Duck Butter (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Why you should give this movie a chance despite the low rating.
FIoret31 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Hollywood really lacks good lesbian scripts that doesnt end with heartache. But what makes this worth your time is the plot and acting. Laia Costa is AHHHMAZING. Seriously her smile, the tears, the rants and farts. She is a joy to watch.

The plot is simple enough. Two women drudge thru (almost) 24 hours together. They learn more about each other than they'd probably like. Mostly I think, they learn they have to learn to love themself before they can truly love someone else. Also the scene where Laia holds her hostage in the bathroom is a huge metaphor I think. You can hold someone else emotionally hostage to make them stay around, to make them love you back.

So despite another a heart breaking movie, it does make you look into your own bad habits in relationships. Its like watching a cringy trainwreck because you kinda see yourself in each of these women.
23 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not quite as bad as the rating suggests.
maksverver14 July 2018
Duck Butter tells a story of two struggling artists (sigh, I know) that flee from their troubles into an intense relationship. The good part is that both Alia Shawkat and Laia Costa deliver amazing performances as reserved Naima and dramatic Sergio, respectively. The bad part is that the story elements are rather trite and the plot doesn't lead anywhere. Overall, it seems like a waste of talent. At best, Duck Butter is a movie to be enjoyed for the ride rather than the destination.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Finally, a portrayal of real-life
hnkirkman9 July 2018
I've been using IMDB for years, and I finally created an account just to review this movie.

Duck Butter captures REAL human emotions, challenges, and conversations. In "24 hours", this movie takes you through all the things you may or may not experience when you're in love. I'm a straight gal, but these actresses represented all the nuances that every couple (regardless of sexual orientation) can experience: clinginess, irrational jealousy, unexplainable sadness, family anger that trickles down into every day life, desire for space and breathing room, and very real arguments about music.

I love that the movie represented two extremes of the human spectrum -- one person who is vivacious and care-free, and one person who is a little more mild and guarded.

You'll have fun watching these girls through the motions, and you'll feel sad and cringe-y. Somehow, no matter how crazy people drive us, we know that it was worth all the while to open our hearts to them and to just love them.
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So under rated. Must watch
deegans-836-7552775 October 2018
One of the realist films I've ever seen- the opening scene felt like a documentary. The performances were so understated and yet so raw. I watched it because I absolutely love Laia Costa as an actress; but huge kudos to alia shawkat who gave a tremendous performance as well as co-wrote the script. Much watch!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Raw
nyreeadennis2 July 2018
This movie could be compared to Blue is the Warmest Color but this is way better. It does include some of the same things as that movie but this movie actually makes you feel something and in a way it's relatable to any relationship or how we should go about our love life. I also love how raw this movie is like this felt like I was right there in that moment. Great movie. Alia Shawkat you've really outdone yourself and I hope you continue making movies.
25 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Real, subtle and yet brutal
andreasphilip15 October 2018
A sensitive observation of a relationship, its ups and downs, its past and future, and its truths and lies, all in the space of 24 hrs. Marvellous performances and cool directing. Wonderful.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not an easy movie to like
richard-fieldhouse7 July 2018
Two girls meet at a bar. One is an actor who worries about her motivation (played by Alia Shawkat, who also shares the writing credits). The other was the evening's singer at the bar (played by rising star Laia Costa). The following day they agree to try and spend a complete 24 hours in each other's company to explore their relationship.

They start out liking each other but as we learn more about them it's not so clear whether we really like them quite so much or whether they'll stay together. The characters are realistic and well acted but they have some strange attitudes and an interest in what might be described as toilet humour if it was even remotely funny - but it wasn't. Each to their own, I suppose.

Not the best accompaniment to a TV dinner. 5/10.
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loved it
annaprestes21 July 2018
My father watched this movie and actually called me to say that I should watch it immediately. My father is 68 years old and I'm 20 and bisexual. Duck Butter is just raw, so much like real life. Laia Costa is amazing (AGAIN), the tears and the singing, she's incredible. Also, Alia Shawkat she's always worth it, isn't she? The movie deserves a better rating!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The story of two very emotionally challenged individuals
lukas-ingel13 July 2018
Absolutely loved this. So incredibly realistic and beautifully shot and told. At first I wasn't sure about the ending, but after some thinking I've come to the conclusion that it was a good choice of the writers to make. In order to not get too freaked out about the characters here, especially the one played by Laia Costa, you'll have to know exactly how crazy they are beforehand. One could argue whether or not Laia's character suffer from a personality disorder, and I definitely think so, but that's what makes this stand out so much from other movies in general. It reminds me a little about "Silver Linings Playbook" I suppose, and if you liked that movie you'll probably like this one as well.

10/10!
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good, for a lesbian film
fameartpop24 August 2018
I actually enjoyed this film, although I must say I have really low expectations for lesbian films as they tend to be quite bad. I was relieved that the storyline was not based around straight girls or teenagers coming out. I felt like there wasn't enough depth for me to really connect with either of the main characters, but it was decent enough to watch it all the way through.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
But....why?
earthboli6 February 2019
I get that some people love the more fluid, unscripted type of movie-"so RAW! So real!"-but I personally find that it's really really easy to do this kind of movie badly. And bad this was: in 24 hours of the characters being together, multiple film cliches came out of the woodwork regarding women-to-women relationships, including some obsessive/intense behaviors that just felt out of place. I didn't find this movie to be as realistic as some think it is, and some scenes were just straight up tasteless and vulgar. I get that we should be impressed that all the usual relationship drama can come out in a short period of time if you spend a lot of time together (apparently this is innovative for a plot device?), but I'm just not impressed.

Call me old-fashioned, but I wanted a decent script and a more compelling story.... and some more inspired acting would have been nice. Both characters needed better development.

Finally, I can't unlearn the definition of "duck butter" after seeing this travesty of a movie, so there's that, too. Just...no.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
INTRESTING
markj-0255615 July 2018
This film is about two women who decide to spend 24 hours together in the hope that they will skip the learning period of a relationship.

This film is directed and co-wrote by Miguel Arteta (Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day). It stars Alia Shawkat (Arrested Development) and Laia Costa (Victoria).

This films plot his ambitious and interesting, their are instances in the film where it feels like a storytelling experiment, and the cameos by Kumal Nanjiani and the Duplass brothers make for a fun part of the film.

However, the writing isn't so good, it does not capitalize on the interesting plot. The acting and directing isn't so good either, it is so plain and unimaginative.

There's nothing much more to this film than an interesting story. But I would recommend you see it just once if you like film.

6/10
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Romance & authenticity
jmchugh-5659521 April 2019
I loved this movie for two reasons. 1) It reminded me that totally falling in love with someone is a real experience. To be so used to them to do almost anything with. To see a new future for your life because of them. 2) it reflected the complexity of relationships over a 24-48 hour time span, which I thought was a cool theatrical metric.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Message 10, Plot 3
jordanaaron-5188129 October 2018
This films message struck a chord with me. There isn't an intricate plot or storyline but the acting left nothing to be desired and the chemistry between actors was intense at times. I appreciated the subtle, nuanced pieces of acting that made this movie shine through as authentic and made the characters very real. This is a film about persons ability to change, and how some of us can change quickly while others have to go at their own pace. It's a simple message but there is something comforting about being reaffirmed via film that we are all just trying our best to be better and that it takes time. Overall I'm rating this 7/10. The acting and the message were wonderful but in the end, it's a one-time watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
NOt for everyone but I enjoyed it emensly
natcalgary6 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I can understand how most won't enjoy this movie as it is not action or comedy or contain major stars. I put it on as a time killer and imediately fell in love with Laia Costa. What an incredible actress she is and she has a hell of a future in front of her. I was dissapointed with the ending but I understand that not everything works out beautifully like in the most hollywood movies.

Over-all I reccommend you give it a try.

PS Laia will you marry me.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
complete crap
ronnierai-7513121 January 2019
Literally crap wait till you see this one scene about crap... this movie has no purpose, its just the two of them doing nothing other than having sex and talking in small sentences.

Save your self some time and do not watch.

SO. MUCH. CRINGE.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Awful movie
lonni0418 August 2018
Don't waste your time. Just another one of those really disappointing ones we all hate so much.
3 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A bit shallow
aliases-5333425 January 2019
While I do like the vibe and the story, the script kinda stayed at a very shallow level throughout the movie. My biggest issue was though with the actress. While Laia Costa was amazing and carries great charisma (will look her up), the other actress just does not pass screen for me and her choice for the role was poor.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed