Alex, Inc. (TV Series 2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
41 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Trying too hard
kimsher30 March 2018
It might just be that I like my sitcoms edgier, but I found the first episode too packaged, too diluted, too manufactured in a network conference room. Maybe like a show produced by a machine that has been developed to make "hit sitcoms" versus humans who are funny actually gathering in a room to write a funny sitcom. I don't want to generalize network vs. cable/streaming because there are some other network shows I find appealing, but if "network" has a stereotype of "appeal to the masses because they are too dumb to understand clever writing," this would be a good representation of that. I was just disappointed b/c I enjoy Zach Braff & wanted it to be better.
23 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not Scrubs, but nothing is...
gschild2230 March 2018
Zach Braf delivers. Is the show silly? Yes. Are there moments where "JD" shines through Alex? Definitely. I think it's early days yet, but I think this will be a heartfelt family driven comedy that shines a light on Braff as a father trying to have the American dream in a cynical time in US history.
29 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
One season and done.
LiquidPoetry192130 March 2018
With all the comedy show's viewers have available to them each week, I can't see them tuning into 'Alex, Inc'. after one viewing.

Fans of 'Scrubs' might remember Braff narrating each episode...and he does the same thing here. Hey, if the premise worked once why not do it again? Because it's old and stale, that's why. Very 90's.

The storyline isn't fresh either. A guy gets sick of working at his corporate job and decides to venture out on his own ~ deceiving his wife in the process. Honestly can't recommend this show, or give it more than 3*.
27 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Can't take the camera movements!
bwpstl6 April 2018
I was trying to watch it to see if I'd like it. I was a big fan of Scrubs and average fan of Zach Braff. But honestly, I couldn't make it past 10 minutes. The intentional shaking of the camera even as the actors are just sitting at the table was hard to watch. Today, it seems that "newer" sitcoms have to zip from scene to scene, zoom in, zoom out to keep peoples attention and while I'm not a fan of that, this sitcom the camera actually just shakes from side to side, up and down for NO reason whatsoever. Deleted the show before it even reached 10 minutes and deleted any future scheduled recordings. So, my review doesn't even address the quality of the acting and/or writing because of the intentional camera shaking. Maybe I'm 1 of only a few people who have a problem with this but this is 1 viewer who couldn't even watch it to properly review it.
19 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Garbage
matthijsalexander4 April 2018
The show, based on the pilot: Corny writing. Story not compelling. Created for the sake of creating content. Bad acting all around.

The story: not worth a synopsis. Family man starts his own company at 37. Wife & two kids blah blah....

It was surprising to see how incredibly bad an actor Zach Braff is. Makes one wonder how he pulled off scrubs.
27 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
it's just cheap... and also bad
Nus526 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I feel like people who give it 10 stars are studio heads who look at like it needs to check all those certain boxes. Like the sexually suggestive wallflower type of assistant/librarian nerd character who says these things without realizing, which then must be immediately explained to the audience. Next they go into the "nerd factory" where they build an automatic cradle, which they somehow manage to turn into a catapult just for the cheap laugh of throwing a baby at the wall. And that's what this is about; extremely cheap and bad jokes, and a wanna-be Steve Jobs who wants to change the world, except he is also the best dad ever. Of course the Kids don't know what a VCR is, cause that's cool and so referential and hip on twitter.

If they had at least put some effort into making it feel organic. Ever looked at those great sitcoms. They all felt somewhat real. This doesn't. It's almost worse than Youtube originals.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
canceled
Defapa1 April 2018
"Alex, Inc" will be canceled mark my words by far the worst writing totally unoriginal why do they make these same derivative old sitcoms with lazy jokes meant to portray frantic and neurotic people such lame comedy and Zach Braf just comes off as annoying just watching him i want to hit myself with the tip of a hammer just so i could forget ever watching him he is just really boring not funny and bad at acting sorry scrub fans maybe scrubs had better writers because who ever is writing "Alex, Inc" straight vomit.
32 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of a Half Hour
vintagegeek17 May 2018
Just another one of those new wave type shows with fast jibber jabber between characters with no personality. The situations are stupid. Characters have no common sense. Plus there really is no comedy.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Frantic and Silly
patricia9224330 March 2018
I found it so boring that I could not even watch it all.
26 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I LOVE THIS SHOW!!
vls-3539419 April 2018
I read through most of your reviews and the (ONE) star reviews folks, you are just so far off base. This is a 1/2 hour - comedy - show, or what I think is a REAL reality show. What a bunch of negativity you are all expressing. Go back to Criminal Minds or Survivor if you want depth and GREAT acting. What are we doing here? Are we reviewing the series TRUST, or even Designated Survivor? For those of us who are busy and work MANY hours in the day, Alex, Inc. is a welcome departure at the end of my day. I love every one of these characters and I appreciate the richness of their lineage that is explored with their children (and mother-in-law)! The most recent show with the India Holi was FANTASTIC! Here in Boulder we actually have a race and appreciation party with a Holi and it is fantastic. There are many people here expressing that they "Want their sitcoms EDGIER"!! Who are you kidding?? Sitcoms, of which I NEVER watch much at all, are not edgy, they should be just fun and enlightening to a small piece of maybe another culture you aren't aware of. I am so glad to see this show and I love Zach, loved him in Scrubs many years ago, he has always been very funny and I just am happy you brought this to me. I see Alex, Inc. in my DVR and I know I am going to be laughing, I MEAN SNOT OUT MY NOSE LAUGHING. Text or email me if you think I am not telling the truth, when he blew himself out of the chair and did a huge face plant on the concrete office floor, I was BA-HOOING!!!! Thank you for the show.
19 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
dunndarla19 April 2018
There is absolutely nothing funny about this show. Five minutes in and I find myself just looking at the TV and wishing it would explode.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
bethchille18 April 2018
This show isn't funny & the actors seem to be phoning it in. The only passable actor is the son, but he was so annoying!
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Sadly
NeutralWord3 May 2018
There are plenty of shows out there that i dont "like" but when bored its still ok to watch it to kill some time. This show doesnt have anything in particular that stands out that makes me go thats what i dont like its just boring, but i find it unwatchable.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
weak sitcom
SnoopyStyle17 May 2018
Alex Schuman (Zach Braff) has a nice radio job with a sweet lawyer wife Rooni and the two kids. He decides to quit his job for this new risky podcasting thing. He is joined by his cousin Eddie (Michael Imperioli) and adoring assistant Deirdre. They rent space from a startup incubator group.

This is based on Alex Blumberg's book on his podcast startup process. It may be only a few years old but it feels like another era. It's hard to make podcasting as something edgy in present day. They are better off setting this five to ten years earlier. It's a wacky network sitcom and it matters how the workplace is presented. As for the cast, I love Braff ever since Srubs and I like the interracial family. Otherwise, there isn't much else and it's mercifully canceled after ten episodes.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Give it a chance
cyarbro-0770726 April 2018
Every sitcom takes a few episodes to get its audience. I realize I'm a 61 year old woman and no one cares what they think, but.... I love it. Zach Braff is appealing as ever, as is the rest of the cast: Tiya Sircar, Michael Imperioli, Hillary Anne Matthews, ... Sorry kids you're great, I'm just tired of looking up names. I only came on here to find out what city it takes place in (still don't know) and was appalled at the unfavorable reviews. I hated That 70's Show when I watched the first episode, even though it was totally my era, and I never watched it until 2010 in syndication. It's brilliant. I don't know that Alex, Inc. will be brilliant, but how the freakin' hell did Full House and One Day at a Time make it past one season?!
12 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
unwatchable, horrible script
AziziOthmanMY21 May 2018
Zach Braff did a number on me in this series. i don't see why this series will be renewed in the future.

Horrible casting and the script (OMG) was horrible. I hope i'm wrong but this really sucks because i really like Zach. He's a funny guy but he can't be in a specific setting especially this one.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The kind of show that cancels itself
esmad3-216-4752243 May 2018
Uninteresting characters, an uninteresting premise, a dated format, and also absolutely nothing interesting to say. The only good thing about it is if you can appreciate the meta of a series about a go-getting upstarter being such an expression of comedic laziness and complacency.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Hire talented writers.
skippennypat13 April 2018
This is the worst written sitcom I have ever watched. The cast, on the other hand, shows a lot of promise. Please give them decent scripts.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Has good potential
thisismevs26 April 2018
I have seen so many "comedy" serues where you stare at the screen for seasons wating for it to make me laugh, but this one actually does the job well, and also I love the kids in the show, they are really funny. So I going to go a little optimistic and give it a very good score.
8 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Everyone on this show is an awful person.
klown01316 April 2018
I don't think it's an intentional move, but somehow the writers of this show managed to make every character a horrible, annoying selfish person. The kids who treat their parents like garbage and need everything "RIGHT NOW!!!!!". the wife that nags and nags and nags and nags and nags and nags...... The selfish as hell husband that quits his job to follow a stupid as hell dream running a podcast (because that pays the bills) and not only that - it's a podcast about his horrible family. This show is so far up it's own ass I can honestly say I HATE IT AND EVERYONE INVOLVED IN IT'S CREATION. Do yourself a favor and throw on some Scrubs reruns instead. Or just punch yourself in the genitals for 22 minutes. Also more entertaining then this.
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Waste of Eiectricity
kennoncarter10 May 2018
I thought my TV was going to weep because it had to play this crap. Horrible show
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great to see Zach again, but...
rubyloco29 March 2018
The real standout here is Elisha Henig. If you feel like you recognize him, he played the part of Mohammed, the muslim boy, in the Mr. Robot episode "Don't Delete Me".

His part in this show, Ben, is much more lighthearted (obviously), and even silly, but that just shows at such a young age that he already has such range in his acting.

The show was amusing, and I hope it gets a chance to find its footing. I know one thing, for sure: we haven't seen the last of Elisha.
10 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Show (Especially if you loved Scrubs)
shanedavidmcintosh30 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This show was great. Zach Braff is one of the most sincerely entertaining and comedic actors out there. If you watched scrubs, then you fell in love with J.D's ditzy, funny, lighthearted but deep personality....which means you will love this show and Zach's character.

P.S. The song at the end when they drive into the airport is Joshua Radin. Which was played all throughout Scrubs. If you know anything about Zach Braff, you will know that it's no coincidence.
13 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Zach Braff Is His Usual Funny Self
atlasmb5 April 2018
The first episode of this new series brought few surprises. The show relies considerably upon the likability of Zach Braff, which is considerable. He is self-deprecating and possesses a boyish charm that is infectious. Fortunately--for those who may not be infected--the writing is good enough stand on its own, as episode two proves.

The show is about a family guy (Alex Schuman) who decides to leave his job and become his own boss. Ironically, his 3-person office is located in a shared space, so he has to obey the rules of the building.

All of the main actors--portraying his wife, his kids, and his two coworkers--are capable and enjoyable. I think Hillary Anne Matthews, who plays Deirdre, the quirky assistant, is a hoot.

Episode two had me laughing out loud a few times. In one part, Alex mentions that he is really good at improv, then proceeds to break the first rule of improv (Always agree with whatever your improv partner has created), with funny results.

This show is not edgy or complicated. It is just humorous, though you may find a moral or two within its narrative.
8 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Cute, but nothing new
slkellygoo20 May 2018
I've given this show half a season, more or less. I like Zach Braff and really hoped for something special. Unfortunately... it's just very "blah". The premise, to me, is extremely dated. I'm sure, obviously, there is still a lot of risk in starting a "vlog" as a sole source of income. But.... this really feels more relevant in 2008 than in 2018. The risks, rewards, perils, etc are pretty well defined at this point. This makes everything about the story feel dated and trite. In the end, it feels like they fight to lay standard sit-com tropes over a "fresh" concept that is anything but fresh. Ten episodes. I can't really see giving it more of a chance. :\
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed