Hunting Lands (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
A Teaser, Unfinished
beep-7392617 November 2019
I couldn't rate this movie lower because it did keep me watching until the end and it takes some talent for that to happen. However, it leaves you hanging to know what happens next and there is no next, which is frustrating to me. It is sort of like the pilot to a TV series but it's just a movie with no real ending or resolution.

It leaves you with many questions and there are implausible scenes that repeat several times which makes you wonder what the writer was thinking. Even though I enjoyed it, it's not a keeper so it won't go into my archive to see again and I've already forgotten the names of the writers and director.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Solid effort
Call-Me-Mr-Smith14 October 2019
Well crafted little movie, slow-paced but competently delivered. The story was probably the weakest link, being reduced to bare bones, leaving undeveloped characters, faulty dialogues and moments of yawn. However, this kinda fits into the overall vibe this move exudes, so the overall experience was mildly rewarding. I'd rate it somewhere between 4 and 5, and the final score reflects some unnecessary upvoting.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Strikingly gloomy and beautifully shot, Hunting Lands comes highly recommended.
JasonMcFiggins23 May 2019
Very voyeuristic and quiet, Hunting Lands is a highly compelling watch steeped in film noir. The crisp and clean feeling of the cold snow is skillfully contrasted with damaged, lost characters and shabby dwellings like seedy motels, small used car lots and townie bars. One sequence plays out like a silent film as body language tells the story while quiet, foreboding strings play over the action. The Hunting Lands title doesn't just refer to the woods where main character Frank lives. A large part of the film takes place on the streets of a small town as Frank is trailing his suspect, Lance. Lance is played by Joe Raffa, who exudes a nervous energy and looks perfectly smarmy behind his thick mustache, working mans tie, and LL Bean scarf. Because he is watched from a distance for half the film, Raffa's performance is largely silent, relying on physicality to portray his character and he is absolutely superb in the role. Strikingly gloomy and beautifully shot, Hunting Lands comes highly recommended.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It ends
gratefulzugore17 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Starts out okay but doesn't really explain anything, lots of questions, no answers. It just ends. Lots of room to "read into" the plot but no real answers.

Did the man try to kill the woman? Probably. Why did he dump her? Probably thought she was dead. However...

What if... She was actually the perpetrator and while the car sales man thought he killed her while defending himself?

What if she is a serial killer and now turns her homicidal desires to our hero?

What I'd our hero killed an innocent man?

We are somewhat led to champion out hero but he is a killer, murderer. No attempt to call police or ambulance, now there is a body to deal with and our hero may well be on the path to prison. That is.... If the psycho serial killer woman doesn't murder him first.

Who knows? Certainly not the audience.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This film could have been better ...
tkarlmann18 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Good is how I describe the film. So as not to spoil the film for you -- don't read any further.





Spoiler!!! Loved the scenery, acting; but the story seemed single-minded to me. Our main character just wanted vengeance on this evil man who wronged a woman, and left her for dead in the cold wilderness. Our hero follows the evil man around incessantly. I kept wishing he would pick up her clothes, which the Bad Guy throws away -- but he didn't. Instead the hero invites our Bad Guy hunting, then in the closing scene he ... well, watch the film. I wish there was more about the woman, but that was not on the man's mind. So the film was sort of single-minded for me; and I was left unsatisfied with the ending.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting film.
katcocat17 November 2019
I found this film to be very interesting. The cinematography was incredible but what really sets it apart is the lack of dialogue. Huge portions of the film have no dialogue at all yet still grip the viewer and tell a clear story. Its very clever. The ending was too abrupt for me. I'd have preferred more resolution. Perhaps though, that would have let the entire film down. Excellent performances from the two leads and great direction too. Well worth watching.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
What was that??
katslzoo26 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
While the actors were very good...the plot stinks. Too much driving and trailing and hunting for it to end like it did!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Boooooooooring!
j2k_20 November 2019
This film had quite a promising start, but at the end of the first act, the story stiltifies to a glacial pace and becomes so crushingly dull the 83 minute runtime feels like 83 hours.

We watch our man (who's a little wooden in his hadful of speaking scenes, but otherwise quite credible) follow his target around in a pick-up for a dialogue-less eon to seemingly no end whatsoever. .. and the finale does absoluey nothing to resolve the plot. For such a simple story to not even be resolved is just a confounding finger in the eye to all those viewers who showed so much patience and determination slogging their way to the end.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed