"Travelers" 17 Minutes (TV Episode 2017) Poster

(TV Series)

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
25 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
What the hell was this?
rvcatta11 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I can't believe this episode made me create an account and leave my first ever review on imdb. This will contain some spoilers from the episode so keep that in mind. I'm not even going to touch on the pure abuse of repetitive action this episode shoves down the audiences throats. I'm sure the other reviews touched on that already.

Here's the actual worst part.. This episode has completely ruined the entire series.

> Mac and his entire team dies. > That means the Faction gets the meteor. > That in turn means the tech leading to True AI was never discovered. > That means that the Director from the future does not exist as we know it. (On a broad spectrum that means the agents themselves don't exist because time-travel paradox, but we're not going there) > Non-existent Director STILL sends 9 agents back, regardless of him not existing, to save the team and itself from.. not existing. *slowclap*

How is the audience supposed to take this show seriously now? You've basically told us "Mac and his team are practically invincible and if anything ever goes wrong, we'll just redo the same scenario 15 different times until they survive because .. we can?" Honestly, what's the point? Where's the tension? You're telling us the only limitation now is the team just not be in the middle of nowhere, so that someone - anyone literally - can be close enough to warn them? Honestly, WHO WROTE THIS?

And why does the truck driver get an override? Why does the girl fail after some attempts? Why do the collide mid air every single time except the first?

I'm sorry but I could write an entire novel on what's fundamentally wrong with this episode. It's sad really. The actors are putting up a great performance and they do not deserve such a barbaric script to work with.
29 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Absolute worst episode
jasenchung31 December 2017
Who the hell directed this? Literally the worst editing/directing I've seen on this show. Unnecessary amounts of repetition and lack of creativity in stretching this story line. What a way to ruin an amazing show - can't believe they let this pass. The ending especially was the worst. Such an anticlimactic reveal of their next mission.
26 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Does not make sense
ignotus-343-30980914 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The timeline from the different Tries does not make sense at all...

at the start she has to run all the way to the 2.nd car, gets shot, almost gets run over and has to Run all the way to the lake while wounded... and still makes it at the same moment as they do when he lands next to the car, grabs the Offroad bike, Blasts PAST the guard withouth getting delayed by the Truck...and whaddayaknow, he makes it there at the Exact same moment. is that the worst Offroad bike ever or what, it can't outrun a woman that has been shot in the neck...
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What about the anniversary!?
sleewok4 January 2018
I would have given this episode 2 stars if they actually wrapped up how the anniversary went. Were the writers on drugs? Did they even read the previous scripts? Seems like they forgot what they just wrote and repeated it over...and over...and over...and over...and forgot how they even started the episode. This episode was a fail on so many levels. It completely contradicts many of the limitations and rules in place from previous episodes and last season. I'm sad about it.
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring.
michaelrhyndress-2783329 December 2017
Episode is repetitive in all of the worst ways and non-linear where it should be linear. I get that they had to add new snippets of story between attempts to keep the watcher engaged, but often the time sequences changed dramatically and for no good reason. Love the show, hate this episode.
19 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Shockingly bad and against pretty much everything the show is about
andysumner-1064423 July 2018
I have, for the most part enjoyed this show as it is something different if not a little bit cliche'd in places. I am certainly not enjoying season 2 as much as season 1, and to be honest a lot of the plot I was able to predict way before it happened, however I have persevered as the wife is enjoying it. Then this car crash of an episode happened. I have ignored some of the more extravagant " how the hell are they going to explain this one" moments, but this episode has almost ruined it for me. It was pointless, boring, completely against pretty much everything else they have done in the show and the ending was so ridiculously idiotic I was actually amazed it was given approval in the first place. Not a good episode at all.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Skip this one
ddak8827 December 2017
This episode was so bad it compelled me to write my first review in the five years I have been a member. This is the sort of episode that makes you seriously question if you want to continue watching the series. It has to be the single most trite and boring episode of television I have seen in over a decade. The fact that Netflix actually allowed it to see the light of day is a travesty.
21 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Pointless Episode.
danielos11308 February 2018
I love this show but this epidsode was completely pointless and a waste of an hour.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hilariously bad episode of a great show
hkinney201123 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This episode is so bad it's almost like they were just messing with the viewers. It should have been over 40 minutes before it was. 2 attempts maximum. Should have just ducked and drove all the way there.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Low Budget Production!
tikimodph8 January 2018
What, did they run out of money? Worst and most boring episode of the series.. The constant repetitions was monotonous to the point of practically turning it off.
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
17 minutes of boredom
discretion3 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This episode is called "17 minutes" and should have been less than 17 minutes long, as the material/story line could've been covered in less than 17 minutes. I seriously could not bare to continue watching it after the 1st 10 minutes, the usual intelligent plot and story line was not evident in the persisting,unwavering and reoccurring failure of a theme. This episode would have probably been more effective if it was cut short and added or shared with the plot of the upcoming episode and told as one,

or it could have been a successful separate plot in the upcoming episode; instead of forcing the audience to endure such a pointless, tiresome and unimaginative plot line.
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Seemed like the season needed some filler
underscore122 April 2018
This was by far the worse episode in the series. It seemed like some filler was needed and this was a good way to do it. The redundancy of the episode, without giving away spoilers, got old really fast
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Black sheep, or is it going to be like this in the future?
barthwerle6 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Looks like they had to buy some cheap time on behalf of the one we are loosing watching this episode. Too bad for a series that has usually some structure and interesting plots. Was it made when the directors had a day off ?? You could also watch the beginning credits over and over it wouldn't be much different. And seriously, everyone could have guessed the motorbike would be used eventually.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Which Of These Things Is Not The Same?
canspam-16 February 2018
All through this series the producer and writers have been building a set of rules. The director or the writer didn't make this feel a part with those previous episodes.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Favorite episode so far...
nealalan8 December 2017
This episode is one of my favorites in Season 2, so far.

It takes a totally different course from any other episode, looking at the reality of the given rules of their universe regarding time travel from the future. If someone enjoys sci-fi and has made it this far into the series, I'd think they'd have to laugh at the irony of what happens.

This episode also reinforces to me just how important missions from The Director really are.
21 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Love the series, worst episode ever.
ajdick699123 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This episode ruins the series.

We get that a new traveller can only come as recent as the last, but this episode ruins the time line showing access to unlimited timelines. I've been trapped watching this show with every spare minute since I started the pilot a couple days ago: truly magnificent. This episode left a bitter taste in my mouth enough that half way through season 3 I'm still stuck thinking about infinite timeline possibilities from this episode.

Series 10/10 Episode 0/10

Sorry writing staff just needed to put this out there!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Interesting
bumcracks14 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Does feel like a filler episode, monotonous and a bit illogical... I'm sure the host can find a body closure to the event and considering the Director is allowed numerous attempts, I'm sure it's clever enough to suss that one out quick enough as opposed to using the same person over and over again?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well, I liked it.
solemnphilosopher25 June 2019
I found this episode interesting and I was curious to see other opinions. I am surprised and saddened by the negative reviews, but everyone has a right to their opinion. Hopefully you will respect mine as well.

Personally, I thought the episode was an interesting "behind the scenes" look at how The Director protects a critical mission by sending multiple travelers in a row. It is reminiscent of Groundhog Day.

It might have had a repeat or two too many with the parachute girl. The anniversary issue might have dragged a bit as well, though I was amused by the early banter about it.

I feel like it increased the shows universe for me. It showed how other travelers might be unknowingly working in the background to protect a mission. This episode gave us a glimpse of that and I thought it was excellent.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst epi by far
kleijnenmarlou21 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Useless as an episode and ruined the show... So they practically can't die. Great!
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Turd of an episode
psychdreamer12 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Agreed with all the negative reviews about this turd of an episode. One very obvious thing that nobody considered was, Why didnt the director just override McLaren and his team with new travellers that knew about the danger. Problem solved.

Such a pointless episode. I feel robbed of 45mins
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Such a frustrating episode.
jimmycarroll-848089 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I really liked the Groundhog Day aspect of this episode at first...but why do all the Travelers coming back keep doing such STUPID stuff?! They have a car, but ditch it as soon as they run into the deaf guy?! RUN HIM OVER AND TAKE HIS GUN! After the second try she knows she needs a weapon, so she chooses the knife in the pickup truck...RUN THE DEAF GUY OVER AND TAKE HIS ******* GUN!!!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The "Fly" episode from Breaking Bad
owensk102 January 2019
Remember how much you hated that episode of Breaking Bad? Those feelings will come back as you watch this episode. That is all.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Groundhog day
einarfn28 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Most scifi shows end up having a Groundhog Day episode. Especially so for shows that deal with time travel, do it is expected for Travellers.

However, Groundhog Day episodes MUST be handled carefully or they will suck. Timing is everything. They missed timing in several scenes through the whole episode. People being shot spend as much time running and stumbling a distanse as a person riding a motorcycle.

Also why rundt at all? The main team has drivende very close to the place. The backup should have as well, to save time. But that's called speed of plot and does not follow rational rules.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time. Save yourself & skip it
lukebenjamin10 January 2019
Worst episode so far. Goes round in circles & i'm only halfway through it. Would rate it 0 if I could .
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One word: Idiotic
cocobinay21 May 2019
I usually try to find something good in any episode, but this was easily the most unnecessary, boring, amateurishly repetitive, poorly edited, worst writing of the entire series.

It's one of those episodes that are so bad that you go beyond the flaws and are instead amazed that it got greenlit in the first place!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed