Beyond the Edge (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
42 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
What?????
martyverhagen-3819524 March 2019
The dubbing was absolutely the worst I've ever seen, I don't know if the lead was good or not because the voice over was the worst thing I've ever heard, couldn't get thru it!! This is the lowest rating I've ever given and for people to give this a 10 should be banned from this website unless they're kin to someone that had something to do with this movie, then you would be forgiven and just put on probation. I'm turning the channel as we speak, so I'm sorry is I offended anyone but a rating of 8 or more WHAT THE....??????
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Who funded this??
strand-315 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Some of the worst acting i have ever seen. Someone did fund this movie, but all the money was put in to special effects. So a guy owe some bad people some money and he gets his hands on someone who can plant ideas in other peoples mind, and wants to use him for a con ?? The other one can change the physical state of objects and wants to help him with the con why ? This movie is just a huge disaster, actor wise and storywise. +1 for some ok effects.
36 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I do not recommend watching it
aydar-kh3 May 2018
A miserable scenario, a poor production, mediocre actors :(
33 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What a mess
i-radakovic99214 May 2018
This movie is all over the place. The storyline is really bad, makes no sense,and you can clearly see that the script wasnt written right. You can clearly see that it was inspired by Ocean's eleven, Inception,and Marvel and DC movies all at the same time, and the result of that is complete chaos. Many dialogs don't make sense at all.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One Dumb Movie
qhyunp19 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, there's no convincing reason why all those people with psychic powers decide to help the guy in debt. Second, why the F does he need all others to plan a scheme? He can just tell the girl to make the Casino owner forget about collecting the debt, or the autism guy could do the same thing. DOH...end of movie.
21 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie ever i wasted 2 hours in this BS
proceramproceram7 September 2018
Trash ass movie i don't recommend it dont waste ur time ppl
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
X-Men and Now you see me in a slow-paced, CGI-intensive movie
DarkionAvey7 April 2018
This film is slow paced and quite boring in the first half an hour, afterwards it starts to gradually get interesting but bounces back to boredom around the end. It's a very CGI-intensive movie, not surprising since the characters have super powers, but what puzzled me is that they use CGIs in scenes that don't require them. I've watched the dubbed version and (as you might have expected) it is terrible. I would have loved to watch the original version with the Russian accents (and authentic actors emotions). All in all, I enjoyed the film because of its OSTs and CGIs. The story is mediocre and unoriginal, and could've been better. There is also unnecessary romance (like most of other films) which I don't like. If you enjoyed Now you see me 2, then go ahead and watch this.
24 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Could Have Been Good
rutzelb13 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Con man Maykl (pronounced Michael) (Milos Bikovic) is conned out of $5-Million and gathers a group of people with Supernatural and Psychic powers to get it back within 7-days, before the Casino boss kills him..

This started out really good, but degraded into something else mostly because the background music was too loud and it was very difficult to hear conversations especially when Gordon (Antonio Banderas) is on screen. Sometimes it's difficult to hear him (Banderas) because of his accent, but when the background music chimes in, then it's almost impossible. All we really know about him is that he is aware of what Michael is up to and kind of lets us know he was pulling the strings all along. But is that true because we couldn't really hear his explanations; and, oh, yes he is Michael's father and wants Michael to team up with him for more con games.

Okay, add one more thing: most of the dialogues were dubbed in and this was most annoying.

Much CGI is used and it was okay, but ran a little long sometimes when a character goes into oblivion in his or her own mind. Okay, we get it, these people are not normal in the normal sense.

When a pretty Veronica (Lyubov Aksyonaova) goes into a coma we go into a series of strange sights and emotions as Michael get s into her mind and tries to get her back to normalcy. Her power was that she could make anyone do what she wanted, and this led me to believe that Michael didn't need all the others to get the $5-million back. He could have just used her, but then we wouldn't have had a movie, right? (right, except not sure we have one now)

Basically, this is a Russian production with a lot of CGI going on. Cut out the loud background music and dubbing and we might have had a good movie. Okay, okay and cut down on some of the CGI, too.

Like I said, this started out very good with Michael narrating what he is up to. Then when he gets conned, we lose the narrative and have to guess about everything else. When he recruits his "special people" it's done in such a way that we are not too convinced these "people "are convinced to follow him, but they do (movies can do anything they want). Kind of loose scenes here, see? (3/10)

Violence: Yes. Sex: No. Nudity: No. Humor: Brief. Language: Only one GDI heard. Rating: D
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of time
radjgena1 May 2018
I never saw a movie like this its horibble dont waste your time
23 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
If it's on while you're multitasking, it's okay for background noise.
rsvp32123 April 2018
Zero new ideas, in this one - you will recognise styles and plot points blatantly taken from other successful movies, and mashed them together to give us this mixed up thing.

Not as bad as Asylum movies, but I have no respect for this type of "borrowing".
20 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Inception Meets Oceans Eleven
rasman-5734913 April 2018
I'm not going to give a long drawn out review. I enjoyed the movie although the production quailities were not of the highest level yet very passable. It's worth a watch if you've got nothing else waiting for you on your DVR. I will say I have no idea what the ending meant. Like they started an ending scene and a third of the way through filing it decided, Ehhh, that's enough filming. Maybe I missed something during the 3 times I watched the end trying to find something. I just couldn't believe it had ended. Maybe a last scene halfway through the credits??? Nope!!! Still, I really do think it's worth a watch on a bad weather day/night, if you're just bored, or want to watch something that's a bit different then the rest of the SciFi films out there... Thanks... :)
20 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
One of the worst films I've ever seen
qnnemesis26 October 2018
This feels like an art project designed to show off CGI effects, flashy camera shots and use of music to incite emotion. With a good script and acting it might have worked, but everything is so incredibly awful it falls to pieces.

Having wasted 2 hours on this terrible excuse of a movie, I won't waste too much more on this review, so I'll summarise:

PROS: * CGI Effects are excellent (+1 star)

CONS: * Everything else (appalling acting, story, script, plot holes, massive overuse of music to hide the awful dialogue, pacing, one minute they can use their special abilties and the next they can't, no chemistry between characters, lack of any character depth, totally over stylised camera work which makes no sense in the context of the scene...could go on but it's painful to recall it all again).

The reviews giving this over 5 stars are clearly stooged
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Too many parts U don't really understand
the_doofy15 April 2018
The movie is 'cool and has some special effects and good acting, so what does it matter that a viewer doesn't really get what is going on at key points of the movie, especially at the end. Its a cool movie damit !

I wouldn't know who to blame for this, the director? The script?

I guess most viewers will see a nude king and ooo and ahh at the non existent clothes

Dramatic finale makes no sense
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing special effects
lenajz28 May 2018
I don't know why some ratings are low, I thought the movie was so cool! The special effects are out of this world!!! LOVED them!!! The actors are good, the storyline is alright...not the best I've seen but I was blown away by the visual effects so...I'd see it again. The only thing that bothered me is the main character's voice...it's so weird and unnatural...why?
15 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Inception meets X-Men and go on a heist
malice_o_conner5 May 2018
First, understanding this is not Hollywood, not even American. Yet a strong line-up of actors, including Antonio Banderas. The film has lots of deep and quick paced banter. Also with packed visual injections of mental worlds. The array of effects works well with the style and visual design of the film. There is plenty to understand in the quick paced dialogue that was well written, and delivered. (Albeit they are not "A List" actors/actresses.) They work well together in a clever story of intrigue, deception, and fun, similar to Now You See Me, Euro style. The setting of Russia is a little presence, but in the Casino world it may as well be Las Vegas. Still, the film is following the protagonist who is pushed into more than he could bargain for. Going through an Oceans 11 style recruitment for special powered individuals. Together they will unite as a team to pull off a heist, which may be the ultimate heist. The dialogue is important, but if the audience is American, be prepared for some subtle differences. It holds ideas, dreams, and stunning visual representations of the mind, (for a lower budget Euro movie) they didn't have to cater to English speaking but it's a fun ride, with plenty to consider by the end.
12 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ocean 11 meets Fantasy Genre
xgermannx15 April 2018
They nailed the flow, considering I did lose myself in the movie which hasn't happened in a while. Abilities are interesting, CGI heavy scenes impressive, no super people just a notch to gain the edge. Banderas played an interesting character sadly not too much revealed about him but the ending gives promise to future installment and I'd be all in to see another job executed by the team.

Additionally ending gave hint to something far deeper than what we saw and know based on what is displayed in the movie. Seems like director allowed us to only sniff the surface of the world or maybe I'm just looking too deep into it.
17 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pretty good
phani-736451 May 2018
Pretty good. For me it's not boring like some of people reviewed Just don't have high expectation. You won't see much action like ocean eleven, so if you are an action movie lover I think you will be sleeping
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Mostly unrated and underestimated
jelena_carna4 July 2018
This movie is great if you loved Oceans 11 and Inception you will simply love this peace of art...I think that movie is probably very low rated cause it is russian production behind it....I watched so many times,much worst movies with high recomandation and with high rate.This movie deserve at list to have rate 7 on IMDB,really I dont understund why its so low..I dont see any problem with scenario,actors or director....its simply genius,it could be more expensive in the sci-fi effects,to be perfect,but this still is pretty well,well done....if you are fantasy lover,watch it,without watching rate.Trailer looks pretty good,and I watch first time movie with so low rate.I am happy now for it,cause is 50 times better than I thought.
14 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Confusion all the way
CFDeeDee28 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I know the main idea of the movie was to steal some money from the casino .. but let's face it .. what happened by the end ? How did they really got out with it ? And how did they leave without being caught ? And what happened when they both fell unconscious? It was very confusing and the acting was very boring, the main charecter had a "radio" voice rather than acting voice ! And it was sooo weird to fall in love with someone you barely knew in one week.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really enjoyed this.
my_turtle10 April 2018
Fast paced, decent acting, sci-fi with a touch of humor. I like it.
15 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Light and easy
deansaintjohn4 May 2018
Except for: 1. Some musical score which I find to be rather disturbing to the scenes it is played in; 2. The musical scoring which was a bit louder than the dialogues in several scenes (especially towards the finale); 3. The storyline (where "that guy" who appeared in the casino and kept popping in certain scenes every now and then) which is both confusing at the start and towards the end..

The movie is OK. Hope it will be explained in a sequel.. if ever there's going to be one.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Don't let the voice dub overs fool you....
lindschrisman23 June 2019
The movie was made for a Russian audience, not an America one. Although this distracted me enough to look up the movie info, I was happy to see it was dubbed. I would much rather hear audio I can understand blended with (not far off) lip gestures than read subtitles! This was done for our convenience and should not at all be reflected on the film quality or actors abilities.

Also, yes, the movie ideas have been done before. So what? How many time has Superman, Batman, Spider-Man, etc, been re-done??? At least this is a mix of "already-done" themes. I found the Oceans/ Now You See Me/ X-Men scramble very entertaining!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Ending
chrisels-1141127 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
They've got a superb character but there are some events that you will question yourself what is going on. Like what the heck is the real objectives of the one who was talking to Antonio Barreras and he talks a lot and always says that he needs a partner. And what the heck is that part on the ending. There is a fire in the hands and skip the event and now the protagonist is talking to his father like what the freak is going on.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beyond the expectations!
rada-gaal3 March 2018
A very interesting sci-fi movie. Best actors and impressive CGI!
15 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't bother
mjalshamsi19 July 2019
Save your time, I have no idea what I was watching???!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed