Haunt (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
132 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
After having seen almost all the films based on the Escape Room n Haunted House, I can surely say that this is a very creepy, tension filled n brutal horror film.
Fella_shibby21 September 2019
I wasn't aware of this film until I read a review written by BA_Harrison. Was not even aware that it is directed by the writers of A Quiet Place n produced by Eli Roth.

One of the best part is the editing. Ther is not too much lingering on the gory stuff. The ending is good, kinda reminds u of The Collection.

This film has some scary masks n some terrifying faces under the masks. Much better than The Furies. The guy with the spikes on his face is creepy man.

Watch out for the head exploding like a watermelon scene.
39 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
You'll be screaming...
danwilberforce28 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
...but not out of fear, just at the stupid characters.

Not a bad film overall, it kept me entertained, but please stop with the idiotic characters who after knocking the bad guy to the floor try to run away instead of finishing the job! And the other typical idiot move "Hey I just killed a bad guy, go me, (looks at weapon) not gonna need this anymore", next room, "oh no another bad guy, if only I had a weapon to use against them!"
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Cut Above The Usual
fatfil-414-45179714 September 2019
To be honest I wasn't expecting much from this movie, but I was pleasantly surprised. I am not normally a fan of the torture/slasher genre, more of a supernatural horror fan. But I really enjoyed this movie. Yes there is nothing to much new here, but let's be honest, those truly original stories are few and far between. The acting was great, the set up was good, and the various traps and puzzles were fun. The film doesn't try to explain itself, just a mental scary haunted house. But the suspense is maintained through out, and I particularly liked the ending, which was a change from the usual return of the psycho shock.
33 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Haunt is the hidden gem horror film of the year with legitimate brutality, tension, and bleak atmosphere throughout that would have been a hit with a major theatrical release.
tresm8715 September 2019
8.7/10 When I saw the trailer about a month ago i was pleasantly surprised with its promise shown, and even more surprised and bewildered it wasn't getting a major theatrical release. Having Eli Roth produce, and Beck and Woods directing/writing hot off their momentum from writing A Quiet Place, you would think the studios would have been confident enough and should've because this was higher quality than most big budget horror's released this year.

The film starts out in usual fashion and introduces us to what appear to be standard teenage horror characters that were definitely more tolerable than most other characters in other films yet still fit the cliches. As we get a bit more introduced, you can tell that one of them has more emotional depth to her which is an important factor for audience relateability that's overlooked these days in most horror films. When things progress in the plot we are introduced to the main setting in which the mayhem unfolds and for the low budget they were working with, they executed the set designs flawlessly and creatively. The haunted house/maze aesthetic is elevated to new heights of fright through wide arrays of different set pieces, colorizations, and overall foreboding environments. They absolutely knocked it out of the park with the overall visuals and camerawork as well, and it added so much to the already supreme tension. When the antagonists start showing up with their ill intentions, the creepiness and chaos takes hold and never lets up building into a brutal conclusion that honestly will stick with a lot of people with its ultimately disturbing reveals and shocking plot turns.

This film really deserved to be released in a major theatrical format and i honestly believe it would have been a hit at the box office. I expected it to be solid but did not expect it to be my favorite horror film of the year. It has so much tension, atmosphere, and an incredibly visceral visual style. It has potential to become an underrated cult classic once word spreads and a definitive haunted house/halloween film. I really hope Beck and Woods stay in the horror genre because they have some clear cut talent in creating tense atmosphere that oozes through the screen.
27 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Could be 2019's best horror film
jtindahouse14 September 2019
I can't remember the last time I said "wow" as many times as I did during 'Haunt'. This movie just never stopped amazing me. Every time it produced something brilliant I'd think to myself how the film had just reached its peak, and then five minutes later it would one up itself with something even better. Imagine this over and over again for 90 minutes and you have yourself an insanely good movie.

Very rarely any more do horror films impact me in any way. Mostly I'm just bored by them because either I've seen it all before, can predict what is going to happen next, or simply don't care about any of the characters. More often than not it's all three. In 'Haunt' however I found none of those things. There were countless occurrences I hadn't seen before, I had no idea what was going to happen next, and I literally wanted every character (on the good side of course) to be alright.

I had a really uncomfortable feel in my stomach watching this movie and that is what I dream of when I go into a horror movie. That means it works. There was so much to love about this movie. The set-design, the acting, the fact that it didn't rely on false jump-scares or dream sequences, the look of the bad guys (blew my mind), the unpredictability and the non-stop pacing just to name a few. Please see this movie. It is incredible.
39 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Woah! Good work Eli!
chris-prowse18 September 2019
Lovely! What a great little movie. Not too much gore but enough for you imagine the sensation. Kept me on my toes, I didn't know who was safe. Very well done, GIVE IT A GO!
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
On the surface this looks like another run of the mill horror film, but it's actually a very relentless ride and the best haunted house film yet.
JF50010 September 2019
At first I thought this looked like hellfest or 31 except more of the haunted house theme, but it's a very solid horror film with some grimly clever subject matter. It's apparent the writers behind A Quiet Place and Eli Roth are behind this, as there are many moments of fantastic tension, ominous atmosphere, and sheer brutality. Some excellently weird and bizarre set pieces and utterly disturbing moments throughout keep this from being a standard release. There are also some plot twists that keep it intriguing. This will probably go under the radar at first but eventually people will definitely hold it as the go to haunted house horror film.
36 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Are all the positive reviews for real?
nysalesman17 September 2019
Even though I knew this was by Eli Roth, who has yet to be involved with a film (horror or otherwise) that I find entertaining, I still got fooled by all the positive reviews. Let me set you straight, this is a typical college kid slasher movie. Nothing new, nothing inventive, no clever writing, everything is rehashed from every cheap haunted house/slasher movie that preceded it. I found myself bored to death and unable to connect with any of the characters or the movie itself. In fact, I would have felt less cheated if they ended the movie at the 30 minute mark by simply throwing all these kids into a giant blender and killed them off at once. BTW, the backstory the girl added absolutely nothing to this movie. I find it hard to believe that the positive reviewers are all connected with the movie, but I cannot think of any other explanation. "The best horror movie of 2019" - really? "Every time they did something that made me say 'wow' they did something else to top it" - NOT even close. This movie was boring, predictable, and slow!!!

To be totally truthful, it should rate about two or three stars, but since it was obviously so heavily biased by what I see at false positive reviews, I'm giving it one star. If you spend $5.99 to rent this thing, then you will feel cheated. Do yourself a favor and wait until it is free on Netflix and you have 90-minutes to kill sometime.
43 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Solid Horror movie
midwesternhooligans20 September 2019
What a pretty mask...

There are some fun ideas that they don't milk to heavy which allows them to stay fresh and can be expanded on if sequels happen. The film hosts some familiar elements to other horror movies so most will be comfortable in this title.

A main issue I have is that our main cast seemingly isn't into Halloween at all with a few of them even claiming to have forgotten the holiday was coming somehow. Which confuses me as to why they would search for an "extreme" haunt.

But their lack of Halloween gloom is made up for by our main Villains. For those who love Halloween; the Villains really make this movie a real treat!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nothing New but Fun & A Solid One for October Horror List
TwistedContent13 September 2019
The Writers of "A Quiet Place", producer Eli Roth, halloween themes, a haunted house - sounds like a decent recipe for a fun horror flick, which it was. Even though I liked it, I wouldn't trust those who say that it's fresh, inovative or is the best haunted house film.

"Haunt" offers us an old concept with minor changes - addition of some cool elements which I won't discuss. A bunch of teens, with a (one way or another) troubled girl as the main character wind up in a hanted house attraction in the middle of nowhere. It's heard of, innit? This is where the better part of the movie starts, directors Beck and Woods manage to entertain us without cheese or unnecessary humor, instead giving us atmospheric enough trip through a what feels like an improvised but effective haunted house. Cool masks, many killers, fun times. With time it gets more gruesome, but also starts to suffer slightly from pacing issues & the characters start doing (or not doing) questionable things/choices/actions. Let's just say that a some amount of general horror movie dumbness can be found in here as well. I found the ending to be a bit underwhelming, it felt like something either more original or more crazy could've been done there. From an aesthethic standpoint, "Haunt" is just fine, not a Hollywood production, but not sloppy either & the gore is great.

After the first 50 minutes or so I was sure it's gonna be a 7/10, I can always appreciate and get a kick out of halloween-themed horror movies, but, sadly, "Haunt" ended not as a great movie, but as a good (or decent) one. A solid, relax-your-brains entertainment which You might visit another year around the time of Halloween season. My rating: 6/10.
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun Halloween haunted house film.
dar041710 October 2019
Fun Halloween haunted house film but the story was has recycled over and over again and this version brought nothing new to the table.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Haven't seen something this good with Eli's name on it in quite some time....
turkishjade13 September 2019
I don't review many films, but this one was really exceptional. Solid special effects, great acting, and NO plot holes. Reminded me (ever so slightly) of The Collection, especially the ending. I hope Eli Roth throws more money behind projects like this.

Great fun.
20 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Nothing to see here
gameoveraus19 September 2019
It's just a mindless weak slasher flick

Nothing is really explained other then, they are in a building that is meant to be a haunted house on halloween night and turns out to be more "real" as they try to work out a few puzzles to try and escape. That's it, fell asleep 4 times watching it

I guess there is a bit of a suprise with the people that reside in the house but still no reasoning for what they are doing and the acting is awfull
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A film is really only as good as it's dumbest moment
FilmWarrior200618 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
There are some great moments in the first and second acts. I liked the characters. The cast did a really good job in their roles. But, a film is really only as good as it's dumbest moment.

SPOILERS That dumb moment comes in the third act, when the main characters are unarmed and being hunted by some dangerous creepy bad guys. In one scene, the main character is trying to release a shotgun from a mechanical contraption. I thought, "That's very smart trying to do that." But, sadly, she is unable to get to free of the device, and has to run. that is absolutely forgivable. Also, I should mention, even with it fixed in that contraption, she managed to use it to kill two bad guys. Nice! Right? Then, she and another character manage to catch and severely injure a freak who has a handgun. In fact, they practically amputate the arm holding the gun. I was like, "There you go, kiddo! That one is NOT locked in place. Grab it!" But, no. She doesn't. Instead, she and the guy grab each other's hands and run away, leaving that nearly fully loaded pistol behind. Well...I stopped caring about the movie right there. I didn't care anymore if they lived or died. The inconsistency of the character broke the fourth wall, the veil was lifted and I was reminded I was just watching a low budget horror film. I watched the film to the end, without caring, and afterward, I got something to eat, and then went home and put in John Carpenter's The Thing on, hoping to get rid of the bad taste that movie left.
19 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Poor Man's "Hell Fest" Without the Fun Atmosphere
Yee_Reviews13 September 2019
Good: The haunted house setting is always fun. There lies some suspense in the beginning, but in the second-half loses it. The play around with haunted house aspects can be entertaining somewhat.

Bad: The acting is terrible, the characters make poor choices. The film lacks themes so there is no redeeming factor in the end. Some plot points do not connect and some things are not explained well.

Overall: The movie should not be bad. It is evident that Eli Roth produced it by the movie having some gore and over the top violence. The poor execution and generic storyline make it a run-of-the mill horror movie that adds nothing to the genre.

1/5
37 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie was made with a mixer machine !!
rezadodangeh226 September 2019
Poor script, Unreasonable story, Poor acting, Things without reason, Additional characters, Without any excitement....

The whole movie was: Take some of "SAW", Mix with some of "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", Add a little "The Hills Have Eyes". Well, our tangled movie is ready !!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad at all
Max664010 October 2019
Fairly good movie. Can't complain too much. Acting was ok and script was ok. Good to watch on a Sunday night and I would of given it 6 stars had it had better characters
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Worth the watch I promise
angelshanen14 September 2019
Yes it's gonna be frustrating at first but I promise you the end will give you a breath of relief.
15 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finally a freaking great horror movie πŸŽƒπŸ’€πŸ¦‡
duckboy-9417114 September 2019
Hell yeah this film rocks , its well acted, written and one heck of a thrill ride, if you like haunted houses mixed with an escape room that delivers thrills & chills this movie is for you. Oh yeah they released it on Friday the 13th...... what more can I say πŸ’€πŸ‘»πŸ€‘πŸ˜±
18 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What is everyone watching
jit-2369719 September 2019
OMG this is the most boring film ever what is it about, can't understand it. Its not a horror at all, the kids stumble upon a haunted house with just creepy crawlies, playing stupid pathetic games. Don't waste your money on going to see this. It was torture watching this film, 90 minutes wasted on a stupid film 😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Crap
marstons-4502114 September 2019
Dont waste your time,i would have gave this minus 10 if i could have.
15 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent scare!!
saphira_dragon-8027021 September 2019
This movie is great. It's like a better version of all these types of movies with escape rooms and haunted houses. It's pretty tense and thrilling. Very entertaining. Definitely a few scares in here!! Really great find. Definitely give it a peep
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best horror movies I've seen in a long while.
raynick15 September 2019
I wasn't expecting much from this movie, but this movie was better than the two horror fest movies that bombed last year. I would like to see what they could do with a bigger budget! Don't believe the average reviews and watch this movie if you like horror..you will like it. Now a days all the horror is cgi and jump scares which is really sad.
11 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A pleasant surprise in the genre
Sobertoaster-764-47956119 September 2019
Not to sound like a pretentious wine critic or something but I want to start by saying I absolutely love horror, I watch just about anything in the genre I can get my hands on, and in my perspective this is something special. For what it is, for what it tries to do, it's honestly near perfect.

It was an all around well paced and incredibly fun watch. it a "get up and go" almost right from the start, with just enough setup, and minimal character development, but honestly it worked. Great timing on the "relief" moments. A few moments you can have a laugh and yell at your screen "why are you doing that!?". Good antagonists. Good ending. It didn't take itself too seriously, but at the same time struck me as darker than a lot of recently watched in the genre.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very Enjoyable Fun
greg-5368219 September 2019
Went in thinking it was going to be the same old haunted house killing movie, but was very surprised. Had some originality, a plot, and some pretty good character development. Fun movie to watch. Definitely recommend it, you won't be disappointed.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed