Werewolf (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
This is a human interest story you....Shmuck.
twomainiacs30 July 2018
I don't write reviews unless people have been overly harsh or rated 10 Stars to rubbish. Only one reviewer so far...you be the judge. This is not a horror or mutant flick. Arguably, this might be given a different title. Yet, as the story progresses (digresses?) one might think the title was right on the mark. Blaise and Nessa are two drug addicts with nothing going for them. Two addicts living together and trying to quit are similar to a married couple trying to diet together.....it doesn't work. One can only follow the story if you want to really understand the dilemma these two represent. The path they are on is a dead-end the moment you get the idea. We see these people every day, and yet, we never see them. Watch the movie, feel the helplessness, experience the atmosphere.....then maybe you would label it horror. Cookie
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Sad and boring
MOscarbradley13 August 2018
The sad, boring lives of a couple of methadone users in a small, Canadian town. Ashley McKenzie's "Werewolf" makes few concessions to its audience; almost nothing happens and McKenzie films it in a flat, dull style in muted, washed-out colours that mirrors the life of its protagonists, a spaced-out Andrew Gillis and a zombie-like, almost silent Bhreagh MacNeil who act as if they're making it up as they go along. This is a bleak and not very likeable picture but at 80 minutes at least it's mercifully short though while you're watching it you might think it will go on forever.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Really impressive debut feature from a promsing Canadian director
digs544619 August 2018
At times uncomfortable to sit through but that's kind of the point. This isn't escapism, this is an unflinching look into the lives of two addict lovers. With minimal dialog, the camera lingers closely to catch every bit of acne, crooked and rotting teeth, soulless stare...really great cinematography.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Hard experience
pedross15 August 2018
No glamour on opiods here, slow, sad movie. Not bad!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Stale
luc_m13 May 2019
Movie is kind of hard to watch, not because it's a sad story but because it's hard to stay in it and there's no interest in seeing what the end will be.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do not waste your time!!
muntahafm24 June 2018
Do not waste your time watching it, it's not only bad and boring it's also depressing
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
No it's not a supernatural horror film
zombiechan17 August 2018
I find the criticism that this movie is sad and depressing odd. Were people expecting a happy movie about two drug addicts living in poverty?

Now I didn't feel as strongly for these characters as I did for a character like Richard Gere in Time Out of Mind. But I still felt for these guys. They were both portrayed decently by Gills and McNeil.

Cinematography can be interesting at times and at other time it can be jarring. The camera focus being pulled away from the subject on to some background.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
True to life
drewsk22 October 2019
I had an ex in a similar situation - the film reminds me of her and her friends. Per my subject - true to life - this could almost be filmed as a documentary. I think this film has a bit too much inertia.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed