The Grand Tour (TV Series 2016– ) Poster

(2016– )

User Reviews

Review this title
304 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Getting better with time!
davidjones-5670813 March 2019
After a steady start with Seasons 1 & 2, the 3rd has really excelled in my opinion.

The features and specials are great, the humour is more natural and most of all it's great fun to watch!! The chemistry and banter between the 3 of them is much more evident in this latest instalment too.

It's worth noting that I did very much enjoy the first 2 seasons but I felt the show was still finding it's feet in terms of the format and what felt like over scripting at times.

Overall I love the show. I watched Top Gear with the 3 of them religiously and I love that The Grand Tour is here to fill the void!
31 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's like MEGA BUDGET Top Gear.
Mr_Piggles18 November 2016
Imagine what would happen if the famous three were told by Amazon to do what they want and spend as much as you like - because clearly that's what happened here and the end result is AWESOME!

Everything is Hollywood in scale and execution. From the writing to the action set pieces, it almost has a slight Michael Bay feel to it.

All three presenters are on top form but Clarkson is clearly still the star.

'So is it basically just like Top Gear?'I hear you say. And the answer is 'yes', but imagine Top Gear better than it's ever been. The only negative is no Stig. There is Stig-like replacement but it's just not the same.

Otherwise, this show is off to an AMAZING start. Highly recommended.
183 out of 256 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Classic
borislav-us17 November 2016
The brand was not so much the name of the previous show... The brand is this lot here making the best motoring show ever. Well done for Amazon who quickly managed to get them on board.

Without any spoilers: It is exciting, it feels familiar - yet new. Thrilling might be right word, but again - even if you sit these three around a table and let them talk about cats for an hour - they'll surely deliver.

I think what most viewers would be hoping for is a fair dose of craziness, but also exploring new heights.

I am not being objective, but yet again, who is? If you loved TG then you'll love GT....

Looking forward to seeing the trio do excitingly new challenges!
180 out of 257 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Grand Tour has delivered the goods!
Wentloog18 November 2016
So there was nothing to worry about after all! After the kerfuffle surrounding the end of the three presenting TG at the Beeb, I honestly thought that wherever they went nothing would be the same again in the motor show universe.

Well I am happy to report here that I was wrong, sorry let me write that again properly. I was WRONG! Yep it needed the capitals.

Amazon threw a lot of money at GT, probably 10 times the budget that TG enjoyed and today there must be some very happy execs in that organisation. The show is at once familiar and different, Richard Hammond's boyish charm (my wife is happy), James May's nerdy appeal and Jezza's sardonic take on everything - all is as it was, but there is also an excitement to GT that TG lacked, a production value that exceeds anything that has gone before as far as a magazine show is concerned.

I'm not going to go into any details, no spoilers here, but the whole show is spectacular, great cars, great music, great scenery and most importantly of all - great presenters. If you liked TG you are going to love GT!
156 out of 225 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The boys are back!
areatw18 November 2016
At last - Clarkson, Hammond and May are back on our screens, and they're better than ever. Considering Amazon's budget dwarfs that of the BBC, you can imagine just how impressive the show is.

They have managed to retain everything that was good about the old Top Gear, especially the humour and the chemistry between the three which made the old show the success it was. My biggest fear was that the new show would lose this and become too 'Americanised'. Fortunately, this hasn't happened.

The camera work is phenomenal and the opening sequence was like something out of a movie. I also think the idea to take the show on the road is a nice touch. An incredible start - I already can't wait for next week's episode.
111 out of 167 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
(If you really are open to other views…) The chemistry has been forced to death.
evimchine25 November 2016
If you really are open to other views: I watched Top Gear since the 2002 reboot, and the two most fun elements were the specials and the chemistry between the believable characters.

But when they realized this, they gradually tried to force it, resulting in it becoming more and more over the top. And in the end it just stopped being believable. Which means it stopped being fun.

In The Grand Tour, they desperately tried to re-ignite that chemistry. (Jeremy says so himself.) But by now it has completely stopped being natural and believable, and is more like someone badly copying a caricature of a nostalgic memory. And all that's left is them looking like they're trying too hard. That's just not fun anymore. And that makes me disappointed and sad.

The other problem that I have is that, given their apparently much bigger budget, having each episode be a special and then some would have been possible. But they just went on doing basically the old format. Which is rather wasteful, financially.

Well, at least their mini-specials each episodes give a bit of joy. I still have hope. I'm just rather disappointed.
210 out of 333 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Second season saves!
matias-reinikainen9 February 2018
Yeah, first season left me a bit dissapointed. The first episode in general was really good and there where signs of hope along the tour of season 1 but in the end it just felt too scripted. And it seems they heard it, just look at the episode unscripted, it seems they really took the criticsm to heart.

Second season is full of all the stuff that i loved in Top Gear. Its fun, fast, slightly ridiculous, some times scary but really really just great entertainement. Love it, keep it up!
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Season 3 Special Episode is the funniest show I have seen in years...
srmarshall-204-1124698 April 2019
Their connection with each other as they travelled across Mongolia was wonderful to watch. Hammond's attempts at driving were always great and perfectly timed. I have not laughed out loud during a TV show this much in a LONG time!

P.S. Where can I get a "John"?
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
what a disappointment
crollin-8391629 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Where to start. Well, i had big hopes for the show with the 3 beloved idiots. Now, after 2 episodes, my hopes were shattered. Why? Lets have a look inside, i will briefly point out the differences to the original show, or what the grand tour delivers (or not).

  • It is awfully scripted (so was Top Gear, but not that obvious)


  • The jokes mostly didn't work


  • Its less about cars and challenges


  • It doesn't have a tiny bit of the charm of the original series


  • The Grand Tour doesn't have the structure, it feels all over the place


  • None of the segments really stand out to make it a remotely good show (except for the holy trinity in episode 1)


  • It became so childish, even my immature mind cant comprehend such stupidity


In fact, i feel robbed for going premium for this. Actually, all those 10/10 reviews show what is wrong with our society these days. Lets all jump on a random hype train and be blinded by a shiny pile of crap.

I give it 2 out of 10, just for the cars and sometimes the cinematography. Sorry, i wanted it to be more.

Ps.: Shouldn't Jeremy be named Jennifer by now?!
130 out of 214 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Let's be honest, it really isn't good!
chrisswanepoel-9729930 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
To start off, I am a massive Top Gear fan and have been for a long time. I can watch endless re-runs and never get tired of it. I was really excited to see what these three would come up with, given free reign.

But boy was I disappointed. The show clearly has a massive budget and the production value is incredible as expected. In the first episode the hyper car segment was good. But the in studio (tent) stuff was just terrible. Everything feels extremely scripted, and not well scripted at that. Feels like the guys have lost all of their chemistry and it feels forced. The celebrity segment was a complete and utter waste of time. And drawn out to the max.

The second episode was worse. The in studio stuff again was not good. Some good Jacob Zuma digs, but the rest was the same bad jokes as episode 1. But in episode 2 the SAS film was very long and dragged out. Everything just feels like a filler.

I am extremely disappointed in the show thus far. Was expecting them to raise the bar with the GT, but at the moment it is nowhere near TG.
83 out of 134 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dreadful episode two
peteranddaphneforrest26 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
After the excellent start made in episode one in the USA the trio came crashing to earth in episode two in South Africa. It was simply pathetic: motoring content was minor and almost coincidental, confined to one Clarkson review of the Aston Martin, the item on smoking tires was more relevant to a program on township culture (sic) and the 50% of the show on the SAS spoof in Jordan was far too long and self-indulgent. The opening banter was good and the jokes about Jacob Zuma very topical and clearly enjoyed by the South African audience. Who is the curmudgeonly version of Stig? He's very unfunny. There is also something significantly wrong with the test track which seems far too narrow and twisty to give the TV audience any impression of true speed. The trio really wasted the opportunity in South Africa: reviewing the huge range of vehicles in the game parks, racing the Blue Train in a hummer to avoid elephants etc. They made no real use of the location. If the next two episodes are as bad I'll be canceling my Prime subscription.
105 out of 178 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
They're Back!
BigZ_733719 November 2016
It's amazing how well the trio slips right back into top form in the first episode of the Grand Tour. I loved the first episode, and I wish I could watch the rest of the season right now. This show is funnier than most of the comedies on TV, and it has to be one of the most gorgeous shows on TV, as they really spared no expense on the production values. They even have some excellent CGI showing how each hybrid engine works.

The only things missing from Top Gear are the Stig, and the celebrity interviews. While this eliminates some of the excellent Stig jokes, they've replaced him with a named racer to perform time trials on their crazy new track. For the celebrities, they had a funny series of jokes about it, but honestly there's not much to miss.

So overall, I'd recommend this show to everyone, but especially fans of humor, cars, and travel. I think I might have a new favorite TV show with The Grand Tour, and I can't wait to see the rest of the season.
69 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Grand Tour Is More Than What You Wanted!
saxbytim18 November 2016
From the first trailer we knew this was going to be something worth watching. And it sure was. Clarkson, Hammond and May come back with this refreshing look and take on a car show. The backdrops to each episode look stunning and the guys are on a better form then they ever have been. I'm glad they left the BBC because it gave them time to create something new that was not going to dry out and become dull and also gave us time to get ready for something that will change the way TV is made. Thank you Grand Tour.Is this the same as Top Gear? No and yes. The shows format is altered but their is still a track and a racing driver, The American, who takes over from The Stig and The News is now Conversation Street. If you are hesitant about buying Amazon, you won't be disappointed.
80 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Like Top Gear, but fun
digdog-785-71753819 November 2016
Watching The Gran Tour, i see the same quality in the motoring sections as Top Gear had in their very best episodes; the visuals, editing, audio, are as good as if not better than before. The parts in between - comedy parts where the three leads chat and entertain the audience - are funnier than they used to be. The clear culprit here is the change of scenery for Hammond, Clarkson and May, who look refreshed and happy to be doing what they do. The fun is infectious and i feel like i'm having fun with them.

I would actually say this is better, in everything, than Top Gear. "Old" Top Gear, not the new clone TV show that the BBC is trying to keep afloat.

Would i recommend The Grand Tour? Heck yeah. Amazon prime is not free, and unless you use Amazon, you might have not much use for it, and it could be money badly spent on only one TV show.

But if you do have Prime, or if one of your friends has it and you can go over and watch it there, then The Grand Tour is unmissable, one of the best TV shows worldwide.

9/10 - possibly the best TV show without a story script.
36 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It made me write a review !!!
iqroopsekhon27 November 2016
I rarely, ever write reviews for anything. But, having been a fan of Top Gear Since the 1990's I was just mortified at the sheer piece of bullshit that these people have created. I was fine till the first episode and gave the benefit of the doubt to the producers for not getting it right. But, the second one was just horrific. It was not about cars at all, it was about three old dudes trying desperately hard to act funny and failing at it miserably. The last half hour was just a pain. If any of the producers are reading this, then please, please, please do something about it. Otherwise this rating of 9+ won't stay there forever. To add to your woes, I believe the Top gear (new anchors) was far better in their first 2 episodes. The only thing carrying you guys was you fan following, thats it !!!
58 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow! Sublime! Perfect! Provocative!
somersetboy19 November 2016
I just watched an impressive, thoughtful, provocative, memorable, perfect first episode of the first season.

I was not sure what to expect with the trio's new take on what they love to do the most. Actually it was imaginative and provocative enough to show that these three can come come up with the most watchable car programme on earth.

The cinematography was better than anything I have seen before. Even better than the show they left behind at the 'Baa Baa See'! :)

The picture quality was astounding. Whatever cameras and jigs they have used to film the show are probably the best equipment available. The overall visuals look spectacular and 'grand'. Smooth Amazon Prime streaming in proper HD gets credit for that too. Vibrant colours, smooth camera work and not the shaky vibrating car mounted cameras of yore. - Even in this department, it appears as though BBC has been beaten! Even the sound recording felt better. Now, sound recording is something BBC (Baa Baa See) used to excel in. Now, with an iPlayer that does not appear to play full HD and with a sound that feels compressed, Baa Baa See has unwittingly given these three guys an edge over their own sorry show. The audio playback was really superlative in Amazon Prime for what I was expecting for a streaming playback.

Something dreary like a motoring show becomes so exciting with these three. I was completely expecting a few laugh out loud moments. What was actually there exceeded all expectations. I would expect more fun and more laugh out loud moments. I am totally spoilt. Would imagine that eventually, there will be scenes and episodes that sets new heights and standards. Is this a stunt show? Is this a motoring show? Is this a sitcom? Who knows. It is superlative fun: - That is what it is . I cannot wait to watch the rest of the season, as it looks like each episode may have its own unique flavour, because of the changing locations. Wow! Brilliant!

****Just this one show alone makes my Amazon Prime membership worth it****

I have watched more episodes since this review and wanted to report back. Yes, this show is definitely mega fun and it looks like it has been a game changer for Amazon. I would now expect Amazon to throw even more money at not just Grand Tour, but to other potential programming. One the whole I am extremely pleased with Amazon streaming quality. After this, BBC's old version of Top Gear is probably dead. I still like BBC drama as they are more quintessentially British compared to current content on Amazon. I also think that Amazon should try stuff like Jools Holland doing takes on Songs, as an example. I do hope Amazon makes more strong stuff like this! :) Thanks for reading.
72 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
9.5 Seriously?
dfarry1 December 2016
How Grand Tour can be rated by users at 9.5 is beyond me.... I like cars, I don't mind the presenters and Amazon have clearly thrown a lot of money at this but come on it's nothing special. Some of the finest, most classic feature films ever made don't get a rating above 9. But interestingly I notice that IMDb have the same looking login page as Amazon.... hmmmmm, I'd like to think IMDb was not biased?? Anyway the latest episode, the training ground episode in Jordan was just unnecessarily long, I had to force myself to carry on watching. I hope the show starts to focus more on motoring than pointless tasks that centre on the presenters.
48 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Painfully awful...
mkools23 November 2016
I already started to dislike the last BBC Top Gear episodes because of the increasing amount of scripted jokes but Amazon took it to a whole new level. This show is now 100% scripted, there is not one improvised joke. The dialog between the crew feels forced and uncomfortable. Not only that but the jokes are not funny at all, the car scenes take on for much too long to keep me interested, even the audience was super annoying, over the top American.

This shows that making a good auto show takes more than a lot of money + Jeremy Clarkson & co. The BBC had an entire crew behind it which is what most people seem to forget.

This show is now just another over the top American TV show about cars, just like all the other shows that are already out there.
122 out of 235 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Lost the plot
n-middleton-11729 November 2016
Barely scraping through for a passing grade, the new series of The Grand Tour has not lived up to the hype. It seems to be running almost entirely on the popularity of the hosts and the blind following of the fans the accrued over at Top Gear.

The series appears to be trying too hard to mimic what the new producers must feel made the old Top Gear successful. There's very little in the way of originality, and yet sadly the copies, just like a fake Rolex from Thailand, aren't of the same quality. The track is half rate and may as well have been a car park with cones. The new American test driver is a cringe worthy and unnecessary addition, who will no doubt run out of one-line stereotypes. The celebrity segment so far has been a pitiful excuse to just do some slapstick humour. Most importantly though, the car segments are no longer even about the cars.

The show can hardly even be considered a car show, when the majority of the time is consumed by little skits that have nothing to do with cars, and even when cars are involved, we're told virtually nothing about them.

It's no longer a show for petrol heads, and rather is now more like a talk show, where the entertainment comes exclusively from the hosts and the scripted skits, rather than from the cars, the challenges, and any kind of genuine chemistry.
44 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What a shame
stevecogger26 November 2016
Seems Andy Wilman has tried to turn the trio into actors....and they simply are not. The brain crash scene is just ridiculous and not at all entertaining for a home viewer. Is this really not a car show anymore? It feels more like car crash TV at time as the staged gags are just not funny. Repeated scenes rewinding with subtle differences over and over and over again just feels like padding....not action packed content that viewers have paid a premium for. What happened to the kind of epics we used to love touring Vietnam or Africa or the poles? ....please tell me this show is not just setting up a tent in different places and presenting from it. Really disappointed so far...honestly think Matt le-blanc and Chris E did a better job on TG for a quarter of the budget.
46 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Simply irritating
bannedguybe2 December 2016
I wont waste much time reviewing this crap... To start i loved Top Gear back in the days, i was looking forward to seeing the TGT, but it came out stupid, childish & irritating as hell!

Watched 3 episodes by now, every episode hoping for it to get better, it does NOT!

To Start, That American aka the stig is utterly stupid, second : the humor is even lower than that of an 11 year old kid,

And ALWAYS 1 of them must do something very annoying trough the entire episode, for example the muscle car Richard used in episode 3.

conversation street is stupid as well.. that 'test track' or as i call it an old potato field is stupid and its not a real test track, i don't expect an air field but rather something decent "The star" in every episode dies, how funny... NOT! its the most stupid idea.

And many other things i can talk about but like i said, ill keep it short

Also i don't understand the 9.6/10 rating on here.. its maybe worth a 6/10 in total.

my score is 1/10 because it irritates me. I wont pay to see another season of this!

(Sorry for my badly written English, I'm a dutch guy :p)
49 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring,long winded, same gags
josephhood-704452 December 2016
I was a fan of the old show, I expected too much perhaps of Grand tour. Recycled jokes, forced bon Amie and the elephant in the room very little about cars. Episode three of Grand Tour a passing comment made about a British comedy 'last of the summer wine' three old bumbling gifts in their twilight years repeating lame punchlines in every one of the 10 million episodes to the delight of the senile audience, well I think it's hard to distinguish them apart as Clarkson, May and Hammond wryly smiled as I think they do too.

Be honest with yourself and admit the show has hit rock bottom, let's hope like an alcoholic who does the same they'll seek help for this spluttering diatribe.
50 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It was worth waiting for it
StaneSKT20 November 2016
Trust me, you can't stop smiling at the opening minutes. If you're fan of the old Top Gear trio than you'll absolutely love it. Just perfectly made. The good old taste of the old Top Gear combined with some new creative additions. Great pilot episode, great work with the camera and funny as usual for them. Probably you will want to watch the rest of the season immediately. Can't wait for the next week episode.

I can see only high ratings and bright future! (I guess now BBC realize what huge mistake they made. I don't know what will going on with Top Gear after the great opening of The Grand Tour, but I can't see them making the show great again.
34 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great show after a stumble on Episode 2. Bring back the celebrities on stage and in cars
ianthow1 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
As a great fan of Top Gear, I was looking forward to the Grand Tour. Episode one showed great promise. Superb intro and great selection of cars promised well of the future. Disappointing new test track and the new test driver is horrible. If they must have an American driver, get one with some charisma. Episode two got off to a good start with the AM Vulcan, but the Desert Stumble really was well named and some of the other slots seemed to lack the spark that these three used to show. I just hope the program can pick itself back up. The old TG did stumble a few times, but I cannot remember anything as bad episode 2 of GT. Maybe this is the strategy so that Episode 3 appears better.

--------------------------------------------------------

The above was written after episode 2 when I scored this a lowly 2/10. Since then, things have turned around and the remaining episodes were as good as the best they did for the BBC. The only thing missing is getting celebrities back on the show, talking to the presenters and driving 'real world' cars on a track. Surely the BBC cannot have exclusive rights to this concept.
35 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Top Gear: Supersized and Supershallow Edition
ByronicZero26 November 2016
Watching the Grand Tour is like watching a Hollywood pastiche of Top Gear.

The show, in concept, is a great idea - and in practice should have been too. However, it comes out as bloated, Americanised and barely capable of holding your attention; or at least of providing your attention (and memory) with anything worth holding on to.

Clarkson, Hammond and May have become aged sock puppets to what must be a roughly 95% scripted affair that sucks all of the life and fun out of the original format whilst spewing as much expletive content as possible to remind you that it is on the internet without the regulations of the BBC. The scripting itself is packed with crass, awkward and poorly written gags and dialogue that tries to imitate the natural but falls short in every way. Not to mention, the editing team have somewhat missed the point and, once again, have created a parodic American mash of the style of the original source.

One of the redeeming factors is the larger budget, but even that feels wasted and wanton and - you guessed it - brimming with unnecessary American excess.
51 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed