Scarecrows (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
25 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Goofy fun first half, but fails in the second half.
Kolobos5129 April 2018
This movie starts out so silly it almost feels like parody but it's not. It just is that stupid. It's a group of amusing simpleton kids that go looking for a "lagoon" and end up on the property of a deranged farmer that likes turning people into scarecrows. I actually kind of enjoyed the first half of this movie. It's dumb funny, has lots of eye candy, and if you like stupid, low budget horror movies, you can probably imagine the kind of dumb fun I'm describing. The problem is the second half. When the movie starts trying to take itself seriously and be scary, it isn't. It's boring. The humor and gratuitous skin are gone and they're not replaced with anything. The gore is minimal and the scares are non existent. They should've just kept to laughs the whole time because they don't know horror. I was really, really struggling to stay awake through this thing.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ok watch
dawny_dawn-5163429 April 2018
The movie is by no means great, but it has some reasonable acting a few laughs. But the story is still all the same old same old. There was something i just liked about the movie. I thought it was reasonably made, with descent acting. Not your high class horror, but this was a fun watch on a sunday afternoon.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
More of the Same...
Demon_Best_Friend27 April 2018
Seriously, how hard is it to make a good Scarecrow based horror movie? Here we spend the first 30 minutes or so getting some "character" development from some of the worst actors ever. The characters are unlikable and you don't care when they're all drug off one by one to become scarecrows in this God awful flick. The final minutes? Are they suppose to be suspenseful or frustrating? It's neither of those, it's just another cop out with an ending you see coming a mile away. I see some 10 star ratings here, I'd bet you anything that those came from the cast, or crew of this flick. Don't waste any money on this one, it's not worth it at all.
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
My Review Of "Scarecrows"
ASouthernHorrorFan15 December 2018
"Scarecrows" is a straightforward story that incorporates recognizable tropes. The young, dumb kids on a quest, and the psycho killer. Add to it the macabre fascination of a creepy, yet familiar rural mainstay - the scarecrow. It lacks originality but that doesn't stop it from being entertainment.

The cast is great at creating likeable characters that add both canon fodder for the killer and protagonists that you root for. The acting is acceptable, although there is some recognized moments of inconsistencies in scene delivery. But still, the quality is good and the suspense is captivating.

The special effects are equally quality work. Practical, visceral moments of blood and horror create an almost "Wolf Creek" atmosphere. My only complaint is that the violence and horror seemed restrained a bit too much. I would have liked a little more gruesome and gore. Still the film does more than enough to entertain on that level as well.

Overall, "Scarecrows" is a cool, entertaining horror movie with slasher level thrills. The cinematography is excellent, the antagonist is dominating and intimidating. There are a few minor flaws, but nothing that hurts the experience that Stone offers up to horror fans. Check it out.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great old school slasher fun
winkust10 December 2018
Was very pleasantly surprised by this as had been a while since I have seen a modern horror film that was actually entertaining but this film reminded me why I love horror in the first place. A lot of modern horror films are very drab affairs with washed out colours, jump scares and cgi galore along with a usually fairly downbeat mood and plot to them, this film was fun, looked good and was well paced.

The plot is basically a bunch of college kids go on a bit of a road trip to a lagoon , this leads them to a cornfield, the farm owner hates trespassers and turns them into living scarecrows, nice and simple no found footage, no haunted houses, no dead relatives just a nice simple straight forward plot. In a nutshell this film is a lot of old school slasher fun and definitely worth a watch.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good ol'90s feel horror.
spinningalb1 October 2018
A good 90's style horror. Typical guys: the hot blond jock, the dark haired nerd. Girls: Pretty blond brat, cute dark haired naive. Fabsie is one of the best horror jocks. I enjoyed this, a fun horror movie.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not worth a watch
Zucroh28 April 2018
If you want to watch a nice ass for 20 minutes,go watch it but everything else in this movie is bad and not worth it.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun Watch
leberbeaver1 November 2018
If you're looking for a fun movie to watch, this is it. Has a sense of humour.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This movie delivers fun
kingmilesthedog1 November 2018
I didn't know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised by this movie. If you take it for what it is, this movie over delivers and is a lot of fun. I found it refreshing that it didn't take itself too seriously and even had a few legit scares! Good movie.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great watch!! delivers laughs & scares :)
filmfannforlife4 November 2018
Although it's not a high budget film, this movie did exactly what I wanted; removed me from my everyday stresses and allowed me to laugh and get scared with my boyfriend. Loved the characters and their ridiculous banter. It's a GREAT watch!! Especially cozied up to your significant other ;)
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't waste your time
train10775 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Acting: I'm not sure if they actually practised to become such bad actors. Only positive thing is the pretty girls. Seems really stupid that the villain is an evil slow moving crocodile dundee. If you don't believe me just watch.

Music: The music is short bursts actually emphasis the scenes in the movie with the worst acting. There is a big contrast between the music and the silence, it just seems like the music not always his the right mood. Such as the silly foolish rytme when kissing jumping into silence and on...

Special effects: Surprisingly these are not as bad as the rest of the movie.

Story: Nothing new here. Teens get lost in the wrong area where a killer roams.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Real Reviewer Here: Fun Old School B-Movie Slasher With Campy Fun, and Sexy Girls
Dark_Lord_Mark29 April 2018
I have no idea what the other reviewers were watching. This was a fun movie.

It had sexy girls, horny guys, and a poor moral compass for the heroes and heroines. The film had very good pacing and never boring.

The film is unique in it was mostly, if not all of it, was done without CGI. A rarity today. Everything looked real. The locations were actually somewhat beautiful in that southern trailer park type of way.

It's essentially about a slasher/killer who uses a gardening tool to catch his victims and do vile things to them. It has some nice gore and some nudity. The girls looked nice, their bodies were natural and you felt like you can get with these girls.

I must say the acting was very campy. The actors seemed to know that this was a horror comedy and performed as such.

I am NOT associated with this film or anyone involved. I just like finding and watching movies that are smaller and this movie fit that criteria.

It is fast paced, sexy, funny and well performed. I will give it an 8.5 easily.

Highly Recommended IMO!
11 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Average horror film but with a few funny bits and genuinely scary thrills
Takeshi-K9 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
There's nothing new here folks, but I dont regret watching it. Four good looking teenagers in an isolated environment with a scary villain trying to kill them. Yep nothing new as far as the slasher genre goes, but nothing bad either. Some of the other reviewers are exaggerating how bad this is. Think of it as a lower budget Jeeper's Creepers without the car chase or flying above the fields camera work. The acting isn't as bad as others have said. Its a really low budget horr film so what do you expect? There's a bit of tittilating implied sex, good looking young people, including the a girl who left half of her pants at home. Theres' a couple of genuinely funny parts and some scaring set pieces. I got what I expected and I enjoyed it. If you liked Jeepers Creepers, you will probably like this movie.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Entertaining
kyleallencole99 July 2019
I have to admit that when I first started this, I figured I was in for a terrible film. This one was surprisingly good and pretty much well acted. The kill scenes were fun as well. Definitely a good one to watch.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Backwoods murder
BandSAboutMovies13 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
While on a hike to find a secret lagoon, a group of friends must pass through an evil looking cornfield. Little do they know that the owner of that cornfield turns any trespassers into living scarecrows that rot in his fields.

This film goes from teenagers on vacation to stoner comedy to backwoods slasher pretty quickly in its hour and twenty-five-minute running time. It's the first film I've seen where an insane farmer sews peoples' mouths shut and hangs them as living scarecrows that get their appendages bitten off by birds. So there's that.

Directed and co-written by Stu Stone (Ronald Fisher from Donnie Darko), Scarecrows works best when it moves away from comedy and becomes pure horror. It has nothing to do with 1988's Scarecrows other than its title. However, there are some decent practical FX and some pretty intense lighting and mood during the film's torture scenes.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Scarecrows
a_baron29 November 2019
If you haven't seen this film you've certainly seen one like it: two guys and two gals go down to the woods, or in this case a cornfield and a lake, and...Obviously the guys have the girls on their minds while something nasty is out there intent on turning them into toast, or in this case literal scarecrows.

The film is more scatalogical than most of the genre, if you can believe that, but the innuendo and sexual adventures don't last long as they are kidnapped by the faceless psychopath and dragged off to his lair. There is a bit more to it than that, but not a lot, the usual wanton sadism and the sadly predictable ending. Give this one a miss.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
No Trespassing
nogodnomasters3 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Two guys try to have sex with two girls by going to a remote and posted lake. Owners take trespassers and make scarecrows out of them. Nice car. Fix the AC.

Not much in the way of a back story. Needed a back story to tie into the film so the final girl can use that skill to get away. Didn't happen.

Guide: F-word. Implied sex. Brief body double nudity.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I just gave 1 star because I can't give 0
tuna9924 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The movie might have been bearable if I smoked that 1 kilo of weed that guy had in his backpack.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good documentary
willwrong8811 July 2019
Made me want want to learn more about the dangers of scarecrows. Well done.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I liked that part in the corn field
jacobchester-1800122 May 2018
"It was really funny and scary, I recommend it". I liked that part in the corn field
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disappointed
akd-974-77408119 August 2018
Best line was don't touch my Ketchup chips. The acting was pretty disappointing. More effort was put in to the music to the movie. Can I have my time back?
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Summer of nightmares
TheLittleSongbird17 June 2018
Was drawn into seeing 'Scarecrows' with a cool poster/cover, a very intriguing if not creative premise and as someone with a general appreciation for horror. That it was low-budget, which from frequent personal experience is rarely a good sign due to that there are so many poor ones out there, made me though apprehensive.

'Scarecrows' is a film it doesn't do enough with its potential (although there are far bigger wastes of potential in film) and could have been much better. 'Scarecrows' is very weak with a lot of big problems. It certainly could have been far worse, considering the large number of films seen recently being mediocre at best and terrible at worst.

Lets start with the positives. The setting is atmospheric and spooky and 'Scarecrows' is surprisingly well shot and easy on the eye, was expecting a cheap looking film and to me that wasn't the case here.

'Scarecrows' has some suspenseful and creepy moments and it started off on a fun and intriguing note.

Albeit, there is nothing new here, it's all familiar territory and executed in old-hat fashion. While the first half is better than the second, the goofiness became more grating than fun and the second half feels like a completely different tonally and takes itself far too seriously. The creepiness is not sustained all the way through, with the horror and tension being nowhere near enough. Things start not making much sense and gets silly. The acting entertained at first because there was the sense that they knew what kind of film it was but the over-the-top campiness got very annoying and excessive.

Further issues are that it was clear that it was written in haste. There is a very rushed and careless feel to the story, especially in the second half where confusion and choppiness can be found in editing and narrative, and the underdeveloped and scrappy script likewise. The characters are flimsily developed, annoying and bland, the direction lacks focus and the music and sound editing are far too intrusive and obvious.

In summary, weak. 3/10 Bethany Cox
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
No survive
saptesh78620 November 2018
Just seen this movie because I loved horror movie. But this is a disappoint watch. Only a few scenes to frighten you. Ending is not interesting, only torture and murder from beginning to the end. There is no hope to survive from bad man and no one can dare to fight him. A straight telling story. As me such movies must have some turning points. But not here. Not recommended much. See your own risk if want a horror entertainer without meaning. Hot situations only for attracts viewers.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
story overruled by unbelievable incompetant cast
joshistirgendwieschwul27 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I was lured into this movie by the one line description on top here. Furthermore I didnt recognize any of the cast members. Better research wasn't possible, nevertheless it tried to enjoy. But because of the incompetant cast, my pleasure was ruined from the beginning and waitin for the first (little) excitement took me half the movie... Unless you are easy to catch by boy-girl & boobs games in a lake surrounded by crop fields. All wasn't my thing since the bad acting spoiled all my good taste. One good feeling I kept till the end: it's impossible to survive as scarecrow.
4 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Costume design was horrible.
DomsDad1 July 2019
The costume designer (Alexis Yamamoto) should never work again. Putting Sammi Barber in short shorts was an awful decision.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed