Whiskey Cavalier (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
193 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Don't Be So Serious
medik4157 March 2019
This was never intended to be Jason Bourne, so just relax and enjoy it for what it is: a great mix of drama, comedy and action. The acting is great, the cast meshes really well, and the writing is clever.
96 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I get it.
jaqsn1 March 2019
Yes, the formula is old, but that's becasue it works. There's a drier humor here that works, I'm looking forward to the second episode.
76 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Mission Impossible Meets Leverage
necro177521 March 2019
This is like Mission Impossible and Leverage had a baby and named it Whiskey Cavalier. Seriously, this is great. No, it's technically not "original", but for those of us that loved Leverage and are fans of Mission Impossible, this is A BIG win!
24 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I like it a lot!
giselleszabo29 March 2019
I think I'm gonna love this show. I love the characters, every one of them, but especially Scott Foley, who is SO damn cute in this! Been watching Mr. Foley act since Felicity, and he is just perfect for this role, his sweet and benevolent personality makes him even hotter as an FBI agent. I love him too much. The Mulder-Skully vibe is slightly annoying already, knowing Cohan and Foley's sexual banter will probably never evolve, but I can't stop watching regardless.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Environmentally friendly...
Hei_Shibing27 February 2019
...in that it is recycled material. Typical stereotypes abound, including:

Two "hot" leads: will they or won't get together? Exciting

Fast talking black guy: entertain us, funnyman

Slow-moving villains: raises gun. Takes an eternity to fire. Hero lives to see another day

Civilians put at risk because agents lack subtlety: don't mind me, innocent diners, I'm just going to explode a window in your face

The usual tropes, which will grow old quickly. Thoroughly unoriginal
150 out of 228 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable fun
lastsaint26 February 2019
Not exactly the Borne Supremacy but enjoyable, put your brain in park and relax. (fyi other reviewer - the FBI does operate outside the US and the CIA does operate inside the US, its a common misconception usually held by people who think the monster was called 'Frankenstein'). Its fun, silly and more exiting in the first 5 minutes than an entire season of TWD so take it for what it is a spy romp that has no intention of being as classical as a Shakespeare play or as deep as The Americans. Think of True Lies and you'll get the idea.
107 out of 161 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The sort of senseless violence that I need..
chalomug12 March 2019
Blah blah blah it's been done before.. But really not a repeat of what you watched. It's a fast paced spy flick. Lots of senseless violence, lot's of comedy, a bit of romance, twists and turns, the works. I've seen lots of negative reviews but who cares. For me it's been thoroughly entertaining. I crashed out of lethal weapon and this looks like the sort of thing that would fill that gap.
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pleass dont cancel it
khansaeed-2153923 March 2019
Its not a perfect show, but its fun to watch. If you wanna pass time, watch this show, funny, and has action
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Enjoyable
apuckett11211 March 2019
A promising start! I thought the pilot was great... I loved the characters and the comedic timing. The dialogue and action sequences could be a little cheesy at times, but that didn't detract from any of the story. Can't wait to see more!
32 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What a surprise
CIA joins forces with the FBI and heaps of gadgets.

This is an easy watching show with some high end sets and amusing. Almost like a James Bond movie on a lower budget.

My wife and I really enjoy this and are so glad we stumbled across it.

With so much fake reality TV online, it's nice to just enjoy a TV show.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Satisfying
play-633-95537128 March 2019
I am really enjoying this show. It is light and amusing. I didnt expect more than that. I love the cast and i love Scott Foley and he is perfect in this role. It is good to see a man with the temperament he has in the role. I feel happy when i watch the show and in this day and age that's a good thing. It is light entertainment. Nothing wrong with that.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Mission Impossible meet Get Smart!
theodore_deegan26 April 2019
I like this spy show a lot. Might be one of my favorite since each week seems to be getting better. As I told a friend its a little "Get Smart" with a "Mission Impossible" story. I like the humor and wise cracks between characters. Sure it's not for everyone but for us who like it ill think it's a big hit!
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not just another agency show
kevin-2979329 March 2019
If you were tuning in to get another FBI or Quantico, you'll be disappointed. The show doesn't take itself that seriously. But that's ok. They don't intend to. While there is action and adventure, this show is built on the unique personalities of the characters. Scott Foley is charming, funny and believable. No stranger to action, he leans in to the better side of humanity. Lauren Cohen is the exact opposite. She thinks the worst, expects the worst and goes in hard. Unlike her role in the Walking Dead, Lauren channels the "tough as nails CIA feel-nothing Clint Eastwood" vibe. When the two interact, it creates an enjoyable tension. And there is always a little action to satisfy the adrenaline need. This show is fast becoming one of my top 3. Highly recommend you tune in.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprised and good
anhaveit21 March 2019
4 episodes in an surprised how much I like this great casting .And acting .Great to see the characters growing . Recommend
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
You will love this if you liked True Lies... i loved it
h-4469228 March 2019
This is one of the few spy rom com with a great cast. i have seen the first 5 episodes and it works great. Lots of comedy, romantic tension and some spy stuff., works fine for me... Not going to get any nomination but still entertaining, worth the time spent...
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
We have been here before.
iix-3142226 February 2019
We have seen this before. Sexy spicy spies with some humor. Hot girl, hot guy, black hacker, unspecified middle eastern back-up guy that is sensitive enough to bring tampons to the girl (tampon with a dumb twist). Going to be a hard pass for me. This is a message for the writers if you ever read these things. Where is your creativity?
94 out of 167 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining An Promising
wivavog1 April 2019
A promising series about spy's and espionage with a comedic twist. Definitely alot of room for improvement but for just starting less complaints then most. The show would instantly be better if they dropped Ana ortiz. She is so out of place pn the show and only brings it down. They could cast about anyone else an it would could be drasticly more fun , dynamic and cohesive. The rest of the team seems compliment each other, def good choice of the two leads. Hope it last long enough to improve and work out the kinks.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Really wanted to like it
erinmcway28 February 2019
Love Scott Foley and liked Lauren Cohen in TWD, but the writing is just too silly. I think Moonlight and Castle dynamics were expected, but missed the target. Location shoots are nice, but will need to see some better depth to continue.
55 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Immense fast paced fun
snake-966157 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Ignore the loser nerds. Terrific entertaining show with an extremely likable cast. Only Cohan seems a bit stiff but with her looks who cares. I've never liked Foley but here he makes an engaging funny character. The rest of the cast does a great job keeping you laughing nonstop. Witty as hell. The loser nerds are too dense and anal to figure out that this is not a serious show but they seem to want another 24 or something. With tongue firmly in cheek this is as fun as it gets. Ignore the nerds and catch a breath of fun, light air. Uh for those who still know how to enjoy life that is.
35 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
jjsteffe-120-942962 March 2019
Insultingly simple writing that is hamfisted put together. The core trio have great chemistry but are completely misused in a premise that plays as deadpan Naked Gun that takes itself seriously.

If you can suffer through the intro action sequence and not root for the villain to kill our annoying protagonist before the title sequence your a better person then me.
60 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Entertaining
parthmullick1 March 2019
Its a good light hearted action comedy series. Saw the first episode and hoping good for further. I am a Scott Folley fan from his last Tv series "The Unit". He seems promising.
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Love it so Far!
romangarzaa27 February 2019
I saw the pilot on Hulu yesterday and already can't wait for the second episode! It has Just the right amount of comedy and action and seriousness! I hope it continues to be this amazing!
39 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hokey, but still good!
emilytigger3 March 2019
Some people may be looking for a serious spy drama, but this isn't it. It's silly and fun and lighthearted, which isn't a bad thing! I was entertained and laughing through the whole first episode, and I'm excited for the rest!
23 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Dumbest.. uh comedy? Is it supposed to be funny?
fallguy_jack26 February 2019
There's suspension of disbelief, it's an understandable requirement, but this requires suspension of brain function period. Within the first few minutes, the amount of stupid is literally stupefying. It culminates in the "hero" being distracted by someone proposing to his girlfriend, neither of whom seem to care about the guy that just got run over by a car and is bleeding out in the street five feet away.

Oh I lied, that was not the culmination of anything, the stupidity continues unabated.
60 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Is this show for kids?
NickBrock28 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
If not, it is quite possibly the dumbest scripted show on TV currently.

And no, I am not a "hater", I always try to review titles fairly, and usually only if I find something really good or really bad - otherwise I won't bother.

This one, unfortunately, falls in the "really bad" category..... predominantly, because the script seems to have been written by someone, who has zero understanding of how the intelligence community functions (nationally or internationally), to the point where the show just becomes laughable.

A good pilot director, with a logic mindset, could have fixed it, so could a good producer..... but none of those seem to be involved with this show.

When you then think about all the hoops a network TV show has to jump through, these days, to actually get broadcast on a major network, and all the people that had to sign off on this show getting made, you start to question your own sanity, after watching the pilot.

To illustrate, here are a few spoilers from the pilot (there are many more, but I didn't feel like writing a novel.... a short story will do):

1. Male lead (Scott Foley) is an FBI agent, stationed at the US embassy in Paris..... so far, so good.

What does an FBI agent stationed at the Paris embassy do, in the real world?

He is a legal attache. - His job is to liaise with local law enforcement and counter intelligence in France - He acts as the FBIs official representative in France (and only France). It is largely a diplomatic job.

What does our shows hero do, being an FBI agent stationed at the Paris embassy? He works as overwatch (sniper), in an operation involving bio weapons in a Paris cemetery. He tracks foreign agents across Paris. He engages in hand to hand combat and gunfights in Paris streets (by himself). He goes to Moscow to act as a babysitter for an NSA agent travelling to Germany. He gets in fights and gunfights in Moscow. He travels covertly across Russia, Belarus, Poland and Germany, with absolutely zero orders to do so. The list goes on, and on, and on, and on, and on....

Even someone with a casual knowledge of what the FBI does, knows this is all too dumb to make sense, even in a spoof comedy.

2. The female lead is not written much better..... she starts off by hitting on the male lead at a Moscow bar (apparently knowing who he is - i.e. FBI), then proceeds to attack our FBI guy for no apparent reason, before we find out she is actually CIA (whaaaat? - why is she attacking an FBI agent in a Moscow bar?), but even after that (expected) revelation, she persists in attacking the FBI guy...... because "she wants the NSA guy, he can't have him". It makes no sense..... it's like a 10 year olds book report on a comic book he read. (Obviously), they work it out and become the best of friends, with romantic potential, in the end....... because hey, the show has to appeal to the ladies too, right? :(

3. I guess nobody connected to the show, bothered to spend 2 minutes on Google Maps, working out where stuff in the script is located in the world.

For instance, it takes around 17 hours to drive from the russian border to Nuremberg in Germany (1,000 miles).... so according to the pilot, it took Tyler James Williams' character just over 17 hours, to stick his hand in Scott Foleys pocket, 5 inches away, to fish out the handcuff key - and, being an NSA analyst, he is ofcourse such a nerd, that he promptly drops the key, having spent 17 hours getting hold of it...... Oh, and for some reason, neither of them are fatigued, dehydrated, or have peed their pants, during the 17 hours in the trunk of a car, across some of the most heavily guarded borders in Europe, in a stolen car (they skipped that part entirely :D).

I'd say "you can't write this stuff".... but apparently you can.

4. As the pilot closes, and we need the setup to tease us for the rest of the season, the male and female leads (Remember, an FBI agent working a foreign embassy and reporting to the Washington headquarters of the FBI, and a CIA agent reporting to Langley), get called into the FBI field office in New York, where they are told to form a task force (because, you know, they worked so well together, pulling off that totally illegal operation, with absolutely zero oversight and support).

Now, why this would take place in the FBI New York FIELD office, will probably remain a mystery for the ages..... I just chalk it down to another thing the writer didn't understand about the real world - and the subject matter he has chosen to write about.

I'm sorry, having watched the pilot, I'm calling it...... this show is just too dumb for me.

I'm giving it a 2...... it should be getting a 1.... but you know...... Lauren Cohan ;)
58 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed