48 Christmas Wishes (TV Movie 2017) Poster

(2017 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Terrible Acting
jackie-tisdell30 November 2018
Young kids may enjoy it, but the bad acting was painful to watch.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Kids Might Enjoy...
Kristen-20 November 2018
I love Christmas movies, especially during this time of year I go a little crazy with watching them. I practically live and breathe the Hallmark channel during November and December.

This movies has a sweet wholesome story and of course a happy ending. Unfortunately throughout the entire film I couldn't get over how awful the acting was. Even the adult actors were dreadful, it was very painful to watch...

The little ones might enjoy it, it's defiantly 110% kid friendly. I would NOT recommend this for teens or adults.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This makes a school play look good
rwandrews-085987 December 2018
Do you respect yourself? No really, do you? If so, don't watch this movie. It's truly awful. I mean the acting makes you wish for the end of Christmas. I needed a shower after it. Sometimes it still wakes me up at night.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Absolutely horrible acting and sets.
romansamurai17 December 2018
I think one of the producers could have done a better job using a handheld camera and his family. The acting was just awful. The sets were the cheapest I've ever seen in a movie. Just awful all together.

But, my 7 year old loved it for some odd reason....
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Can I score it 0
nassarahmad-5301115 December 2018
Awful. Couldn't follow no matter how much I tried.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
My first review because this was so bad
amberr-b-939-33386117 December 2018
I've never felt motivated to write a review. But this movie finally did it. They are kids so you want to give them a break, but seriously it's as if they grabbed people off the street and gave them a costume and lines and placed them in the movie. All of the kids acting in this move is stiff, monotone or overacted and awkward. One particular moment is when two elves talk and do some type of dance - I can't even remember the context of the lines because you can't focus on anything except their terrible acting. My 7yr old stepdaughter has more talent in her little toe compared this badly acted movie. The mother is probably the only person who has any talent oh and the boy in the science lab at school is good and seems he should've got a main role. The direction is terrible. The props and costumes are good. The teen daughter is a walking cliche. The dog is cute. I will never let my kids watch this again, well at least not in my presence!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Terrible film, terrible terrible terrible
marcbolton16 December 2018
Terrible script, terrible acting, terrible direction terrible plot (who goes to school on Christmas Eve?!); the elves' ears aren't even the same colour as their real ears in some cases! My wife and I watch a lot of Christmas movies and this is without doubt the worst one we've seen in a very long time.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Awful.
nevrandil-163-496599 December 2018
We're about 20 minutes into the film and the acting is hurting my brain. Don't do this to yourseld
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not a terrible Movie
Christmas-Reviewer10 April 2018
Review Date 4/10/2018

This is my 500th review of a Christmas Theme Movie or Special. On all Christmas movies BEWARE OF FAKE REVIEWS & REVIEWERS. Many reviewers have only have ONE REVIEW. When it's a POSITIVE REVIEW chances are that the reviewer was involved with the production. If its a negative review then they may have a huge grudge against the film for whatever reason. I am fare about these films.

I find the low IMDB score puzzling. This is also the first review of this film that is being posted. I find it strange that out of over 100 people that voted that I am the first to post a review.

The story is this: When a small town's letters to Santa accidentally go up in smoke, two elves venture out of the North Pole to retrieve every missing wish. Along the way they become creative in finding what people wanted for Christmas. Its cute and involving. The children are adorable. They give it their all.

This film is meant for the children that still believe in Santa Claus. The story is a little weak but still entertains. Have an open mind.
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lovely christmas movie
therry-6977926 November 2018
I honestly don't understand how this movie got all of these bad ratings. I thought it was a lovely movie, like most other christmas movies. I am 22 years old and can honestly say that I enjoyed watching it. Obviously don't expect a complex plot or unpredictability. But it is a nice film. I thought the acting was good, especially the children were amazing. During the first half of the film I wasn't really sure where it was going, but I can't say that I was ever bored. Children might enjoy this movie even more than I did. But it's nice to get into the christmas spirit anyway.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Terrible acting
sandervanderheide27 December 2018
I don't mind lowering my standards for a cheesy christmas movie, but with this level of acting, it's very hard to do.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How dare you
matthiasbkr26 December 2018
Who ever wrote this should retire. The actors are going nowhere after this. Hey, director? What the hell.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
This is not a good movie. At all.
SnowLeopardMaster12 December 2018
This is a pretty crappy movie. The story is okay, but it's not unique and certain elements of it, like Christmas supposedly being ruined if one person's Christmas wish isn't fulfilled (which has probably happened millions of times in the 21st century alone) make no sense. The main premise is that three elves loose a bag of Christmas wishes, and they have to go recover them from the town these wishes came from.

There's also a subplot about a family learning to cope with the death of their father. This was probably the high point, and there was a genuinely well done scene at the end of the movie where the father's widow finds a box of his things and reads a letter he left her, and starts crying. The widow's acting in this scene is actually quite impressive.

And it's the only impressive acting in the entire movie. The three elves couldn't act their way out of a paper bag. The asian one (Can't remember any of their names, and there's no way I'm going to re-watch this movie to find them) is especially bad. His acting is very stiff and he sounds like he's having trouble pronouncing his lines.

When the three of them accidentally destroy the bag of Christmas wishes, they yell "No!" but instead of panicked or even slightly worried, they sound bored as hell. Santa Claus himself doesn't get much screen time, and his acting is acceptable, but he looks like a forty year old man with a beard strapped to his face. Would it have been that hard to find a guy who's actually old to play this part? I doubt it.

There's another character, who's name I once again can't remember. He's supposed to be the elves's supervisor. I think his character is supposed to provide comic relief, but the way his actor says the lines makes him seem more like a pedophile. Combine that with the fact that his job is too watch three small children work, and things get creepy.

Also, there's a brief scene in which two elves floss (the dance move) and it burns your eyes.

Most of the dialogue is very poorly written, and the jokes are almost all painful. There are a handful of jokes that are actually pretty funny, but they are few and far between.

It's not an abomination, but a handful of good jokes and one well directed scene can't save 48 Christmas Wishes from being a bad, bad movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Cute, more entertaining than a lot of these kinds of movies
fandomfatale3 December 2018
This movie was cute. I laughed out loud a couple of times. The highlight was definitely the elves interacting with the humans. The story with the human family was the weaker part. I think this was a good production for the budget, but the premise is so good and has so much potential that I'm sorry it wasn't turned into a major Christmas release.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
From the first minute you need to ask yourself "Why am I here?"
jeffholt-4907030 December 2018
It is like sitting through a school play for your friend's kids - no reason to be here if you really don't have to be. From the first minutes where a 20+ plays the mom to a teenage girl the acting is worse than the casting. If you really feel the need, turn it on and you too will realize after 5 minutes you need to check your cell and create a reason to excuse yourself.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Put on for you kid and sit this one out!
sstuparits27 December 2018
The concept is cute, as are the enthusiastic child actors. However, I feel like I'm sitting thru a school play - for a film someone spent money making the acting is awful from nearly all involved. I had to pretend I was watching it to support the kids. My 5 year old son has no concept of what's good acting and he enjoyed it, so there's that.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Oops wrong name
ckr-7193419 December 2018
Ethan YANG not chang silly auto correct. The out take real at the end is funny.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very cute
ckr-7193419 December 2018
Ethan chang is absolutely adorable. Will watch again just for him.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Cute
Beautiwi12 December 2018
The kids playing this are cute, and they look like they are having fun.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed