Icebox (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
WOW!
blrlicious10 December 2018
I was left in tears! The show was very powerful. I can relate to the pain and hardship that little Oscar is dealing with. I have witnessed it first hand. Very powerful performances! A must watch!
16 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Honestly told
fmwongmd10 December 2018
This has the feel of an honestly told story. I don't know if it's true but the emotions are genuine. A story well told, well acted, and well directed.
15 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WHAT is up with the rating?!
lukas-ingel11 February 2019
I do not understand how this masterpiece can be so overlooked. I was terrified going into it as if it would turn cheesefest or whatever at any moment - hence the 5.7 stars. The rating in here is completely insane. All I really have to say: Go watch this gem for yourself. You'll see. I mean, unless you're Donald Trump? Or Hitler? Or a close-minded supporter? I, honestly, have no idea whom else would dislike it, and I *rarely* say that. As someone who loves studying characters and story structure, this was incredibly pleasing. It's complex, fast-paced, gritty and honest but with a great amount of heart. The fact that this is the reality for some people ... it's mad. I'm speechless, and ashamed that I haven't thought more about what the whole immigrant situation was like, even though I knew it was bad. I guess it comes to show once again that movies do serve for more than entertainment - and with its authenticity and high quality-making, Icebox qualifies as one of those movies everybody could gain from.

  • I guess there are some sort of minor flaw somewhere that I don't really care at all about?
+ Everything character ++ Everything structure +++ That court room-climax scene!

(do not recommend to: Trump, Hitler's ghost, Trump supporters and neo nazis, in all seriousness, do not recommend to people who expect light hearted material; read the synopsis though, and I'll laugh if you think you're in for that)
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great channel surfing find!
momtobrokegirls15 December 2018
I saw the info about this movie while surfing through channels. It was already on and I had no intentions on watching a movie already in progress. Needless to say I didn't find another movie to watch, didn't even look for one until it went off. If it isn't a true story it could be. The acting, the storyline just everything about this movie feels authentic.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Topical Masterpiece
emailtombuchanan9 December 2018
Icebox is a compelling topical masterpiece that tells the story of a young boy in Honduras who is attacked by a vicious street gang and flees to the United States, where he is captured by immigration authorities and held in a cage-camp. It's an amazing drama about life inside the chaotic immigration system, and the subjective destruction of young lives. The story is well told in Spanish with English subtitles, and is a must see for every American in whose name children are held in cages.
22 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Compelling, yet disheartening
pmpmn99 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I found myself frustrated at every setback Oscar faced, yet still hopeful that somehow, someone would come through for him. It seemed that at every step things were stacked against him. It was a real emotional roller coaster. At the hearing, I started to see the pitfall he was being lured into and I began to holler the the TV, telling him to answer, "no" repeatedly, but it was too late. Oscar was honest, but the system wasn't. This is a system that treats victimized children, who cannot protect themselves against criminals, as though they are adults who have choices and autonomy that they don't have and denies them rights (eg. the right to a lawyer to represent them in a trial and then assumes they have waived that right voluntarily, when it was never offered to them in the first place) that would help them to succeed.

Anthony Gonzalez plays the role of Oscar very well, IMO. He really got me on Oscar's side and wanting him to find an adult ally who would stand in his corner and go to bat for him. At the end, I was so sad for him. It seemed to foreshadow the kind of future he might have, becoming like his uncle, not trusting people, always being wary and afraid of losing everything. America always seems to be the only place to go and yet, when people get there, it's just another place to keep running and hiding in fear rather than a place of comfort and peace.
17 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Powerful film
fitnessmedic18 May 2019
Most people will never experience what life is like for an immigrant. This movie follows the story of a child in the current administration. It will touch your soul and give you a glimpse into the world that has been created for many seeking refugee and peace.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Timely and Human Case Study
ybutler22019 December 2018
Outside of the sensationalist headlines surrounding the issue of immigration in America, the film manages to not only take a nuanced look at the complexity and humanity of the search for a better life. Yes, this is a sensitive subject, but the film works very hard to give audiences a chance to see past the political talking points and address more intimate issues of survival, friendship, and family.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed