The Clan (2015) Poster

(2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
An amazing thriller of a real-life villain.
jorgefn22 January 2016
Few years after the dictatorship in Argentina by Rafael Videla is overthrown, the remaining members of that military order begin a life of crime, using as an excuse that the Argentinians sold the country and pushed the patriots into catastrophe. At this time in history, is where the story of Arquímides Puccio (Guillermo Franchella) and his family take place. Puccio is an old retired military who starts kidnapping rich youngsters not just for the money, but to satisfy an evil mind that wants suffering. However, his five children, Alejandro (Peter Lanzani), Maguila (Gastón Cocchiarale), Silvia (Giselle Motta), Adriana (Antonia Bengoechea) and Guillermo (Franco Masini), are the ones who end up with the biggest sorrow. This brilliant movie is not a conventional crime thriller, it also explores the psychological illness of all the members in this family caused by the oppressing voice of Puccio's patriarchy. Alejandro, the brilliant and successful eldest child, is the connection between us and the pain inside the characters. The narrative of the story begins by the end, and so it goes interchanging present and future, until they collide in a sublime climax when all the feelings and thoughts of the children explode. Each one of the characters, even though they were real, are so astoundingly designed that you can feel the hate of the father; the indifference of the mother; the rage, the fear and even the love of the children. Another remarkable aspect of this movie is the BSO, featuring an accurate selection between The Kinks, Credence Clearwater Revival, and Argentinian rock of the 80's like Seru Giran and Virus. This is also a portrait of the post-dictatorship era as a fictional interpretation of the feelings of an old retired military, his new war, and his new army: his family.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Guillermo Francella proves that he is a fine actor!
SpannersGerm66915 August 2015
Wow, i just got back from watching this one at the cinema, here in Argentina and i will say that the hype matches the movie! The movie portrays a dark time in Argentinian history. Just after the dictatorship of Vidella had ceased, the country was rebuilding, however scraps from the dark days were still around, in particular associations that specialised in kidnappings back in the day. Looking to continue their business, they were offered protection from parts of the military, and "El Clan" depicts the story of the Puccio Clan. A family who kidnapped and killed many people in the 80s. Pablo Trapero is a household name amongst Argentinian cinema, so it wasn't a surprise that he chose such a disturbing story, as his other films have taken on similar dark tones. This movie wreaks of quality. From the very haunting imagery, to the authentic 80s soundtrack, to the phenomenal acting from Argentine comedian Guillermo Francella, all of these elements combine with the very disturbed story, to make a movie that catapults Argentine cinema to the front runner in the Latino area! Shocking violence along with the disturbing elements of human behaviour elevates this movie beyond an easy viewing experience, but if you are prepared to delve into a very dark, yet intriguing story, then you will come away from "El Clan" very satisfied!
27 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good movie
dimenese15 August 2015
Just returned from the cinema. I liked the movie and the acting of all the characters, in particular from Guillermo Francella who already proved very well that he's not only excellent for humor but also an excellent drama actor.

The movie has a superb 80's atmosphere in every detail, from cars, clothes, phones, music (the music in this film is awesome!).

Regarding the story -which was true- the movie helped me understand much better the events and to correlate how Puccio got to that situation.

I really recommend this movie and I hope you have the opportunity to see it.
26 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
under the guise of happy family
ferguson-628 March 2016
Greetings again from the darkness. It seems inherent within human nature for kids to want to make their parents happy and proud. Most of the time the reverse is also true: the majority of parents want to be good role models for their kids. However, when the latter is not true, things can get pretty ugly … even frightening. Such is the case with the real life story of the Puccio family in Argentina.

Acclaimed Argentinean director Pablo Trapero (Carancho, 2010) gives us a look at the Puccio crime family, and in the process draws parallels between the political turmoil and re-structuring of Argentina as it returned to a democracy in the early 1980's.

The façade of the happy family makes for perfect public cover as horrendous crimes are perpetuated … often in the basement of the family home. Arquimedes (Guillermo Francella, The Secret in Their Eyes 2009) is the father who often seizes on the celebrity of his rugby star son Alex/Alejandro (Peter Lanzani) to catch their victims off-guard. The family Modus Operandi is pretty simple: kidnap-collect ransom- kill. Arquimedes was known for his hospitality, often offering home-cooked meals to the victims as they were chained in the family basement. Quite a contrast to the brutality involved in the crimes.

The film raises many questions, and makes us wonder where the line of guilt is drawn between committing a crime, and simply looking the other way. It's presented as if Alex felt compelled to support his father's endeavors even though it caused major internal struggles for him. Certainly the mother/wife (an excellent Lili Popovich) made the conscious decision to do what was necessary. It's especially unsettling to see Arquimedes helping his daughter with her school work, while the most recent victim is shackled in the cellar.

As Argentina's Oscar submission for Best Foreign Language film, it didn't make the final cut, but it's absolutely at the level of the five nominated films. Fans of Scorcese and Coppola crime films will see the influences, and the film rates with such crime gems as A Prophet (2009) and Animal Kingdom (2010).
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This is an Argentina/Spain co-production based on true events , being well paced , skillfully edited and very interesting .
ma-cortes7 November 2018
The most colorful epoch of criminality in Argentina during Galtieri's military dictatorship era is brought to life in this story of a robber and criminal family . As this family kidnapped and killed people in the 80s in a period of economical crisis when any employment, even illegal, was cherished, ambition, money and power originated an interminable cycle of fury and violence. It deal with the Puccio family led by the honorable daddy called Arquimedes : Guillermo Francella , he is going as far as to supervise the homework of his youngest daughter as a dedicated teacher . His eldest son is Alejandro, -Peter Lanzani- , a Rugby star champion . But actually Arquímedes Puccio turns out to be the tyrannical leader of a bunch of delinquents composed of his spouse and children. As they along with some accomplices carry out undercover activities , consisting in abducting wealthy people , detaining them in his own home , mistreating and torturing them and doing away with them after cashing the ransom.

This is true story of the Puccio Clan, a model evil family , but their tale results to be a perverse stew of lies , violence , kidnapping , murders, pronounced bloodshed, sentimental blood bonding , and with a surprising ending . As an upright family -a model family whose well educated children have a promised and bright future- living their deep respectability , but is nothing but a smokescreen , being really a criminal group . The picture is plenty of thrills , intense drama , violence and thought-provoking issues . The main cast and support cast give magnificent interpretations . Here stands out Guillermo Francella who gives a masterful acting as the allegedly honest and dignified storekeeper by trade, who cares about his five children . As well as Peter Lanzani playing Alejandro Puccio , an admired rugby star .

The motion picture well well produced by EL Deseo S.A. : Agustin and Pedro Almodóvar and professionally directed by Pablo Trapero . His films have covered the most important festivals, receiving critical acclaim and awards . Trapero is one of the biggest creative forces in Latin American Cinema .He has sat on the main Festival juries at Venice, San Sebastian and Locarno, among others . In 2014 he served as President of Un Certain Regard in Cannes. In 2015 the Ministry of Culture of France awarded him Chevallier Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, becoming the first south american director in receiving this honor. In 1999 Trapero directed his first feature, Mundo Grua, which won the Critics Prize at Venice. In 2002, he opened his production company, Matanza Cine, that produces films for fellow filmmakers, as well as his own. His second feature, El Bonaerense (2002) premiered at Cannes, Familia Rodante (2004) at Venice, and Nacido y Criado (2006) at Toronto. In 2008, Leonera, presented in Competition at Cannes, revealed the talent of Martina Gusman, muse, actress and producer of the cineaste. He returned to Cannes with Carancho (2010) and Elefante Blanco (2012), both in Un Certain Regard. Trapero is a good filmmaker , his best film was ¨Carancho¨, dealing with a slow burning exercise in moral decay and his usual actress results to be Martina Gosman who has worked in various film with him , such as : ¨Lion's den¨ , ¨Nacido y Criado¨ , ¨Carancho¨ and ¨Elefante Blanco¨ . This El Clan turns out to be a dramatic and provoking flick , an above average film and Argentina's official submission to Academy Award and it achieved several Prizes of the Argentinean Academy. With this his latest film, The Clan, he won the Silver Lion for Best Director in Venice International Film Festival . Indispensable and essential seeing for Guillermo Francella fans .
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good Film, Poor Subtitling.
TimMeade31 July 2016
A few years back, I was advising a Francophile mate of the virtues of the wonderful French comedy, The Intouchables. I mentioned also that the subtitling was superb. 'How would you know?' he asked, aware that I had but a smattering of schoolboy French. I explained that the grammar and syntax was perfect, and colloquialisms clearly caught the spirit of the piece - you simply forgot you were reading script, allowing you to concentrate on the visuals.

Sadly, the taut Argentine crime thriller,The Clan, looks as if it's been subtitled by a dyslexic alcoholic using Google translate. It was extremely frustrating. I was clearly watching a very well made film, based on real events, about a Mafiosa-style family engaged in kidnapping and extortion; this was at a time, the 1980s, when the government was up to similar tactics - many dissidents simply disappeared. Keeping Police and officials sweet, the family could act with near impunity.

Everything about the film - its story, pacing, acting, direction was top notch. But the constantly poor subtitling proved too great a distraction and detracted from the film itself.

I can recommend the film without hesitation to any fluent Spanish speakers among you.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Gripping story, average film.
santiagocosme31 March 2016
I was so excited when I heard this movie was released in Argentina that the anticipation to watch it felt like watching the final of the World Cup. And, as it also so often happens with World Cup finals, the movie was disappointing. I am not sure where and why it failed to capture my attention, but I just know that even though the story has potential, the movie is directed in a way that feels rather boring. I know that El Clan has become the most successful movie in Argentinian history, but it is a title it does not deserve. The movie is very average and possibly only matters because it is based on true events that caused a stir not that many years ago. For lovers of real event movies.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
This film has some major plot holes which are expected to be filled by previous knowledge
maxbinnewies13 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Introduction to the characters and setting happens on-the-fly. Which might be alright if you know the story before you watch the movie.

First of all, I kept wondering why this professional and experienced kidnapper only kidnaps friends of his son. That is really obvious, he might as well turn himself in. Later(on wikipedia) I understood, that these were the first kidnappings of this kind. I assumed because he is so professional and cool about it, the whole thing seems very routine, no one in his family seems to mind, that he has done this sort of thing many times before. I understand now in retrospect that all these things come from his experience in the intelligence service. However, the movie never really explains that, although it is somewhat crucial for the story.

But there are still some things that don't make sense after reading about the actual story. Arquímedes says to Alex something like "my kidnappings always worked until you left". Well, at that point he previously only had kidnapped two people with Alex, which creates even further confusion when you talk about "always". Then Alex returns the lost son, Maguila, who had apparently left because of the killings. When he returns he immediately joins his fathers business, no questions asked. That doesn't make sense, considering his father only started the killings while he was abroad.

Who is Comodore? We understand that he must be some kind of government official who previously worked with Arquimedes? But then, why does he still have influence, I thought the regime has been overthrown.

Without knowing the story (or at least enough about Argentinian history from that time) before watching the film, it basically shows a serial killer at his day job. Kidnap, make ransom call, write letter, kill, next one please. Sort of boring. The actual story of a former regime officer who now works on his own and the resulting struggles with his surroundings are never properly introduced.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
True Argentinian Crime Story
Cinefill1-VanHerpeHugo27 March 2016
-The Clan (Spanish: El Clan) is a 2015 Argentine crime film directed by Pablo Trapero. It was selected to be screened in the main competition section of the 72nd Venice International Film Festival where director Pablo Trapero won the Silver Lion. The film was selected as the Argentine entry for the Best Foreign Language Film at the 88th Academy Awards but it was not nominated.

--Reception: -The film opened in Argentina on 13 August 2015 to generally positive reviews. It had the largest opening weekend of any Argentinean film in history, with a box office total of 32 million pesos and 505,000 tickets sold between opening Thursday and Sunday, representing 53% of all cinema-goers, seven times more than the second most viewed film, Ted 2. This surpassed the previous record of the 2014 film Wild Tales. According to BBC News, 1.5 million people saw the film in its first two weeks of release.

-The film was screened at the Venice Film Festival and Toronto Film Festival in September 2015. Both Variety and The Hollywood Reporter singled out the arresting sound track in their reviews; Variety called the choice of music "among the film's most unnerving strategies, reminiscent of Spike Lee's Summer of Sam, in which celebratory pop tunes evoke the era even as they practically serve to encourage the horrors depicted on screen"; The Hollywood Reporter noted that the "loud, upbeat songs ... provide a counterpoint ... (suggesting) how kidnapping became simply a part of life for the Puccios. It's never clearer than in a daring montage sequence that matches Monica's cries of ecstasy during a bout of lovemaking with the cries for help of a kidnapping victim in the family's home. For these folks, there seems to be a mighty fine line between love and cruelty".

-The success of the film led to a TV series that is also focused on the Puccio family, Historia de un clan, starring Alejandro Awada.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Great Piece Of Work.
freshclean-66-3186081 October 2016
My wife and I saw this film at the Louisiana Film Festival last night not knowing what to expect. Before I go on, my wife and I have totally different views and tastes when it comes to the art of film but this time we both came out of "El Clan" pretty satisfied. This film started off pretty slow but did get a little more riveting as it went on. There really were no big surprises or twists in this film. It was pretty much straight forward but got more interesting as the film went on. The story is simple; The Puccio Family, who is a model family on the outside, is a family that is in the business of kidnapping rich people for money and then killing them. Arquimedes Puccio (Guillermo Francella) is a respectable store owner who has an adoring wife and five respectable kids but all of this is a front for what they really do, simple but good. The acting in this film was great, especially from Guillermo Francella who played the part of Arquimedes Puccio, the totalitarian leader of "El Clan". The program director for the film festival mentioned, because this film didn't win or get a nomination for the foreign film category at the Oscars, Twentieth Century Fox decided to drop it, which is a shame because it's actually a decent film. I had no regrets seeing it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Raw and real, with solid performances
hector_colombo0425 September 2015
The film hits from the real and moves the focus on one of the children who suffer most acts of his father, who embodies a sober Franchella that has long been demonstrating his talent for drama also. Format images first constant level remains stuck at viewer will not regret it in the film, which will feel some concern that under the aspects of normalcy can hide eyesores, this very well managed by the principal. I did not like the supporting performances and the appearance of the wife could have been more widespread. Compared to other good films of Argentine cinema may have lacked artistic details that make it more blockbuster, but certainly is a creation that will be a very good story in a story that is surprising.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A family with the dark secret.
Reno-Rangan14 December 2016
It's right to say based on the real than a biopic, because it is not the film about the family who we inspire from their act. This is a crime-thriller-drama sets in the early 80s, Argentina, when democracy was restored in the nation. Focused on to tell a story of a middle class family called Puccios. It's a big family, but what they did were inhumane thing. Kidnapping people for ransom money, but in the end, there's no smooth trade off. How long they go for it and how it all ends comes in the latter parts.

It was the Argentina's entry to the last year's Oscars. That's really a worst decision ever. Also it the highest grossed film in the domestic circuit. No doubt the film was well made, especially the director who also managed well with the screenplay. This film can be watched to know the truth and nothing else, because of the negative message it carries. Nearly 100 minutes long, full of dark atmosphere, but among it there was a little romance. The actors did good, despite they were in the negative roles.

There are plenty of films with the dark tone, which are very enjoyable despite the film characters involved in the wrongful acts. Sometimes we root for them, it might be a robbery or a revenge theme. But there comes a time when I hesitate to encourage such films, mainly because of its serious portrayal. Makes me to think only sick people would enjoy such films. It happened recently for a Chilean film 'The Club' that I felt disgust.

I appreciate the filmmaking, but I feel this better should have been a documentary film. Anyway, that's my view. It was one side narration, covered everything from the family angle. But if it was told how the cops or the victim families coped would have made totally a different film. Then I might have liked it. So overall this film was okay, I'm not in its favor though.

6/10
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Attempt to be The godfather, that's what I'm trying to do.
Andres-Camara30 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The truth is that the first thing I ask myself when I see this movie is, did they really do it this way, without covering up and not recognizing the voice? I think it's an attempt to make a great movie of kidnappers, but for my taste stays the attempt. None of its sections becomes good and the main, I do not believe the movie. I do not think it's bad that's why I give it four, but it does not become good.

Spoiler:

I'm surprised that no one in the neighborhood recognized them or at least the director would have told us that people were asking him or at least telling us that they never released anyone, because when they kill the first, the film raises it as if it had been The first to be killed. Nobody wonders, because people take them on a hitchhiking two blocks from home? Everything in the script is strange, caught with pins. The family is very normal, I do not know if they study at home or at school, for a moment I raise it but I do not know, but no one ever finds out about anything, or is it not even the girls are afraid to see that in the Basement people are screaming all day?

That if I surrender to the feet of how it has made the plane of the fall of the son in the court, it is fantastically done. Not so the sequence plans of the rest, which I think are of no use and many are left over.

The soundtrack bother me, when they are going to commit the kidnappings, the music is partying, I do not understand it, I do not know why it is not music of tension or intrigue, as if they were partying.

I remembered a lot of The Godfather and that does not seem to me a great movie, but at least it has a photo and a brutal atmosphere and it is neither one nor the other. I think he has no rhythm and no pretty plans. If you see that it is the time that it is, art, makeup and hairdressing are fine. But it stays there.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Tedious underdeveloped semi-historical drama
eduardo_ohm24 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I think Argentinians may enjoy this movie better than foreign audiences, judging from it's current score (7.0). Maybe it's because they're already familiar with the historical setting, story and characters. My guess is foreign audiences won't appreciate this movie so well -- I know I didn't. The plot is told in a very tedious way. We get to see kidnapping after kidnapping, with little to no emotion or conflict. Maybe it was the dull script, but no actor delivered good performances. Sure, some psychological conflict is hinted, but it never reaches the viewer in an honest or meaningful way. I also found it poorly directed, with a notable cringe-inducing and awkward scene paralleling one of the kidnappers having sex with his girlfriend and one of the victims being questioned. Skip this one and watch Nueve Reinas or El Secreto de sus Ojos instead.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Horrible
ehurst-317 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I am flummoxed as to why people liked this film. I found it sickening and alienating. The upbeat music seemed totally inappropriate for the horrifying scenes unfolding before us and trivialised what was real suffering, violence and death that happened to real people. And I was particularly revolted by the juxtaposition of a sex scene interleaved with a violent kidnapping, overlaid with frantic music.

The movie was confusing, too. I had hoped to be given some context of the political scene in Argentina in which this crime arose, but we were plunged right into the thick of things via a series of flashbacks and disconnected scenes which we were expected to piece together (while madly reading subtitles, for those of us who don't speak Spanish). Only near the end do we discover, casually, that Puccio was connected to the Intelligence services, and his history with them is never fully explained.

I felt relieved when the movie drew to a close and the perpetrators were caught. It was at this point that Puccio revealed his truly revolting narcissism and manipulativeness. I had felt repelled by him throughout, but by the end I just felt glad to be shot of him and his whole morally dubious family.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The stories of special families in specific historical periods range from cognitive divergence to final split
yoggwork18 February 2019
The stories of special families in specific historical periods range from cognitive divergence to final split. Father and son are both good actors, one with no change of face, one with all one's heart, and the other with all one's hands and feet at a loss.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Disappointing
jelenaradmilovic7 January 2019
Since it is based on a true story, I expected more interesting scenes and actions. Too naive, everything is predicted, average criminals... nothing to deserve to make a film out of it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent, though not compelling, docudrama
grantss8 April 2017
The true story of the Puccio family of Buenos Aires, Argentina. During the height of the Galtieri regime of the early-to-mid 1980s the Puccio family, lead by senior government official Arquimedes Puccio, kidnapped and held for ransom several individuals. On more than one occasion they murdered their victims. This is their story.

Decent, though not compelling, docudrama. Details well the events involved and these make for interesting following. However, not overly compelling viewing. Is pretty much a blow-by-blow account and feels quite dry at times.

Not a must-see, but not a total waste of time either.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good but kind of boring
deedee-8587829 May 2018
I did not like the movie as much as i liked the story its self. I belive it couldve been better since that the story is really good so i would recommend to read about it and watch some videos rather than watching the movie.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Murders in family
guy-bellinger26 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The terrible case of the Puccio clan really rocked Argentina back in 1985. And quite rightly so. For, not only had three people got kidnapped, savagely tortured and brutally killed (in two cases despite the fact that the ransom had been cashed), not only had another woman been held hostage for over a month and promised to a certain death (had her abductors not been arrested in time), but the perpetrators were... the members of a family, and even more upsetting, they were the well- educated, smiling members of a happy close-knit family! How could such a thing have happened? Where is society going if even its basic unit is not to be trusted anymore? Such were the questions the Argentinians asked themselves at the time and that filmmaker Pablo Trapero has decided to raise today, thirty years after the facts, in 'El Clan'. A right choice indeed since his latest opus, which could be qualified as a "shocker with substance", has become in between the highest-grossing Argentinian movie at the domestic box-office ever, a wonderful opportunity for the author of "Carancho" and "Elefanto blanco" (never one to shy from pinpointing the black spots of his own country) to address as wide an audience as possible. To achieve this aim, Trapero has stacked all the odds in his favor. First asset, his determination to stick to the facts and never to embellish on the truth, which lends weight to his reflection. The description of the "idyllic" family life within the walls of the Puccios' house rings as true as that of the detailed preparations and the brutal carrying out of the kidnappings. Not so surprising if you take into account the following statement the director made in an interview: (I based myself on) "photographs, letters, interviews with friends of Alejandro's, or people who had visited the house and lived in the neighborhood". Which does not mean that Trapero produced a mere lazy cut and paste of reality, for the second major quality of "El Clan" lies in his being a real movie, action-packed and filled with suspense and fraught moments, one would call a genre film if it was not underpinned by political thought (an examination of the fact that dictatorships breed monsters even after they are extinct). At any rate, the movie is at least as entertaining as it is thought-provoking. Last strong point, the perfect cast, led by the superlative Guillermo Francella, a high class performer who although more accustomed to comedy, is absolutely terrifying as Puccio: the coldness in his eyes is pure evil and constantly proves wrong his alleged affability. Also top notch is Peter Lanzani's performance: all good looks and natural charm outside, the young actor manages to bring to light his weakness and the moral conflict that haunts him for being unable to resist his father's influence). The only reservation this writer would express is about the soundtrack. I personally do not figure out what drove Pablo Trapero to illustrate this "Argentinian tragedy" set in the 1980's with... Anglo-American pop classics such as Creedence Cleanwater Revival's "Tombstone Shadow" (1969) and "Sunny Afternoon" (1966) by The Kinks !!! Not that I am a purist, but, in my case, this offbeat way of using source music did not work, especially in the case of the latter piece. In actual fact, hearing "Sunny Afternoon" juxtaposed on two tense sequences (played twice in full into the bargain) proved more distracting to me than atmospheric; I even surprised myself humming the tune might-heartedly, which was certainly not the director's intention! Despite what I consider a shortcoming (but I am in the minority: unlike me most reviewers praise the soundtrack), I highly recommend this globally excellent movie, where the (brilliant) form matches the (rich) matter.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
kidnappers
cdcrb21 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
before seeing this film, I only knew it was Argentinian. as I watched the action unfold, it was as if someone was texting me what was coming next. I said to myself "I've seen too many movies.' what I actually meant was "Ive seen an awful lot of movies." anyway the patriarch of a Spanish family goes into the kidnapping business during the 1980's. the why is never answered, as they don't seem to live in luxury or spend the ransom money. there are so many unanswered questions that one doesn't really care after a while. the reason to go is Guillermo Francella. he is riveting and you can't take your eyes off of him. his son assists him in the kidnappings and I couldn't tell if he admired his father or was scared to death of him. the movie certainly captures all I know of the time after the junta and the movie does work. and I was surprised. anyway, go.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Why the high reviews?!
marywoods817 August 2018
I found The Clan to be very disappointing... The story itself if very captivating and you expect it to be somewhat as gripping as you'd think. The character building is decent you begin to like and dislike certain characters quickly. I felt the fact you don't see how those whom are being held hostage are living, you actually don't see them at all besides when the Father is making them write their ransom note, makes the movie more of a drama less of a thriller. They are crying and looked beat up you also don't see any abuse. I felt like those are key points of the story and the fact they don't also build on the hostage characters makes it less intense since your less emotionally involved... Just me.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Argentinean true life crime tale
t-dooley-69-38691623 October 2016
After the fall of General Galtieri in 1980's Argentina; some of the old guard did not accept that democracy and law and order were here to stay. They wanted the old ways back and the money that went hand in hand with corruption. The Puccio family was ahead of the pack, the patriarch was one Arquimedes Puccio played by the ever reliable Guillermo Francella ('The Secret in their eyes') and he led his whole family and a gang in kidnap torture and extortion.

His middle son was Alex who was a rising star in Rugby Union and his eldest brother had already done the same but had side stepped the family and escaped to New Zealand. However many hands do make light work and so Arquimedes went out of his way to ensure as many of the Clan as possible were 'hands on'.

Now this is based on a real story and it is quite amazing that a modern country could allow such atrocities to take place – but that is the way of the World with criminals everywhere. The film itself is Argentina's biggest earner ever and you can see why. The acting is all great as is the period detail. It jumps around from past to present etc but that is easy to follow. There are some upsetting scenes but the nasty stuff is mostly played down. This is a film that you may get more from on a second viewing but either way it is most certainly worth seeing at least once.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It is a minor Trapero
falanana8 October 2015
It is a great story, there are great actors in scene, the soundtrack is impressive, but something is missing. Elements are just not glued well together, the movie feels like it doesn't know what it wants to be. It is still good entertainment and worth it. The Puccio case is memorable by itself, and Trapero makes it visually enjoyable with a main character that will hypnotize you with a cold-deep-blue-eyes. But what makes El Clan less interesting than previous works from Trapero is how superficial characters are and the low tension observed overall (which was remarkably good in previous Trapero's works). With weak character motivation it is harder to get the audience to feel what they feel. Suddenly you can't really empathize with the story you watch. I am hoping Trapero did this one for money and will come up with a more interesting personal project soon!
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed