Tell Me How I Die (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
27 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Moved along nicely and then disappointed
randymcbeast16 September 2016
This movie started out great, continued to intrigue with a decent story, the suspense kept building up nicely, and then it completely fell apart towards the end.

The only explanation I can think of is that they burned up the budget shooting the first 3/4 of the movie and only had about $100 left to shoot the last quarter. That, or perhaps some competent people working on it were fired with just a quarter of the movie left and then it was finished by a group of third graders?

The acting overall wasn't too bad and the scenery and cinematography was above average, which is why it's a shame it finished out so poorly, but it did.
57 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Starts good..then goes downhill
blackmirror-0245019 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The movie starts out very good; you go into it expecting a good "who done it?" type of thriller, but then it goes downhill with the suspect killing people for no good reason (that is revealed in the movie anyway), it quickly became Michael Myers in Halloween movie .

The suspect offers the scientist a choice, then after killing 99% of the people participating in the study he still goes ahead and kills the scientist anyway. Why bother kill all those people then, then leave alive the person with the highest drug dose in her system? The movie ends with too many questions, even the killers motive is uncertain at the end of the movie.
23 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Promising and Intriguing Beginning, Awful Conclusion
claudio_carvalho11 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The unemployed waitress Anna (Virginia Gardner) joins a group of college student in the isolated facility of the Hallorann Laboratory to participate in the research of Dr. Jerrems (William Mapother) to improve the memory and raise some money. Dr. Jerrems explains that only half of them will be injected with the drug – the other half will be injected with harmless placebo. Anna befriends Den (Nathan Kress), Kristen (Kirby Bliss Blanton) and Marcus (Mark Furze) and soon Marcus and Kristen are affected by an unexpected side effect and have the ability to see the future. Anna is also affected and discovers that she can see the other youngsters dying and Dr. Jerrems locks her in a room. Meanwhile a stranger breaks in the facility and there is bloodshed in the place. Den, Marcus, Kristen and Scratch (Ryan Higa) try to flee but Den wants to save Anna. Who might be the killer and what is his motive?

"Tell me How I Die" is a low-budget horror movie with a promising and intriguing beginning but also with an awful conclusion. The idea of a drug that gives the ability to see the future should be better explored instead of using the stupid clichés of the genre. My vote is three.

Title (Brazil): Not Available.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Acceptable time waster
vasiln29 September 2016
College kids looking for cash join drug trials. The main side effect is precognition. And the future doesn't look bright.

A little slow at times, a little bit, "Who cares?", but Tell Me How I Die is also sometimes charming, and the dialogue is occasionally interesting. This isn't a movie made for Oscars, it's a movie based around giving young people something easy and moderately enjoyable to watch. It meets those modest ambitions. (And, to contradict an earlier reviewer, the ending makes plenty of sense.) It's not good enough to say, "Go see it!" But it's not bad enough to say, "Don't." And there are enough sort-of-new ideas in this that I'm looking forward to the filmmakers' next projects. If they can come up with a better story line, with a bit more to fill up 90 minutes, they should be able to make something genuinely good.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Never take shrooms kids.
dze-mo20 September 2016
Okay, so if u watched any of the Final Destination movies it is clear that this movie was inspired by it. It still manages to stand in its own right however.

As in Final Destination someone can see the future, but it is not because of the supernatural but because of some drug that is still being tested. Naturally, because it is a horror movie, the visions are of the other characters dying. After they learn that is true what they are experiencing they of course try to counter it and, just like in Final Destination, cheat their deaths.

For the story of this movie the environment actually makes sense, and if you watch the movie you will understand why it is not all over the world like Final Destination.

I think that it is not bad that a movie gets inspired by another movie, as long as it is done well. And to honestly tell you, this movie is.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Plothole/inconsistency ruined the movie
HarryPotterIsGarbage16 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The movie was already mediocre in terms of acting and editing. But what really bothered me was the amateurish mistake halfway into the movie. Basically at one point, the test subjects find out they're being watched behind the glass doors and acted surprised, the blonde girl says "they've been watching us this whole time" as if she didn't expect it.. However, at the beginning of the movie, the doctor clearly stated that they will be monitored the whole time there... Not to mention the fact that they've signed up to be test subjects in a science facility.. being monitored is completely normal in these type of trials. Terrible writing IMO
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Well made for its target
nickyb-7913115 October 2016
By the title I mean this is in the same stream of horror as I Know What You Did Last Summer, Urban Legend etc. If those 2 are good movies for you than this will be just the ticket. Not quite the attention to detail that a film such as Final Destination has or the stars as featured in I Know... Has the same style of writing and is made for the very same audience as the mentioned movies, undoubtedly. I could easily believe they used lighting, cameras, makeup from the same movie studios, though I didn't bother to check the credits. The premise was pretty good as was my main reason for watching, having a sci-fi vibe. However, nothing very clever was made of it only used to set the scenarios really. A shame as it would have given this a more memorable story-line. As it stands it is fairly forgettable. It is a reasonable time killer if you have nothing else that needs doing and just want to lay back in front of your screen.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Couldah shouldah been good
reviews195816 September 2016
This was a pretty good spin on a thriller - being in a clinical trial for a new drug that targets "feelings". However, it drags on and on with future flashes and then back to where it started that you get dizzy thinking "If you know what's gonna happen, then why not try and avoid it". However you then realize it's like telling a teenager not to text while behind the wheel, only for them to be in a horrible car wreck because...you guessed it, they were texting behind the wheel. In other words, yah just can't tell people not to do something. Even if they know they'll die doing it. The acting wasn't too terrible. There were plenty of times I rolled my eyes at the execution or timing of the script. That just kindah goes with the territory of a thriller - they almost get it right but not always. I won't chalk this up to a total waste of time as there were a few moments that make you go hmmmmm, but overall, especially during the ending you wonder why yah stuck it out as surely you could tell the future that things weren't gonna end on a good note so why bother. But then again, yah just can't tell someone that (not even yourself) cuz even if they know the flicks not gonna end good they still dedicate the time spent knowing they'll never be able to get that time back. This review may seem like going over the same circle but be forewarned, it's exactly what you'll take away from this 4 out of 10 flick/mess. You may ask yourself why 4, why not 2 or 3 if I didn't like it. Well, I'm sick of indie flicks that are done on a 2 or 3 thousand dollar budget and this one appeared as though they spent some money on clothes, location, setting, lighting, and more then 3 characters which was refreshing.
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good movie
malhaas-jacobsz28 September 2018
For a low budget film, the story was good, actors were good, and the idea was semi original. It's not brilliant, but it's not terrible either, perfect for one of those "I want to watch a movie, but I don't know what I want to watch" kind of days.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great intriguing movie...untill the end
terenigmamobile12 July 2018
I was thoroughly engaged with this movie untill the final 10 minutes where it seems the writer just gave the script to a 3 year old and told them to finish it. It's truely a shame too because this movie is much better than the score it currently has and i highly recommend it to those wanting a solid and interesting thriller.

The acting in this movie is good and the story is also good, i found myself wanting to know more. Sadly some Visual effects are not quite as good but one thing this movie does well is its pacing. Plot details and reveals happen just frequently enough to keep you interested and guessing what might happen at the end...

Sadly the ending is the weakest point of this movie. There is several ways the conclusion could of played out and i would of been happy with a somewhat guessable cliche ending but we are treated to neither. It builds up superbly and completely fizzles out to nothing at the end. I recommend creating a different ending in your mind from the infomation the movie gives because it would increase this movie from a 6/10 to a 8/10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good, but not good enough.
dogyodog17 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
**SPOILERS AHEAD** This movie took you on a ride on the Psychological and Emotional Elevator. Following the characters around, with all the premonitions and stuff got quite confusing, but it all made more sense the more you watched it. Premonitions were suspenseful and intriguing. Coming out of the premonition sometimes made you wonder if anything you see at all is real. Kind of a Minority Report/Final Destination type movie, if you ask me...But better, in a way. Near the end is when the movie fell apart on itself. It was all suspenseful and stuff, but you knew what was going to happen, as it was predictable at that point. (Irony.) At the very end, they left it on a cliffhanger, but not one that leads to a sequel, as I don't think (or hope) this movie will get one, but one that leaves the ending up to the viewer. I hate those cliffhangers. So I'm giving this movie an 8/10. Good movie, would watch again, but the ending ruined it.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Low Budget Thriller
williams_aj16 September 2016
I really enjoyed this movie. It was suspenseful and intriguing. Before I watched the movie, I knew it was going to be low budget, so my expectations were a bit different. For a low budget film, I believe it was really good and would recommend the movie. There were a few mistakes, but I believe they can be overlooked without taking a viewer too much out of immersion. The only thing I didn't like was the very end. I don't want to give it away, but I feel like there could have been more detail of what happened to the characters. Perhaps they were trying to leave things as unsettling, but I feel like it was more annoying/a plot hole that wasn't filled in. But most horror stories are like that, and the rest of the movie was pretty good. As a result, I gave the movie a 9 out of 10. I would watch it again.
14 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I enjoyed the ride
johana-eggs16 September 2016
This movie had flash forwards and medical experimentation so of course it was going to be a winner. I just knew it would be good from the trailer.

Its an interesting film and an enjoyable ride. The worst thing a movie can be is boring and this movie was never once boring, it was a solid, consistent, enjoyable movie.

The only thing that annoyed me is The lead girl because she's was kind of just the basic generic girl in a dirty white vest and jeans being chased character but other than that it was good.

7/10

Its a better Final Destination than 90% of the Final Destinations.
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great film
hedleyisobel6 May 2017
Really exciting, intense and does make you watch to the end. It messes with your head and really makes you think, very psychological which is why I love it because it makes it unpredictable. It's probably aimed at a more teenage/young adult audience which may be why many reviews aren't as good. The ending does definitely make sense contradicting other comments. I'd recommend mainly for the age group mentioned earlier :)
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pretty decent movie for low budget
edu_goncalves9717 September 2016
For a low budget movie is actually pretty good -Interesting story(don't recall nothing similar)

-Good scenarios

-Pretty decent acting(I can really see that Ryan Higa isn't used to this, it's pretty different from what he is used to do but it was a decent acting by him)

Actually managed to watch the hole movie with only 1 stop which rarely happens due to getting bored

The only bad thing I noticed was so poorly used green screens overallsome bad compositing.

Good movie would watch again
8 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I tell you how I died: bored while watching this bad movie
danielcalegari3 May 2018
The begining is interesting, promising, but as there are only young actors you get that bad acting, poor dialogues, weak story. After sometime the movie, already slow, got worse. Another time lost. You will dye of boredom, unless you are going to be paid for watching bad movies.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A pleasant surprise
jtindahouse19 June 2017
I remember back in 2000 when 'Final Destination' came out picking it up at the DVD (video?) store and having very low expectations for it. It then proceeded to blow me away, and is still one of my favourite horror movies to this day. I've now had a very similar experience with 'Tell Me How I Die', which also happens to be a similar film in terms of story line. I really didn't have high hopes for this movie at all going in, but it managed to pleasantly surprise me, and short of a slightly better ending, this could have been something great.

The concept of seeing the future (namely your's and other's deaths) and trying to change fate really can make for an interesting movie. Obviously it's not possible in real life, so there are no set rules the film is forced to follow. This adds more layers of intrigue.

The only thing I would have liked to see was the movie go out with a slightly darker and more memorable ending. The final 15 minutes are actually very clever and well put together, but it was just lacking that gut-busting kicker that would have made it stick with the audience a little longer.

Very few modern horror movies manage to have any effect on me whatsoever, and consequently just come across insatiably boring. That was not the case with 'Tell Me How I Die'. For whatever reason I genuinely cared about the fate of these characters and was intrigued by the story. If you're like me and want to make sure you don't miss any remotely good horror movies released today, because they are so rare, then make sure you check out 'Tell Me How I Die'. I suspect you'll be happy you did.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Stupid
draftdubya25 April 2019
They must have never heard of a Fire Alarm. They walked pass a bunch of them.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Just a regular watchable movie...
L_Copa19 March 2019
It had its moments... Sometimes it was interesting, sometimes it was cringe and sometimes it was great! Not a perfect ending but it's watchable... If you want to spend your time pleasantly to watch and chat with friends go for it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
He is so braggadocios
nogodnomasters2 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Big Pharma is experimenting with memory enhancement drug A9913 for possible use with Alzheimer patients. They pay college kids $2,000 to spend the weekend at their facility with half getting the real drug, the other half placebo. The film follows Ann (Virginia Gardner) who has good ESP to begin with. The drug has side effects as Ann and others see the future which is grim considering there is a killer loose at the facility...snowed in...phones down. It starts out like a pretty good sci-fi film, introducing characters, who for a change, I didn't hate. However once we get to seeing the killings and trying to outsmart the killer, the meat of the film, it comes loose with characters running around like a chicken with its head cut off, adding boring to confusion. On the plus side, it wasn't a hand held camera. Ari streaming has it available for free app downloading.

Guide: No sex or nudity
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bad movie
theofilosarapidis21 February 2017
Having that story in general,it could be a much better movie but no.It was really boring and not even scary for a 'thriller/horror' movie that it's supposed to be.It started getting really stupid towards the end and the acting wasn't that good either.I recommend you not to watch this movie and save your precious time.
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I promise that you won't dislike TELL ME HOW I DIE!
cmovies-9967421 August 2017
PROS: Holy moly, where do I begin?!? To start of this movies plot lines are so immaculate and so detailed. There isn't a single part that wasn't thought out. From beginning to end the movie knows what it wants and delivers it. Every character relationship, every setting, every problem, every resolution was thought out which I loved. This includes the resolution to the film. During the whole movie you got more and more sucked in to the characters, and at the end your breath got taken away. You were holding on to very few shreds of hope that really developed as the film progressed. This is including the build up of tension throughout. Every character had a purpose, every death had a purpose which really drove home the motives in the movie. Every scene was filled with fear and paranoia, because everything you know and do the killer knows and does. This sort of concept was very fresh in the way it was delivered. The final thing that was amazing was the acting. This movie had a sort of teen scream romance horror vibe that played out very nice. This doesn't always happen, but in this movie that vibe held the film together.

CONS: …

www.chorror.com
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
For a Horror, Mystery, Sci-fi movie this was mediocre at most.
Aktham_Tashtush18 November 2018
It started really slow ,, then midway ,, i kinda felt the action and the mystery unravels .. even thought it was sooo predictable ,, it had a bit of vague expectation for the ending ,, but then the ending comes and it was Meh..

The cast was a serious mess ,, it felt like they don't like acting or their parents force them to go to art school , no idea ,, but not to be harsh ,, they weren't engaging and connecting much whether with the camera or among each other.

I would finally say,, not really recommended,, and definitely not recommended for those who love timeline past/future sci-fi movies because it will disappoint
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dreadful attempt at mature drama.
frejbabes29 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Written by morons, directed by a moron, overall a bad student attempt to make a film. The narrative pleads for some intelligence to at least throw in some plot events which would make it less amateur. Why oh why would these fools not even question their wristbands, surely that would be the first item to get rid of. The characters are poorly scripted archetypes based on well tired understandings of women and men as baseless characters in a reality TV show. Is the moral of the story that students need to get themselves out of debt by avoiding a plutocracy embedded in the culture of retarded drama of the worst kind.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It is science fiction cum horror movie
japb-379096 May 2017
In this movie location is very good, but characters are not performing up to the mark. Pharmaceutical organization never use human for their drugs test. It is totally wrong. Hallucination exist but not for futures vision. filming ending is worse while start is typical for horror movies. Heroin is pretty.
3 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed