Grand Hotel (TV Series 2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
81 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Started off a little typical and cliched, but...
TheTopDawgCritic30 July 2019
Started off a little typical and cliched, but things are getting pretty interesting episode 5 and on.

Good directing, writing is getting better, great casting and performances and certainly a realistic look into this industry.

Enjoyable and the drama is getting better. 8/10 from me.

EDIT: 8/26/19 Oh man this last episode! I have to say the writers really upped the ante these last bunch of episodes! They successfully managed to add so much great drama and tension per episode, I am officially hooked! Katey Sagal was a great addition to the series. I've upped my rating to a 9/10! Mad props to the writers, can't wait to see what else they come up with!
21 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable
brendakusher18 June 2019
Enjoyed every minute of it. Cant wait for next week's episode.
27 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Anyone in the service/hospitality industry would appreciate the employee/employer dynamics
Ed-Shullivan10 July 2019
After watching the first five (5) episodes of Grand Hotel Mrs. Shullivan and I believe there are a sufficient number of plots, sub-plots, family and industry dynamics to keep this series going strong for quite a few seasons. Although the pilot episode leaves the audience with the impression that this may just be another stupid soap opera mystery, my advice would be to hang in there and watch a few more episodes to see so many of the actors/actresses characters and friendships evolve into many intriguing story lines.

Demián Bichir and Roselyn Sanchez nail it as Mr. and Mrs.Mendoza, the owners and hands-on operators of the Miami, Florida, Grand Hotel. As this is each of their second marriages they live in their hotel along with their mixed family of three (3) adult daughters and one (1) son.

The series has quickly evolved into a character driven series and less of a mystery. Mrs. Shullivan and I are glad we hung in there, just like many employees in the service and hotel industry have to to survive.

I'm rating the series a 7 out of 10 and I am optimistic my rating will improve just as the series is getting stronger with each episode. A season 2 is almost a sure thing!
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hotel Grand needs to have a second season.
deborah_harries7 September 2019
I am intrigued by this story line. Amazing acting. Please continue this show. All the tv shows now are about cops, army, marines, crime. This is an excellent family show. It's different and I can't wait for the next episode. Please continue on. Maybe the day and time should be earlier.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Murder Mystery with Attractive People
wrenleung19 June 2019
This show has potential. Very similar to Devious Maids without the funny one-liners. The pilot was overwhelming with so many characters but I look forward to the next episode.
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Twisted mystery
tklesatz19 June 2019
It was even better than expected. I can't wait to watch the next episode!
19 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I prefer the spanish original!
jtremmyrom20 June 2019
This is a cheap copy of the original Spanish series,which is on Netflix called gran hotel!
18 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Watch the original Spanish Version
capdjq18 June 2019
Why does Hollywood always attempt, unsuccessfully, to re-create a highly successful Show? Maybe I am being unfair since its only the First Episode.
17 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice-looking cast
mestberg18 June 2019
First the positive: the cast is beautiful. The story is as you'd expect- fun summer fare. Time will tell how frothy the story will get. So far, so good.

Now, the bad: the acting by some of the younger actors is just plain bad...or over the top. It's difficult to watch at times.

Final decision: I'll give it a few more episodes to see where it goes.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Seem very good so far !!
josephnewwine20 June 2019
Seems very good so far !! Never seen the other series but this ones really good ! Cant wait to see whats gonna happen 2nd episode. Dont know why some people are so negative towards this series ..
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
How is this any difference from devious maids?
shaynedewet19 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This show is almost a carbon copy of devious maids thus far. A girl that has a secret is killed - check Killer is maybe rich people with secrets - check A family member of said girl goes undercover to investigate her death - check Other staff turn into friends - check

A carbon copy that left me with only one thought, iv seen this before.....
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bad soap opera
grasswhisperer18 June 2019
In Florida. Just another one of those lightweight summer series. I don't plan on wasting any more time.
24 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very good
urielramirez-825692 July 2019
Fun to watch and very enjoyable. Would recommend to anyone
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Too ADHD to Watch
roxy-mata18 June 2019
Any chance they will blow up both hotels in this show and finally kill this concept? A little to shiny okay story in one scene then yuck in the next. It feels like a very cheap alcohol where you're drunk and deluded one minute, then throwing up and sick in every minute that follows for the rest of the week. Hulu, you can have your subscription back, I am done. Netflix sans the chill is my alternate.
14 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
RENEW! RENEW! RENEW!
bangel332210 September 2019
I wasn't expecting much from this show, hence why I didn't watch it as soon as it came out. But I'm so glad I finally watched it. Absolutely amazing show. Full of drama, twists and turns. This is edge of your seat stuff. If it's not renewed for season 2, I'm gonna make a fuss.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fun soap opera
amyka-9899911 September 2019
It's entertaining in its genre. The actors are good as well. Hope to see many more episodes!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Sexy soap of secrets and how it connects with the personal and professional lives of each!
blanbrn28 June 2019
"ABC" has once again done it they have a winner with this nighttime soap called "Grand Hotel" as it's set in Miami Beach and deals with a family owned and ran hotel. This hotel is flashy and elegant however it has dark secrets and it involves the typical themes with that of a wealthy family like power, greed, money, and struggle. Santiago Mendoza(Demian Bichir) is the head man who's in charge as his empire is about to sink with debt, yet clever plans come from the family and outside sources to keep things afloat, still headaches and struggle is the normal from family and especially his kids and step children also give pain. To spice things up and put icing on the cake is Santiago's new trophy socialite wife Gigi(the eye candy and sexy Roselyn Sanchez) who always mixes things up in the pot and is blunt and provocative in personal and professional dealings. This series does contain secrets like murder, and ghost from the past as you the viewer have to figure out the characters. Overall great super watch for summer.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
bad copy
rdmcflyers-9524719 June 2019
This is a terrible ripoff of Magic City that was on for 3 seasons on Cinemax. Demian Bichir is a good actor who deserves better than this. terrible unbelievably bad soap opera storylines that go nowhere.
11 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
No, just no.
jackdog1-119 June 2019
Lasted 20 minutes into the first episode and it's clearly just another trashy soap opera/weak telenovela littered with stock (read cliched) characters and ridiculous "intrigue". No wonder people are fleeing network television for Netflix.
10 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Nah
mcleodjack20 June 2019
Seen this before, um, "Devious Maids" plus a couple of others. Cliched. BAD acting. I couldn't make it through the first 20 minutes before I had to run to the bathroom.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Watch the original Spanish show
This is a poor imitation of Gran Hotel, a Spanish production which is wonderful. Don't waste your time on this.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loving this show!
gearedqualitygrowth27 August 2019
I typically find a lot of the modern TV dramas cheesy and predictable but I am really loving this show. It's like a throwback to the 80's nighttime soap operas. It's definitely telenova-style but the writing is really good, keeping me guessing. Everyone is double-crossing everyone else, you don't know who to trust. Is it fine theater? No. But is it great guilty-pleasure fun? Yes!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
IT'S SO GOOD
jojosuryadji19 June 2019
Its the best, honestly i have been waiting for this tv show since the first trailer came out. And i couldnt even watch anything else, because i was too excited for this. I have been searching for a good tv show thats interests me, with romance, crime, mystery all together. And this show has it all. 100% you will love it
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
God-Awful Actors Who Look Great
newmediatalent23 July 2019
We have Roslyn Sanchez, who almost singlehandedly ruined Rush Hour, Bryan Craig, a typical soap actor (like a AAA baseball player, a cut below major-league talent), and a cast that looks much better than it can act, with awful writing to match. ABC seems to have created a repository for its no-talents in order to prevent them from infecting other shows.

If you like eye candy, this is Hershey, PA. If you want quality in your TV entertainment, look elsewhere.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Kinda cheesy, but in a good way
stevenpwilson-5379929 June 2019
Has that Dallas and/or Dynasty "soapy" type of feel to the way the shows is produced and the acting and plots.... just my opinion! I like it.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed