The Resident (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

(2018– )

User Reviews

Review this title
246 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Different than every other hospital drama
molda219 September 2018
Sure, most other hospital dramas touch on the broken American healthcare system but The Resident is the first one to make is the focus. Sure, it's kind of corny at times, but at its root it has a great heart - nurses being the unsung heroes, insurance company super villains, new technologies lost on aging surgeons unwilling to hang up their stethoscopes, and the treatment of patients as numbers instead of human beings by hospital administration. Sometimes the way the patients are talked about and treated by the hospital management is harder to watch than any surgical treatment. It's worth a watch.
48 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It's not House, M.D.. But a suitable replacement.
pam47230 July 2018
Love this show!!! A suitable replacement for House M.D. that I mourned for ages. Yes, it isn't 100% medically accurate. But if a TV show was 100% medically and ethically accurate, it would be boring as hell. 90% of the show would be watching them do paperwork and clean up poo.

The storyline is entertaining. The protagonist characters are very likable and relatable. The antagonists are the hospital equivalent of Marvel villians.

I adore that there is FINALLY a TV series I enjoy and can watch with my Mother without having to hear her complain about inappropriate content.

Well done, Fox. Now if only you'd bring back "Surviving Jack".....
59 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great dramatic portrayal of the deficiencies in American medical care
mplesset-834-24275527 February 2018
Chillingly accurate portrayal of contemporary American medicine - driven by big money more than quality of care, insurance the determining factor for decisions, and with a veil of secrecy to cover up disasters. Quotes the true fact that preventable medical errors are the 3rd leading cause of death in the U.S., after heart disease and cancer. That all makes for great drama, but it's not an exaggeration of the situation with U.S. health care. In addition, the human relationships between the characters, both doctors and patients, are believable. The realistic accuracy of the plots makes this not just another soap opera set in a hospital, but a very compelling drama.
88 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love this show!
FitzSimmonsAOS27 March 2018
I seriously don't understand why people don't like this show. It's so entertaining and exciting, there's always something intense going on and the characters are great. It may not be completely realistic in terms of the medical detail and how hospitals actually run, but you can't expect a medical drama to be 100% accurate, and it also has to be entertaining so even if some things are incorrect I don't see the issue if they change some things to make it more engaging. I'm enthralled by every episode. A must watch in my opinion!
50 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Worth a watch judge for yourself
bjapexnc26 January 2018
I actually like and hate the show at the same time. While I like the doctors and nurses I stay angry with the administrative side of things and those who are representing them. While some reviews here say how unrealistic the show is the most unrealistic part is the doctors who stand up to the bureaucrats. If you are a patient who has been turn down because you didn't have the money or insurance to pay for the needed medical attention you know it is closer to reality then those here want to admit. I say watch it and judge for yourself. If you can get past wanting to punch the head of surgery then you might just find that you like it.
48 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
New Favorite Show
karatio9 April 2018
I love both main actors, so that makes this show fun. But I especially appreciate the truth about the medical field being exposed. Even if it's a bit exaggerated (which I don't need think it is), it's definitely close to the money. Great acting all- around. Sure hope it gets a second season!!
21 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Does what it´s supposed to do - entertain
halbdunkel23 January 2018
I get that there are series out there, that are much more medically acurate. And yes, The Resident plays with stereotypes and clichés. But it does so in a really entertaining way. So I do not get the negativity. I really enjoyed the first and second episode and look forward the what´s coming.
40 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Spot On!!
lastarling-682339 May 2018
I have worked in surgery for many years, and this is the most realistic show ever produced. The bureaucracy that exists in "for profit" hospitals, and the surgical "cover-ups" are not exaggerations! It's all about the money! GREAT SHOW!
30 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WTF??? People chill , it is a bloody TV show!!!
g4557631 January 2018
It's a TV show and stop saying that it is inaccurate, it's normal no one will use it as a guide for medicine in real life at least no one with brains! Not the most original storyline, but it does entertain, it's full with passion .
52 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Just watched one episode... great cast
rehabdoc30 January 2018
Show seems OK so far. Really excellent cast, likeable and good actors. Definitely on the melodrama side. Moralizing definitely on the heavy handed side.

Do note that a large number (16%) of the 1 votes are clearly politically motivated, from conservatives, because of the liberal slant of the undocumented immigrant plot line.

This show is far from perfect on the medical details, but the 1s are undeserved in my opinion and the lack of scores in the 2-6 range are really telling, with most scores 8-10.
39 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Develops well as it continues
jmrx-242-21832512 March 2018
I don't even like medical dramas, and I like this one. Many of the reviews here are from those who only watched the pilot, which I admit showed a rather surface-level power clash of the two main characters. But as the show has gone on (I just finished S1 E6), it has gotten increasingly interesting and much smoother to watch. I mainly started watching because of Matt Cuzchry, and he holds down the cast with a strong performance every episode. I am fascinated with their exploration of corruption in hospitals (although I think it is exaggerated at times, but what drama isn't?!), and they do weave that theme into every episode.

Good overall mix of medical drama, a romance, and individual character stories that have gotten more complex and real. Looking forward to seeing how this plays out!
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Keep it going
sarawasefpass4 March 2018
I am a huge fan of medical dramas and I am aware that the information is not as medically accurate, but I love how the show addresses the emotional aspect of being a doctor. On top of that, it is thrilling, entertaining and the acting is impeccable. I love the presence of a diverse cast and especially Nic's role. This show deserves to keep going!
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't listen to the critics. Go and watch it first.
fahadshaikh-2718422 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Just watched The Resident today. Amazing show, cast is good too. It's still new so the storyline won't be as clear this early but I'll stick to it.

But what I don't understand is the negative reviews. I mean what did you expect from a medical show? Guns blazing or comic characters? It's supposed to be contained in a hospital where there are doctors nurses and other stuff, follows their life. Are they supposed to have different lives or what. I mean yes it has some similarities with greys anatomy, night shift and Chicago med but again it's a medical show. It's like saying, why The Punisher and Daredevil have the same villains, same base ie fighting villains. I thought it was pretty decent. Don't listen to the critics go and watch it, then choose.
42 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great show - great message....
DreamyOneNumber115 April 2018
I've very much enjoyed this show for a variety of reasons. I like the premise. The writing for the most part, is excellent, The acting is perfect. The story lines, despite the fact that they might scare people, are sadly true. If it takes a drama to get the message across to folks, so be it.

I have no complaints about the show. The cast members are well suited for their roles. While the fact that doctors lie about the conditions of patients and then treat patients for non-existent conditions might make people uncomfortable, I know these behaviors to be true and accurate. I'm also aware of doctors with medical conditions who should have retired long ago. This is real life, folks, and it's being brought to you on the small screen.

Think about some of the messages here. Treatment of poor versus rich... Doctors who shouldn't be operating, operating. Doctors treating non-existent illnesses to make a buck... Medical errors. Disasters covered up....

Watch it. You'll understand why it's imperative that you take a pro-active position in your own medical treatment after seeing this.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Watch it for yourself! It's not bad!
fatelovesthefearless18 March 2018
It's not the greatest medical drama and does not compare to ER as far as realism goes but as a nurse most of the medical stuff is correct and every show gets stuff wrong so don't not like a medical show because it's not 100% accurate.

I like that they have taken this show on from a different angle - money and corruption! I don't live in the USA but I imagine this is actually quite accurate in the way hospitals are run and that it is all about money and not necessarily doing what's best for the patient.

The characters so far are interesting - I'm 7 episodes in and I like that some patients are in it for longer than an episode. There are characters you want to root for the do gooders and there are characters you love to hate who are selfish, rich and really in the wrong business. Oh and there's a main character that's a nurse which is always a plus since we basically make the hospitals run!

So if you like medical dramas give it a go! I've seen them all - ER is the best, I've got a soft spot for Greys Anatomy even though sometimes it's ridiculous m, Code Black is great, Chicago Med is alright, The night shift was good. They are all entertaining so in my mind they do what they are suppose to!
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The negative reviewers here must be in the medical field. lol
scrooloosek23 January 2018
I have watched the first hour. It gives your the dark reality of medical field in America. I have personally viewed some of this and know it to be true. Why do you think Medical Billers are making soo much money? The more money they make for doctors via reimbursements they happier they are. I am talking about reimbursements of the ICD 9 and 10 coding. Most think Obama care is great and Trump care (even though it does not exist yet) is bad. Try asking someone who is on the current government medical on how it is. There are more and more doctors that are pulling out of Obama care on a daily basis. The medical field in America is about money not helping the patients. This is what this show creates. So watch both parts and decide. This show has a lot of potential. I laugh at the show because some of this stuff I have seen and now they are letting the true cat out of the bag.
53 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very entertaining
anndi1623 January 2018
I thought this show was very good. Entertaining. Pretty good cast - great acting and it moves pretty quickly. Makes me want to see the next episode!
42 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A good show for REGULAR people
ai-1635224 February 2018
Since the classic drama, ER, I believe this has been probably the best medical show so far. The pace is good, and the characters are very clear. The storyline is attracting, hope this show gets renewed for next season. Btw, don't listen to those people giving negative reviews. Not every audience is professional in medical field, but I've been to the emergency room and experiencing the hospital system, I know how chaotic and crazy it. I would say The Resident reminds people to question the current healthcare environment and policy, only improvement gets life better.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Highly Entertaining!!!
lorivand23 January 2018
The Resident is cleverly done. Great Actors and Actresses. You get completely caught up in the story lines and the characters. A step up in the medical profession with what's coming next! Love it!
35 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Took a chance!
weisa-2225321 April 2019
I took a chance on this one, seeing Emily VanCamp in the credits, and Matt Czuchry, thought might be good......I just finished binge watching the first season on Netflix!

It's a good mix of drama, comedy, real life issues regarding hospital life and and deeper look into cost, patient care, cover ups, and not too far fetched from reality.

It's a mix of, Greys Anatomy, House, and ER in one. I liked it.....alot!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Always interesting
rusoffcory27 March 2019
I cant compare this genre to any other series. This is the first hospital drama i have watched completely. It is an ongoing storyline that has sub stories in each episode and it never veers off the main topic. The acting is realistic and extremely entertaining. The cast are mainly unknown young actors who are very talented. The veteran actors (Warner and Leeves) blend in nicely with the young actors and dont upstage them. The show is addicting and perfect for binge watching. Its like you cant wait for the bect episode. I compare it to early Walking Dead.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love the show!
reinhilde-7161724 March 2019
I really enjoy this show. I care about the characters. Having many people in family who are in the medical field I am aware that a medical show that is exactly like the hospital and a doctor's office would not be enjoyable at all. The characters would not be easy to fall in love with. That is why it really bothers me when people rate this show as a 1 or 2 because it isn't realistic. If you want something realistic watch a documentary because nothing from Hollywood is going to be realistic. It is designed for entertainment not education. Complaining about it isn't going to change the fact that more people understand the concept of entertainment when dealing with a fictional story with fictional characters. Eventually directors and writers are going to repeat story subjects because there isn't going to be anything left to come up with. Yes a guy is going to ride a bus to the hospital just like in that other movie. Yes a there is going to be a lady with schizophrenia who will accidentally walk in front of a car in a delusional state just like in another movie. It happens. Get over it. Don't like the show go watch TLC and watch the real life camera documentary of the ER and see the same thing happening over and over again because its life.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Breathe of fresh air for a medical drama
nyz_snuggle_bunny19 February 2019
I love this show. I usually like medical dramas. This one has a little bit of everything,even if you don't find medical shows interesting. The cast is what sets it apart from other shows. I like that all of the doctors mesh well together. There is chemistry with the cast. Each one of the characters bring something to the show.

One of my favorite things about this show is that they interact outside of work. They hang out and have fun, they have a life outside of their jobs and it's refreshing to see.

This show is full of drama, some comedy it just had a little bit for everyone. I hope this show last for many years. ER was once one of my favorite medical t.v. shows. This show isn't better than ER yet but I can see that it could end up better than that.I can't rely compare the two because they happen during different times on in tv history.

I would recommend New Amsterdam as well. It's a good show.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great cast!
vgebutterfly27 September 2018
The resident is well cast with characters who have carisma! Characters who you love and characters who you love to hate. Ummmm does Dr. Bell ring a bell? I don't watch any other hospital/medical shows so I cannot compare. I find this show highly entertaining and perhaps educating of what the almighty dollar plays in the US medical system! Not that I live in a country where patient care overrides the cost of procedures and outstanding medical care. Doctors are over worked and staff are underpaid. 6 to 8 hours emergency waits. I enjoy the humor and the characters are well cast! One of my favorite relatively new shows!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable!
xiknouloveme-3961127 March 2018
I am not a nurse, doctor or anything of that nature so im not surehow accurate the medical side is but this is an enjoyable show! It shows a side of hospitals you don't really see, the potentially corrupt kind. This show gets you fired up and it's also quite heartfelt (with the doctors/nurses who care). I'd give it a few episodes and judge for yourself!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed