Unsolved: The Murders of Tupac and the Notorious B.I.G. (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
26 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Very detailed- Well cast and well researched. A TV series that puts the hollywood versions of these stories to shame.
jmosser-9909912 March 2018
This is a very good investigative biopic. While most productions will focus on either Tupac or Biggie, this one takes on the daunting task of exploring both mudrers and tying them together, and really does a great job of it. With so many expose's in recent years in conjunction with the 20th anniversaries of the murders, from the Fox Tv special featuring Ice Cube, to the BET production focusing on the rise and fall of Death Row records, I wasnt expecting much going in, as it seems at this point that the angles of these murders have been explored ad nauseum. But as someone who was a fan of both artists who has closely followed the careers and investigations into their deaths, I must say the producers did an excellent job of taking a step back and looking at these murders from a fresh perspective.

Instead of trying to put forth any one prevailing theory as so many of the other investigative productions about Tupac and Biggie have done, this one really implores the viewer to think like an investigator and look at all possible angles and motives, even those that may seem far-fetched. I was expecting more of the same old Tupac and Biggie revisionist crap and thought it might be worthy of a quick laugh, but I was very pleasantly surprised. There is actually a great deal of substance here. This was excellently researched and there was clearly a lot of time, thought and effort put into this production, which in and of itself seems rare for productions today as so much tv and movies now operate from half baked premises and poorly thought out plot-lines, to the point that is condescending and insulting to the viewer's intelligence.

There is a lot of primary source word for word information here that is far more in depth than many of the other investigative documentaries about these subjects. It's so surprisingly detailed and accurate that the viewer forgets it is dramatization. This is almost to a fault because the casual viewer would assume that a USA miniseries would be mostly fake and embellished and won't realize just how authentic much of the story is to real life.

Beyond just the solid research and exploration of facts, the dramatizations here are also very detailed and very well executed. For example,it is obvious that they did not have the rights to Biggies music, so instead of having his character perform generic sounding hip hop, they actually took the time to create their own original music, writing and producing songs that incorporate many of his catchphrases and vocal inflections with very similar sounding beats. While this idea sounds cringe-worthy, they actually did such a good job that it sounds like you might actually be listening to authentic unreleased Biggie material.

The casting is impeccable. The character of Tupac is flawlessly executed, much better than in previous attempts such as all eyes on me. Biggie is also very well cast. But what is really amazing is how well some of the smaller characters were treated such as Suge and most especially Tupac's bodyguard Frank Alexander who is portrayed exceptionally well. The detail here can't be overstated as they really capture the mannerisms, speech patterns, physical appearance, build and wardrobe of these four characters to an absolute T.

The one character that seems to take a wide departure from his real life counterpart is that of Detective Russel Poole, upon whom the entire mini-series is based. I assume since he is the main focus, the producers wanted to spice this character up a bit, as when you see actual footage of him he looked and talked nothing like the way he is portrayed here. They give him a little bit of an edge and even an inter-department love interest which seems purely fictitious. To be honest, some of the exchanges between the cops are a bit overdramatized and slightly cliched and somewhat campy. They also portray Poole as having the full support and resources of the LAPD at his disposal, however he mentioned numerous times in real life interviews that he lacked support and was often stonewalled by his department which ultimately led to his investigations being closed inconclusively and his early retirement from the force. Even though this is not authentic, it is helpful because it causes the viewer to think how they might solve the cases if they had full resources and support of the LAPD.

And that ultimately is what makes this series so great, is that it causes the viewer to think. Instead of just regurgitating the often quoted popular narrative of the 'nothing to see here folks' simple gang retaliation story put forth by Greg Kading that has been the main focus of most Biggie and Tupac productions in recent years, Unsolved really lives up to it's title by exploring multiple viewpoints and raising some of the many important unanswered questions about these cases, underscoring the fact that even 20 years later they still remain unsolved.

It even touches on the often overlooked aspects of LAPD corruption and the officers who worked in deathrow records security, some of whom were also named in the infamous Rampart division scandal around the same time. They also touch on head of death row security Reggie Wright, whose father was head of the Compton gang unit before the Compton PD was disbanded for corruption, this angle alone providing enough material for it's own documentary. This is just one example of the many real life details explored in this in depth dramatization of real events. Many potential suspects full actual names are given, so much so, one wonders how some of this passed muster through the legal department.

There are so many interesting parallels and unanswered questions about these highly complex investigations, and Unsolved does a great job of incorporating them without relying on an oversimplified open and shut approach for the sake of wrapping things up in a nice neat package for the viewer. It simply poses the hard questions and allows the viewer to draw their own conclusions. The production values are incredible for a tv miniseries. The reenactment of Tupac's shooting is the most thorough and detailed I have seen, and there have been many attempts over the years. Overall this is an unexpectedly good series that will satisfy even the most hardcore and knowledgeable Tupac and Biggie fans. It also appeals to the non rap fan casual viewer who enjoys good crime investigation in the vein of first 48 or CSI. It's a shame that it will be overlooked by many simply because so many Tupac and biggie features have already been done, but this one is truly unique and rises near the top of the list.
56 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly good
nickdnk11 March 2018
I watched this with some skepticism since many attempts at Biggie and Tupac have failed miserably in the past, most recently the Tupac movie - but this is really good. The cast is great and the show has incredible historical detail. Important parts are told with a mix of new shots with actors and homevideos and photos of the actual events from 96 and 97. I had goosebumps on quite a few occasions. Definitely worth a watch, even for people who don't have any interest in the music or icons that are Tupac Shakur and The Notorious B.I.G.
42 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent show
Elizabethchivers22 June 2018
I really didn't know what to expect before watching, but I have completely gotten sucked into the incredible story line and the tremendous acting. I highly recommend this series.
16 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
THIS SERIAL CONVINCED ME
adriano-4001226 June 2018
I can admit this serial is underrated. For those who are interested on Pac & Biggie Story and were disappointed by the latest biopic about Pac and the awful Notorious biopic. They'll like this.

First of all I was excited cause my friend advise me to watch this and then I found out Marcc Rose the actor who played Pac in the Straight Outta Compton movie is representing Pac again. I was hyped after this I even forgot about Like Cage Season II.

Secondly I was afraid about conspiracy theories. I didn't knew anything about the investigations and all the suspects around and the possibility that the LAPD was involved in both cases and they tried to deny it. So many views. They really kept in on a good level even better on a fantastic level to enjoy and being excited to the end. It's no Hollywood overdramatizing. It's really based on the true story.

Thirdly I got a Faible for hiphop & investigations ( True Detective ) both combined is really enjoyable for me. I can tell you guys I wasn't a big fan of Josh Duhamel and haven't seen more than 1 movie of him, but his acting was decent. Anyone who critizies the acting in Unsolved is way too harsh. And it's even more ridiculous when anyone argues about the looks of P Diddy & Snoop Dogg representing actors. Suge, Pac & Biggie, Russell Poole and many others were perfect so you can tell the cast was good chosen.

I can really text a lot, but you should watch it if you ever were interested in Biggie's and Pac's homicides. I MENTION THIS IS NOT ABOUT THEIR WHOLE MUSIC CAREER. They still show enough scenes about their music careee and a lot of background stuff, but it's balanced with those investigations from the early 90's and 06.
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show, all around!
momosity30 May 2018
I confess I only watched because I'm a big fan of Josh Duhamel and Jimmi Simpson, but I was blown away by how good the overall cast and writing were. Having seen both theatrical bio-pics on Biggie and Tupac, this one really brought a lot more hypothetical possibilities to the story. We still don't know who killed these talented young men (not a spoiler, as the show's printed messaging reveals no arrests were made), but this was a very worthwhile effort. Having Wendell Pierce (from "The Wire") in the cast made it that much more authentic.

Also, good for Josh Duhamel to get away from all those romantic comedies! We knew how great he can be given the right material. :)
18 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The illest
aatilingservices5 July 2018
All eyez on me was a let down but this is well deserved for the fans
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The absolute complete series
soirk30 September 2018
It came out of nowhere onto my Netflix list. I've listened to hip hop since school and lived off 2pac. It was a case of "why not"? Made in a similar style to True Detective-the first series which was mint not the second series- as it jumps through the timelines of the '97 inquiry into the biggie killing, the '07 case as a result of biggies mum pursuing justice and the timeline of B.I.G and PAC growing into the music game, the friendship and then the ultimate demise.

Incredible story, with great acting, great filming and a sensational soundtrack. Even if you hate rap and the two rappers in question, the story is worthy of anyone's attention. Watch this series and you won't be disappointed.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Interesting to see a program telling the truth
mishack-356-44255016 March 2018
My first review but a short one. This program is good enough to say it's portraying our avenue about the Tupac and biggie murders from police killings to him being alive. Give it a watch.
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprisingly Good
da_gopsta26 June 2018
I genuinely didn't know what to expect when I decided to give the first episode a look; I thought it'd be a documentary at first.

Of course, I quickly learned otherwise, and was soon gripped. I have no idea at how accurate it was, but simply focusing on it as though the story was pure fiction, I did find it very entertaining. Not everything was perfect, but it is definitely an enjoyable watch. Even if you're not into Biggie & Tupac, if you're into cop/detective dramas, celebrity lifestyle, hood films and so on, you'll really enjoy it, and that's why I gave this a 9.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very entertaining
anavodnik-5770921 June 2018
I don't know if they've got all the facts right, but then again they never claim to do so. At the beginning of each episode they state some things might be dramatized for the shows sake and I must say I haven't once felt like this caused any problems for the story.

Overall the series is compelling and entertaining, if you are interested in the murders of Biggie and Tupac but don't know much about the topic this would be a good place to start researching and learning, although it does get a bit confusing at times, so be sure to pay attention all the way. It's not one of those scrolling-through-your-timeline-while-watching-netflix kind of thing, which by itself makes it a pretty good series.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Illuminating but a bit hard to follow
jakep35 August 2019
Very compelling story and loaded with information I otherwise had only passing knowledge about. Good production value and well acted. Nice biographical stuff too, aside from the crimes. Really strong show overall.

My only gripe is that given all the moving parts, the large cast of characters and their various nicknames, it might not have been the best choice to jump around in time with the story. I really had to focus to keep from getting lost, and even then I feel like there was a lot I missed.

Having said that, it was well done enough to watch again at some point and take in all the details.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Case Everyone taked about it, but no one talked
dale-516499 March 2019
Most people remeber the press when Tupac was shot, then what looked like retaliation when Biggie got shot too. Interesting series about the frustration of solving a case when no one would talk. "Snitches get stitches " was Mo than just a cliche . The production quality is kind of low rent, but some good acting, like a pocket of stubborn faltus, fights it's way out . The main theme of the story is officer Poole, a detective that gets so caught up in the hi profile nature of the case that he kinda goes off the rails "his own seff ". I guess star "F'k&'s come in all colors and creeds, and professions , including detective . Good series kept from being great by the (chick part) vomit inducing "home life " scenes where cops struggle with wives , so awkwardly inserted you would think it was more a public service announcement than part of the plot , complete w violins...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good biography
xrandersontm1 January 2019
This isnt the perfect show but it really is the best biography of Tupac and Biggie. If you are a big fan like me, dont waste your time watching movies like All Eyez on Me. That movie is the worst mirror of Tupac ever. Even tho it was good I cant go bigger than 7. This is not close to shows like Narcos, Ozark and Cocaine Coast which are rated 8 shows. So yeah, I recommend it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A mixed bag
Majikat761 July 2018
A compelling series and one that shows many details that I was unaware of. I have watched a couple of documentaries, heard the conspiracy theories, do we get closer to the truth?

Admittedly, unless you're a die hard fan, it is a struggle to get through, but something drives you to the end.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This Unsolved is now solved (due to Baby Lane and Poochie are both real shooters)
miigz31 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Due to all years from 1996 and 1997 to today, I believe now that Orlando Tive "Baby Lane"Anderson and Wardell "Poochie" Fouse are known shooters that killed the rappers. So now on, that two shooters are killed and murdered in Compton.

R.I.P. Orlando Anderson (1974 - 1998) : was shot to death by a single gunwound to the chest and shortly dies along with two men that are also killed. R.I.P. Poochie (1960 - 2003) : was shot 10 times in the back and killed/murdered while riding his motorcycle down Central Ave., in Compton.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent
JhJohnny30 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I've watched this several months ago and I can remember it was really good. This has long been an interesting subject for me and I really enjoyed the acting, the production quality, musical choises, pretty much everything. That last scene was really dramatic, the song they choosed was perfect. Watch it!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very interesting
pdmaynooth5 May 2019
I prefer metal/heavy rock , really didn't know anything about Tupac/Biggie smalls. I just stumbled upon this show on Netflix and I really enjoyed it. I don't know how factually correct it is but it tells a great story and left me feeling sad for the deaths of two young talented men. The two mothers were well represented and the acting for detective Poole by jimmi Simpson really portrayed a man under immense strain. Excellent show , well told story
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Murder
mikepurp1 May 2019
People who can't be trusted shouldn't be around. Emotions get involved a lot in this world daily. Staying in prayer is the best option.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Solved!
young-erika6515 April 2019
This is the BEST!!! Show about the unsolved mystery of Tupac & Notorious BIG Death than any other Movie . Ignore the other Documents. Pay Close attention to "Unsolved" They Nailed it!🎤
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good and well written mini drama
Serenity300020 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I was shocked that I actually enjoyed this mini series based on the unsolved murders of Tupac and Notorious BIG. Some of the facts I already knew: For example the real killers of Tupac and Big. Since both men are dead, I don't know why the cases haven't been closed, but all of the evidence pointed in their direction and I'm satisfied with the outcome of the story. The acting was very good, the only weak link I noticed was with the actor who played Russ. Woodbine always brings it as an actor in all of his movies. So I highly recommend this mini series that is currently in Netflix.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
No solution
kosmasp16 November 2018
The title says it all and while that should be a deal breaker, the show still is able to reel you in. Maybe they do find something. And in a way they do, but I won't say what. You may also be able to make up your own mind and/or see new conspiracies. Some may make sense, others may be too much. There is almost nothing that has not been said I reckon, but it's really well depicted in the 10 part show here.

And while there was a Christopher (Biggie) Wallace and a Tupac (Shakur) movie too, there are still things here, that may surprise some people. The setting is not simple either, as the murders themselves. You get 3 different timelines. Before/during the murders, right after the BIG murder and a decade after that. The latter being kicked off ... well you'l see while watching. Intriguing to say the least, but also quite draining. Not to mention sad - and even though some may hope for a different outcome: It's inevitable! Great acting overall with something that really happened (though some things may be heightened)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good series about the superstar murders with some ill advised PC pandering
dale-516493 March 2019
The unsolved murders of the two rappers Biggie and Tupac are familiar to most rap and non rap fans alike. The series is written in an entertaining way, good script and some good acting. It's strange, some of the acting is good, while in other scenes where they read lines more like porn players , as though there were good actors with a bad director, or vis versa. Storyline shows an interesting mix of detective work mixed with office politics and family drama. However, it went from a great to a good show with the annoying pandering and PC insertion of kiddy birthday parties and cringe inducing family scenes complete with ubiquitous Dad groveling because he "works too much", forced laughter and the ever popular head pat hair scrunching. YUK ! Too bad this wasn't made 20 years ago, BEFORE writers were infected with the PC virus.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Pointless
brightspark-782393 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The whole intrigue of the murders of rappers Tupac and Notorious is that nobody really knows who killed them or why. If this series had shed some light on the subject, or even proffered some kind of theory, then maybe it could have been interesting, or even mildly entertaining. What we get instead is two identical and tedious investigations, a decade apart, neither of which leads anywhere or discovers anything whatsoever. A complete waste of time.
4 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Hard work
kevinbarry8928 June 2018
Had not had any detailed knowledge of the story before I decided to watch the show. Knew who the main characters were but not any of the back story of the killings.

I got bored thru many of the episodes and felt the 10 episodes was excessive.

Especially the cops stories they just went on and on. The parts with the rappers and music lifted the show to watchable.

Some of the acting was very wooden especially Josh Duhamel who seemed to get worse as the episodes went on. Not sure if we were supposed to feel sorry for him or what, but as it went on it felt like waiting for your old dog to die before you have to bring him to the vet for the last jab, very uncomfortable.

Was hard to keep focused at times and although the start and the middle caught you at some point the ending was very poor.

Overall some very good parts but far too many bland 10 to 15 minutes sequences where just nothing happened.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Lacks a lot of credibility
mariamakesmusic1 July 2018
Lots of melodrama and over-acting that serves more to glorify and exploit the truth. It was a hard to watch this series and with only two episodes left my judgment isn't with haste. It took watching this to realize how wrong it is to stretch a story beyond the facts to make money off these two dead legends. They were both so talented. The best thing to do is to stop watching this and start listening to their music - appreciate the talent and relish a style of rap that will never be recreated but will always stand the test of time.
3 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed