The Confirmation (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
42 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Confirming the Value of The Confirmation
SteveMierzejewski3 June 2016
This is one film where the synopsis does not do the film justice. If I had only read that, I doubt if I would have watched the film at all. Even though the summary is correct, it fails to elucidate the subtleties in the plot and the fine acting that underpins the storyline.

First of all, I hate films that feature kids. The kids are all stereotyped in most films. Either they are too cute or too cynical, spoiled, and arrogant to be compelling. You can be sure that 1) they will be the one that cause the problems or 2) they will be transformed into 'good kids' by the end of the film.

Jaeden Lieberher, who plays the main kid role, is believable. Clive Owen, who I think is often underrated as an actor, does his usual solid performance as a recovering alcoholic-father. But it is the supporting actors who bring this slice-of-life drama to perfection. The emotional fine points in the plot could not have come through without them.

After watching it myself, I decided to watch the film with my 13-year-old son. Normally, he likes the action movie, super hero, special effects-laden films, so this was a bit of a transition. The verdict? He could associate with a lot of the interactions that went on in the film from a kid's point of view and enjoyed watching it. Adults will like it for the insights into adult relationships.

It will not be for everyone. I would guess most kids will be waiting for the next exploding car or 15 minute fight scene, which will never happen, just as they never happen so frequently in real life.

I know this film will pass largely unnoticed, which is why I felt obliged to write a review of it. There are those filmgoers out there who still appreciate a good film in its purest form.
37 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
If I had to chose between the new Marvel movie and this one I would choose this one hands down.
cosmo_tiger1 May 2016
"I don't know what kind of trouble he can get in in a day." Anthony (Lieberher) is 8 years old and is about to be confirmed in the Catholic Church. He has a hard time thinking of a time he sinned and lives life without conflict at all. When his mother and step-dad go on a retreat he isn't excited about spending the weekend with his alcoholic dad Walt (Owen). What starts off as a typical weekend with him slowly changes into 2 days that change the lives of both of them. This is just a great movie. This has everything I want in one. Great acting, a great story and nothing too over the top or unbelievable but touching and heartfelt regardless. It was just a pleasure to watch the interaction between the father and son and how, without overtly trying, they help each other to become better people. This is a very good family movie and is one that you can watch and enjoy with everyone. Every once in a while a movie comes along that needs to be talked up in order to get the audience it deserves. This is one of those movies. If I had to chose between the new Marvel movie and this one I would choose this one hands down. What you lose in effects and action you make up for in acting and story. To me that is more important. Overall, a movie I highly recommend and the best family movie since Little Boy. I easily give this a A.
37 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
OK movie, but not comedy
williamsd-818 June 2016
If you come to this looking for a comedy, you'll be badly disappointed. I'm not sure how this can be classified as comedy at all - there were some vaguely humorous exchanges, and some moments of mirth worthy of a wry grin (mainly from the young lead actor), but nothing bordering on comedy.

However, if you come looking for a feelgood, generally light movie suitable for the whole family (teens and up), complete with enough moments of drama to keep it interesting, you will be satisfied. Not over the top delirious, but happy that your time and money wasn't wasted.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
a young boy learns more about human values in a weekend than many learn in a lifetime
CineMuseFilms2 October 2016
At one level The Confirmation (2016) is a simple and endearing story of a young boy spending a weekend bonding with his recovering-alcoholic father. However, the Catholic ritual in the film's title and the church confessionals that bookend the film suggest more serious themes. Although labelled a comedy, the story is really a dramatic portrait of the growing distance between traditional notions of morality and the ethical relativities of today's post-GFC world.

Eight year-old Anthony (Jaeden Lieberher) has not spent much time with his father Walt (Clive Owen) since the divorce, and when mum has a weekend away with her new husband it is a rare chance for father and son to bond. Walt has a lot of issues, including alcohol, unemployment, a foreclosed mortgage and a broken down truck, so the weekend does not look promising for Anthony whose confirmation is only a week away. When thieves steal Walt's specialised hand- made carpenter tools, the pair spend the weekend tracking them down and in the process get to know each other. It is an emotional journey through neighborhoods that have hit hard times and where even thieves are pitiable and forgiven. There are several near-encounters with real danger and scenes of conventional comedy where many conservative parental boundaries are ignored. Through it all, it is a story about an irresponsible loser whose life is being turned around through the emerging relationship with his over-responsible son.

The film starts with an impatient priest urging an innocent child to confess his sins and ends with him amazed at just how many sins can be committed in such a short time. In between, of course, Anthony had a coming of age journey in the real-world. Some may think the narrative unoriginal and the adult-child inversion a predictable cliché. But it does not look or feel like that. It is a heart- warming and tightly scripted two-hander with everything anchored by excellent acting performances that balance emotional insight with a well-paced plot line. Owen plays an unstable but good man, and his performance is pitched at just the right level to be both convincing and likable. However, the real star is Lieberher who authentically plays wise-beyond-his-age innocence and growing understanding of his father. Their synergy together is delightful. The moral of the story is that what priests expect and life delivers are vastly different, and young Anthony has learnt more about human values in a weekend than many learn in a lifetime.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Coming-of-age: A boy's real world encounter.
Reno-Rangan4 September 2016
For the first time direction, it is not a bad film. The 'Nebraska' writer did his best and I'm totally surprised how this little Canadian gem was not recognised extensively. In fact, it is one of the best films of the year among the PG13 ratings. A drama about a divorced freelance carpenter who babysits his son on a weekend, adventuring the city while preparing for his work on the Monday. When someone stole his tools, they both go after to look who took it and that takes the whole film to cover with some other small events on the side.

Truly a heartwarming drama. You can compare it to films like 'The Pursuit of Happiness', but it had its own way dealing with the story contents. This is not a comedy, but slightly it is fun, as well as inspiring. It narrates the world is full of good and bad, and how we react to them accordingly. Particularly the main character who was desperate to come out of the bad day and to have some quality time with his son. It actually stayed neutral on the topics like theism and atheism, which has some influence in the narration, but revolved carefully around the social and other issues. So that makes there are more things to care about than fighting for nonsenses. That was really a good thing to focus on, maybe that's why I loved it.

The opening and the end take place in the same location, but the difference was the 24 hours and its events. During that time, a boy who was struggling between what his mother believes and his doubts over those beliefs were somewhat influenced to clear his mind. I mean it was not intentional, the film to explain us through the boy, but they were described in the way of someone's daily life base, except it was not an ordinary day for him/them. It was a quite interesting take, and in the current world scenario, this is a wonderful theme for a film which also has high entertainment value.

"Well, I don't know what kind of trouble he can get in in a day."

I don't know the Christian commandment (or any religious's equivalent) that referred in it, especially the meaning of the title, but according to the writer, he wanted to tell what happens if a good behaving young boy breaks all the rule in just one day. Besides, a bit of his own life experience, as well as the outline was inspired by 'Bicycle Thieves'. I don't know how the religious people take it, but I enjoyed it, kind of it is an awareness theme about the reality of the human world. So my disappointment is not the film, but how it was received. Once again an English film from the other region was turned down by the Americans. I hope the rest of the world won't react same way.

It revolved between a father and son characters, so the side contributions were good, but does not require any praise. The Clive Owen, who I consider an ordinary actor was brilliant in this. He is not in any film franchise, especially the current trends superheroes and/or sci-fi, though happy to see him in such a beautiful one-off film. The boy was equally good, especially after the good show from 'St. Vincent', this is his another great character display. Looks like he's going to be a big name in the future.

You can't believe it is just a 2 million dollar film. Great production quality with good performances, a better outcome than usual film with the same production value. From my perspective, it is an underrated film and also an undernoticed film. A fine film for everyone, particularly for the family audience. These are reasons why children as well should watch it, like there are no sexual or drug related material in it. Though the real reason is there are some contents that might help them to understand about such as financially struggling and sober parents, the reality of the society and as a coming-of-age film, it always kept its priorities on the top while narrating the tale, especially from the children's viewpoint.

8/10
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Lack of Tension is Seductive
dansview18 August 2016
The film makers chose not to feature the intense desperation of the Italian film The Bicycle Thief, used zero profanity, and a deadpan kid. Those may actually be reasons why some would dislike this film, but I found it all oddly seductive.

Like another reviewer mentioned, nobody was vicious or truly mean here. Almost everyone, despite their poverty, had soul. Imagine a world where even in a gray desperate setting, people restrain themselves from the savagery that such places evoke in the real world.

Some may ask why you need to cast a British guy in a film set in Washington and filmed in Canada. But I found Owen endearing and the dialogue he was given sublime. Someone decided that his face and demeanor fit the character, and I believe they did. Good call.

Most of the "stars" are not really stars, and I appreciated seeing them get some work. Robert Forster is perfect for these roles, and Maria Bello totally looked the part.

I don't know why they needed to make the boy be eight years old. The actor was way older than that. Clearly an eight year old would not be able to think or act as this one did. They should have made him 10, although the actor was 12. The unbelievable age thing was an awkward glitch for me.

I'm glad they didn't use a soundtrack. The silence helped illustrate the depressed nature of the town. I've been to a depressed town in Washington. It's real.

For whatever reasons, these film makers made the choice to present this story in a sort of Jim Jarmusch existentially absurd way. I liked that approach and did not judge it by other potential ways of doing it. I accepted it for what it was.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is what more movies should be about
Notme121325 March 2016
This movie is not anything like the movies they make nowadays This was a movie I didn't want to end. I bet many people can relate something in their life With this movie. It had a storyline that just streamed right along Anybody can watch this movie and leave with something!!!!! Best movie I have seen in a long time. Just watch. Trust me it's worth the 1hour and 42 minutes Of your time. I will not give any spoilers away But watch it as a family. You'll understand more after you see it. I just don't Understand people saying its a make over of an old movie. Like that Doesn't ever happen. But it's not a reason to say it was bad because of That!!!!!
25 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A breath of fresh air
poisoncupcake7422 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The shining light in this movie is Jaeden Lieberher. His character Anthony, brings to the screen one of the most genuine talents not seen for a long time. I couldn't figure out if this was a drama or comedy, it has thematic elements mixed in with comedy but the movie is very dramatic, however the drama is light hearted. For all his good intentions, Walt, played nicely by Clive Owen, is trying to do the right thing and constantly gets himself in a bad situation. His tools are stolen, and everything from there seems to go downhill for him. Oh yeah, its also his weekend to take care of his son, while the mother and step father go on a catholic retreat. I think his son (Lieberher) begins to see that his father really is trying to do the best he can in the face of adversity so these two head off, in search of the missing tools and meet all sorts of interesting characters in the film. I think the acting is great by everyone involved but the rapport between Owen and Lieberher is incredibly touching and real and it makes for a beautiful movie. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
More then watchable
eryui12 May 2016
I didn't find this movie bad at all, how the actual 6.3 vote had let me guess. It is not a masterpiece either, but it has different elements that let you enjoy the light ride. Indeed, the little Jaeden Lieberher is the real protagonist along some nice children and he is just so tender that should deserve a 10/10 him alone.

The plot is around a son before his coming confirmation who looks at is divorced father struggling between his problems during a tragic weekend. The child inside the confessional that open and then close the movie is so sweet to worth just by itself the whole film.

If you are a parent you could easily appreciate this movie.

8/10
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
a Remake of THE BICYCLE THIEVES
g.barlas24 March 2016
A remake of Vittorio De Sica (director) and Cesare Zavattini (script)neo-realist classic I Ladri di Biciclette (soon to be released by Criterion on bluray) from 1948... This one holds itself rather moderately on the basis of the strength of the original film.. Nice move to take the story today's USA... Good and earnest performances from the leads and an excellent acting job from the child actor... And the question is, there is this excellent film before you, why on earth make a remake? I am not moved by this film, competently, professionally done but not an earth-shaker...I miss the soul of the human drama...I should say, why bother?
16 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not a bad film at all
CyniLogical20 March 2016
Clive Owen and the kid actor who played his son both did a very good jobs in this tiny little film. Although it was shot in Canada, but it showed that the two countries in North America both suffered greatly for their majority poverty of their people, the run-down urban neighborhood, the poor relations between husbands and wives, the horrible and dreary lives of their kids after their marriages dissolved; even they could still barely maintain their matrimony lives, the poverty they are facing is predictably unavoidable.

The writer/director obviously didn't know too much of pawning his belongings to any pawnshop in Canada or in the United States. A box of overly used old tools without even one power tool could be pawned for $400.00?! IN YOUR WET DREAM! That box of old carpentry tools might only worth $20.00 in the eyes of any pawn shop owner or operator. If it could be pawned over $50.00, then the pawnshop must also be a charity organization!

This film also told us how drinking like drugs could ruin your life, your relationship to anyone including your marriage. But the most alarming message of this film is the undeniable fact of how dirt, filthy poor these people in both countries are, how the social infra-structure of both countries are in a desolate situation and most of them were already in ruin. These poor majority could only use religion to fool themselves with limited wishful thinking. They never know that it is both of their government and their elected politicians ruined their countries and their lives, and God has nothing to do with any of it. Of course, if the so-called imaginary entity really existed.
21 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Excellent film - such a good work of art
RussHog10 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is a beautiful little art house film about an alcoholic father who has his son for a weekend - and they bond of a series of misadventures were they work as a team to get back the father's box of stolen tools.

The father is played by the masterful Clive Owen - who is seemingly solid in any project he works on.

The film has one great scene in particular - where Clive experiences alcohol withdrawals. As a recovering alcoholic myself - who has been clean five years - I have gone through withdrawals - and it is a harrowing experience and to see this played out live - and the fear it puts the child through - it really hit home to me.

The performance of the children actors in this movie is also noteworthy - as they hold their own and deliver some masterful work.

I believe this was a remake of a foreign film called The Bike Thief - but I have never seen that movie and I just thought this one was solid.

We live in a world where Hollywood makes a fortune off terrible films that have no soul - and it is always great to see a solid dramatic film with great characters.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Father and Son relationship at its best
rj-272 September 2016
It's no accident that about a third of the way through the movie, Clive Owen and Jaeden Lieberher, as father and son in The Confirmation are watching an old episode of The Rifleman - the quintessential TV western that was more about a father relating to his son in difficult and dire situations than it was about his gun.

Clive Owen plays a divorced, alcoholic father who sees his son Jaeden Lieberher on weekends. One particular weekend, the father has his woodworking tools stolen. These are specialized carpentry tools that are irreplaceable. The son accompanies his dad on a series of misadventures in an attempt to recover the lost tools, which he must have for an upcoming job that he desperately needs.

While a comparison can be made to the classic The Bicycle Thief, this movie stands on its own merits as an endearing case study of a boy's love for his father, willing to do whatever it takes to keep him on the straight and narrow path, and enabling both parent and child to rise to the occasion and succeed.

This is a wonderful role for Owen and it is beautifully played. While Lieberher's character may seem a bit more precocious than would be expected of such a young boy, it does not come off as unbelievable.

This is a movie the whole family can enjoy, all the more so because of its timeless themes of suffering and redemption, and not portraying fathers as the likely losers you so often see in Hollywood these days.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Clive Owen is Outstanding in Thoughtful Character Study
lavatch24 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The strength of "The Confirmation" is the sensitive portrayal of an alcoholic father, as played by Clive Owen. Owen's character Walt has visitation rights with his son, Anthony, and the film traces a wild weekend of "bonding" between father and son.

The film is primarily a drama, but it includes comic moments, especially in the cast of seedy characters. Anthony is the little boy who plays the role of caretaker for his beleaguered dad. There is a fine supporting cast with Maria Bello, Matthew Modine, and Robert Forster. But the focal point is that of Owen's character and his youngster, played effectively by Jaeden Lieberher.

SPOILER ALERT FOLLOWS: The one curious choice on the part of the filmmakers was to close the film with the theft of the father's tools from a pawn shop. While the film was attempting to pay homage to Vittorio De Sica's famous film "Bicycle Thieves" from 1948, the final sequence didn't work. Unfortunately, the theft of the tools was teaching a horrible lesson to the young boys, and it made no sense in the logic of the film. Surely the owners of the pawn shop would have had Owen's character and the boys prosecuted.

"The Confirmation" is set in Kent, Washington. There was good footage of the community, which helped to draw the viewer into the film. One of the subtleties of the film was to convey the hardscrabble life of Americans in the twenty-first century. In watching this film, one was almost reminded of America in the Great Depression of the 1930s.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A beautiful everyday drama from a common man's life
zill_the_equestrian22 June 2016
I got this movie only because of Clive Owen, but when I watched it for 10 minutes, I wasn't sure if this was going to be a typical Clive-Owen-movie with his true-to-life acting, but I still watched.

ThJaeden Lieberher. 

e movie proved itself to be awesome. Anyone who is a father and sires a son can understand so many aspects of this movie. There are so many positive things in the movie that tell you how honest and nice people can be despite their own multiple problems. From Drake to Kyle and his wife, everyone has played a positive part and made the viewer believe that the world is still a nicer place to be in.

A brilliant family drama that can be watched with the entire family. Beautiful lessons and great acting from the 8-year-old Jaeden. Great direction and brilliant way of putting together a great movie. Thank you, gentlemen.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sweet, poignant story demonstrating life in typical families today.
suewonder18 September 2016
Clive Owen is so handsome and an excellent actor who needs to be seen more on screen and TV. Equally as significant and talented is the youthful 8 year-old who played Anthony;keep an eye on this kid. As it progresses, the characters flesh out revealing the father's desire to stay close to his son while battling unemployment, alcohol, mean people. All the kids in this movie are accomplished at their craft and endearing demonstrating what life is like for so many kids today while they walk that unpredictable line between parent's weakness vs desire to be loving to their kids.THIS is a MUST SEE MOVIE that stays with the viewer through subtle plot and good acting.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Karma and more
frank-liesenborgs28 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is more about karma and real live as opposed to religion. The spiritual principle of cause and effect is exemplified by a father (out of luck carpenter Walt, Clive Owen) and his son (Anthony, Jaeden Lieberher) who are doing almost all it takes to get the stolen toolbox back. For everything that goes wrong, something good happens. The connection with "faith" dissolves and reasoning becomes more and more important. You have to make up your own mind. If you think it is a good act, do it if you believe in it. Intent and actions of Walt (the cause) are influencing the future of Anthony (effect) and at the same time "healing" Walt. Good intent and good deed contribute to good karma and future happiness. The adventure to find the thieves responsible and ending up bonding in the process is a metaphor for the everybody's real live story. All of us are struggling with our own demons in our own way. And we all do what we have to do to get things right. Excellent movie and down to earth. Not fancy but doesn't need to be to bring the message across.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Family Movie
brutzel9 June 2016
Walt, (Clive Owen) a recovering alcoholic, has his 8-year old son, Anthony (Jaeden Lieberher) for the weekend while his mother, Bonnie, (Maria Bello) and stepfather go away to a religious retreat. When Walt's specialized finishing tools are stolen he and Anthony get to know each other better trying to get back those tools that Walt desperately needs for his next job on Monday.

This opens with Anthony in the Confessional Box and he cannot come up with any sins for the past 8-weeks. The Priest - almost at wits end - tries his best to help jog Anthony's memory but nothing surfaces. Anthony is undecided whether or not he should do his Confirmation.

We see some unfortunate things happen to Walt that Anthony is surprised at but comes to understand that Walt is really a good person who is trying to do the right thing. We see Walt almost give in to alcohol, but Anthony becomes the adult and thwarts the attempt. Walt suspects Anthony but never lets him know it. Walt is always the good father, but acts more like a good friend and because of this Anthony gains new respect for him.

Walt's friend Otto (Robert Forster) explains to Anthony what withdrawal symptoms are when Walt scares Anthony who thought his father was very drunk.

It is possible that an adult Alien from outer space came to Earth and inhabited Jaeden as Anthony as we see him act more like an adult than an 8-year old. It's either that or Jaeden Lieberher is more than really good, or it was the Director doing all this. Whatever this is, it works big time. The chemistry between Walt and Anthony is so good you don't care how long it will take to find those tools. The banter between them including fatherly advice about Confirmation and Anthony's acceptance of it is pure gold. The dialogues are sincere and honest. And we see humor injected at times. You never want this to end.

Clive Owen is one of the best actors around, and should be considered to be the next Bond, James Bond. My next choice would be Jim Caviezel. Will Smith would be my third choice, but I digress…………………

This almost closes with Anthony in the Confessional box again listing sin after sin to the same priest who is now besides himself listening to the many sins Anthony spouts. And this is just one day after his last Confession. I would list them but then I would give away many of the things that happened to both of them as they went about finding those tools. So you see, Anthony (or that Alien) wasn't all that innocent in this trek.

This does close with Bonnie watching Walt and Anthony saying good-bye until the next week-end and she knows Anthony's Confirmation will happen and Walt will be there.

This is a great family movie and you may wish there were more movies like this. (we can only hope) (10/10)

Violence: Not really just a little scuffle at a Pawn shop. Sex: No. Nudity: No. Language: Small stuff and not much of it.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I tried to like it, but...
fatref3509 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
"The Confirmation" tried waaaaay too hard to cover all the bases - and missed every one. If Bob Nelson, the writer/director, had just focused on, say, three aspects, the movie might have been better. Instead, this movie tried to deal with divorce, step-parents, science nerds, alcoholism, meth heads, burglary, kids playing with guns, dead beat dads, questioning the validity of the Catholic church, scary priests, unemployment, eviction, teaching your kid to box, your kid teaching you to play video games, different music styles, car repairs, being stopped by the cops, trespassing, daddy issues that are solved in 1 day - it goes on and on. Jaeden Lieberher, the kid from "St. Vincent," was much better in that than this. Maria Bello has always been a second-rate actress and proved it once again by standing around like furniture. Clive Owen, who I like, tends to make bad choices - quite often. This was one of them. His accent changed from sentence to sentence and there was no chemistry whatsoever between him and the kid. Patton Oswalt, Robert Forster and Matthew Modine were a waste of space. I tried to like this movie - I really tried. Unfortunately, it was just too clichéd and too crowded with unbelievable scenarios and weak acting.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bland at best
selena-7109612 May 2016
The Confirmation, the movie about stolen tools, is a very boring and bland with a plot full of cliché of any sorts and needless dialogues. The very beginning when mother of the boy was lecturing her ex-husband clearly indicated that it was going to be a drab. And it sure was. Honestly I don't get Jaeden Lieberher as a young actor. HIs performance in Midnight Special was non-existent and it was no different in this movie- the same one dimensional facial expression with few forced smiles here and there. It puzzles me how and why he was selected for this and other movies, he appears to have no acting talent. It was not best Clive Owen's performance, and two of them had zero on screen chemistry. The movie is neither a comedy nor a drama. I did not get why church and religion was brought into this film either.
11 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Heart warming and darkly hilarious
hls-6838516 March 2019
Clive Owen not only does a spot on American accent but plays an unexpected role of a guy who gets no breaks in life. Every inch forward is met with 2 steps back. Help does comes his way from places he never imagined and with it comes a valuable look at the hardships of life, that he inadvertently passes onto his son, in the form of a lesson that he must first learn himself. Supporting actors must have been lined up because this movie is bursting with familiar faces. Shot in Richmond and Surrey, British Columbia, Canada.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Confirmation - A Fast Tracked Lesson About Life and Caring (with some mistakes along the way)
krocheav10 September 2017
What a surprise this little gem turned out to be, I consider it a true 'find'. Movies like this give new hope to an industry dominated by mega budget, cartoon character type CGI marvels - works that mostly add about as much to the quality of our lives as an empty popcorn packet. I came across this while looking for something else (I don't even remember what). Five minutes in I kept waiting for the thing to fall over in a heap like so many others in this genre, but it just kept getting better! What struck me first was the script – there was this scene with a young (8-10yr old) boy in a confessional (quite against his will and I agree with him). When asked what sins he had committed he said he did not know – it was the way he said it and the expressions on his face that showed he really didn't know. Here was a mostly decent kid, without interest or cause to be 'sinful'. Next, we meet this lads father who's just about to look after him for the weekend while his ex is away with her new hubby. Her parting words to them: "Please don't get into any trouble", with dad's famous last words reply: "How much trouble can we get into over two days"!

It's about to get interesting in so many ways and on so many realistic levels. Dad (Clive Owen) is struggling with overcoming a drinking habit, while he claims not to be drinking – it seems he still might be. His rather special son, Anthony (superbly played by Jaden Lieberher - this lad is most impressive!) is heading for an important learning curve with several challenging situations coming his way. Next we meet Otto, well played by ex-heart throb Robert Forster who is perfect for this role. Between dad and Otto (dads father?) young Anthony will learn valuable lessons about the complicated responsibilities of grown-up life. The whole script is virtually spot-on regarding the difficulties of understanding the adult world through young eyes. Anthony's dad is very down on his luck just now and his son is about to take this on-board first hand. With so many movies being lauded by the Academy and their trendy, soulless, critics, movies like this have become rare, and like this one, they shine brightly amid the overindulgence. It also quite powerfully highlights how current USA economic politics have unfairly dealt a blow to many of its own citizens (while this is filmed in Canada - the story is set in Kent Washington with its crushed economy).

For this work, the Award-nominated writer Bob Nelson (for Nebraska '13) is also director/producer (first effort), and he delivers a well-realized result with much to be admired. While he could seem a tad confused with some aspects of religiosity he at least leaves it open to serious thought. Also in the cast is another ex-heart throb Matthew Modine, playing new husband to dad's ex-wife Maria Bello (Jan Austen Book club '07). The slick cinematography comes from talented English born (now based in N.Y.) Terry Stacey. One or two story aspects keep this from reaching its target audience, such as several mildly dramatic situations and use of blasphemy in place of four-letter words (but in many people's book that's the same anyway!) That aside, this is recommended for thinking/feeling audiences – tired of the same old Hollywood blockbusters and looking for some 'real' people who most could identify with.

By the way, this is not a straight comedy as it's very wrongly being marketed - it's a drama with a little humour and while it's inspired by a classic of the past "The Bycical Thieves" it is far from a re-make as some have suggested - it may be the same genre but, this work stands its own ground very well. Find it on DVD or Foxtel.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Quietly heartwarming
jacques-c-simon22 August 2017
I am so glad I spent time watching this film, a quietly heartwarming film about Father and Son bonding over a short weekend. Both Clive and Jaeden are wonderful in this film, subtle and meaningful especially Jaeden who can put so much in just one glance. Wonderful film, I recommend all Fathers to see this with their young sons.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Go see The Confirmation
yusufpiskin3 November 2019
The Confirmation written and directed by Bob Nelson (the man who also wrote the Alexander Payne film Nebraska) is better at talking about faith and spirituality in its 100 mins of screen time than any so called "Christian" or "new-faith" film that has come out in the last ten years. The empathy shown for many of the side characters is remarkable and just goes to show how good of a dramatist Bob Nelson is. Take that God's Not Dead, the least empathetic film from a Christian perspective I've ever seen. It wishes it was half as good as The Confirmation. If only Christian filmmakers would get the dollar signs out their eyes. Sorry for the mini rant. Go see The Confirmation, not a perfect film, but one that earns it's happy resolutions and lessons learned through great story telling, acting, and direction.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Carpenter father, struggling alcoholism and unemployment, bonds with his young son. Endearing family portrait. Great acting.
imseeg27 June 2019
Clive Owen plays the part of an alcohol addicted father, who is strugling to get by, being unemployed. Being divorced he only gets to see his young son during the weekend, in which they bond through a number of unforeseen events.

Endearing portrait of family life with divorced parents. Great acting. Slowburning, mellow mood. Suited for young and old.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed