At Home in Mitford (TV Movie 2017) Poster

(2017 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
28 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Artistic Dishonesty-At Home In Mitford
jantfl61-121 August 2017
The screenplay writer took a wonderful book, used two characters, Father Tim and Cynthia, eliminated the other characters. The book's plot was rewritten as a romantic TV movie. It would have been much easier to stick to the original Jan Karon story line. The lead characters were too young to play the characters. Hope that others will complain to Hallmark Channel
15 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Weak as pond water
okbeth28 August 2017
How could Hallmark miss the mark of this wonderful, redemptive story so badly???!!! Why are you trying to be like every other shallow love story? The story is so much more. The book(s) is about an aging circa 60 year, balding, pudgy Episcopal priest and a 50-something wife finding each other and healing and redemption multiplied. The book's story stands on it's own and doesn't need tampering in the slightest. You left out some of the most beloved characters. No wonder Jan Karon was so hesitant to release the rights. I'm certain her worst fears were realized. PLEASE don't make a sequel.
19 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boy meets Andie version of Jan Karon's touching story about an Episcopal priest in a small North Carolina town.
mildredhouser22 August 2017
I could not even finish the first half hour. . . . It was just a "boy meets Andie" movie that we've seen before in Cedar Cove. Andie, Andie, Andie, you should have let Ms. Karon have more say. She created multi-dimensional, vulnerable, redemptive characters. Y'all didn't even come close. Greatly disappointed.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Ruined another great book!
jemoore96420 August 2017
So disappointing! I am a huge fan of the books and had hoped this would be made into a film for a long time. This mess doesn't deserve to be mentioned in the same breath. Father Tim is supposed to be 59 and balding! Major characters are missing like Puny, Miss Sadie Baxter, Uncle Billy and Miss Rose. Instead they throw in new characters that are not needed to hold the plot together. I am sad they did such a poor job of filming a lovely book! Now I know why the author has done no promotion of this film.
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't bother...
joantalbert1 October 2017
Remember to good Hallmark movies? This is not one of them! Finally watched it on YouTube. Please don't use that screenwriter, casting director, etc. again, if you intend to make sequels. I am on Jan Karon's FB page and never knew this movie was going to be made. She must have given up all rights to casting. I would have donated money to a kickstarter account to make the movie the way she wanted. I envisioned Beau Bridges as Father Tim, and Emma Thompson as Cynthia (American accent). If anyone in the entertainment business read AARP Magazine, they would know that many of us want movies with mature actors. Sheesh. Not Cameron Matheson as Father Tim. Not even close. What a shame.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A travesty
drjoneslc21 August 2017
Did Jan Karon agree to this? The story has been watered down and fluffed. I don't get it. The actors are all wrong, and the dialogue is silly. This is total Hallmark and not at all Karon. How did this happen? These excellent books deserve so much better screen writing and acting. This is so disappointing.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Did the screen writers even try reading the book first?
terisechrist16 March 2018
The book was wonderful, full of quirky characters including Father Tim and Cynthia. I saw nothing of the book's characters in the movie, that I could even remotely identify the way Jan Karon magically painted them in her book.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Wish I hadn't wasted the time
dgraceofgod23 October 2017
If I could speak to Hallmark, I would ask that they change the name of this movie. Otherwise, they should put a disclaimer on the opening credits - do not watch this movie if you are a fan of the Jan Karon books. I can't begin to understand why they had to change the ages and characterizations of the main characters, the setting, the backstory for Dooley, Olivia Davenport, Marge Owen's, Happy Endings Bookstore, etc. etc. etc. I just cannot understand why you'd buy the rights to a book and then rip it apart for the screen. This deserved a better treatment.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
No wonder author didn't want books to become films
msmith-1189123 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
No wonder Jan Karon did not want her books to be made into movies. She didn't want any tampering with the existing characters and especially not the additions of new ones. What she was concerned about has come true. The beloved stories and characters have been distorted when set to film.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not the real Mitford
queenknitter-121 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I agree with jemoore! If you had never read the books, it's a nice movie with a sweet story. But since I've read & reread the series several times over the years, this did not depict Jan Karon's true vision. The homes of the main 3 characters were very wrong, as was the church & the actors for those roles, even the animals were wrong. Silly as it sounds, I made a list of everything that was off from the books. I enjoyed it, but not for the spirit of the books, just as another decent Hallmark movie.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
At Home in Mitford
whmerwinjr23 August 2017
I love Hallmark. I like the uplifting boy meets girl, live happily ever after stories. But the complexity and spirituality of the Mitford books was totally lost in this movie. Hallmark missed the opportunity to develop this into a great series.

Fr. Tim was totally miscast. Cameron Mathison is a great romantic lead, but this was not the role for him. In the books, his character demonstrates the wonder and glory of finding love late in life. He is a pudgy, bespectacled, balding diabetic. His diabetes and depression are an integral part of the novels.

In addition to depression and diabetes, alcoholism, Alzheimer's and mental illness are dealt with in informative and compassionate manner.

Please don't do this to the rest of the Mitford novels.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disappointing
arjayem16 September 2017
I suppose this is all right as family entertainment if you'd never read any of Ms. Karon's Mitford books. However, as someone who eagerly anticipated reading each and every one of her books as they were released, I was very disappointed in the Hallmark movie version. My first comment was that Andie MacDowell and Cameron Mathieson were just WRONG as the lead characters. The plot only loosely resembles that of the books, and my overall opinion kind of goes downhill from there. It just doesn't do justice to the real Mitford (town or characters) at all.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not even close
ashasnana21 August 2017
The Mitford books ministered to me during a crisis in my life. I was surprised and hesitant when I saw that Hallmark Channel had made a movie of the first book. Understanding that I was very biased... I was also open to a film version, hoping it would illustrate well the book. Not even close. A cleaned up, sanitary, lame version of a wonderful book. Jan Karon, I am very disappointed!. You devalued the impact your books have had in people's lives if you think this movie brings your book to life.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Mitford TV series
campuslifecrlb20 February 2018
Full disclosure, I haven't watched this Hallmark movie....BUT, I just saw the "movie poster"/ad moments ago on my facebook feed and knew not to bother. I came here to see if my instincts were correct and it seems they are. Obvious miscasting and sterile romanticizing.

I've thought for years the characters of Mitford deserve a TV series. I'm going to sound older than I am here...but in the vein of The Waltons w/room for all of the town's quirky characters and special locations---but with a modern time frame. I'm sure we would still be disappointed in characters because they are so vivid in each of our own minds, but they would be given the "fleshing out" that is due them.

Never should have been just a movie. ---Thank you for your reviews saving my time...although again, just from the picture of the two main characters, it was obvious.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Don't believe the bad reviews! Those who read the books are harsh!
smithduke2 April 2018
Let me start by saying I love everything Cameron Mathison!!! He is so genuine and likable it is hard not to enjoy his movies! However, I felt Andie MacDowell was a bit pompous and strict in this movie. No surprise since she seems to play that character in many of her films. She looked a lot older compared to Mathison, which she is. Even so, Mathison lit up this movie with his charm. No, I have not read the books but I will now. Maybe it is better that I watched this first vs. reading the book. Cynicism would have taken over if I had.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hallmark Simply KILLS this Simple Story... in a bad way
PossibleOptimism21 January 2019
As other reviewers have stated, this movie bears no resemblance to the original Jan Karon book by the same name. Names are borrowed, but characters have been adapted for a Hallmark audience and Hallmark's actors. As a movie, it was just plain dull--the simple sweet story fans of the original will remember being tossed aside. Yes, it was written by an older author but the writers of this TV adaptation cheapened it even further using lines and phrases only senior citizens would say. Because these are younger actors and realistically wouldn't talk like that... Flat and weak, Hallmark is gonna hafta' change their ways... or we're all changing the channel. Was that lame?.. Yep--so's Hallmark. Sorry... not sorry.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it
phycoder28 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I never go in expecting a TV show to be like the book because it never is and there is a smaller chance of disappointment. I loved this because it was a lighthearted love story between a small town priest and a big city writer as well as the all encompassing love a small community can share. I most definitely would watch again. Great casting as well. Cameron Mathison did a great job. The acting seemed less forced than other Hallmark movies and as always I hope that Hallmark continues to make shows like this. A lighthearted movie is a great escape from the realities we all face daily
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A little too perfect, but that's what Hallmark's for!
HotToastyRag25 July 2019
Welcome to Mitford, a town so small "the country club" is referred to as just that. There's one bookstore, one church, one realtor, and endlessly sunny days where the sun still shines even after a dinner date. Welcome to Mitford, a town so small that two women spend their morning gossiping about why one woman arrived unannounced at a man's house and wasn't introduced to the other woman sitting in his living room. "That's...odd." "That's what I thought!" Welcome to Mitford, a town so small no one has any secrets for long, proving to be the perfect place for a big-city writer to go to when she has writer's block.

Andie MacDowell leaves Boston for a stay in her uncle's country house to help her write her next children's book. Her next door neighbor is Cameron Mathison, the ridiculously perfect Episcopalian priest with absolutely no flaws. He might be one of the most perfect Hallmark heroes ever, which is saying something. If you're not in the mood for something so corny and unrealistic, you might want to put this one on hold for a while. He's handsome, fit, good with kids, caring with animals, handy around the house, keeps a clean house, has good fashion sense, endless patience with listening to people's problems, gives gentle advice just at the moment someone needs it, never loses his temper and speaks so soothingly he could put the most agitated person to sleep, talks about his feelings easily, and rides a motorcycle. Anything else? Oh yeah, his idea of a problem is spilling club soda on his outfit.

If you're at all worried about Cam and Andie's budding romance, you should remind yourself that this is a Hallmark movie. If you're still worried, here's your guarantee: Immediately after the rival love interest, Ken Tremblett, staggers from the house, sneezing because of his allergy to Andie's cat, Cam smiles and tells Andie and the audience, "I love cats!"

The good news is if you've had a really bad day and want to watch a movie where everyone's problems get resolved, you can pop this Hallmark romance in and have a wonderful stress-free evening. At my house, the Hallmark channel is on for three weeks straight in December, so sometimes, these movies come in handy. You'll also get an enormous amount of eye candy. Cam is handsome and clean cut, Andie is breathtakingly beautiful, and Andie's ragdoll kitty is so precious.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This Guy
kerririchey27 May 2019
Derek McGrath was always my vision of Father Tim as I read the books. Every time I see him in a Hallmark movie I think of the Mitford books. Sad the movie was such a disappointment. It doesn't appear sequels are in works or they would have aired by now.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Shame on you!
GinaGale1 April 2019
I typically enjoy the Hallmark movie, but I cannot in good conscience support a movie that butchers a book so terribly! Their promotions on this alone make me sick! What is wrong with the man in his 60s and balding finding love with a woman in her late 50s? What's wrong with regular looking people falling in love. The charm of these books cannot possibly be captured in a movie that completely dismisses the purpose of the main characters.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Won't even bother...
deejean-2807625 March 2019
I've read all of Jan Karon's Father Tim books and the casting is ALL WRONG. Hallmark casted 'pretty people. Won't even waste my time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
horribly disappointed
sheriberry-319508 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I love the book series by Jan Karon, I love Andie McDowell, but this movie is a travesty! Nothing is true to the story. Characters are either all wrong or missing altogether. It would have been better to not attempt this story at all rather than hack it up like it is. Father Tim is the main character in the books, it seems they have made Andie McDowells character Cynthia Coppersmith the heroine. Father Tim is turning 60 in the beginning of the Mitford series, thinning and receding hair and somewhat overweight and diabetic. I've been hoping someone would see the merits of the wonderful books, but this is worse than nothing!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Maybe forget you read the books?
juliana-2271223 February 2019
If you can suspend your attachment to the books you can enjoy this sweet romance. I'd like to tell Hallmark that I love their movies but would they please stop ruining my favorite books! Maybe they could ask someone who loves the story to review and give input? We have the Focus on the Family Radio Theater version of the first Mitford book and my children are familiar with the story too. My 12 yr old son's comment after watching five minutes was "it's like they asked someone who hated the books to write the script!"
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Completely miscast
Gardenern12 January 2019
Saw this movie and was disappointed that Hallmark completely miscast Jan Karons main two characters and eliminated other central characters. Why? To fit the Hallmark formula? .The backstories were changed, and definitely not for the better. Dooley' s rescue from life with abusive and alcoholic parents is essential to the story lines. Hallmark eliminated that backstory. Tim's age and insecurities were integral to the book,but they too were eliminated. This story was turned into yet another predictable Hallmark romance.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's Own Merit
VintageSoul5620 October 2018
I had no idea that there was a Mitford book series. I read some of the reviews from people who had read the books and they were not complimentary. However, I enjoyed the movie on it's own stand alone merit. It was a nice easy pretty picture, but had more depth in it than a lot of Hallmark movies. I thought that it was good.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed