"Riverdale" Chapter Thirty-One: A Night to Remember (TV Episode 2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
55 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
DISAPPOINTED
trollcczz19 April 2018
It's really hard to get through the episode tbh. The show is getting worse and worse.
54 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What is going on!?
jasonviliame20 April 2018
If there's anything that doesn't belong on this show, it's the musicals/singing. This is by far the worst episode. Difficult to watch from beginning to end. If they don't do anything about it, this will drag Riverdale down, if it isn't already plummeting.
45 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WHY do "they" take great dramas and screw up one episode by making it a musical?
maverickz-33-53038819 April 2018
I absolutely HATE when they take a great drama shows like this and inject a musical episode into it. If people want a musical show, there are plenty on TV, stop wasting an episode by making regular dramas into a musical. This happens with far too many TV shows.

I get that they are doing a musical play at school, but that doesn't mean they are going to randomly break out into song all over place outside of the play and the rehearsals. It's an overused, stupid concept, bordering on cliche at this point. This particular musical episode was worse than most with so much lipsyncing and more autotune than a Kesha album. It was pretty much unwatchable.
45 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Took me out of the riverdale feeling; and I like musicals.
tlarsen-545592 July 2018
This was a bad idea. Season 2 had such a great dark twin peaks feeling to it and then they made the dialog part of the musical. It doesn't fit the story that the couples who all have beef with each other put it all aside to make a musical. Way to ruin the season. Also, their mouths and vowel shapes don't match with the words and intensity of their singing. It's painful. Just when I thought the greatest showman had the worst lip syncing....
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well this is one way to shake up a television series audience...but in a GOOD way!
Ed-Shullivan19 April 2018
A 9 out of 10 rating for this episode

I think the message that the audience is supposed to extract from this episode which is deliberately designed as a musical highlighting the 1976 cult classic film "Carrie" is that there will be revenge delivered by the schools musical lead that being Cheryl Blossom. Cheryl's mother Penelope Blossom however puts a stop to her daughter's dream of being the female lead singer by advising the school principal that her daughter Cheryl did not have her permission to participate in the school musical.

Jughead has been assigned to film the rehearsals as a semi documentary and he actually captures more emotions of the performers off of stage than during the scheduled musicals rehearsals. This episode is highlighting the strained relationships between the cast members parents and their children, and the songs within this episode carry the messages of each child's/parents need to resolve their family conflicts. Thus the title "A Night to Remember". This episode leaves no comparison to the recent 2016 TV musical versions of Grease, Hairspray, or even the Rocky Horror Picture show, but it delivered a sufficient amount of panache to leave its audience wanting more (not of) the same but more of the continued variety in the series Riverdale which you can never guess what the producers have in store for us each week.

Riverdale has now completed a total of thirty-one (31) episodes and I must say that my interest in the series has not waned. On the contrary, this episode, "A Night to Remember" has fortified my belief that the series Riverdale both literally and figuratively "is to die for".
32 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The stars
sora-kwon19 April 2018
Are for the suspense. I don't have the patience for musicals in this teen genre. I have to listen to the words of these corny songs just to follow the story?? I just want to enjoy this silly, mindless and entertaining story without working too hard after a freaking long day. Yes. None of my feedback is helpful. I'm just saying.
26 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst episode ever!
ellinorandersson8620 April 2018
Why, why and why did they had to do the episode like a musical? And why did they have to film with a cam? It took focus from the story and I fast forwarded to the parts with no singing in them!
29 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Definitely A Night to Remember!
misstiarose19 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I thought the episode was great! Cheryl going full on Carrie and scaring her mum. Would've loved to see a bit more of Jughead in the ep but I think filming bts was the right job for him. Cheryl and Josie working things out made me so happy as well as Betty and Veronica rekindling their friendship. Archie getting rid of the fancy car Hiram got him and then buying the one from Junkyard Steve so he and his dad could fix it up really made my heart melt. You could definitely see on Fred's face that he was proud of his son. I thought Alice showed real emotion in this episode so thumbs up to Mädchen! And what a great twist to have the Black Hood back! I knew Svenson wasn't the actual BH. Body Count: Midge Klump. All around great episode.
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
UNWATCHABLE....
BuddyTheElf1119 April 2018
Seriously another show that decided to make a musical episode...boring and predictable!! The second half of season two hasn't been very good in my opinion but this episode is just terrible. Why does every show feel the need to make a musical episode. If I wanted to watch a musical I'd watch Glee. I'm halfway through the episode and I honestly don't even think I can finish watching this in one sitting. This is a train wreck....
36 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Please make it stop.
ilklucg2344 May 2018
I know that music has always been a part of this show. And while I am not the biggest fan of it, I was fine that every once in a while a character sang "live" and you could clearly hear the autotune. It did not bother me too much. But a whole musical episode... Sorry, but the voices of the actors are just not strong enough for that at all. Not if you hear the obvious difference between their speaking voices and their tuned singing voices. I sometimes even thought that it weren't even their real voices. So no, please no more musical episodes. Please.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why
laskolasse19 April 2018
Just annoying. Why do they destroy this series with only one episode?
27 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
My ears..
cutesycake22 April 2018
I never review anything but the episode was so terrible that I just had to get this out. The autotune reminds me of those Kidz Bop songs. Every time one of them sings I get this awful feeling in my eardrums, not to mention they have trouble matching their facial emotions to the singing. Worst episode ever
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Carrie the musical
jtalks9 March 2019
How did riverdale almost just ruin carrie the musical
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the Best Eps!
blhemmerling29 April 2018
I'm not sure why everyone is hating on this episode? I thought it was one of the best yet. It took a risk and it really worked for me. Like the Buffy musical episode, this one was great and I would think true fans of Riverdale would enjoy and appreciate it.
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This show doesn't make sense and that's why it's great
cj-6453519 April 2018
Honestly the writing is terrible but the show is so ridiculous it's amazing
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's amazing
ximenalechuga24 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Honestly it's amazing and Carrie is such an underrated musical. Cheryl deserves better writers and pls give us the Chong scene
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
what is wrong with you people?
This episode was great!! sure, not all of them can sing well, & sure it didn't progress the plot all that much, but it's way better than the garbage storylines they've been giving us for like the last ten episodes. plus if you're a fan of the original carrie movie the music is catchy & sticks to the storyline of that pretty well. you all need to get some class & stop trolling what was supposed to be a nice little break from the boring stuff.
18 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Hard to get through the whole episode
crysgail19 April 2018
I thought the "musical" part of this episode would just be at the school performance. However they made the entire episode a musical. It was extremely hard for me to push through all the singing to finish watching. I gave it a 4/10 because even though that aspect really ruined it for me, the scene of Cheryl and her mother was absolutely amazing.
17 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disgusting
FR4NC10 March 2019
This musical attempt just got totally failed, if you couldn't stand this english version that for me it's meh, don't even think about hearing the spanish dub, pretty bad, voice cordinations are totally offset and voices just sound horrible...

I really want to see if they do better on "Heather: The Musical"
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A match made in hell
baddams-3272128 February 2019
I love Riverdale,and I love Carrie the musical,but they just don't go together.This episode is painful to watch,and I would highly recommend staying away from this episode if you value musical theatre. This has made me dread the Heathers episode even more.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
agus-spd22 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Wow! That final scene? Awesome! I loved the voice of most of the actors and the songs were pretty fun.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It was bearable after taking a drill to my ear drums.
laztheripper26 April 2018
I loved the parts where they weren't singing, those were great. Did I mention I love when they don't make cringe musicals? Whole show ruined. If I could give a -100 I would, but this trash rating system won't let me give this episode the rating it deserves. All jokes aside, I honestly enjoyed all of the 5 combined seconds of non singing in this episode. <3
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Welcome to High school musical 4
stokedaz21 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Sequals can either make or break a franchise. In the case of the high school musical series that was indeed true. But thanks to this utterly cringeworthy episode of riverdale, high school musical looks like it should take a clean sweep at the oscars. Some may say that I'm overreacting but I just came back from the doctors.. why you ask? .. because both my ears and my eyes started bleeding profusely when the writers of this show decided to whip out a musical number every 2 minutes.

Do yourself a favour and skip this weeks episode. You may then say "but then I'll miss out on some important information."

Never fear I shall save you the endless nights of never ending nightmares.... Read on for spoilers.

-Hal finds out chic isn't his son and wants to come home because he loves Alice
  • Archie tells Hiram that he is loyal to his father and that he will lose the battle if he tries to come in between them.
  • Archie gives back the firebird and gets a "new" car that he and his dad can work on together.
  • Cheryl goes Carrie on her Mum
  • Cheryl wants to be amancipated and wants thistle house all to herself while her mum and uncle can live amongst the pigs
-Jug head thinks Ethal pretends to big the black hood to get her way in a "musical"
  • Chuck begins to change how people look at him (turning over a new leaf as some people would say)
  • The episode finishes on a cliffhanger .. the episode ends with the aparent return of the black hood. Midge is stuck to a wall with knives with writing in "blood" surrounding her. "I am back from the dead, all those who escaped me before will die, B.H."
8 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I was uncomfortable
michellesoleil22 April 2018
This episode was so hard to watch. Extremely cringeworthy and just ugh... I wonder what went through their minds when they decided to make a musical episode.
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WORST EPISODE BY FAR!!
nabilariyani19 April 2018
This episode was extremely cringey and boring, riverdale is just getting worst and worst. Giving me the high school musical vibes that I really don't need! Riverdale was meant to be based on Archie's comics not the bloody musical of carry white. What bullshit!
8 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed