No Tomorrow (TV Series 2016–2017) Poster

(2016–2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Best Netflix find in a long time
ambermason-111 February 2017
I had never heard of this show before stumbling across it on Netflix. I thought it was a Netflix original at first until I googled it & realized it had been on the CW. I was hooked right from the get go. I had never seen Joshua Sasse before & instantly loved his character. It is such a good mix of comedy, romance & adventure. I watched the entire season in one weekend. Now knowing that the CW did not renew it for a second season, I am so bummed. I really loved the chemistry between Evie & Xavier and the finale left me needing more. The rest of the characters I could leave or take but I really loved the uniqueness of the story line between Evie & Xavier. It's been a really long time since a TV show has made me think so much. Although it started off with a really odd premise (apocalyptic theme), I loved the plot and the story lines. I really hope that it does well on Netflix and that they will renew it for more seasons.
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great fun
d-harleydavis29 November 2016
My wife and I are always arguing over what show we will watch on Netflix. Last night we settled on 'No Tomorrow' and tonight we are caught up on all the available episodes. The show is well acted, hilarious, endearing and a tiny bit gripping. We can't wait for the next episode to come out tomorrow. We love the show so much that we are watching with a little feeling of impending doom, wondering if it will be cancelled. Hopefully we will get a second season... we will be waiting with bated breath! Tori and Joshua are just incredible, and Jonathan, Sarayu and Jesse are hilarious. Where the hell did they find Amy Pietz?! She's ridiculously awesome as Dierdre. The supporting cast are also hilarious. We have perma-grins the last two days watching this show. The show seemed cheezy at first, but I relate it to 'Chuck' a lot. The cheeziness is intentional and ads to the plot. Give it a chance people, we need more!
20 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Adorable and funny
samraski28 November 2016
This show might just be the most genuine, uplifting romp since Friends. The premise is fun, the characters are very likable, and the writing is solid.

As the series progresses the premise and carpe diem antics do fall a bit by the wayside in favor of more standard sitcom set pieces, but the cast never fails to be charming and entertaining.

Xavier and Evie make the most endearing on-screen couple in recent memory. They're basically the new Jamie and Paul (Mad About You), but with considerably more zest. They might even dethrone Ross and Rachel in due time. They are just that much fun to watch.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great and uplifting show
thinger-627757 December 2016
Love the show and the actors and my wife and I look forward to the next show every week. I miss Galavant (Joshua Sasse) but this show is a nice second big role for Joshua. This show is fun, light and a little bit romantic and every episode leaves you feeling happy and optimistic about life. It is a cool premise and I hope this show makes it a few seasons at least. If you haven't watched it, enjoy. Episode 8 which I just watched leaves us on a cliff hanger and I. can't wait to see what happens next. Watch and support this great show and you won't be disappointed. Apparently I need to write 10 lines so watch the show and have fun.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Refreshingly Upbeat
killer1h11 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
In a world full of doom and gloom shows based around conniving drama, we have this ray of sunshine. A show that's not based on comedy per say but just a genuinely uplifting and refreshing take on life.

Xavier is a guy who believes that the world is coming to an end in about eight months, and because of this he's made a list of all the things he wants to do and does them one by one. Meanwhile Evie is a very by the book, within the bounds of law, order and normalcy type of girl and when they meet it brings about such an unexpected turn in her life that it's just fun and great to watch.

Update: 6/10 sadly as the show progressed it started to lack depth. And like a lot of other shows kind of fallen off as a result.
31 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best show since the invention of bread!
fiestevsass18 February 2017
I can't say enough about my love for this show. I'm in a great deep depression brought on by many culprits & this show has made me laugh. No tomorrow, you have my gratitude. It's a refreshing show where more positivism needs to be embraced in our world, one especially where media is so convincing, & I love it. This is, by far, the best show & even if you 'dislike' one character or one episode, you can still walk away learning something. Don't waste your life. Seize that person you've loved, seize the day, seize your life. I don't know how many 'bucket lists' there are but the relationship aspect of all characters are worth exploring while including 'apocalypse' issues & 'the lyst'. No Tomorrow should ask the viewers, on fb or twitter, what fantasies they've always had & build your show off our own real lives, which you're already doing, but in the spirit to continue the show, allow us to help you push through to 9more seasons. Fantastic job, cast & crew. You've made me a better person, already.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny, romantic, and sweet
sarajasion12 February 2017
I personally loved this TV show. The characters were hilarious, and I found myself laughing out loud many times. Joshua Sasse is just so incredibly good-looking as well... I might even go as far as to say that he is the main reason I started watching this show...but of course the show its self is what kept pulling me in. I am so incredibly sad to hear that the show is cancelled... I was looking forward to a Season 2. Us viewers cannot be left hanging in such suspense! I do have hope that there will be another season. I have never enjoyed a TV show so much, and I am a great romantic, always on the lookout for TV shows to my liking. PLEASE MAKE A NEW SEASON!!! I AM BEGGING WHOEVER IS BEHIND THIS - PLEASE!!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great fun show!
coachbswim8 February 2017
I have to say I rarely write reviews for shows, but I heard this one may end up getting canceled...so in hopes that it does not, here is my take on it. I had no idea what this show was about. I had seen in announced on CW, and I thought it was something completely different. Never cared to watch it. I then saw it on Netflix, decided to give it a chance, and I finished the season in one day. I hope it gets renewed. It is one of those shows that just makes you relax, watch, and have a good time. The story line is fun and at times inspirational and thought provoking. Not thought provoking like a serious show, but more on how it makes you think about life itself.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great show!!!
da_rock-538-80155013 February 2017
Since we're talking movies and TV let me intro this with one of those deep raspy narrative voices saying something like....

In a world full of played out Hollywood plots and rehashed previously hashed junk a show comes along that may not be 100% original (see My Name is Earl, The Bucket List, and the many other end of the world style what would you do scenario movies/shows) and yet manages to find a niche all it's own.

This is a cute, funny, care free, fun to watch show featuring great leads, sound acting, and a lower end budget. I fail to see why any network would ever consider canceling a show like this who's only downside is it's lack of hype resulting in immediate low viewer numbers (I never heard anything about it until it hit Netflix).

I'm hoping for another season as this is the perfect show to cuddle up with your significant other grab some popcorn and enjoy while thinking about what you'd like to do but can't due to the constraints of modern society.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Starts out promising, but loses its groove
improbabilities11 December 2016
The first couple episodes had already been released when I sat down to watch the pilot, and I found my attention immediately captured by the breezy and creative tone. The enthusiastic, charming, happy-go-lucky personalities of Xavier and Evie, the two attractive leads, as well as the comedic relief supplied by the mostly likable side characters, made 'No Tomorrow' easily pleasurable viewing.

Fast forward to some weeks later, after the 9th episode has been aired prior to the Christmas break... unfortunately, what at first seemed like a fresh, quirky romance story has gone downhill, on account of one of its main settings - the place where Evie works. Who honestly wants to see the antics of warehouse laborers on screen every week?

Viewers often watch TV to escape from the mundane aspects of their own life, so framing this series into a workplace comedy that focuses on the female lead's daily life, and the shenanigans of her family and friends (some of whom, such as her ex- boyfriend, seem like rather unnecessary additions) is a wasted opportunity. Wasn't it supposed to be about the free-spirited guy who introduces her to a more fun and adventurous way of living? Xavier and Evie should have been travelling together and having more wild and crazy exploits, instead of taking their spare time to engage in a bunch of tame PG-rated activities that could have been part of a 10-year-old's birthday celebration. There's nothing wrong with innocent fun, but if Xavier really believes the world is ending... then this show needs a larger budget.

If it is renewed for a second season, I hope they decide to go in a more imaginative direction and drop the workplace setting, while continuing to keep the atmosphere fun and light-hearted.
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
My thoughts on Season 1
Quantex912 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I have tried to review this series earlier, but it has gotten harder because of the variations from episode to episode. I liked episode 11 very much and read an article on tvseriesfinale.com, where it said, "CW boss Mark Pedowitz did say if the show does well when it's released on Netflix this spring, there could be a chance for a second season." Therefore, I am going to try one more time and share my thoughts about this series.

Like most of the users' reviews posted here, I find the show hilarious with relatable and enjoyable characters. The cast is great,and the script has great lines, delivered superbly by actors.

The elements that made the show less attractive are too many story-lines and too many guest roles. Each episode has several short bits, at times irrelevant to the core theme, and often looking like teen-age kids' pranks. However, as stated earlier, the problem is with weaving too many incidents into one episode.

It started out with the premise that Xavier's prepared bucket list of things he wanted to do but his chance encounter with Evie changes his mode of thinking. Living in the moment is not the same as preparing a bucket list and fulfilling that goal. Off and on. Evie's boy-friend pops up making Evie's lovelife a bit omplicated. It is brought to a head with Evie suggesting that the two men should allow her to date both of them is strange. Would any man, head over heels in love with a woman agree to such arrangement? Unless, it is threesome, but that is not case here.

A second story-line is the romance between the supervisor Diedre and one of the employees, Hank. I did not care for this part but I am sure there are others who would like it.

The ensemble of actors and actresses as regular cast is impressive. But not all of them are used to their full potential. I am sure each viewer has his or her favorite actor/actress and so I will not go into that area. But, generally speaking, Evie's character is wholesome. She is consistent and relatable. Xavier started out as a scientist with a ground-breaking theory about apocalypse. However, the character keeps changing and goes in so many directions that I found to it hard what to make of it.

The other character that is a bit annoying is Hank. Not that the actor is bad but the screen time for this character is not in step with the core theme--Hank with Evie, Hank with Diedre, Hank with Timothy,and Hank with Xavier. I started wondering if this is Hank's show and not Xavier's theory of apocalypse. The show would have been more believable and solid, if Xavier had played that role of "being there" for everybody. Even in the latest trailer released today, Hank, not Xavier or Evie, is presented as spokesperson; Kareema and Timothy are not featured at all there. Maybe it has something to do with the actor's contract, but in this show, it is overkill.

In the early episodes, Kareema and Timothy are nothing but shadowy, Kareema more than Timothy. I have never seen regular cast getting so little screen time. This however is amended in later episodes, which is an improvement. Kareema's character started picking up in episode 8 or 9 with her involvement with Sofia. I certainly hope this actress is used to her full potential.

If this is renewed, the writers need to make it more adventurous, more daring. Painting a house in pink or jumping in soap suds are not the kind of things I would want to do, if I know the world ends in 8 or 6 months. I would want to fight a lion.

I also want to know whether this is sci-fi, romance, comedy, dramedy, romdram, or drama. I must admit in the latest episode it did look more like a drama, and for that reason, I liked it a lot.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fresh, insightful, and positive vibe...
aubie8420 May 2018
You gotta love an upbeat series in Seattle. The lead Evie, meets a foreign guy who thinks the world is going to end, soon. He shares his whackness, and his Bucket List- and they connect on knocking off items on the list on dates, and their chemistry of living in the Now. She is hot and curiously wholesome. He is attractive & humorous. CW / Netflix hit. If you enjoyed show/series "Imposters", also on Netflix-. This has the same feel, comedic tone, and likability... Another rare gem- check it out.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Light and yet Thought Provoking
pauline-thomas75020 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The most fun I've had watching Television in a long time. The key Male character is a delight with such depth and free spirit, and the key Female character is absolutely effervescent in her innocent yet perceptive qualities. If this show were to get canceled - I will lose all hope for good TV in the future. Watched on a whim - and now am hooked and impatiently waiting for the next season already.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I was pleasantly surprised.
bbsseerah11 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I held off watching this show for a while thinking it would just be fluff. I thought it would be nothing more than two beautiful actors playing mediocre roles and all of this coming from a B- studio with sub-par production values, writing, and acting. I was pleasantly surprised! I feel as though this was non of the above.

The premise of the show has already been reported and I have nothing to add.

What I do have to add, however, is the effect this show had on me. It made me think. It provided me with a form of escape. It made me laugh at times and tear up at others. It actually made me feel good.

Some reviewers infer that the show is all over the place. There is the original premise of the world coming to an end and then there are the workplace antics. I cannot disagree with their statement but I lump it into the grander scheme of things.

Be it good, bad, or indifferent, we find ourselves pigeon holed into the roles that we find ourselves playing out in day-to-day life. We all find ourselves wondering "what if." What if I quit my job to work a bucket list; what if I decided I no longer wanted to be a responsible adult; what if I wanted to live and not just exist? What would I do if I ever found myself with a finite number of days to live? What if I find myself falling in love with the kind of person I shouldn't?

Watch the show and you can see for yourself. I think you will be pleasantly surprised.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Love it
r_shore6 February 2017
Love this show and am really hoping it gets renewed. Love the characters, love the writing and the humour. It's a show we are able to watch as a family and there aren't that many out there that bridge the gap between good adult entertainment and engaging and enjoyable for my tweens. My daughter PVR's this show every week and practically knows each episode by heart. Evie is so much fun to watch and we've enjoyed seeing her character blossom. So many fun things ahead, and we hope that we get to see them. It's funny, fresh and all the quirky characters make it different than the usual fare. I don't really know what else to say, except that we'd love a season 2 at the very least. We want to know how this all plays out, and leaving Evie on the plane with a possible new guy was pretty exciting.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I normally hate "romantic comedies" but I love this
azurecielo524796 February 2017
I am normally the sour grapes, I hate such descriptions as "uplifting", but this is almost the romantic-solution for us "sour grapes". It is funny and witty and not irritatingly cloying--despite the normally-annoying perkiness. It is ACTUALLY worth watching...since I like it, it probably means it won't be renewed. I guess I'll say, I want a "Xavier" and I want to be an "Evie". And I like the solutions to actual issues. Goodles grief: the annoying robot won't let me submit. I already gave my opinion what more do you want? Leave my review alone and delete this last part: I meant what I said honestly. Good grief! Stupid robot! If you do not want people to pad answers then you should harness your robot.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
We live this show
olga_bz29 January 2019
Pleaseeeee make a miracle for us! We want season 2,3,4
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Praying for a second season circa Netflix
dawnrodriguez6203 December 2018
Ok how is this show not going 10 seasons ?!? The casting in this was spot on , as perky as Evie is , I surprisingly don't hate her. She pulls it off and is charming as Hell. Xavier is breathtakingly gorgeous, but doesn't float by on his loooks. He's charming as they get too , but not in a cheesy way. I'm way digging the direction they take are taking things. Hoping Netflix gives them a chance at a second chance and a second season or more.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It is a movie of a guy and a girl trying to enjoy their days in the last few days until the end of the world...
vitcon_mimi29 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is a series of inspiration, telling people should live their moment, even though doom day is real or not. Its a series that brings to you all the emotion, all the ego to live the life. At first Xavier is the guy that proves the earth is gonna end, but he turns to be a positive guy that will not lock himself in the room or go insane but enjoy every last second in his life doing all the crazy things but carelessly concerned about the future, until he meets Evie. In the movie he said he is a practical one who doesn't care about the future because it doesn't exist but I see that the practical one is Evie. She is a Blondie girl but not useless stupid girl. She has her goals, her plans in job, in life. She has friends n she cares about them. She is not a boring stupid girl that is following Xavier with all his theory. She opens to his theory of doom day, she enjoys life with him a lot more but she is also concerned about her future. Because as I say she is a realistic girl. She still want to follow her job, get promotion in life, do what she wants for her self. She doesn't get rid of all she now have and do the crazy things only be cos a guy comes and tells her they only have 8 months left to live on earth. People may say cos she doesn't believe him, but i will say she might do but she still has hope and continues what she is doing. People may say if Xavier and Evie do believe why they don't do big things, get big risks and just don't care about anything else, but life is not that simple. Xavier did risk anything to live like whatever he want before but Evie wouldn't not. She has her life and her goals too. Its just she loves him, she opens with his theory doesn't mean that she will not care about her family and her friends and the other important things in her life anymore! I did think Evie was so bad and cruel when she broke up with Xavier and came back to her ex, Tim, but you wouldn't choose someone who doesn't want to face the future with you, who doesn't even believe that future exists. You can live the moment but the more important thing is you have hope and gut to face what is going to happen in the future. That makes you a mature and responsible one, not those playing-round kids. IN the end, its a nice interesting movie to watch, I feel so good that i did choose this one to spend my weekend on! You guys should try to! ITs not just a relaxing movie to waste your time on, it did a really good job on bring some life-egos to audiences!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Need another season
kswheel20 June 2017
I enjoyed this refreshing take on a doomsday plot.We should all step back and evaluate if we are doing things we want to do on a regular basis.I hope they finish the story line and make another season. Maybe 2 seasons with an alternate ending. The character development was great and some interesting spinoffs from the pilot were funny.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprisingly pleasant show
elzilcho1324 April 2017
I was skeptical of the show because it's a CW title, but I decided to give it a try while stuck in a hotel in Taiwan. Turns out, it's really quite nice. No Tomorrow relies heavily on "live life for the moment" clichés, but manages to not feel clichéd because of the charm of not only the two main characters, but the entire supporting cast. Tori Anderson is excellent as Evie and Joshua Sasse plays a credible lunatic/genius with charisma to spare. It's a light show surrounding a dark concept and it's done very well.

I really hope this comes back for a second season. I can't wait to see where it goes.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Couldn't get enough! Hoping for Season 2!
ktnath-0618028 March 2017
This was one of my favorite series thus far. I really hope they do a second season. The story line and characters were fantastic and fun!It also struck a nerve on a personal level. Makes you think about life. Makes you want to live it... See the world. Make your own bucket list! Cherish every moment and don't take anything for granted.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Brilliant potential but still unrefined
cmhansen-937592 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I'm not typically drawn to this genre because it's almost always littered with clichés that leak any suspense, any thrill, out of a show. "No Tomorrow" is surprising because it does contain the classic plot elements that are the watermark of romantic-comedies but successfully lifts many of them from their trite appearances that's made the sub-genre unexceptional. Cue apocalypse. The introduction of such an absurd scenario into the lives of our protagonists isn't unique, and here we have to give due credit Joshua Sasse and Tori Anderson for phenomenal acting, but also the writers for recognizing the potential of the apocalyst to merge the overarching plot with individual episodes while acting as a distinct method of glimpsing the characters psyche (and development). There's also so much potential with Xavier's past which still seems shrouded and provides a small air of suspense much needed in the plot. Include the quick wit (and reoccurring jokes) with distinct character voices and it's no wonder why the show found a following. That doesn't mean it's immune to all the sins its fathers. It's a show with exceptional potential but it's still in the raw phase of its development. The show rehashes the same character dynamics. Xavier and Evie need to move past poor communication as their relationship barrier in order for the plot to gain any more traction. In CW fashion, the show also hasn't capitalized on it's supporting cast. They rushed pairing off every single supporting character and failed to use them to support the main plot. They acted as distractions and filler, notably, the relationship between Hank and Diedre which became more disturbing than funny after just a few episodes. The interplay between Hank and Timothy added infinitely more to the plot and was generally more human (therefore, relatable) and funnier than the interoffice romance.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another Cheap Canadian Series Pretending to be Set in Seattle.
Man9920410 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
What is so incredibly wrong with Vancouver, Canada?

This is yet one more series filmed in Canada which pretends to be set in Seattle. For those of us who actually live in Washington State this is incredibly offensive.

Not that it will matter because this program is one big steaming pile of "Seen it all before". It will be luck to make it to Thanksgiving.

This is the same lame premise you have seen before -- and always much better done. One "Zany" person and one "Sane-ish"person who fall in love. Think "Dharma and Greg" and any number of prior Series.

The leads are "Pretty" and almost totally devoid of any real personality or acting skills. Writing is tame and ever so predictable.

If you want to totally waste an hour of your life waste it on watching this stinkeroo.
10 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
You wish the world was ending
xhidden9928 January 2017
Couldn't get through the first episode. Supposed to be 42 or 43 minutes but it felt like 90 minutes after about 30. It doesn't know what it wants to be; comedy, sitcom, dramedy, romcom. Anal retentive fussy girl meets looney free spirit handsome beardy. Like the Odd Couple. If they had sex and the world was going to end. So it's a strong premise. But it doesn't hit its marks. The writers let it flop around in the bottom of the boat. There's no chemistry between the leads. The supporting characters and the background story should play a bigger part. As it is it's to thin to be just stiff girl and man Bunn guy navigating their differences which as can figure will be her changing completely and he not changing at all.
1 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed