El marginal (TV Series 2016– ) Poster

(2016– )

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
More characters than a Mr Men book!
ShankRedemption10 November 2016
Sensational! Only the second series in subtitles I've ever committed too, the other one is Gomorrah, which is just as good, but completely different and this series is certainly 'different' to anything else I've seen. First class, so many quirky characters that are full of character. One of which is 'Borges' played by 'Claudio Rissi' who seems strangely familiar, he reminds me of Jene Reno (Lèon) at times. He is one of few actors that has made me howl, with just a facial expression, like how Jack Nicholson is able to do so often, in movies like 'As Good As It Gets'. How this guy has got to the age of 67, without being a big, Hollywood, global-type star, can only be down to a language barrier or luck! He'd steal the show, if it wasn't for other great characters that are also in the series, too many to call out, but a particularly quirky one is 'Diosito' played by Nicolas Furtado (looks nothing like Diosito in real life, Google him!) Then there is, cool as you like, 'Antin' played by Gerardo Romano.

I'm an English viewer, I speak no Spanish and I wouldn't change this to English if I could! It's fine as it is. The subtitles were perfect, the script isn't so fast you miss anything in the scenes whilst reading and yet, being on Netflix, if you do miss anything, you can hit the 'skip back 15secs' button and catch it again.
39 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
In one word - superb
perkypops14 February 2017
This twisting and turning drama inside an Argentinian prison is a feast of everything about human drama, from pathos to open brutality, and it does not miss a trick within the episodic plot developments and every new character introduced. And if subtitles turn you off then you do not realise what you are missing. The acting is superb throughout, with no one allowed to have so much as a bit part, the whole is visually and aurally superb.

The main themes are compelling, soaked in their own tensions, and attack you from many different directions before meeting, often by way of a new twist. It is genuinely adult viewing but rewards you with a memorable experience leaves you in no doubt you want a second season.

Is it better than Breaking Bad? You'd be silly to try and separate them.

Highly recommended.
27 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Intense, gritty, character-driven
rfadam9 October 2018
I've watched both seasons of this show, and they are excellent. The setting, a decaying prison in Buenos Aires, is raw and violent. But the characters are what really makes this show. The acting is excellent, and the twisting plot full of betrayal, greed, compassion, corruption. The music is great too. Highly recommended.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best production in Latin America
bola_de_pu31 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Wow. That's it. I don't need to say anything else and is a shame that I need to write these review in English and with too many words. These show maybe is the best one make by a Latino American production. The Argentinian films, once again, make a great drama that nearly is on top with "Nueve Reinas" and "El Secreto De Sus Ojos". The first 11 chapters are great, but I think that the last ones look too abrupt and forced to close this show. I just hope for a second season and if you are a fan of the productions based on jails and drama you can't miss this show. I'm very proud of this production as a Latin and we need more productions like this And to close this review, need to shot-out the great performances by Nicolás Furtado (Diosito), Gerardo Romano (Antin) and Claudio Rissi (Borges). Just amazing.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Superb casting
decourcyrichard16 March 2019
Season 1 gets a seven and season 2 a nine. So many interesting characters especially is season 2, very very violent again in S2, the performances of 4 or 5 characters is outstanding, there are negatives for sure but judge this for the outstanding performances. Just finished El Marginal 3 , very disappointing.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
very good and gritty.more realistic then the new mexican version.
surfisfun11 March 2019
Well, the Mexican series as more black humor but it is also a copy of this show. very recommended. probably watch this one before the Mexican version. lots of characters . worth a 8 at least. ------------------------- season 2 as a slight different atmosphere and it is a good thing!

I wonder if season 3 is going to be as solid as 1 n 2 , I really hope so.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A MASTERPIECE, As an argentinian, I always hated ALL shows of my country, till now!
jere_zabala4 November 2019
The show takes u deep since the first seconds of the show, all the tension, the horror, the suspense, the fights, the chats, everything is perfection! we need more shows like these! it was amazing, excellent cinematography, places, acting, writing, original fresh and unpredictable characters, and the most important of all, AMAZING AND ORIGINAL PLOT! something 99% of shows fail to give these days, being all so so similar with so similar characters!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Review"IN ONE WORD SUPERB" NAILS IT!!
mgwilcox24 October 2019
That review says it all perfectly I felt it said it far better than I . Read that review if you want to gage this series.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sensacional serie argentina
concurseiropdq8 December 2018
Lembra bem prison breaking e wentworth cimportante roteiro e toques latinos.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WOW. Incredibly intelligent, dynamic and crude thriller
nacemosmuertos27 January 2019
This is a really excellent thriller. Very well constructed, played and developed. Crude and strangely believable. No stupid pc narratives. It doesn't treat us watcher like infants
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A RARE GEM !!
mgwilcox24 January 2020
Believe the reviews that give this show 9s and 10s riveting Argentine prison Drama Rich in characters twists and turns atmosphire and BRILLIANT ACTING This show gets better with each season and each episode hang tight for first season give it a chance it picks up considerably and by season 2 you will be hooked introducing new characters that are comic book villains not simple one dimensional characters no they lure you into this miserable hell hole and you are stuck in there with them and all that transpires This is among the greats although subtitles move quicky I think you will adjust enough to enjoy the full value of this great show seldom do we see such gems Deadwood comes to mind a Brilliant HBO western tapestry with comedy and some of the most ruthless terrifying characters shock awe and yes belly laughs and conversations that make you laugh cry and ill to your stomach. This show is a distant cousin to the other where much of the action is in hotel barroom and gold foelds and bar room philosophy will keep you entertained and guessing enjoy this show and be sure to continue into second season when things get very interesting.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BRILLIANT CASTING
mgwilcox24 October 2019
This show gets better with every episode. Production values, location, casting, acting, characters, could hardly be better Once I started second season I could not break away finished two seasons in a week where did my weekend go !! This south anerican shanty town prison show is sensational Characters are so well done and acted Which character is best ? Acting Perfection and many deserve awards for some of the best ensemble acting since DEADWOOD I cannot go any further watch this if you want a show that is unique, exciting, gripping, interesting, quirky, fascinating, with amazing award worthy performances This is it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A look into our worst nature
gusrab4 October 2019
Oh Man! What a great Tv series. Is amazing how real and justified in the plot the amount of violence and depravation is. Very good casting, every character adds a color and a complete understanding about how prison life in this society is were corruption, lack of founds, poverty is mixed with the worst kind of people who will do anything to kill or be killed, to survive. Showing a glympse of Argentina's reality where the worst people dress in suits and are lawyers,judges, politicians, prison directors or prison guards who run and profit from this theater of blood and the best of us end at the bottom or get killed.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Ok but includes rip offs from lots of movies
sqpudm29 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
"El Marginal" is a rip off from "Tumberos" that happens to be a copy of OZ. There are several scenes in El Marginal stolen from "Boyka: Undisputed" to "Casino" when Joe Pesci character's brother is burried in front of him.
0 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed