Fallout 4 (Video Game 2015) Poster

(2015 Video Game)

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Great, But Not Perfect
stevenhallman1621 November 2015
This game is fantastic, make no mistake. Music, graphics, world, characters (with some exceptions), story, choice and exploration are all huge improvements from 'Fallout 3', and if you're at all interested in Bethesda Game Studios' latest offering then I highly recommend you check it out.

However, some flaws hold it back from surpassing the heights seen in previous games. The removal of karma and skill points greatly reduces the customisability of your character's stats, and the lack of a level cap means the need to replay the game is severely restricted, as a patient player could unlock every perk in one playthrough. The new dialogue system is a joke, and coupled with the voiced protagonist results in less choice or role-playing capability seen in other Fallout titles. It's painfully clear that 'Fallout 4' fell victim to the streamlining Bethesda implemented into 'TESV: Skyrim', which doesn't take away from the sheer fun factor but is disappointing to some RPG fans such as myself.

Had Bethesda not begun development so soon after 'Fallout 3', vital lessons could have been learned from Obsidian Entertainment's 'Fallout: New Vegas', which features greater mechanical depth than either of Bethesda's Fallout releases and made huge improvements on the formula created in 'Fallout 3' that seem lacking in 'Fallout 4' or were left out entirely. For example, the factions system in New Vegas resulted in diverse endings and game worlds where in 4 there is little impact had on the world. The developments made in New Vegas' conversation system are curiously absent, making dialogue much less diverse in terms of impacts and outcome (likely due to the inherent restrictions of a voiced protagonist).

In conclusion, this game is ****ing great, I can't stress that enough, but is held back (in my opinion) by simplified mechanics and a story and player character that restricts player choice and customization. But for sheer fun and value, this game is worth your time.
22 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sharp around the edges but ultimately a great game
85122214 September 2017
Greetings from Lithuania.

To think that i have invested around 100 hours of my life time into "Fallout 4" (2015), done the main story, made A LOT of side quests and the there is still A LOT to explore encourages me to safely say - "Fallout 4" is a great game.

I had big expectations for "Fallout 4" because 3rd game was probably one of my all time favorites. And although 4th part did not improve on graphics - for this date and age, the game looks OK / good but nothing more, it did improve on almost everything else. I loved the story of "Fallout 4" - it was better then 3rd games. There is also a good twist in a main story which kinda makes you later guessing your actions.

The open world to explore is amazing in this game. Literally when you walk to make one quest, you come back with 3 or 4 more to do. Later some of them were more like "fetch" quests, but there are plenty of interesting one. I loved weapon / armor crafting, house building stuff was OK but nothing more. There are tons upon a tons of places to discover, things to find or to kill. I played this game on hard more from the beginning and by the end i was like a bad ass / Rambo type character - the game is pretty easy even on hard mode.

Overall, while "Fallout 4" isn't as brilliantly fresh as "Fallout 3" was, still this is an excellent game. Hope in a future they do make another one but this time with new game engine.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A vast world full of substance
fenn91115 November 2015
From the moment the menu screen emerges and the familiar theme of fallout delicately plays in the background, there was no doubt in my mind I was in for a wild ride. Bethesda did not disappoint. The one thing that is most impressive about the game is its sheer ability to retain substance while simultaneously introducing a new atmosphere, full of varying and vast expanses that each hold their own character. The game continues to surprise me at each and every turn as almost every person I begin a conversation with has a deep back story, unique quest, or an occasional homage to the previous games in the fallout series. Bethesda has managed not only to maintain the high level of engrossment that the previous fallout games provided, but has built on their accomplishments. By including new features such as customising not just your own settlements but also your own weapons, and breathing new life into other factors such as the VATS and perk systems, the game has reached a level above and beyond any game I have played before. With the added factor of a mesmerisingly beautiful soundtrack that your character can change depending on their situation and stepping up a level with next generation graphics that make each area you visit a truly unique experience, the game deserves no less than a 10/10. Yes there are some bugs here and there but with a game as large and dense as this, they really don't take away from the experience whatsoever (and can sometimes be hilarious). Fans of the genre and the series should not hesitate to get this game, just be prepared for it to take up a large chunk of your life!
23 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loses some of the series' RPG qualities but improves in other areas
Maladjusted_122 February 2017
I think we may have been holding 'Fallout 4' up to a rather harsh set of expectations. 'Fallout 3' was one of the best games of the decade, and 'New Vegas' was another excellent title. Unless Bethesda pulled off the best game of the year, there'd be a lot of criticism.

The introduction was great, and I'd place it leagues above the first scenes of 'Fallout: New Vegas'. Bethesda successfully place this game firmly within the context of a nuclear apocalypse, taking us closer to the initial devastation than ever before. It's also in the earliest moments of the game that you realise that your character can talk! Bethesda's long-awaited decision to give player characters a voice worked rather well, and I hope they expand on it in the future.

Whilst I have praise for certain character-related modifications made in this game, there are also some problems. It's very hard to play an evil character in 'Fallout 4'. As many people have pointed out, your choices tend to range from 'very kind' to 'reluctantly kind'. That didn't really inconvenience me as I tend to play do-gooders on my first playthrough, but I do find it disappointing that the range of moral choice available to players in the earlier games has been significantly reduced.

Bizarrely, as player choice is restricted where decision-making is concerned, it is expanded tremendously in another area: the workshop. For the first time, we are given the ability to expand a fairly vast number of settlements, giving you the choie to install security, add stores, build homes and - most importantly - attract settlers to populate them. One of the key factions, the Minutemen, also tie in with the settlements feature, as you'll often be called upon to defend them from a variety of Wasteland threats.

I quite liked the Minutemen and their quests, but I wasn't so keen on the Institute. They just don't look as authentic as the other factions we've met. A certain degree of sci-fi can be very fitting in an apocalyptic RPG, and I think the contrast of '50s culture and futuristic technology really gave the earlier 'Fallout' games their charm. Around half-way through this latest game, though, I felt that they went a little too far. Given the importance of the Institute, this detracted somewhat from my ability to enjoy the story, but I still acknowledge that it had some very good moments.

Do I think it's as good as 'Fallout 3'? No. Do I think it's a good game? Yes. I've logged well over 100 hours on it, so something must have worked!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's time to go nuclear. Fallout 4 is da bomb!
ironhorse_iv10 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
War never changes, but Fallout does. This video game developed by Bethesda Game Studios has really become a masterpiece. As the fifth major installment in the Fallout series, the game really stands out, from the rest in its epic-like scope. Set in a post-apocalyptic Boston in the year 2287, 210 years after a devastating nuclear war, the player's character (voiced by either Brian T. Delaney or Courtenay Taylor) emerges from underground bunker known as a Vault, to find out, that their child has just been kidnapped and their spouse murder. The player must then complete various quests and acquires experience points to level up their character, so they can be ready to challenge those who survive on the wasteland and find their child, Shaun, before it's too late. Without spoiling the game, too much, I have to say, I love Fallout 4's open world settling and the choice of what gender to play as. With first- and third-person perspectives available, the player can really can go, where ever, he or she wants and do nearly whatever he or she pleases. It allows for a nonlinear gameplay. Players have the ability to wear different armor and outfits, pick what items, they wish to grab, choice what dialogue, they wish to speak to, improve melee and shooting weapons, and also choose which companions can accompany them on battles and missions. One feature, that I really didn't like it, is building settlements, it comes off, as mostly irrelevant to the main story. One returning feature that, I'm glad, returned, is the 'The Pip-Boy', a computerized wristwatch, allows the player to access a menu with statistics, maps, data, and items. Players can find game cartridges, which can be played on the Pip-Boy. The Fast-travelling feature is nice as well. Like the previous games, important hubs, faction bases and homes, help the player travel easier. It will help you, avoid repetitive unwinnable situations. Another returning gameplay feature is the Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System (V.A.T.S.), which plays an important part in combat. While using V.A.T.S., real-time combat is slowed down, and action is played out from varying camera angles in a computer graphics version of "bullet time". It's create a uneasiness moment, of gore and graphic violence as time frequently show down to show, the effects of attacks, it has on enemies' bodies. Some people might find, upsetting, but most of it, was done in a cartoony fashion to allow the users to find it, fun to do, rather than too gruesome to look at. This dynamic system allows gameplay to be a lot better, than it was ever before. Unfortunately, there are still some issues, in the game. Such as the issues with bugs, which can be a pain the butt to players trying for any quick game melee. It slows down the frame rate, went below the target of 30fps. Simply walking around the world can hitches after loading a new save or fast-traveling. On all platforms, I saw occasional crashes, however, the PC version has been much smoother in that regard, running between 40 and 60fps. Another problem is that AI characters apparently do not realize that radiation & in-world hazards as harmful, and so will make no effort to avoid it. Dogmeat the dog companion in particular. Unlike other companions, he is programmed to run in front of the player and seems to predict their movement to better get ahead. However, he frequently barge into trouble. He'll open rigged doors and blunder through bobby traps before you can disarm them, walk directly into enemy camps while you probe the outskirts, and will constantly block you from attempting to access your inventory. He's a bit annoying. Yes, it's nice to see characters don't rarely die from their mistake, but they can also cause you to die, or expose your position to enemy fired. They still have no concept of stealth. It makes for a very unrealistic gameplay. Codsworth (Voiced by Stephen Russell), the robot does, nearly the same thing, but at least, he's a lot more useful as the game goes on, because on how many items, he can carry. Plus, he had the best performances, by all the voice actors. The others voice actors are fine, but are somewhat bland, compare to him. The story is a hit and miss, depending on what course, you take your character on. I like how your customizable protagonist can end up being selfless, heroic, greedy, murderous, or some other mix of traits, according to decisions you make, the actions you had taken. The player can chose, from 4 alternate endings in which; they can side. One is with the Institute on their quest for rebuilding society using synthetic beings as slaves. The 2nd is if they want help the group called the Railroad on their quest to prevent the slavery of those synthetic beings. The 3rd opinion, is for them to help the Brotherhood of Steel in destroying the synthetic beings before the synthetic beings can take over the world. The last opinion is to help the group of the Minutemen in destroying all establishing powers of the area, and founding a new society as a replacement. There are at least, 10 different types of ways to end the game. You have the choice, whatever you want. Just note, that some ends pretty amazing, other times, it's just a bit disappointing. All having, societal, political, and technological consequences within this alternate sci-fi world. One thing that I love about the game story is the social commentary about 1950s/ 1960s Cold War Conservatism before the late 1960's Counterculture Revolution. The game provides commentary both subtle, overt on topics ranging from rampant consumerism, potential dangers of rapid technological evolution to fanaticism & corporate corruption. Strong themes exploring family, friendship, military duty are also explored. Overall: Fallout 4 is a fantastic, thoughtful game that anybody will appreciate. Its complex game of decision making, makes this game, one worth owning. So check it out!
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
10 out of 10, and here's why
veggiedude11 June 2016
I, personally, love Bethesda games. I love Fallout, Elderscrolls, Doom, and Dishonered. My favorite game ever for awhile was the Elderscrolls: Oblivion. All of Bethesda's titles are jam packed with content that will keep you busy for hours. After seeing Todd Howard announce the next game, Fallout 4, I was pretty excited. I had loved Fallout 3. And after it came out, i avoided learning and spoiling anything about it. I finally bought it and put it in and was greeted with cool and funny cartoon shorts as my game downloaded. After it was done downloading, i was thrown right in. And let me say, I was not disappointed.

I was thrown into a pre-war intro where you could build your own character and witness, in game, the world go to hell. I'm not going to spoil anything, but the story is great!

Game play is great! There's improved gun play, new slow motion VATS, power armor customization, weapons customization, armor customization, Legendary enemies, great companion and romance systems, and a new great perk system.

The game is set in Boston and is almost twice the size of Skyrim. The Main and side quests are all compelling and exciting. You are never at a lack of things to do. The setting is comfortable and brightly colored and there are many different areas with different kinds of enemies.

Its a great game and I highly recommend it.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Todd Howard you've done it again!
future-2272919 February 2019
A brilliant RPG from Bethesda that leads you through an enticing story with 4 different endings and different storylines depending on what the player wants to do. This is another brilliant game by the great Todd Howard.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It took me 3 years to actually play this, and I regret that I didn't do I sooner.
maxd-6106124 December 2018
Fallout 4 is probably one of the best games I've played. While it may have let down some, I think that it's great. The combat system isn't awful like some of the previous fallout games, the world is great and full of substance, items are great and NPCs are great (some are better than others). One thing that isn't as good a previous fallout games is dialogue. It's pretty 2 dimensional. There are situations where there's really only one direction to go in, even though there are 4 options. I would have liked there to be a way out of a conflict through dialogue instead of having to confront it. Overall great game.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An Awesome if not Disappointing Game
masterchiefbichon2 August 2016
Fallout 4 is the latest entry in the post-apocalyptic, role-playing franchise, Fallout. The trailer for this game generated loads of hype, and I, for one, was anticipating its release. This game was the first I purchased for the Xbox One and has managed to suck me in for tons of hours. While it is certainly not the strongest Bethesda game I have ever played, as that honor belongs to the Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim, it is still a very good installment to the Fallout franchise. There are several noticeable changes that have been implemented to the game- some good and some bad. Several positive aspects of the game are the improved character creator, weapons and armor customization, an abundance of companions, lots of content and quests, and finally, power armor, which has been altered to support a tank-based, combat role. However, the changes to dialogue and a lack of varying endings neuter an otherwise solid RPG.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great game but hold off on buying it if your on PC until June 23 when the steam summer sail starts but other wise buy it now
lillyfinn-7847917 June 2016
The combat is a huge improvement from the previous game expensively with guns. the story and characters are really fleshed out. the new settlement system really add a lot of dept to the game and if you don't like it you can ignore it completely. Mod also add a lot. It is the first game to have mod support on console but it also has it on PC. The companions are another ting witch add to the game. Each companion fells unique and spacial and you can have different relationship with different companions depending on how you act around them. all in all it is a great game with lot of great ting to do witch are lot of fun. but hold off on buying it if your on PC until June 23 when the steam summer sail starts but other wise buy it now
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great fun despite the flaws
cdalley197913 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I was somewhat surprised to rate this game as highly as I did. Fallout 4 is a Bethesda game, and any veteran of their franchises will immediately recognize the familiar quirks and flaws which they seem incapable of overcoming. But I just love exploring the worlds they create, so much so that I'm perhaps a little too forgiving of the numerous imperfections. To keep things succinct I made a list of positives and negatives:

+) The world they've created is just as deep and fun to explore as any of their titles. I enjoyed the urban nature of the setting; the downtown area was particularly chaotic- in a good way. My favorite parts of this game often came during the quiet moments between combat, when I learned about the people that inhabited an abandoned office through computer terminals, or when I reached the top of a tall building downtown at sunset and was able to just appreciate a sweeping view of the commonwealth. This, combined with the excellent atmospheric music created some truly memorable moments.

+) Combat is fun if not terribly strategic. Guns feel better than previous fallout games but still not as good as a pure FPS. I liked the slow-motion VATS. Enemies aren't always matched to your level, which makes for some exciting moments when you run into something that can easily kick your ass. They are still pretty stupid though.

+) The main storyline is one of Bethesda's better efforts. I felt much more of a desire to stick to the main quest, at least initially. SPOILERS AHEAD: In the beginning,, your objective is simply to track down your son. There's plenty of mystery as the game introduces you to the world, and I really appreciated how personal and emotional the story felt. I found the infiltration of Kellogg's mind to be unique and memorable. However, things eventually derail into more of a generic sci-fi trope as you are forced to attach yourself to a factionÂ…

-) Factions: on one hand, I appreciated that none of the factions are wholly good or evil. They each have their own aims and are willing to do some extreme things to achieve those aims. HOWEVER, they are perhaps a bit too flawed in my opinion. I ended up siding with the railroad, but only because the institute seemed so obviously evil (at least early in the game), and the brotherhood of steel's code made no sense at all to me. Also, I was playing a sniper-type character and the railroad was the best fit for that play style. In hindsight, I should have probably stuck with the minutemen, which is the one faction that isn't in direct opposition to the others.

-) Dialogue- many of my biggest complaints with this game are tied to the lack of dialogue options. Rather than being able to ask specific questions, you are only allowed to respond in 4 ways during conversation, and it's not always clear what direction your selection will take the conversation in. In many cases, your choice doesn't seem to matter at all.

I really wanted to learn more about the factions, for example, but the dialogue system doesn't give you the opportunity. Even your exchanges with faction leaders are quite limited. I would have loved to ask the institute why they are so obsessed with making increasingly human- like Synths as opposed to the nearly infinite list of other things an organization with their resources could be doing.

The story eventually reaches a point where you have no option but to mass-murder nearly every single member of the two opposing factions. I'm not asking for a happy-ever-after, can't we all be friends type of ending, but it would have been nice to at least be able to make an attempt at diplomacy or compromise.

+) I was impressed with the companions in this game. I liked how you can gradually get to know these characters if they approve of your actions, and the companion quests I completed felt significant in a game with too many lazy side quests. Some characters tended to repeat the same lines too often, and they didn't really seem to differ much in their combat tactics, which would have been a nice addition.

+) I loved the crafting/modding system. Bethesda has been putting interactive junk in their games for a while now, and it was great to see it given purpose. The settlement building feature was fun, but ultimately pointless.

-) Graphics were very uneven. The environments looked decent for the most part but some of the models and animation were pretty bad. Compare this game to modded Skyrim and it looks pretty pathetic.

-) And now for the one thing that really interfered with my enjoyment of this game: technical issues. I experienced frequent drops in frame rate and freezing during load screens.

Still, I put nearly 130 hours into this game on one play-through, and most of that time was very enjoyable. Even with its flaws, this game kept drawing me in.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A post apocalyptic adventure
desertxskills24 January 2016
Thoughts on fallout 4: - We all know that fallout 4 is out and I want to share my thoughts. before you read this I just want to say I'm gonna go be biased towards the game since I'm a fan of the game. These are my honest opinions. - What I like about fallout 4: I love this game it's addicting, and it brings new features to the game. The settlement mode is fun, sure some may say it's a knock off of Minecraft and I understand, but it works with the environment thought, and the gun customization is really cool. The whole map is really cool and it's really beautiful, and I think they made the character and creature models better than fo3 and NV, it looks more realistic. I know some of you graphics whiners mine not agree with me on this but I think the graphics look better than the previous games, and the graphics look fine not the best but I'd give them 8/10, and I don't know why but I like the style of the graphics, I like that bioshock dishonored feel . I know some may say the storyline sounds like fallout 3 and I can agree with that but despite that there are some interesting parts to the story like the institute and being unknown to the commonwealth. The companions are really useful, and interesting characters such as Cait. Valentine, Strong, Piper.. I like how it showed how everything looked before the bombs fell, and to be honest I actually like the voiced protagonists, they're good voice actors. I like how power armor works in this game, it actually feels like actual armor such as in the other fallout games they felt like clothing. - What I don't like about fallout 4: I have problems with the game, it's the dialogue wheel. It doesn't have enough choices and it doesn't matter what you say now.and the story kinda sounded like fallout 3 but there are some interesting parts to the story. It took away the RPG element, not making your own choices such as being the bad or good guy. - Overall: Fallout 4 is a good game I'm enjoying it so far, so I give fallout 4 somewhere around an 8.9 or 9/10..Bethesda if your reading this I hope you learn your mistakes and improve on your next game.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Its not a RPG.
gulskare6 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I was still on the hype train when I started play on my XboxOne. The game was still new and everything was so new and exiting. But it quickly fades as the days playing Fallout4 passed. It became clear that the role play element of Fallout 4 was cut to the bone leaving a fun but thin skeleton of role play mechanics. The game is all about being the dad of Shaun, The freedom to make the main character ones own is all but a illusion.

The feeling of loss of the actual role play in the game, have made many of the Fallot franchise and RPG fans express their disappointment in many forms of media.

On the second run through the game I tried another concept and to side with another faction. And this is when Fallout 4 falls apart, all dialog leads either to the same place, or nowhere. I was lead by a fat red rope all along. None of the choices mattered. The endings feel like the endings of Mass Effect 3, witch caused a uproar at the time. It felt like none of the game choices I made mattered to the story. Save minute men or not. Help a settlement or not. It just didn't matter in the end. However you play it its just two endings. Help destroy the institute or not. There was no consequences and the endings were almost the same.

If I had my character be a evil person, the Npc's in the game didn't mind. The action for good or bad had consequence.

I was hugely disappointment because that is to me why the fallout game series and Elder scrolls series had replay value and were souch fun games.

It's is however a fun shooter game with role play mechanics.

I love the crafting of settlements. I hate how helpless the settlers are, and unable to do anything them selves. They must be micromanaged.

It is the same problem with the Minutemen, the protagonist is made the General, the highest rank within the organization. But the protagonist is still made to do all the work. Every cry for help, is only answered by the player. None of the minutemen seem to be able to help each other or take action on anything at all. And they may or may not come to aid the player if he needs it. They come across as needy and helpless, more an annoyance than someone I would like to help.

I love the new handling of and crafting of, weapons, Armour, food and drugs. Its the best new thing in the Fallout series.

I love the faction specific services. Brotherhood of steel Vertibird rides, Minute men artillery calls and support flares, and teleportation cynth trooper grenades from the Institute. All fun with lots of opportunity to use them.

The game have good mood setting with use of light, weather, sounds and area designs. It feels like playing a role playing game even when it isn't. It have charm and have a huge amount of background story exploration and geographical exploration. Fallout4 is also stuffed lore to discover if one likes that. I do.

The voiced protagonist also takes away from the freedom of role playing, unlike the Withcer games. The dialog options are just four, vague and often misleading.

The personal disappointment is why this shooter game with role play elements get a low score.
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It grew on me
residentgrigo18 March 2016
Fallout 4 proved a bit divisive and 1 (the best), 3 and New Vegas are the superior entries but i still put 70 hours into the game and even went for all 3 fraction endings. The crafting system needs a do-over as the necessary items were given an inventory weight and the same applies to a lesser degree for the new conversation system yet i view both as a good addition to the Bethesda stable. The changed skill and armor system though need to revert back and the writer messed up the ultra-bland side quests big time while delivering the best Bethesda campaign and combat yet so i view the games as Fallout 3,5. It even fells like remake of F3 at times so i suggest fellow series veterans who liked that entry to keep at it if the game initially turns you off. It certainly grew on me as the main narrative went on. The developers lastly need to move on to a new engine! The bugs were reduced to a manageable level after the release and the landscapes are downright picturesque at time but the character models and animation are from another decade altogether. 8,5/10
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Underwhelming in relation to Fallout 3 and New Vegas
sbulgacs8 January 2016
Just finished the first play through of Fallout 4.... Underwhelmed, it's more a smaller Fallout 3 map with more people/mutants running around everywhere..... Fallout 3 was a bigger map and it was a "wasteland" with large uninhabited areas. The side quests are mainly "go here and kill things". After a few of the side quests you basically end up repeating them over and over again. The encampment building is pointless eventually and just becomes annoying. That's not to say its a bad game, its not its good and I enjoyed it. Just not as wondrous as Fallout 3 or enjoyable as Fallout: New Vegas. Kinda seems like step sideways for Bethesda after the brilliance of Skyrim... Lets hope the promised expansion packs make up for the currently uninspired and occasionally repetitive game play.
7 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bork...
jrmuldoon-354455 October 2019
Obsidian set the standard. FO4 does not even come close to their example. It has its moments, but if you want the real fallout, play New Vegas or anything before FO3. Bethesda doesn't understand or doesn't care about the original fan base. Actually, I'd go as far to say that Bethesda dislikes the original fanboys of FO.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great game!
Eugenia12334520 July 2019
Great game! My first very first Fallout game ever and also what got me into the Fallout series.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Post Apocalyptic Fallout
magnusjhallan24 May 2019
It will come to no surprise that the graphics in this game is superior to it's predecessors. The gunplay is better and you don't have to rely on V.A.T.S all the time. The game is set in a post apocalyptic Boston, Massachusetts. The open world of Fallout 4 is packed with 100+ locations and 100+ quests, which makes it quite big. It does get quite repetitive in the end though. There is 5 different factions you can side with; The Brotherhood of Steel, The Institute, The Minuteman and The Railroad. Before I got platinum on the game, I had 250+ hours on the game (ridiculous, I know). Making my character nearly invincible, even on the hardest possible difficulty. Fallout 4 was my first Fallout game, something that I regret a bit after playing trough Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas later on. The game also has a Workshop mode which allows you to build almost anything you desire in an unlocked settlement, with the components you've found in the wasteland. Although this can be quite time consuming.

In Fallout 4 there's 3 major DLC's (Automatron, Far Harbor and Nuka-World) which adds new quests, characters and locations. There is also some smaller DLC's that is mainly for Workshop mode (Contraptions, Vault-Tec and Wasteland Workshop).

Before Creation Club, Fallout 4 (and Skyrim SE) offered mods, which was really great. Although it will disable trophies it's always fun to check out (I think it's still available, but I'm not sure). Creation Club is just ridiculous (and expensive). On App Store there's an free app called "Pip-Boy" that you should try out. Trust me. Also one is "Pip-Map". It's a paid application, but if you do like the game I recommend that app. It's a great little tool to help you become the master of the wasteland.

I do recommend this game, but you have to know that it does get quite repetitive after awhile. It does offer an interesting story and some fun gameplay. Shooting anyone and anything that poses a threat! I recommend the Far Harbor DLC if you liked the vanilla game and finished the main story.

8/10 Cheers from Norway
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Expansive Sandbox With the Post-Nuclear Charm
hydroshock-8447814 May 2019
I have not played any other Fallout game, so this game will be judged by me as a game overall instead of what it is supposed to be. Because I know that many said it feels less of a Fallout game. But it is still worth your time and money if you ask me.

The open world is big. And I mean BIG. It might not have the widest area, but it is dense, with countless places to explore and fond loot. And while this game looks more sunny compared to Fallout 3 and New Vegas, it nails the post-apocalyptic atmosphere.

The main quest starts on an interesting note, but there will be so much to do that you could get lost in other things. The game will easily give you over 100 hours of gameplay. And side quests aren't just throw-away side activities; they have their own stories too. But even with the main quest, it was an epic and satisfying ride.

The characters are done very well here. While the karma system is gone (as I've heard), it is replaced by pleasing/disappointing companions, so there is still a system where you must be careful about the decisions you make. The writing with that addition is done very well, and I genuinely felt the emotion between your character and the companion, both in the positive and negative lights.

Combat is just as you expect in the Fallout series, gunplay that isn't like any other shooter, with the iconic VATS system that allows you to target a specific bodypart of your enemies. And there will be a lot of nasty enemies in the wasteland. Also, if you are not into (literal) eye-popping gore, you've been warned.

This games scores a 9.5 out of 10, with the only flaws being that it is midly repetitive and requiring some of the workshop building in the main quest probably wasn't a good idea. But this game will occupy a lot your time, and if you are looking for that, Fallout 4 will grant that.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A masterpiece of player freedom and one of the best next gen games yet.
t-hf30 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
So Fallout 4 has been here for the best part of a month and I have no qualms in saying that this is the best game on next gen that i've seen so far and what makes it so amazing is purely how much freedom you have this time around compared to Fallout 3 and Skyrim. From the very get go, I knew I was in for a treat. After the usual "War never changes" spiel, you're immediately thrust into a brilliantly versatile character creation screen and I need only tell you that I spent about 30 minutes in that section to demonstrate how many options you have. And that my friends, is just the beginning. After admittedly a few boring moments, the game picks up the pace briskly and you are quickly swept into the unforgiving wasteland of The Commonwealth (formerly downtown Boston) and away from the peaceful, family oriented life you once knew in a heartfelt plot involving your kidnapped son. I wont spoil anything else but I think that it was a very smart move on Bethesda's part to opt for a simple, more personal and emotional plot. Surprisingly, the kidnapped son gives your character some great motivation and gets you genuinely invested.

Now, I usually play as females when given the option - don't know why really, I just really like strong female characters -, and I can say that the plot seems to work so much better when you play as a woman in this game. The kidnapped son gives your character some maternal quality like Ripley or Sarah Connor, and makes her more driven and badass. Not completely necessary but just a suggestion I thought i'd bring up. Also noteworthy is that this game introduce fully dynamic conversations and voice acting for the first time, which was a very smart inclusion and gives your character so much more personality, and also allows you to become more connected to them and guide their personality traits throughout the game. Whether you want them to be sympathetic and caring or cold and emotionally distant, the choice is yours. I personally drove my character down the sympathetic route, but also made her emotionally fractured and evasive at times, but with just enough space for a few sarcastic quips every now and then, which in turn made her very likable and a lot of fun to play as.

Before I close my review, I must mention two more things that make this game very special. The first is the combat, holy sh*t the combat is so much fun. It's hard as hell, but if it was easy the game wouldn't be nearly as challenging and fun to go back two. Every weapon feels unique enough for you to think about which is best for a particular enemy. Secondly, the power armor is also so much fun to use. EverY time I strap into it I feel like a badass ready for battle and it's especially good for exploring those radiation infested areas.

Overall, I would say that Fallout 4 is my favourite game of the year and I truly applaud and thank Behesda for giving us a rewarding and COMPLETE (yes i'm looking at you Battlefront *scathing stare") experience that will surely hold re-playability well into next year and who knows, maybe for the rest of this generation. What are you waiting for, go out and play this game now!!
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Downsizing of the franchise, simplified, enjoyable, yet forgettable
farchettiensis14 December 2015
Mind you that assigning a score depends on one's parameters. Old gamers, familiar either to the genre or to the franchise, will most likely not enjoy the game, or at least find it to be a retrocession. Newcomers might not mind much of the absence of depth, lore, memorable characters and plot. Considering Bethesda had 4 years to develop this game, the game frustrates quite often. Things I enjoyed about F4: there were marginal improvements on the graphics, they are better, but hardly ''next-gen''. The shooting system has improved, too. It feels more realistic. Power armor (an advanced kind of armor) is more plausible, and has a particular feel to it. There is a greater variety of possibilities of modifying your weapons, and armor. The crafting system is better, but it's a shame they have left ammunition crafting out. The game does, on the other hand, feel smoother and more modern. Things I haven't enjoyed about F4: pretty much everything else. The game seems to have been deliberately wrapped up in a wonderful, magical, envelope. Worry not! A few minutes into the game, and all the magic disappears, and you're introduced into a clichéd plot, which is in the best of Bethesda's grand tradition of linear plots and choices which bear little or no influence in the outcome. Take the new settlement system. If you want to work on them, be prepared to waste huge amounts of time. Unlike New Vegas, in which every interaction seemed to have a consequence for the world in some way, this has none. So, basically you waste your time on a insipid system, and that is all for nothing, except your own imagination of how that might shape the Wastelands. So, Bethesda seems to have carefully crafted aspects of the game which were certain to draw everyone's attention, packaged them carefully, made promotional videos, events with highly selected aspects of the game (which looked bright, modern, different)... but seems to have put so little time and effort in what makes Fallout such a wonderful franchise. I think Fallout has a unique formula of open-world, rpg, action. Everyone knows it's not a pure RPG, but Bethesda has really made it this time: RPG is so thin in this game, that you can safely say that formula changed. It's a huge disappointment. Not only you don't have much stake in what's going on, except in a very linear fashion, but your character is as forgettable as it can be. Oh, the dialogue system, you'd think that, having invested so much in voice acting, they'd something better, but it's the opposite: it's the worst dialogue system of the franchise, and shows a true regression. -Factions are hardly memorable. If you don't want to go New Vegas, that's fine, but F4 has really done bad at this. -Companions follow in the same line, and are another great disappointment. -Bethesda has also decided to scrap the old skill/perk/special system, streamlining it (to put it mildly), simplifying it, to the result of losing the enjoyment of building your own character. It's more like you can be everything, now. -XP system is just another reflex of the overall tone of this game: it rewards quantity, not quality. Kill legendary enemies, kill bugs, it's all the same. -The world... maybe it is bigger than the previous ones, but it doesn't feel so. It followed F3's tradition of ''islands'': there's little connection between places. You may find that some of these places are worlds in themselves. In some cases, this would nice, and even plausible, considering the isolation induced the hostile environment. But expect no background, nothing significant about them, no lore. It's fragmented, there a few NPCs, most of which you won't remember a few moments afterwards, anyway. There was a nice feel in the previous game to finding these exquisite places, with weird people, strange stories (remember F3, you'd find a republic up in the middle of nowhere, or strange folks who venerated a tree). Fallout 4 is just a generic game, and you can expect but vestiges of the uniqueness of the franchise. The scale of it just outdated at its point, and one would be willing overlook this, if the game offered a rich plot, which it does not.

All in all, Fallout 4 is a game that carries the franchise name, but is really more of a generic action, open-world shooter. It has lost much of its identity, its uniqueness, it has changed the formula, and made it a forgettable, unmemorable game, with a scale and an engine that are not compatible with the year 2015 and the time they took to develop it. In short, the game lost much of what it stood for. Bethesda has a very poor take on the Fallout world, added nothing to the franchise, took several steps back, while offering marginal improvements in some cases, replacement and simplification in most others, removing every tiny bit of complexity, stake the player might have, depth, and lore. It's obviously aimed at massification, and probably all the complaints about the game won't be heard, due to the asymmetric marketing campaign by Bethesda (we can't compete with their money), which selects shiny aspects of the gameplay and the world, and offers trivialities, which divert the masses' attention from its issues, and Bethesda's complete lack of creativeness, innovation, and boldness. I don't mind changes, but these are for worse.

I gave it 5 out of 10 because it's a big world, in terms of how much time you can spend running around it, though each place individually is uninteresting and for the most part implausible, and you can have fun exploring it, doing unmemorable, linear quests, shooting stuff, but still fun. As I said before, many people won't notice nothing of what I said. Hopefully, in the future, developers will understand that they can make a lot of money doing games that people will never forget about. Sadly, this is not the case.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Fallout game ever, abysmal, boring and buggy to the extreme
TheBearisHERE5 April 2016
The game is a glorified FPS, it is an insult to RPG games to call it as one. There are no skills, basically no choices in quests, no consequences, no SPECIAL checks (you can fire a minigun with 1 Strengh and create jet with 1 intelligence...), no specialization, no moral dilemmas. Immortal "essential" characters everywhere, weightless ammo, difficulty is incredibly easy even on "survival" difficulty. The word "Legendary" has even been disgraced - they are just a bit stronger enemies, not at all super legendary ones from New Vegas, Weapons and armor now never degrade and need not be fixed... Doctor bags to heal limbs have again been removed. Absolutely all improvements of New Vegas have been undone. The conversation system is also horrible, with but a few options of what to say and you cannot even read the full lines of dialogue of what you would say. The inventory system is also terrible, there no longer is a "notes" section and misc items are mixed with them, no item slider for fast browsing, just a disgusting console port all the way.

Follower AI is astoundingly bad - they are always trailing a mile behind you, getting shot in the back while still looking at you, getting in your way and blocking paths, falling, falling, falling. You could have more options of tailoring their AI in Fallout 1 even, than in this game.

Terrible, childish writing with a paper-thin plot, laughably shallow characters who do not say more than 3 lines, as you would be "bored to hear more" - as in the game was made for children with an attention span of 30 seconds. No ending slides about characters or locations, no tangible conclusion to the story at all.

There are no evil factions to join whatsoever, out of 13 followers, there are just 1 or 2 who could have bad karma. There are just 3 types of enemies basically - super mutants, feral ghouls, and raiders or gunners. And not once can you have an opportunity to negotiate with or join the raiders/gunners, you can just shoot them, wow, how RPG-like of the game. The game is a boring grind through endless dungeons which you clear and have no satisfaction or reward whatsoever. 80% if not more of quests is just killing enemies AKA "clearing areas". Pathetic and boring boring boring.

Fallout universe setting and ideas have been savaged, completely unfaithful to previous games- what should be the most powerful and extremely rare armor - power armor - can be found everywhere and everywhere, they give it to you during the very first mission even, OMG. Power armor is paper thin, breaks after a dog bite when it should withstand artillery hits,,, Deathclaws are unbelievably weak, they now just dance around you and their hits are pinpricks, not at all the scariest enemies from previous games. Alien blaster is as weak as a laser pistol, jet (invented in Fallout 2 times) is found in pre-war boxes, Nuka Quantum (supposed to be experimental and very rare) is everywhere, etc, etc... Pathethic.

The much touted crafting system is nothing good too and makes little sense - you can build a house from a few pencils and cigarette packs, And the crude house will be hanging in the air not even touching the ground, You can build machine gun turrets that shoot limitless ammo without even needing... a gun and ammo to build it.

The whole world does not even make any sense, all of the buildings in Boston are still standing and it was supposed to be a nuclear apocalypse + 210 years of mutant creatures ripping everything apart? Idiocy.

Also, you will encounter a bug every 2 minutes of the game - be it settlement stats being incorrect, permanent combat stance when no enemies are around, quests not being accessible, exact duplicate quests, NPCs turning hostile for no reason, etc, etc.

Todd Howard and Emil Pagliarulo are hacks, they must never make any more games. Worst Fallout game ever without a doubt.
5 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I just write about a few aspects I like about the game.
esmeralda_valdez10 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Fallout 4 is a role playing game in a post apocalyptic setting. The story follows the Sole Survivor who was frozen for two hundred years. During the time the Sole Survivor was frozen, he/she temporarily thaws out and witnesses the murder of his/her spouse and the kidnapping of their son. Once the Sole Survivors thaws out again a few years after that incident, you're given the main mission to go find your son.

When I started to play to fallout 4 I was always forced to be alerted at all times since many of the wild animals try to kill any living thing on sight and the first creatures you come across are a lot of gigantic cockroaches, blood bugs (giant mosquitoes), mole rats, and feral ghouls. These creatures aren't tough however, they move around quickly and with limited ammo it can be challenging. As you level up, it gets easier in a way where you start picking up stronger armor or weapons and when you're a high enough level you actually start going against legendary enemies that drop legendary items.

Another thing to look forward to is the perk system. I personally love how this perk system has improved over the series of Fallout. For each level you gain you get a perk point. You can spend your perk point on your character's traits called SPECIAL perks. SPECIAL is an acronym for Strength, Perception, Endurance, Charisma, Intelligence, Agility, and Luck. For each letter there's ten levels and you can spend your perk on any of these sections if you meet the level requirement. Some examples are Black Smith which can help you improve your weapons and gain access to better mods for your gun, Locksmith which improves your ability to pick stronger locks, this is a trait you can also have Skyrim, Black Widow/Lady killer is where you do more damage to your opponent of the opposite gender as your character, and the one I max out quickly as possible is strong back a carrying capacity perk. I know that last perk sounds a little lame, but it's useful for the next thing I'm going to mention.

Settlements! Either love them or hate them, everybody wants to be in them, few protect them, but who actually leads them? Surprise, the player does. There's this new thing called workshop. With this new ability of workshop you can access for each settlement that joins with the Minutemen, you get to care for people living in them. If the player wants 100/100 happiness for the settlements the player has to focus on what makes a settlement great like food, beds, water, and defense. It's mostly simple, you plant fruits and veggies and assign people to gardening for food, craft beds with cloth and steel, place a pump in the dirt for water which requires steel, concrete, and a gear, for defense you build turrets or post for the settlers to stand guard at. With the leadership perk it's possible to build stores in the settlements and it brings happiness to settlers. However this is just the surface of what can possibly be built with settlements. A limit is the amount materials you have like steel, gears, wood. If you don't have enough materials this is where strong back perk comes in. With the strong back perk you can carry these things called junk which varies for the different types of materials you need to build your turrets, beds, pumps, and such and if you're thinking "that's it?" you can, get ready for this, you can also use this junk to modify your weapons too.

Even though I summarized the game earlier, it still doesn't do justice for how interesting the game is. You're main motif is to find your son and you later find out that he's being "held" under The Institute however, there's a twist that might persuade the player to join The Institute and do their ending oh yeah, there's multiple endings for the player to choose from. In a apocalyptic world there's going to be groups that rise higher than the rest and that's exactly what happens. You have The Institution, which are the most technology advanced and the one's who are behind the creations of Synths and the experimental vaults, The Brotherhood of Steel which are soldiers who have access to top tier power armor that fight against Mutants, Ghouls, and Synths and have a strong dislikes to them even towards the friendly ones (I think they're like Nords in Skyrim.. .Racist), Minutemen are the people who accept and protect small communities that are all joined together, and Railroad is a secret group of people who protect and relocate synths to different areas because they believe they're still human in a way (Synth lives matters). If you fully side with one of these factions it varies the endings, so be careful with each decision you make.

This game is chock full of side missions and it gets addicting, I can't stress enough how hooked I got on this game, and with family members who also succumbed to the wide world of Fallout 4 I got so committed to this game. I wish I could say more about this game like the followers with much more personality than Skyrim's, the fresh dialogue, and that jamming radio however, it's better for whoever is reading this just to play the game. Let me just say this, instead of the typical beating a game and feeling empty inside, You beat Fallout 4 and think what other missions can I do? Or which Ending should I do next? What can I do differently? Can I romance every follower? Honestly, this game had me whipped to the fluff. If you ever feel like you can't find a mission remember, another settlement needs your help.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Depressing and not good enough
anthonyhevron24 November 2015
I am a relatively new gamer, and so haven't played any prior fallout game.

I am comparing fallout 4 to other games released for the current generation of console.

This game is beautiful, but far too frustrating.

It's beauty comes from an open world that is either destroyed or worn out. It's wonderful to look at, but after a while it is depressing. In that way it is not unlike Dishonoured. I enjoyed Dishonoured, but there comes a point where it is just too sad to be fun. That said Dishonoured doesn't overstay its welcome so on the whole it is a satisfying if melancholic experience.

The bigger problem with Fallout 4 is the sudden, often unseen, dangers that result in you being killed often more than once trying to get to missions. And here I mean a lot more than once. I have spent evenings just trying to get to the mission. By the time I get to the actual task, I have lost interest more than once.

Then there are the controls. I can't seem to throw a grenade at all, if I try to use a Molotov I die - every time - and several times when I sell or transfer goods I later discover that my character is naked. Funny the first time - boring every later time.

It may be that my copy is buggy, but my efforts at leveling up don't seem to have made any difference.

You are warned to save often, but seriously, this is too annoying. The process is more of a chore than an entertainment.

Playing this game after Witcher 3 or Dishonoured or several other games I could mention, fallout 4 is not good enough.

I am finding it too hard, not fun, not engaging, and I don't think I will bother to finish it.

I am only writing this because - in my view at least - that the existing reviews are far too positive. There are some wonderful games to play, this isn't one of them.
8 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
An absolute technical mess
thisisspartacus-5182523 June 2019
This game would probably be a masterpiece if the technical side of it wasn't so garbage! The graphics are sub-par, combat is horrible, and there are bugs out the wazoo, pretty much every time I die I start ragdolling all over the place. I don't understand why some people think it's a masterpiece because it's just disgusting to look at.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed