Donovan Reid (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Not very good.
sdiegotw29 June 2019
I can't say this movie is amateurish. The cinematography and editing is good. However, the first thing I noticed is that the main character is supposed to be 20, but the actor portraying him looks much closer to 30 (or older). That is very distracting. He seems to be a decent actor, and is a nice-looking guy, but he simply doesn't look the part. The rest of the actors are a mixed bag as far as ability goes.

Thirty minutes in there is no character development. I'm left uninterested in all of the characters. The central question in the movie, which is made known almost from the very start, could be resolved almost instantly with a bit of modern technology, rendering any suspense regarding it absurd. From early on, there is an undercurrent of something else going on, but, again, no suspense.
18 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
HAHAHAHA! Seriously?
jbrooks-874053 July 2019
Just awful. The glowing reviews are bogus, obviously because they state the acting is good. The dad's horrible acting is comical. Just...no.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage
mrnerdymcgee10 July 2019
This film is a total ripoff of the 2012 documentary about the French scammer Frédéric Bourdin. The script lacks any originality, resulting not only in a played-out plot but also tedious unnuanced dialogue recycled from every made-for-tv movie from the 1990s. The acting was atrocious to the point of being nearly unwatchable. Also, the way the writers wrote all the female characters seemed incredibly misogynistic. Skip this terrible movie and watch the 2012 documentary instead.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Amateurish
kleypas-332-35085221 July 2019
If this is what Amazon is going to be providing as their original programming, they won't be competitive with the other streaming services for much longer. This movie seemed more like a high school class project.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Isn't this just a rework of the (incredibly well done) documentary "Imposter?"
ndogg999927 July 2019
I'm asking because I watched the preview on prime and that's what it looks like....and it looks horrendous. Watch the documentary "Imposter" 2012.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you value your life and your time...Skip this film
nedfox-974-1568029 July 2019
Keeping it short and sharp this is garbage, acting is bad from the mom and dad and the police guy is a joke, they all must have been friends of the producers or something. Life is too short for garbage films like this.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A short film stretched an extra 60 mins. for theatrical purposes.
tkaine32 October 2019
It's not a bad film but knowing an hour and 20 minutes isn't long and yet I couldn't wait for it to end. The story was kinda original which was a plus but the characters were too cluttered with cliche's. It was almost unbearable but the ending had a good enough twist. If you remove 45 mins in the middle theres nothing you'll need to connect the dots. The last 5 mins. dumps everything on the table, the mystery is revealed case closed.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
sean-81-4764732 July 2019
This is terrible, awful actors cheap film, you can tell within the first couple of minutes as the acting is tinny, the only believable character is the deaf guy, and that's only cos he doesn't speak, avoid not worth watching
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Donovan Reid
lopezjuju8 July 2019
Great movie!! Cast was great, definitely recommend watching.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thoroughly enjoyed this film!
miker-565-9757572 July 2019
The film kept me guessing about who Donovan Reid truly was, and I was NOT disappointed! Bonus points for choosing beautiful points of interest in scenic Sonoma County as a backdrop. Highly recommend!
7 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Watch Donovan Reid!
chrisa00011 August 2019
I finally had the opportunity to watch Donovan Reid via Amazon Prime. I highly recommend it! The film evokes a great sense of suspense. The plot is pretty close to the vest; I kept wondering what would happen next. And there are excellent performances by a host of local talent, including Anthony Martinez and Lydia Revelos as the conflicting parents, as well as Kimberly Kalember and the lead Weston Lee Ball (who has a neat David Byrne vibe in this role).

The film is also very well assembled, with picturesque establishing shots that remind me of the Bodega Bay region, and an effective score by Jared Newman. I highly recommend this film!

(Full disclosure: I have enjoyed working with Anthony Martinez on many local theatrical productions, and I have seen Lydia Revelos and Kimberly Kalember's fine stage work at Left Edge Theater.)
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
youll need your good memory
ops-525352 July 2019
This is a back and to back story that goes between two houses, so similar in the outfitting that you will have trouble seeing the difference till the adults of the house comes into the stagelight.

it is a good drama, just mortalized by thge editing at some extent, but the acting ar good and sinscere in all its complexity, the filmo fine and the allround score a nice and gives a good a mysterious float to it.

the grumpy old man bet you wont love this film at first, but its accepable and recommended in the end.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unexpected Gem
ccmax16 June 2019
Just happened to stumble upon this while scanning through Prime Video; how refreshing to find such a well crafted film! A bit slow at first but I implore you to stay with it, you will not regret it. An ending you will not soon forget!
8 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A lot of reviewers didnt watch this movie!
kayleenniko16 August 2019
1] It is so far from imposter it isnt even funny. 2] If youve gone thru trauma as a child youll relate to the actor who played Donovan and notice how well he does, even when he flinches or kind of recoils, it is accurate to lack of emotional maturing after trauma. 3] People are seeming to hold this independent film to the same standards as any multi million dollar film and thats ridiculous.

Give It a Watch. I Feel Like a Lot of The Reviews Are Based on People Watching the Trailer and Not the Movie. One Love!
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Who Are You, Donovan Reid?
lavatch7 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A boy who mysteriously disappears returns to his family after an absence of ten years. But the police suspect that he is an imposter. What is the true story of the missing kid? "Donovan Reid" was a modest film that developed good suspense in the drama of the identity of the title character.

A conflict ensues when the father believes that his son has returned, but the mother believes that he is not her son. A DNA test will determine the truth. But in the meantime, the film frequently flashes back to the period when the youngster had been kept in a virtual state of captivity by a strange woman. It was not even clear if he had received much in the way of an education.

While the father was sympathetic, as well as the neighbor Harbor, who had befriended the young Donovan, there was a sinister aura surrounding the other characters. The filmmakers were successful in allowing the audience to piece together the story right along with Donovan, who clearly suffered from amnesia.

At times, the dialogue was clunky and the casting choices raised questions in credibility. The father and Donovan seemed to be nearly the same age. Also, the police officer's aggressive tactics in interrogating Donovan seemed excessive. Still, this was a thoughtful though disturbing film that should generate lively discussion about the bizarre world of Donovan Reid.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Drama Mind Reality Complex
peauarthur12 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The young male survivivor can trigger personal memories of my youth where adults can be so psychologically powerful as an authoritative figure with so much anger, you forget if they were ever born as kids and just see them as monsters rather than human beings with emotional love this so-called family love. Surprisingly non-religious in contrast to my feelings as a spiritually positive Christian, this young male survivor was able to sort out the confusion during his daily struggles. He maintained a strong spiritual calmness that kept him from jumping to conclusions and prevented him from ending someone's life that kept him indoors for a decade. Musically calm through every scene is probably more of a mind healing effect rather than the character dramatization movie effect.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Elite Missing Persons Film
TheAll-SeeingI14 November 2019
From wire to wire, the fascinating and suspenseful "Donovan Reid" offers its own unique brand of intrigue in this outstanding spin on the traditional missing persons vehicle.

A young adult male (played by Weston Lee Ball) enters a police station. On a piece of paper, he simply writes, "I am Donovan Reid," thereby gifting us with the inciting incident to an exceedingly well-crafted film, and one which commands our keen attention throughout. It comes to pass that a boy by that same name disappeared a decade back, and his case has been a point of consumption for Detective Schleicher (Mike Schaffer). Yet this particular young man may or may not be Donovan, and doubts extend from the detective on down to Donovan's own mother (Lydia Revelos). His father Hank (Anthony Martinez), however, needs no further convincing; this is surely the return of his own prodigal son.

Director and co-writer Austin Smagalski crafts layers of enveloping intrigue with enchanting back-story glimpses that grab the viewer by the cranium. The film's true greatness is tonal, and best manifested in its expert creation of atmospheric pressure and an ambiguity that permeates throughout. We've seen this true-life story play out on the evening news, and we're always pulling for the parents: Our hopes are that the mysterious figure self-declared as the long-lost child is indeed exactly that. As it rests its case, "Donovan Reid" has successfully worked the fringes here in a way that the best suspense vehicles of major Hollywood studios rarely muster, and it does so without the benefit of comparatively unlimited resources. Heavily recommended, and with no reservations. - (Was this review of use to you? If so, let me know by clicking "Helpful." Cheers!)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Family mystery stuns audience
dalvey-0683112 May 2019
Donovan Reid is a moody yet respectful young man who is pestered by his guardian to remain isolated from public view with no explanation. His memory of life confounds and confuses the audiance throughout this well written presentation of a unique 'who-done-it'. Location cinemintography is superb and set design brings the authentic feel of home to this well crafted independent film production. You will definatley tell your friends about Weston Lee Ball and his portrayal of Donovan Reid.
7 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Donovan Reid, we've all happy your finally home
I don't know where to start. But let me say this. I have been disappointed with the lack of "stories" coming out of Hollywood in recent months. I know, first world problem, but hey, we've been spoiled for a long. Sweeping in to fill the void comes Donovan Reid. A smart, well acted, masterfully directed, film that continually has you thinking that the outcome you guessed early might not be so. Lead actor Weston Lee Balls performance was captivating and the remaining cast performed very well too. I just love this kind of movie !
7 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This film packs a wallop in its brisk 80 minutes
mcblanton130 May 2019
A young man saying he's Donovan Reid, a boy who went missing a decade earlier and presumed dead, returns home causing doubt and confusion, bringing to the surface hidden secrets and startling truths, buried deep, long ago. Austin Smagalski's restless, nonlinear mystery, Donovan Reid (2019), packs a wallop in its brisk 80 minutes. Highly recommended!
7 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great suspense movie
indiana-1990012 May 2019
It grabs your attention all the way until the end. It's a movie you will talk about long after you watch it. Well scripted and performed.
6 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent mystery !
WatcherOfTheSkies77730 July 2019
It's a family drama with a great concept an d a lot of suspense. Very well made on a technical level and it will keep you guessing until the end.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Mysterious til the end
swingin-buddha29 May 2019
This movie has you questioning a lot of things the whole time. Very suspenseful until the very end. Is this man Donovan Reid or not? Very well written story, and the cinematography is beautiful. If you like a good mystery, I highly recommend Donovan Reid.
6 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
CLEARLY ORIGINAL
tamayohectordaniel23 May 2019
Super glue for you brain!! Full of suspense that keeps you stuck to the story! Must watch!
6 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A promising debut
musicalliving-2304031 May 2019
Right from the start we are hit with some really gorgeous cinematography, and a dreamy and haunting score. The score at many points mingles with the editing flawlessly, bleeding into the sound of the following scenes. Effectively acted by the whole cast; the precice psysicality of Weston Lee Ball in particular. A very strong debut film from Austin Smagalski. Looking forward to seeing any future projects from anyone involved in this film.
6 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed