Hatred (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Prepare yourself for sleepless night
ktrelski6 November 2016
When I went to see this movie I thought I know everything about the events this picture is based on. I have heard that the movie will show them without any censorship. However, I was not prepared for the real horror of those events. The movie is graphic, but it does not go overboard. It does, however touch your soul. If you ever asked yourself what the real terror looks like, this is it. What makes it tough is that the terror is brought to you by the people you know well, your next door neighbors, your spouse or even your brother.

Do not expect anybody laughing or even talking after the movie is over.

It is a great movie. Don't miss it.
63 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Extremely Heavy And Gloomy, But Terrific
denis8888 April 2017
Well, where to begin. Films about genocide, especially such touchy subject as Polish-Ukranian relations in 1939-1943 in the region of Wolyn, are not an easy treat. The very theme of mass murder and brotherly hate is never easy, so this epic film about mass atrocities of Poles in Wolyn leaves a very heavy heart. If you are afraid of ferocious scenes, blood, dismembered bodies, mutilated kids or burned villages, then don't. Don't try to watch this film. It is awesome, it is executed with a n utmost precision and the tempo is impeccable, but it is way too difficult to see all those horrible scenes and what is even more horrid is the fact that it's never going to be easier, but only heavier and gloomier and worse for main hero and her suffering family. I will not retell the events of this film, just want to say - be warned and watch this at your discretion, as this is a very very severe and naked fear film. It demands all your patience and certain amount of guts, yes, guts, since the bloody scenes are really frightening. Need I say more? This is a masterpiece, truly so.
36 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Horrible things shouldn't happen
jingtuzi33324 April 2017
I must say that I'm shocked by this movie. Massacre usually happens during invasion, for example Japan did several massacres to China including the Nanjing Massacre (which Japan still doesn't admit). But this one happened in Wolyn is even worse, because it happened between neighborhoods, they were living together, harvesting together, marrying to each other, then someday UPA came, everything changed. I saw the very worst of human nature inspired by the nationalism. All good thing slaughtered.
29 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Time and place where genocide was inevitable. Torn communities and families.
marczynskitomasz11 October 2016
Dire, thick atmosphere of waiting for massacre you knew that will happen. Pure terror unleashed at night, when neighbors come to kill you in one hundred different ways preceded by showing how this community was like at time of peace. You would not think that it is really possible. Marriages, working together, social space and to some degree language is common. But there are some differences on both sides...

Dmytro Klyachkivsky citation: "We should make a large action of the liquidation of the Polish element."

To understand this film properly you need some historic and psychological (Lucifer effect) background. I am certain that when reversed things would have gone south anyway.

Wolyn (Volhynia) is historic region where poles and Ruthenians lived peacefully for centuries (by that I mean peasants).

Around XVII century Poland gained more territory in what today is called Ukraine. Polish noble class assimilated Ruthenian (today Ukrainian) noble class. One of Ruthenians even become elected king of the Commonwealth of Polish and Lithuania.

Wolyn alone was in polish rule from XIV century.

This whole territory east of Wolyn and including Wolyn was a place where polish peasant run away from polish noble class (szlachta) rule and mixed with local Ruthenian population.

Commonwealth wanted to suppress those people. Thousands of them remained on king payroll as soldiers - so they knew how to fight. Those people responded accordingly with Chmielnicki uprisings, killing Poles and assimilated Ruthenian nobles. Century of bloodshed ended by Russian subjugating most of these lands. This is why eastern Ukraine (Russian rule) is different from western Ukraine (Polish rule).

Era of nationalism resulted in Ukrainian National Revival when Ukrainian people gained new identity and were distancing from Polish and Russian cultures.

In interbellum period in Poland unfortunately won the idea of unity - Ukrainians and Belorussians was to be assimilated into Polish culture (there was project of creating Polish, Belorussian and Ukrainian separated states in confederation) Ukrainians responded with violence.

And film starts when this period is about to end. Firstly Russians witch to this date see Ukraine as "little Russia" in a derogatory way) and next Germans which promised own state to Ukrainians.

Ukraine had seen Hitler as they savior in a way. Organisation born from this feelings decided that Wolyn must be ethnically cleansed to ensure Ukrainian nature of this region in future.

That's when Lucifer Effect starts to sink in. Same was in Tutsi - Hutu case.
63 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant scenography, touchy story line
piotrmarciniec10 October 2016
I must say that I really love that film. I have heard almost nothing prior to watching this film, about movie itself. However I am very familiar with those events at south-east of Poland. I love how Smarzowski managed to replicate climate of these ages, the bond between polish and ukrainian community and its slow corruption within the time. Suddenly the the slavic peace full of tradition is brutally interrupted by Germans aggression followed by russians one. obviously polish people were victims slaughtered by ukrainian peasants, but there is much more in this movie. all bad things what happens durring wwII are shown here, sometimes very graphic - but the truth was even worse. I enjoy the storyline, miracle survivors and the fact the human life price was close to nothing. The only flaw I must say, its bit small attention given to so called AK - polish underground army. they were haunted mercilessly by both sides Germans and russians and they were stuck between their commit to national cause and defending its citizens - however I understand this might be good theme for the separate movie.
42 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant
bones-203-9232458 April 2017
A story from views usually unknown and too easy forgotten. Portrait with a real story and how easy "dog eats dog". The factions how shallow they are is depicted properly. As it was everywhere during the WW2. The eels survived.. The grit and do and helplessness is also well described. Well worth the view.
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Every Ukrainian should see this movie!!!!! It is forbidden on Ukraine.
jkdomowy6 August 2017
Movie will be probably marked as 1 on IMDb rating by Ukrainian users of IMDb (same like Promise by Turks?). Ukrainian actors whose played in this movie, lost their's jobs after premiere. Those actors had jobs in Ukrainians theaters. Despite the fact that movie is bloody and brutal it shows only small part of cruelties which Ukrainians done during Wolyn genocide to Poles, Jewish, Czechs and other nations. What is important it shows also good Ukrainians. Why important it is estimated that on five Poles killed there were one Ukrainian who were killed becose he didn't want to kill those Poles. This hero Ukrainians there were at least 20 000. Today loots of Ukrainians are proud to carry half black half red flags and they thinks that Bandera and UPA were heroes. Well they weren't. They were just monsters and butchers whose main passion were killing innocent civilians with forks hammers and saws.
20 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
7.5/10 Harrowing portrayal of man's inhumanity to man
Padreviews24 February 2017
Wow , I don't think I've felt as sad after a film . Immediately it made me want to learn more about the history surrounding this period of the war .

First of all i'd warn you this film is graphic if you think about Rwanda you'll be prepared . Poland in the 20th century stood on the political and aspirational fault line between Germany and Russia and became the battlefield of those two opposing forces . It's history is intertwined with the rise and fall of the central and Eastern European empires namely Poland-Lithuania, Russia , Ukraine , Habsberg , Austria-Hungary , Nazi Germany , Naploeonic French Republic just to name a few and as a result the ethnic mix within its borders contains a volatile religious fault line between Catholicism and Orthodox Christianity . It's this fault line that provides the plot of the film .

The script , costume , acting and cinematography all deserve praise . We start with the happiness of inter marriage weddings and the national songs that go along with that and end with destruction hatred and death , it's not a happy film but it's not a triumphant slice of history , it's a period of time that man should be ashamed of how sick he can become when encouraged to by those who wear the cloth of god and should know better .

But it is an important film and I'm glad I've seen it but it really made me sad .

It's definitely worth seeing but be prepared to lose your smile .
21 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
To understand this film properly you need some historic background
rafalklimsiak13 May 2017
To understand this film properly you need some historic background.

"Wolyn (Volhynia) is historic region where poles and Ruthenians lived peacefully for centuries until 2nd World War

In interbellum period in Poland unfortunately won the idea of unity - Ukrainians and Belorussians was to be assimilated into Polish culture (there was project of creating Polish, Belorussian and Ukrainian separated states in confederation) Ukrainians responded with violence.

And film starts when this period is about to end. Firstly Russians witch to this date see Ukraine as "little Russia" in a derogatory way) and next Germans which promised own state to Ukrainians.

Ukraine had seen Hitler as they savior in a way. Organisation born from this feelings decided that Wolyn must be ethnically cleansed to ensure Ukrainian nature of this region in future. "
14 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Powerful, difficult to watch, but an important story
heszyfilm28 October 2017
A very powerful movie. The acting and cinematography were excellent. Michalina Labacz especially shines in her lead role. Although the movie is two and a half hours long the pacing keeps your attention throughout.

As many have noted, this film has a great deal of graphic violence. Not only quick killings, but also gruesome torture. It is a testament to the director that for the most part he does not linger on such scenes. For me, it was not always the case, and there were several times that I had to look away.

The characters are numerous and of many nationalities and religions, but the movie rarely casts anyone as black and white caricatures. No side comes out as pure and innocent, or completely evil. Along with the massacres by Ukrainians, we also see the arrogance of Polish upper class village residents, and even protection by some German soldiers.

The swirl of death on all sides and by all sides leaves one numb by the end, but it important story. In addition to telling the story of an often overlooked part of East European history, it also is a more general warning of how easily the dark side of humanity can come forward in times of adversity.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very touching movie
phoenix-8059524 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is one of the best movies I ever watched. It is very realistic one, so these people who are used to some kind of positive heroes, you will be disappointed, because there are no heroes or just bad guys in this movie. It is not Hollywood crap about bad and good boys. Nearly every character has good and bad sides. Also this movie shows how Ukrainians can adapt their nationalism and hatred to other people by using different political systems. So I do recommend to watch it everybody, who is interested in history and to learn that not just Jews were victims of WWII and that Ukrainians are not such good as they trying to paint their selves in conditions of such called "Russian aggression".
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Heard stories from Grandparents years ago, then I saw this...
pbsoko-5648122 February 2019
I grew up hearing stories from my grandparents that were from Lwow. Lwow is now part of Ukraine and near the Wolyn area where this movie takes place. Hearing my grandfather saying how he would patrol his village with pitchforks was one thing. Hearing about atrocities committed made you wonder if people are capable of such acts. This movie brought his stories to life in shocking truth and reality. One item that was also true was that Poles would find more safety with the Nazi oppressors, rather than surrounding Ukrainian neighbors. In fact, one story that was not presented, that may be good to share, is that Germans provided rifles to some polish villages so residents could protect themselves. Incredible movie that shows history that is not at all known in most circles.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Cheapens the violence by showing so much
euroGary11 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The 2017 Edinburgh International Film Festival showed 'Wołyń' under the title 'Volhynia'. The film's official English title, however, is 'Hatred'.

While Europe was tearing itself apart during the Second World War, another conflict, between Poles and Ukrainians, was going on in eastern Europe as militant Ukrainian organisations sought to expel all non-Ukrainians (chiefly Poles, but Jews as well) from the territory of a future Ukrainian state. This film centres on the impact of the violence on an ethnically-mixed village of Poles, Ukrainians and Jews, with the central character being Zosia, the prettiest (and blondest) girl in the village, who is in love with Petro, the prettiest (and blondest) *boy* in the village. But her father marries her off instead to Maciej, the village's much-older alderman. As awful as this is for Zosia, these domestic concerns pale into insignificance as the inter-ethnic violence is unleashed...

... and unleashed it certainly is. When the film's interminable opening wedding scene ended I was glad because it meant the women finally stopped singing; but then I got bored with the violence - there are only so many times you can see someone having their spine pulled out before you stop paying attention. And that is a shame, because this is, after all, based on real events and real suffering. Director/writer Wojciech Smarzowski (adapting short stories by Stanisław Srokowski) would have done better to produce a shorter film (2½ hours is too long), keeping the character development and focussing on just one or two violent incidents - that, I feel, would have had more impact (and not resulted in this particular viewer, on seeing someone pulled in half between two horses in yet another gory scenario, dispassionately thinking "surely his arms would pop out first?")

I found it difficult to keep up with who was Polish and who was Ukrainian - although the sub-titles are helpfully laballed 'Pol' and 'Ukr' - as so many of the characters speak in both languages anyway. I did appreciate that the film made the point that Poles were not only victims: they committed acts of violence also. And I liked the character bits. So I would recommend watching it once, but I doubt that I will watch it again.
7 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
First PROPER explanation of Eastern Poland in WW2. Specially jewish role.
makor8624 December 2017
I see most of reviews is totally wrong and spread lies like e.g. Russian invasion (sic!) First we see peaceful life pre 1939 then German and SOVIET joint invasion in 1939. Ofc Soviets are welcome only by jews and some ukrainians. Later we see soviet occupation were mostly jews and the worst ukrainians colaborate with NKVD like jewish "teacher" or jewish NKVD spies/agents. Then in winter 1940 we see removal of the most influential polish element. NKVD with local jews and ukrainians at night raid Polish houses, give 30 min to pack and in cattle wagons in winter transport Poles to Gulag deep in SOVIET Union (Not RUSSIA!, Russians back then were also defeater minority, same like Poles. Georgians and jews and some other mix of nation was running Soviet Union). I can confim this part as very accurate as my family was in the same situation, even sister of my grandma was saved by Ukrainian fiance and she stayed as the only one from the whole family. Then in 1941 we have Germans invasion. Finally we see that the same jews who were helping soviets in war crimes got executed by Germans. Sadly also not involved jews got punished for their mates. Then we see in 1942-1943 formation of ukrainian nazi bandera UPA and all their crimes. First extermination of Jews and later other ethnic group: Poles. A great movie showing how socialism is horrible in his ultimate form. Also it shows what is true horror, when you are surrounded by bolsheviks and wild blood thirsty ukrainian nazis but you are alone with no weapon and germans are too weak to help. It would not happen if not English and French treason of Poland in 1939 and later full support of the west for stalin. The viewer must realize this is not end but it was just 1943. Later in 1944-50's there was another horror of west backed stalins red army and nkvd. Rape, pillage, executions, prisons. There is another movie by the same director about soviet occupation in 1945 titled "Rose". I recommend. Also if you wonder why Poles hate UK, France, USA and in general "west" here is your answer. West betrayed Poles in WW2 and was serving stalin even in 1947!
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A bit too much overrated
witekpluta29 October 2016
Motion pictures set within time and place of a great historical value seems to be the current trend for Polish film makers. Every "patriotic" movie receives a tremendous promotion before it even hits the box office. It was pretty much the same case with "Wołyń". The director seems to be working with the same choice of actors which is a good thing as they can definitely deliver. The performance of the cast makes this sad historical drama gripping. The story which was based on the real (extremely controversial) events is also the key factor of a very positive reception among the viewers. Being aware of the fact that the subject of the story requires careful handling, Smarzowski included several scenes which absolutely don't fit the whole movie causing a bit of a confusion. However, the scenes save the movie from potential political accusations.
14 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just imagine
gennadylevitsky10 July 2018
BBC documentary "The war of the century" depicts UPA as "good guys" who fight "bad guys", Hitler and Stalin, Russians and Germans. Such nonsense. From the historical perspective the film is one-sided. It doesn't show response of the Polish nationalists (Armiya Krayova) to those massacres. It was on the lesser scale but equally brutal. Overall the film was made pretty good (just a little bit too much brutality, I think) and introduces ignorant western viewers to the real horrors of war.
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A waste of money, energy - typical Polish film!
zofiap82 April 2017
One of the worst films ever made! No plot to follow. Very poor casting. You cannot tell who is who, as many of the male actors look too similar. Then for more confusion, the director/writer throws them into a dark scene so that the viewer really cannot tell who is who or what is going on. Poor writing. Too much time spent on the traditional Ukraine wedding in the beginning of the film which was very boring. Then continuous, senseless killing for the sake of killing throughout the film. This was just a poor attempt to make a Polish version of "Halloween."
24 out of 146 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A story about tribalistic human nature
merilius25 January 2018
Three nations with three religions living in the same deeply rural area on European outskirts in the 1930's. World War Two erupts over their heads and the old power over the region is gone. Other states and local powers now struggle to control this area. Watch this movie to see what actually followed from a perspective of a young adult woman.

This film is based on facts and experiences of many witnesses.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Harrowing portrayal of massacres in Eastern Polish borders of 1941-43
shakercoola14 September 2018
A story set in the region of Eastern Poland bordering Ukraine called Volhynia during World War II. Its central theme is Polish-Ukrainian inter-ethnic hatred culminating in massacres of Poles. There were some crimes carried out by Poles on Ukrainians which has proved divisive. Nevertheless, the film is based on true events and true accounts from witnesses, and whilst it is a story about a young woman and her attempt to survive while mayhem surrounds her, it is a powerful drama. There are some scenes that will simply take the viewers' breath away by the graphic nature of the killings. The film is gripping, well acted, and probably one of the most controversial films for a generation.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Best war film I have ever seen !!!!
jayneocloud14 September 2018
I found this film the best war film I have ever seen. A must see film !!!
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a wasted opportunity!
eckert-karolina9 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
After watching this painfully long movie, I sat several minutes in disbelief. Such an important topic! Such a wasted opportunity! The movie concentrated on whitewashing Poles and tried to show them as martyrs - there was nonspace for doubt, free thinking, a bit of reflection. The complicated history of Western Ukraine is shown without any respect to its complexity. The movie forgets about centuries of Polish occupation of the land, broken promises, past conflicts. I was ao incredibly dissatisfied! It looked like the director tried to shock the audience with violence to cover up the lacking in political and sociological analysis. Many fragments - like the opening wedding sequence - were given way too much screen time, with others - political movements, for example - were just brushed on. Whole movie seemed quite off balance. And the pseudo- poetic, metaphorical ending was just too much. It is a shame that the writing and directing was so weak. It is also disappointing as this director is very capable- see Roza for example. I fear political influence of the many sponsors. There are few good performances, mostly from secondary characters. The main actress is a bit lifeless, she's only ok in opening sequence, but it might be the director 's vision - her defence mechanism to what's happening around her. Severely disappointed- don't waste your time. Read some smart essays about Volhynia online instead.
2 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Love not Hate your fellow man
bryangary6516 September 2018
Difficult watch this, but an important film to take in from start to finish

As I was not aware this actually happened.

Astonishing performance by Michalina Kabacz as Zosia.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed