Somewhere Between (TV Series 2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
221 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
bad bad acting
lauraluxelifestyle3 September 2017
Goodness what a bad actress! Every move she makes is way over the top! The story is good but she is so over the top. Acting is about giving a subtle option to a situation. She is all over the place I think she needs acting lessons She needs to review her acting presentation She sighs all the time, her every facial expression is over the top which makes the viewer conscious of the fact that she is over acting. the other actors are OK which brings her exaggerated performance even more into discussion. enough!
161 out of 198 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Smh
spencerdeshields28 July 2018
That little daughter irritating af...I swear I hate her ...I don't care what ya say (fight me) lol
127 out of 157 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Give it a try & don't listen to all these bad reviews!!!
krw1262 August 2017
Okay, so I actually NEVER review shows but come on people!? Somewhere Between is actually a really interesting show with dynamic characters and boat loads of suspense. I'm confused by all of the negative reviews.

No, I've never seen the original Korean series so I didn't have the same expectations going into this. However, I did read these reviews. I actually deleted my recording and wasn't even going to give it a chance. Thankfully my parents told me they loved it. So I watched the first episode... then the second... then the third. My only complaint? I can't binge the rest of the series yet.

Is it the best show I've ever watched? No. Is it good TV? Yes.

I recommend you give it a try as well.
134 out of 170 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
worth a watch
andrearedden20 September 2017
I am glad i did not read the negative reviews before watching this show as i might not have watched it. I enjoyed every minute and was hanging waiting for the next weeks episode, It had its twists and turns that kept you interested week to week i have never reviewed a show before but felt that this show did not deserve all the negatives it is receiving if you like crime/thriller shows you should enjoy it
64 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Good story but bad acting by leading female actors
nazaretdreef2 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
It would be an excellent mini-series if it weren't for the bad acting of the leading actresses. Paula Patton acts over-concerned, over-punitively or over-loving all the time, this is really an example of overacting. She is not even good enough for a role in a B-movie like she acts here.

Then the kid, Serena, if I should call her a kid: she is a smart ass. That might be the role she has to take on, but she is so arrogant, that you don't even feel sorry for her when something would happen to her. Like, wow, luckily the little brat is gone.

The side characters and the leading men actors were very good and realistic. They made me watch the series till the end.
77 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Stick With It
Sumpmonster7 November 2018
This is a strange little tale. It starts off badly, very badly. Hyper annoying children combined with some poor acting and a weak script almost had me close to turning off. Fortunately Episode 1 is no more than a premise set up and things improve significantly as the series progresses. An unbelievably drab looking Patton (still gorgeous) and Sawa as a burn out ex-cop do a decent job holding this together. It's not rocket science, but worthwhile for passing some cold winter nights in front of the TV.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
annoying kid
SnoopyStyle20 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A serial killer is on the loose. TV producer Laura Price and her husband District Attorney Tom Price have a young daughter named Serena. Former cop Nico Jackson tries to collect $60k from Laura but he's been set up. His brother Danny Jackson is on death row after being prosecuted by Tom for the murder of Nico's girlfriend. Their mother Grace Jackson is desperate to prove Danny's innocence. Psychic Sarneau warns Laura of an impending loss and interconnected fate. The serial killer kidnaps Serena and kills her. The governor reinstates the death penalty and Danny is next to die. Nico is thrown into a lake by thugs. He escapes to find Laura trying to drown herself nearby. They crawl out of the water to find themselves eight days earlier before Serena's abduction. Sarneau is gone who turns out to be Nico's former fiancee's mother. Laura and Nico team up to try to change history as they uncover a conspiracy.

This is adapted from a Korean show. I'm not a big fan of Paula Patton's acting which consists of varying degrees of near-cry. The story starts with an intriguing premise although the conspiracy rabbit hole is rather convoluted. It goes so fast that most plot holes are ignored. Much of it can be forgiven but I can't stand the kid. Some will say she's sassy but that's a short distance from bratty. Bratty kids are a pet peeve of mine unless they can be funny. This girl ain't funny. She's a know-it-all brat and she gets on my nerves. I'm perfectly happy to have her dead so I don't have to see her. The character drains all the fun from the show.
40 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
So bad that I had to write my first review
djangogirl-1235830 September 2018
The story is very appealing and that's what got me into watching the series. As I'm writing this, I am finishing the second episode.

First two minutes into the show I thought how bad the acting is. I've seen the main actress in few movies and her acting skills were okay, pretty average but not bad. But in this show! Oh my! But let's be fair, no one acts good in this show.

Too bad for this good storyline.
46 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bad acting dooms this show
mtjohnson-6100125 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Watching this show was the equivalent to watching a terrible "B"movie. The acting was so bad it was painful to actually watch. The attempt to pull on emotional strings by having the daughter be the target of the killer fell flat in the acting and the script. There is not much more to be said here, watch at your own risk. I do feel this show snatched an hour of my life I can't get back but never again.
59 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Nope...
jill_sherard25 July 2017
I pretty much agree with what everyone else has said. Paula Patton's acting is way over the top. The "daughter" is a complete brat with parents that don't "parent". The story is way too chopped up and so far doesn't make a damn bit of sense.

Husband liked it so we're watching the 2nd episode but I've already mentally checked out.
75 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Don't Listen to those Haters
lmferrato28 August 2017
I didn't read the review first. I watch episode 1 and didn't know if I was going to like it but since I have Kodi I watched the next 5 episode in row and was hooked.

To the reviewers that gave low stars - it is like going to a new restaurant and not having a great experience, you need to go back a couple of times until the kinks are worked out.

You need to watch more than episode to get a good experience and enjoy the show.
53 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Like Fingernails to a Chalkboard
koffeekupkriminalk25 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Bad acting galore and a child character with no redeeming qualities. Is it virtually impossible for TV parents to actually act like parents, that they have some say so as to how their children act or have some control or authority over them? The premiere was the last episode for me. Again, no one here to care about. I'm not going to watch a show where I secretly wish they'd take out the little girl. And again, the acting is so atrocious through and through it is a constant distraction.
54 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Decent premise; very poor delivery.
catsgarden2 August 2017
This TV show is a prime example of how a good premise with solid bones can be turned to mush in the wrong hands. This series has two major flaws: the bad casting and acting (of most actors, though not all); and the way out there stupidity and worn out clichés injected at every turn. The daughter is the most miscast actor. I hate to criticize a child, but there are lots of naturally gifted child actors out there, and she's definitely not one of them. Her overacting is so severe, that you feel you're in an elementary school play with children shouting their serious lines while smiling at the corners of their mouths. Additionally, as other reviewers have pointed out, she takes way too much screen time, which skyrockets the unpleasantness and annoyance into the stratosphere. I found Paula Patton, the mother, to be great in the first episode, but not surprising to me, she gets worse. You can't be surrounded by bad acting and have it affect your own performance. The writing is full of downright stupidity. There is no believable or legitimate reason for most reactions. For example, if a character heard glass breaking inside the house, the normal, common sense reaction would be to investigate the sound. In this show, the character would ignore it and turn on the stereo at full blast. Almost every action and decision the characters take is so utterly dumb, you just can't stomach any more of it. Which is why very few people who started watching the first episode will still be watching when the last episode airs.
38 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bad Acting
dancesk25 July 2017
Lead actress overacts in every scene. The child had more lines than the the lead actors in the first episode and is not what we would call a well-behaved child. Talks back to the parents.....not for viewing by younger children. The child actor also overacts. The director needs to rein these people in. It's painful to watch a lot of the time.The whole premise of this story line is at best too much fiction.
74 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Fast Food TV Show
darren-beason15 July 2018
Was this written for Disney Channel? The topic of this show is supposed to be serious but you have a daughter, husband and wife who are rediculous. Why do tv shows insist on writing for kids as if they were idiots. And Paula Patton, not sure she ever deserved to work aside Denzel or Tom Cruise after a script like this. The worst part about the first episode is when it does decide to get serious, you've already spiraled down a lousy setup of a show. Did I say it already, but the daughter's acting is horrible?
29 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A sci-fi drama, with thriller intensity, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma.
petaln216 August 2017
Somewhere Between

A sci-fi drama, with thriller intensity, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma. Really great stuff if you're much like me and enjoy debating with others about the plot, all while being on the very edge of your seats.

Paula Patton's character is quite the complex role too - a deranged and broken mom facing a long period of heartbreak, then thrown into what I can only describe without giving anything away, a total dumbfounding roller coaster of a situation which leads her character into a desperate and somewhat crazy quest. Something that Patton seems to portray well enough. If only the director took more care in knowing when to do a close up or long pan shot when she is in a serious scene, the feel would be more conveyed without compromising Patton's credibility. There are even some scenes you think the director took right out of Arrow's b-roll, then again, it does add this 80s vibe that is certainly the trend on the sci-fi series front as of late - what year is it again?

Directing aside, Devon Sawa is really stealing the show and was a surprise to see him pulling his weight against JR Bourne, who is a favourite of mine since appearing as Dr Carter's love interest in Stargate the series. Both leading men have a great intensity playing off one another and their roles are both well developed and intriguing. Sawa plays a gritty deadbeat PI with a shocking past, while Bourne is a suave district attorney and family man, with perfect blue eyes and peppery silvery hair. Great actors can be pretty on the eyes too.

Rating it, the show has all the ingredients of a 10/10 sci-fi series, with just enough twists and turns to give you whiplash that you don't mind having. However, the direction of filming does pull away somewhat in the moments that count. Watchability 6/10. Overall, the context and actors lend the show enough for Netflix to save it, 8/10.
42 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointed!
mamasmith-9311925 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I was excited to start watching this new series. The previews looked so good. Started watching and had to change channels half way through. Such bad acting! I was very disappointed! I will definitely won't be wasting my time watching this show. Too bad, the story line looked promising.
37 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Someone in creative needs to be fired.
ryanmkincaid26 July 2017
Man this is bad. A lot of the reviews are blaming the acting but the fault squarely lies on the shoulders of the writers that came up with this story (or adapted it from the original version) the director that lead the cast, and the editor that can't settle on a pacing. Honestly, this thing is awful.

UPDATE!!!

I've come back to update my review. After watching 10 episodes, I've lowered the star rating to 2 and squarely blame the abysmal writing for how bad this series is. If you haven't watched it yet, don't! If you've started, stop!

Atrocious!!! Shame on ABC for cancelling better written shows and saddling us with this crap.
30 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Annoying
malomar1225 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Most TV shows that have children in the cast show them sparingly and use them for either a comedic purpose or a parallel to a problem the parents are having. Not this show. The spoiled brat gets more air time than the adults and is ten times more annoying. When she dies, you feel relieved instead of guilty. But then the Groundhog Day effect occurs and she's back to irritate us once again.

Spoiled brats like this are why I couldn't watch The Mysteries of Laura after watching the first episode. And I was really looking forward to that show.

And Paula Patton is easy on the eyes and prior to this I thought was a decent actress. Don't know if it is her fault or the Director and writers but she comes off as an amateur in this show.
35 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
On for the ride
georgehenries2 August 2017
I'm having a great time with this show. It's fast, it's twisty, the characters feel real to me and I can't wait to see how it turns and find out what's behind it all. I don't get some of the other reviews. Like, the person who said the characters hear glass breaking and then turn up the stereo as if nothing had happened -- what show are they watching? When the glass broke both parents rushed right over to see what was wrong. And the person who said it was a rip-off of Gods' Gift: 14 days (which I watched and loved.). It's a for real based-on -- the other show is in the credits -- and the person who wrote the Korean version, Ran Choi, is in the credits too, as a producer. The first episode asked a lot of questions and had a lot of characters in it, so at first I wasn't sure, but now it's all getting sorted out. I'll be watching next Tuesday!
34 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Terrible Actress
melanieholmes-0072527 July 2018
I agree with most of these reviews that Paula Patton is way to over the top in this series. It makes the show so hard to watch because of her. I believe the best part of the show is the actor playing Nico Jackson, everyone else is ridiculous. I quit watching after 4 episodes because I could t take Paula Patton's extreme facial expressions and unexplainable acting.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Would come back for more.
Silentdoe25 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Spoiler alert! There was a period where I wasn't sure if I would give this a chance but I did to see if it would fail. Truthfully, I found myself coming back for more and eating my bag of chips rather hard as there were some tough scenes where I wasn't sure if the characters would save the girls life in time, I was also waiting for them to make out and the suspense was killing me and I hated the father SO MUCH..anyway, I would watch Season 2 if there was one (there isn't) I like the chemistry and Paula really stressed me out, which is good thing :P so keep up the good work and pump out some more shows for me to watch already!
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Good idea, bad acting
seercar3 September 2017
Overall the acting is poor (or perhaps it's the directing?), but the acting (or overacting) by Paula Patton specifically is so bad that I had to stop watching after 3 episodes. Too bad, because I think the story could be quite good. The kid in story is so rotten that I was actually asking myself why they wanted her back after she died. Maybe a re-make with real actors and a kid you don't do want to smack would work.
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Lead Actress
andrewb-6125315 October 2018
Exactly as the headline states. Paula Patton's pathetic attempt at acting has ruined what could of been an astounding series. Her over the top facial expressions and emotional character reactions are beyond poor acting. It is such a pity as the rest of the actors would of pulled the story and show off and made it a 'Much Watch'
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Move Along. There's Nothing To See Here
atlasmb25 July 2017
Watching the pilot for the "limited series" called "Somewhere Between", I was quickly disappointed. It's the story of a television producer mother, District Attorney father, and their young daughter Serena. A number of other characters are quickly introduced as the plot, never pausing for a beat, goes from incident to incident. The number of coincidences is quite noticeable while the narrative virtually rubs the viewer's nose in plot points with the subtlety of a political campaign piece.

Then a character says, "Nothing is a coincidence. Everything is connected." Really? Thanks for the legend to the road map.

Some of the primary acting is without nuance, which matches the script. If you are going to produce a story about the possibility of reliving events and re-doing things, you had better do a good job of it, because such scripts abound and many of them are quite good (think "Groundhog Day", "12 Monkeys" or "Frequency" for starters). But this production falls short.

"Somewhere Between" comes off as melodramatic and, sometimes, amateurish. Maybe future episodes will be better, but this is one viewer who won't be watching, because the first installment is such a stinker.
39 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed