child antics might have been initially funny but one begins to realise that they are deliberately doing this to clip his wings. Likewise with Hulk, his primordial desire to smash and destroy has been removed to think it out and he has become an embarrassing shadow of his former self.

The thing that is meant to be amazing about the MCU is the world building but inconsistencies have been appearing and there are so many in Endgame that it makes you question whether these two films are written by the same people.

In IW, Thanos is a dangerous and credible threat because he has the infinity stones. He takes on half of the Avengers, Strange and some of the Guardians on Titan and smashes them and then takes on the other half on Wakanda and smashes them. Yet it is Stormbreaker (whose creation we have seen been hard earned by a motivated Thor) that has the power to take down Thanos even when he has a full complement of Infinity Stones.

Yet we roll forward to Endgame and we have literally all the good guys together in one place, Cap with his shield, Tony fully powered up, Scarlet Witch p*ssed and vengeful, Capt Marvel who can seemingly do anything and Thor wielding both Mjolnir AND Stormbreaker and Thanos NOT in possession of the gauntlet, yet they can't defeat him.

It's like the fights in IW were so amazing because the good guys were taking on an unbeatable foe yet here he is now seemingly defeatable by the 'rules' that the writers established . A good example of this would be in IW when Cap is the last man standing before Scarlet Witch and he grabs the gauntlet. You see the look of admiration/respect on Thanos' face that Cap is holding open the gauntlet before he punches him to the ground yet now that scene seems pointless.

The writers for Endgame seem to have been driven to undo everything they did in IW. All the tension, all the sacrifice, all the development of Thanos discarded for well, I don't know what. It makes no sense.

IW had two incredible scenes that used to choke me up. When Cap appears in the train station, the Avengers theme kicks in and Falcon and Widow take down the henchman in a wonderfully choreographed scene. In just that one scene it shows them coming to the rescue, it shows how intuitively they work together and it showcases their heroism.

Likewise when Thor creates Stormbreaker and makes his entrance on Wakanda, I felt it for the journey that Thor has been on. He's had to contend with loss and defeat and humiliation and this is his redemption. Here is a character that has earned his game changing weapon and when he arrives and demands to face a character that everyone else is running away from, I want to punch the air.

But in Endgame, that feels like it has to be corrupted. We can't have Thor being dominant, let's break him and make him a fool. We can't have Thanos being complicated and relatable, let's make him a cut out bad guy. We can't have Hulk being rage fuelled and smashing stuff up, let's make him more sensitive and talking stuff out. We can't have Cap being stoic and heroic, let's have him ridiculing one of his own iconic lines in a silly gimmicky fight with himself and commenting on his butt. We can't have a powerful female character that we're invested in look sexy AND be able to take down Thanos, let's give Scarlet Witch a small part but focus our attention on a female character that hasn't earnt our admiration or desire for revenge.

To be honest, the 'rules of engagement' had been set so well in IW that when in Endgame Thanos massed his ranks against the Avengers and then ALL of the good guys showed up, I was almost expecting the camera to pull away and not show the fight given that it was so obviously going to be an easy win for the good guys.

And as for the big fight scene, it did reek of what DC always manage to do which is just throw everything into an end battle and bludgeon you with CGI and pyrotechnics so that you aren't really sure what is going on.

In the many fights in IW, you knew what was going on, you recognised the combatants, you understood the stakes and you identified the geography of the scene. In Endgame we got one big massive fight where everything was thrown in the pot and it was just assumed by the directors that we would be happy with all the flashing lights. And I have to say that considering that Steve and Tony fell out so hard, and that Tony's criticism of Steve was so unfair, that I really had hoped for more than just a handshake, a muttering of 'no worries' and 'here's your shield'. These guys wrote and directed Civil War, they created the line 'we fell out hard' and hence I had hoped for something deeper and more touching than a handshake.

Steve wrote Tony a letter telling him that when he needed him he'd be there but once again the Iron Man bias had to creep in and once again Tony was the victim and the ultimate hero.

But I think my biggest problem is how the convenient time travelling undermines everything. When a franchise starts retrofitting stuff (like Fury's eye being from a space cat), it's then hard to consider the previous stories.

Having 2014 Gamorra means that all the evolution that we saw her go through in GOTG 1 and 2 is wasted. Having Cap marry Peggy means the pain of his sacrifice, him seeing her in Winter Soldier when she is suffering from Alzheimer's, hell even his blossoming relationship with Sharon Carter is kinda irrelevant. Having seen Thor at last step away from his two weaker origin films into the entertainment of Ragnarok and the redemption in IW leaves us now with a bumbling buffoon.

We know that what makes Captain America what he is, is the serum that makes him a super soldier. That he was transformed from a weakling to a superhuman. Sam Wilson is not a super soldier and he didn't take the serum. He is Falcon. Now maybe in the comics he becomes Cap but Bucky is a super soldier. Is the new Cap going to foil an evil plot and be defeated with a tazer or a knife to the chest? Consider the beatings that Steve has taken and the physical strength that he has shown we can recognise that Sam Wilson does not have that.

I'm sorry to say but the Russo's have dropped the ball. Themselves and their writers have succumbed to their success and their desire to be engineers of political correctness and social change. I thought Endgame would be the high soaring end to this 10 year run of impressive movie entertainment but in the end the writers got carried away, the directors over reached and the studio sacrificed the integrity of their product for a chance to 'educate' us all. A real shame and a wasted opportunity.

Infinity War is clearly the highlight of the last 10 years but even now I fear that repeated viewings will render it pointless considering how the makers decided to fundamentally damage it.
665 out of 1,105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Overhyped. Infinity War was WAY Better
JMichaletos25 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Unpopular opinion. Let me start by saying that Endgame is not a bad film. In fact it was a decent film. But nothing more. Maybe I was expecting a masterpiece like Infinity War due to all this hype. The first 2 hours of the movie are really boring. They try to build up many emotional moments only to destroy them with a joke the next minute. And there are really MANY jokes that feel out of place. Endgame uses the previous marvel movies to give you a good story, without building it itself. It's like the writers didn't care to give us a proper story. They just filled it with many dramatic moments. Also, there was no action in the first 120 minutes. Plus, I did not like the way they treated Thor at all. They made him a comic relief in the worst way possible. I wonder how Thor fans feel after watching this. The last battle was epic and beautiful but that's all I really enjoyed. The cgi was top notch. Also, the way they ended Cap's story, meh... Yeah we got it, you want to make people cry and give us the end of an era, but at least do it without creating dozens of plot holes. The 3 hours went by fast, but I wouldn't watch it again in theaters (I had planned to watch it at least 1 more time). This could be so damn good... Disappointed.

*edit* Also, all of you fanboys who downvote all my reviews because you got angry because I gave your beloved Avengers a 6, you are just amusing and pathetic. Get a life.
1,820 out of 3,283 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Dug themselves a hole they couldn't get out of...
aafirules-679-24729227 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
First of, Infinity War was the greatest MCU movie ever made IMHO.

Of course, following it up was never going to be easy, and it's sheer greatness and the impact of the 'snap' was something that the Russos just couldn't navigate a way out of. However, plot difficulties aside, there was really no excuse for some of the poor character treatment and pacing issues that they had.

Positives:
  • RDJ's acting
  • Natasha and Hawkeye's last interactions
  • CGI


Negatives:
  • Abysmally poor treatment of Thor, reduced to a comic relief sideshow
  • Abysmally poor treatment of the Hulk - One of the strongest characters of the MCU didn't fight more than 10secs in the 2 supposedly landmark movies of the MCU??
  • Completely ruined Thanos - reduced to a caricature 'bad guy' after an excellently built character in IW
  • Poor re-introduction of the vanished Avengers - seems most of the team wasn't even paid and they just used some stock footage from previous movies for their blink and you miss appearances
  • Wasted potential of Capt Marvel - why introduce a character so powerful, and then not use them for >95% of the movie?
  • Pacing - all over the place. Could easily have trimmed the fat and achieved a much more coherent product
  • More of a Cap+Stark movie than an Avengers movie.
  • Time travel plotholes - hellloooo. I was OK with the main plan of stealing, snapping, restoring the stones. Hell, I am even OK with Cap getting the happy ending (assuming he stays in hiding his entire life and Carter's life decisions are not affected by the guy in her basement). But as soon as Thanos goes to the future and dies there, Uh Oh - did we just lose the entire Infinity War?? Maybe I am too dumb to understand this...


In the end, while the homage to the movies and characters was fine, I really wanted to have a movie I would rush to watch again (Like I did with IW). Sadly, they couldn't deliver this time.
1,314 out of 2,389 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
So much potential lost ....
CriticalThinking230 April 2019
After Infinity War I had huge expectations. Unfortunately I think it doesn't follow the comic book at all because they wanted some kind of closure of the story. I saw a lot of 10 star reviews and I cannot believe the majority of people like this movie more than Infinity War. I'm not saying it wasn't entertainment to watch but the feeling is that all heroes were forced to fit in a movie paying a big price to the story. There are moments in the movie where the rules from all other Marvel movies are broken and characters which were build over hours of screen time were reduced in order to make space for others. The story is average at best with big flaws.
601 out of 1,077 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolute Perfection End Game ( Score 10/10 ⭐ )
ymyuseda24 April 2019
Absolute perfection end game !! Good acting performance to all the characters. Great cgi's. Truly epic & perfect ending to a long journey of marvel movie. Go see it you wont regret it !! Perfection Marvel Endgame !!
1,284 out of 2,382 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good but a mess in the story department...
majoreasy30 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A nice production for those only interested in action sequences but not so great for those wanting closure of the Marvel story line...

The best part of the film is that it brings together all previous Marvel movies to drive the plot... And the worst part of the film is it brings together all previous marvel movies to drive the plot... because it seems the production team don't really know the stories that ran before... Anyone who follows the stories (from the movies, not the comic) will know there are much easier time points to collect each of the stones... The drama created by making this 'collection plan' much more difficult than it needed to be, added at least an unnecessary hour to the movie...

Other plot points that didn't sit well with me and reduced the enjoyment of the movie, are...

1) Thanos 'killed' 50% of the "good guys" and he's hailed as a super villain... Tony 'killed' 100% of the bad guys and he's a hero? Don't heroes learn from their own pain and sufferings and on principal refuse to inflict the same misery on others?

Surely, other than Thanos and a few of his more loyal subjects, the rest are simply following orders... (On another tangent, Thanos seems to really believe in his cause because after he killed off half the universe, including his people I believe, he lived alone and not with an army of servants and subjects for him to rule as a king... That's honourable...)

2) they didn't reverse time... Just brought everyone back with a 5 year time gap... People should not behave normally when loved ones they haven't been with for 5 years suddenly reappear... Those who have survived those 5 years didn't get their memories and aging removed, right?

3) how did Thanos and his gang all time travel while the avengers are so calculative about one person 2 trips?

A 30 second segment showing Thanos instructing his people to mass produce the Pym solution for time travel would have closed this plot hole.

4) always disliked Captain Marvel because she is so powerful that no other super heros need to exist... And still... She is so concerned about other worlds that she couldn't be bothered to be present for the start of the biggest battle her home planet is about to face... when every known superhero showed up at the right time and right place...

And later, the battle actually showed she's not all that great... So her weakness is she sweats the small stuff, can't see the big picture and not available/functional when needed?

4) If they can bring back Gamora, why can't they find a timeline to bring back Natasha and even Tony? Superheros really don't like to plan and think things through... (Same as when they don't seek the easiest points to retrieve the stones... With zero time pressure for planning...)

5) speaking of Gamora, the Gamora who came with Thanos don't know the guardian crew at all... so even though she's not 'evil' like the old Nabula, she wouldn't be friendly like she knows they are the 'good guys'... Based on the time line, she doesn't even know Quill yet... So she should view him and them as the enemy in the battle...

6) Nabula... If she killed her historic self, shouldn't she just drop dead in the new timeline? Grandfather paradox anyone?

7) what's with that special scene where all the women heroes joined together to show their power? To me, that's totally sexist...

Speaking for myself, I enjoy male and female superheros for their individual powers and weaknesses... Once a person reaches superhero status, in my mind, they crease to represent a gender (other than those gender/age stereotypes to generate laughs and endearment...)

Having al female scene shows me that the production team are so hung up on being politically correct that they generate a reverse sexist scene to feel they are all inclusive... Sigh... These same people want a female James Bond / Indiana Jones but not a male Mary Poppins / Eliza Doolittle... And they think the rest of the world is sexist... The self proclaimed tolerant and inclusive are starting to paint themselves into a corner...

8) while it's nice to see Bruce and the Hulk getting along...an unangry Hulk takes away what makes the Hulk a character...

Remember these famous words? "You wouldn't like me when I'm angry"... that's gone now... Sigh...

9) speaking of which... Why on earth would the Hulk go into battle in an amour suit? Surely that was made for Bruce when the Hulk refused to come out to play?

How would the Hulk fit inside and why would he need it? That's taking power away from the Hulk and it pissed me off...

10) if the Ancient One knows and sees all possibilities... Even knowing when Dr Strange will show up... How did she not see the Hulk coming to ask for the stone?

11) Loki's escape with the tesseract surely would have spun an alternate time line... Since there is only ONE tesseract... Then much of the previous stories wouldn't really make sense if Loki had it almost immediately after he lost it ...

12) Captain America basically anointed the Falcon to be the next Capt? *Roll eyes*...I think the Falcon already has a lot going and Bucky should be a better successor... In any case, we won't see Thor succeed the iron Man suit because he doesn't really need the extra edge... Bucky is a super soldier in the same vein as the Capt. And should have been his first choice for a successor...

13) did Captain America just ignore world events for the last century while he hid with Peggy? (& what did he do after she died... Surely she can't live as long as he... Wouldn't he simply come back to the 'present' having enjoyed a full and loving life, and not yet as old as he became?) ... The Production team might wish to rewatch Highlander...😋

He never got the itch to help the 'current' Captain America fight injustice? He resisted the urge to pass on information that might help the avengers as he had lived through all the events before? (I know, I know... Can't/shouldn't change history... But how could he resist, for someone like him who loves to lecture and lead?)

14) the biggest plot hole of all and the one that buried the movie for me... is...

The Thanos that was in the battle came from before the previous movie right? (Infinity war)...

If Tony Stark kills Thanos in this movie... That means none of the previous movie plot could have happened... Nobody was "killed off" (not even Loki...)... Nobody lost/gained 5 years of their lives... Thor didn't need to get fat, none of this movie should even get started...

That's the devil when idiot film makers dabble with time travel in a non-time-travel movie... Adding this means they can't take care of the details properly...

The above are just the main plot annoyances... And there and many other smaller ones which prevented a truly epic movie experience...

3 hours is a long movie and much of it unnecessary if they tightened the plot to make more sense...

So, while the movie is good...I wouldn't selectively watch it again... Which to me is the benchmark of a great movie.

I'm torn in giving a rating... I want to give 7 based on the scale of the production and emotional ties it has on me from all the previous Marvel movies...

But the constant I'm jolted with throughout the film killed much of my buzz and for that I want to give it a 2... S

to be fair... it'll get a 4 overall to balance both sides...
608 out of 1,132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Emotional but bit messy.
nickgray-1286227 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
So it all ends. I have loved most of the MCU, some have been too predictable but I awaited after IW to see how it would all pan out. Firstly some of my favourite characters are a joke. Please don't dumb Thor or Banner/Hulk down, not necessary. Great starting scene, then slow dramatic next 1.5 hours. It builds to the time travel reversing all section with too many plot holes. We've all seen other time reversing movies who have done it so much better. The last hour is spectacular, great to see all the gang back but it feels rushed. Emotion runs high and defo not a kids film in my eyes. Cap is great Stark is amazing but everyone else feels like there just there. What I loved was the beauty of the final scenes, wonderful score and saying goodbye to old friends. Overall wanted more, but even far from perfect is still pretty good.
690 out of 1,295 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best Marvel Superhero movie ever and also the epic conclusion to the 21 movies in the MCU
rjcattermole24 April 2019
Avengers: Endgame is above all the best Marvel superhero movie to date. This is also the best and epic conclusion to the 21 movies in the first 10 years of the MCU. This is the epic culmination. The best storytelling ever told.
1,117 out of 2,122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Great work in Infinity War undone
shivvaid825 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I have given a lower rating to this movie in the context of a follow up to infinity war. I cannot believe the hype and positive critical reviews given to this movie. There are some glaring plot holes that just cannot be ignored like Steve Rogers going back in time and preferring to live an ordinary life with Peggy Carter and never being Captain America! The God of Thunder and the big angry Hulk being reduced to a laughing stock. The supporting villains seem to have absolutely no impact whatsoever rendering them redundant. and finally Thanos - the most refreshing and complex characters of IW being reduced to a generic villain. Robert Downing Junior is the one saving grace of the movie.
236 out of 430 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
tell me exactly why this 'blockbuster' was good.
amazonafreier4 May 2019
To be honest, most of the people i talked to about this movie said that endgame was great, fantastic or incredible. None of these people could have answered the question: "why is this a good movie?". In the half of the playtime i was bored and already wondering, that they needed another hour and a half to tell the story behind this. I don' t want to spoiler anything and i'll remain quiet until the movie's airing is completed. But once you have seen it, please try to answer this simple question: "why was this a good movie to you?"
282 out of 522 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfection
monks_8924 April 2019
Unbelievable. For Marvel to pull this tour de force of a film is unreal. 21 films. 21 films culminating in the conclusion of endgame. The scope is incredible, I will only say it's definitely one of the best Marvel films out there, and there are many. I don't want to spoil anything. Watch it!
979 out of 1,892 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The zenith of the MCU franchise.
vert271224 April 2019
I feel like I'm wasting my time writing down my thoughts about Avengers: Endgame, because nothing I (or any critic) could say about it would ever dissuade a prospective viewer from seeing it. But after having had the chance to watch it at a preview screening, I can't help but say a few spoiler-free words.

I'm not your average fanboy -- most long-running franchises have bored me at this point, and I couldn't care less about the newest Star Wars episode or whether there will be another film set in the Harry Potter universe.

But Marvel films have been consistently watchable, with many solid entries and a few great ones (Winter Soldier, Ragnarok, the first Guardians of the Galaxy among others). And after Infinity War ended with a cliffhanger, I was looking forward to the conclusion. Boy, was I not disappointed!

Very few highly-anticipated movies live up to the hype, but Avengers: Endgame is one of them. It's the perfect follow up to Infinity War, and the absolute zenith of the Marvel franchise. It's hard to see how they'll be able to top this one.

It's surprisingly inventive (even when you know where the story is headed, the plot takes a few tangents getting there), emotionally engaging (a few people were crying in the theater) and surprisingly funny (this is probably the most I've laughed in a Marvel film since Thor: Ragnarok). Visually speaking, it's a true spectacle (topping Infinity War in the 'epic battle' stakes), and even though it's three hours long, it doesn't feel bloated. The only times I glanced at my watch was because I was hoping there would be more time before the end.

Yes, it's a superhero movie, but an immensely entertaining one (especially for fans who have seen all the pictures that came before it: there are tons of references and inside jokes to reward the faithful).

If "Return of the King" managed to win Best picture at the 2003 Oscars Avengers: Endgame deserves at least a nomination. It's as good (and in many ways better) a conclusion to a fantasy/genre series as the Peter Jackson film,.

Go see it.
862 out of 1,662 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Action,Happiness,Sadness and pure joy!
jaacy-8460024 April 2019
I laughed , cried and was speechless. 3 hours well used. It was a perfect "ending" of the Avenger Movies. I will watch it again and again and again. 10 points well deserved!!!
854 out of 1,659 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Fans deserved more than this
markolos29 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I'm not even sure where to start. I had high expectations ever since I've walked out from IW premiere. Those expectations are further fueled up by all the good reviews and 10/10 ratings this movie received. But, after watching a movie, I'm quite sure that all those reviews and ratings have been sponsored. There is no other explanation. I've also heard stories about people crying, laughing and cheering throughout the movie and giving standing ovations after the movie ended. I'm not sure are those stories made up or what, but in theater where I was, we had like two laughs, some WTFs, multiple yawns and not much else. As matter a fact, I've never seen so many people playing with their phones during a Marvel movie. Never ever. It was that boring.

Now, don't get me wrong, the movie is somewhat watchable, but I beleive the fans deserved much more than "watchable" for this final installment of the franchise. I could basically write a book about what's wrong with this movie, but won't as I've already spend too much time on this abomination. What's the use of it anyway. Fanboys will praise this movie no matter what and disregard all the arguments against it. Movie creators are already counting all the billions they've earned by breaking every box office record there is. The only "victims" here are the true fans who actually appreciate Stan Lee's life work, but they probably already share my opinion anyway. I will, however, throw down a few things that ruined this movie for me, just so I can take it off my chest.

Action balance is terrible. In the first 2 hours, basically nothing happens and what does happen makes no sense. There is almost no action and the storyline is all over the place. And then, all of a sudden the whole hell breaks loose. That wouldn't be so bad if the final batlle was spectacular as it should be, but it wasn't. It was a 15 minutes of pure chaos and CGI showcase. It wasn't clear who does what, who fights who... no coreography, no signature moves... nothing.

Screen time balance was terible as well. I understand the idea to focus on the original avengers squad, but that's not the reason to give like 90% of the screen time to them (with addition of Ant-man) and like 10% to other 50 characters in the MCU. Basically, no one got more than 60 seconds of total screen time, including Captain Marvel who supposed to be a big part of the movie. With most characters, it felt more like a slide show of cameos, rather than integral part of the story.

Most of the characters from the original avengers squad are ruined. I understand that they needed to close their story arc somehow, but was this the right way? Should it be this anti-climactic? Captain America turning into a grandpa? Mighty Hulk becoming clumsy scientest who won't even fight anymore? I kid you not, he didn't throw a single punch the entire move. He basically became the most useless character in MCU. Thor becoming a fat, depressed alcoholic who plays Fortnite and argues with kids on the Internet? Really? The god of thunder? Black Widow meeting the most anti-climactic end imaginable? Couldn't she at least have one more fight scene with her signature moves as we've seen in some previous MCU movies? Couldn't Hulk have at least one more "Hulk Smash" moment? Couldn't Hawkeye show off his archery skills once again? Shouldn't they go with a bang? They deserved it and the fans deserved it.

Why there is no consistency with most character's powers. I mean, at one moment it looks like Captain Marvel can destroy Thanos and his entire army all by herself, but the next one she looks like a houswive who can be thrown around by her drunk husbend with a bad attitude. The same goes for Scarlett Witch. Also, it looks like any character has more chance to win when fighting Thanos alone than they do when going 10 on one. Just makes no sense.

Everything looks rushed up. The main story is all over the place. The entire time travel plot is a mess. Fight scenes are not coreographed well, so it's difficult to follow what's going on most of the time. There is no character development. They just pop up out of nowhere. Humor is forced and out of the place most of the time.

I guess the movie creators just wanted to add too much into this movie, but achieved quite the opposite result. Anyway, the best course of action would be to rename this move to "Iron man 4" and create another Avengers movie, but do it properly this time.
417 out of 795 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A need to temper the hype
Jonno8328 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Like many others, I was excited for this movie following the end of Infinity Wars. I let my mind wander with all the elaborate plot predictions, new characters revealed, epic battles and an emotional thread bringing it all together that infinity wars did so well.

What I got was a good movie, rushed with minimal character development and what left me hoping for an extended cut when the movie comes to the small screen.

Thanos, such a complex character walking the tightrope of his moral compass in infinity wars, was suddenly a megalomaniac hell bent on destruction of all. Thor, given character by ragnarok and purpose by infinity wars, was completely trivialised into a humorous side character. Hulk was lazily reduced to a new hybrid version of "Professor Hulk" with little explanation why. And when all the "dead" characters came back it was just accepted and let's get on with it.

This movie had the potential to be a real emotional roller coaster but they blew it, rushed through he serious moments in an effort to play homage to the previous films (which I felt was a great touch though). The sequences of events in getting the stones just seemed a hastily put together series of interactions that needed more depth.

Then finally, the battle - I was excited when I looked at my watch and realised we had over na hour left in the film. Then disappointed when it effectively ended 15 minutes later.

I think this should have been split into two movies - the first an emotional journey into the past, reuniting heroes with their origin stories and showing how far they had come while bringing each deceased hero back with appropriate fanfare. The second, the right level of preparation, battlecries and depth to make a modern epic.

I still enjoyed it and need to watch again, probably when it's released to on demand. But the excitement I had from the hyped reviews quickly evaporated. Interested to see what the consensus is in a few weeks. My consensus, missed opportunity.
310 out of 588 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Extremely overhyped
chatorech6 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The first two hours seem like an attempt at drama plus almost no new scenes but rather a rehash of the previous 3 movies.

The plot is essentially the same as the previous movie, Thanos wants stones, Avengers fight Thanos. The only new thing here is that instead of losing the Avengers win.

I honestly felt like I was ripped off since I had to pay to see the same plot as previously plus a summary of previous movies...

Incredible that no one seems to notice this, and completely mind-blowing that this movie will outsell Avatar which is an original amazing movie.

The plot is so full of holes and makes absolutely zero sense as well.
67 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No Justice for this Film
dummykenmen28 April 2019
I loved how the story of the Infinity War was conceived. With all the fight scenes and the emotional aspect of the movie, especially the end part, everything was superb. But this is supposed to be a wrap-up film. The directors and writers just destroyed it all. What's the point of doing a hype over Captain Marvel for this movie when you just give her a few minutes of screen time? It would be forgiven if you give her an amazing fight with the villain during the climax. But what have you done? With just a few kicks and punches and that's it. It doesn't give a scratch over Thano's face. What a crap!!!

You also ruin Hulk! He is supposed to be the strongest Avenger after the events of Infinity War, after all the disappointment and frustration he has experienced when Hulk won't face Thanos. But this time, he's just as good as nothing Avenger. I wonder why they did not give Thanos and Hulk a fight of a lifetime. I'm really surprised that they did not even get face-to-face when all hell breaks loose.

This movie is dubbed as an action movie but got 75% of the time talking and mumbling.

There's no justice at all to those beloved characters and this movie. You have ruined my expectations.
34 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great ending but not as good as infinity war overall
Unameb5 May 2019
It's a long film at 3 hours the last one being better because this concludes the 10 year story in at great and satisfying way. The first 2 hours are build up that is ultimately paid off but I felt the middle dragged on I just wanted to get to the end. Infinity war kept me interested the whole time, more than endgame. It's definitely worth the whatch and after you don't have to worry about spoilers.8/10.
192 out of 357 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disapointing
rahimiawat26 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I actually enjoyed Infinity War very much. The best part of that movie was the villain Thanos. He wasn't just another baddie. He clearly had a complex (and intelligent) character and the audience could associate with some of his ideas and philosophy. That interesting complexity and dialogue that he brought to the table was absent or minimal in this movie.

This movie was disappointing because of:

1) Thanos' portrayal

2) Minor characters like Hawkeye given way too much screen time.

3) Thor and Hulk never snapped back to their old great selves (was waiting for it but it didn't happen). I actually enjoyed fat Thor and found it funny but was disappointed we did not get to see classic Thor by the end, even for a moment.

4) Captain Marvel clearly had too much power and could have almost single-handedly dealt with Thanos. It felt like the writers just gave the most paper thin excuse to keep her away.

5) In Infinity War one actually felt sad when Spider Man perished in Iron Mans arms. I felt something deeply profound with the ending scene in Infinity War when Thanos could finally sit and rest to watch the sun set over the new universe he had created. The emotional scenes and deepness in this movie were just not at the same level.

6) The time-travel and quantum physics scenes were confusing or at best not well explained (and I say that as someone with a PhD in Astrophysics!).

7) The last fight scene seemed to be a (cheaper) copy of the Infinity War scene.

Personally I would give Infinity War a 8.5 and Endgame around a 6. However, seeing how many people are (ridiculously, in my opinion) giving this a 10, to try restore some semblance of balance, I will give it a 1.
385 out of 739 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not the Endgame I hoped for
jalidav198026 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Well first off, Infinity War is one of my favourite movies of all time, and I feel the expectations I had built from that, has impacted how I feel about this movie.

Their are some really beautiful scenes and some great fan service which deserves a mention, in a movie that feels like a stepping stone to promote some of the characters that recently failed in the comics. We are entering the get woke, go broke phase of the MCU

Now onto the movie:

The plot line is all over the place and they made the mistake of using time travel to fix the universes problems, there are no consequences for failure anymore in the mcu, because just like in Dragon all we can just "Wish back" all those who died. Its basically Back To The Future, the Thanos edition.

Once again, they sideline Thor and The Hulk by using them purely as a punchline for lame, low IQ jokes in a corny script that feels like it is trying to be so many things, but doesn't quite hit the mark. Thor spends the entire movie as a whiny, fat child with mommy issues

Although there were some very nice, touching moments to the movie I feel like most of the mourning and brooding could have been condensed into a montage in order for us to see the heroes do, exactly what we came to see the heroes do, fight bad guys. There's very little in the way of action and because the story was so all over the place, I left feeling like nothing was actually accomplished in this movie.

As always Tony is amazing, throwing out one liners and nicknames and Captain America is great too.

Overall I really enjoyed many aspects of it, but at the same time I felt like there was no control over the plot. Like they were more concerned with paying homage to EVERY character ever, before writing a great narrative.
278 out of 527 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed