New Amsterdam (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

(2018– )

User Reviews

Review this title
235 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Medical drama that doesn't mock Psychiatry!
hollie_manwaring-x28 February 2019
At the time of writing I'm at episode 12 of season 1 and I am super impressed with this show!

By far the thing that impresses me most is the seamless inclusion of the psych department, led by the very likeable Dr Frome. Many other medical shows I've seen (House, grey's anatomy, scrubs, etc) either ignore or mock this department all together apart from the odd token mental health scene/episode. It's often portrayed as a "lesser" area of medicine. New Amsterdam deals with important mental health issues within each episode with care and compassion. I want this review to remain spoiler free so as there's only one season so far I won't give example and instead encourage you to check the show out for yourself.

As well as the above, the show also hosts a strong diverse cast and maintains entertainment while tackling a bunch of contemporary issues. I really find myself rooting for the characters and I hope in the future this can be a show that goes the distance.
44 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finally!
dedra-521 October 2018
A medical drama without everyone sleeping with each other! Thank you!
154 out of 175 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not since Chicago Hope...
amybutler_artist29 November 2018
I have not gotten hooked on a medical show since Chicago Hope, but New Amsterdam has all the qualities I love. It's not high paced, it's not crass, it's not overly dramatic. It's perfect. It has allowed me to get to know the characters and to Care about them. I wait each week for the next show. A+
63 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
finally a show without sex in the first 10 seconds
amelesdad27 September 2018
I was impressed by the social commentary in the writing! Well acted. All the usual obvious stuff but a few hidden gems for the naive few who still want to enjoy a show about life.
149 out of 181 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A doctor show about doctoring?
peg-217-90064727 September 2018
Another doctor show just seems like it could be overkill on yet another doctor show but Ryan Eggold's portrayal of the new medical director who actually tries to teach doctors to live by the hypocratic oath and advocate for patients regardless of the money that the hospital may or may not make. This show looks at the human side of medicine and that is refreshing.
89 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
COMPASSION IN A HOSPITAL ????
ez_nj17 October 2018
Well it's finally portrayed that there are human emotions in a hospital, I can understand the portrayal of the doctors always having a conflict between duty and their private lives having my wife pass on with cancer at a local hospital here in NJ. I was amazed that while I sat by her bedside, the many doctors that had assisted in her illness came by to comfort me. I would hope that this would be the prevailing attitude in today's world but money & profit seem to be winning now.
46 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
michaelaghummel26 September 2018
Sometimes I feel like medical dramas are all the same, but I'm not sure there was something about this show that I really like. I've only seen the first episode, but I'm excited to see where it goes from here.
90 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic & compelling! I can't wait to watch more
lorraine-2427 September 2018
This show conjured fond memories of ER and a House. Ryan Eggold is riveting! He brings complexity to both the show and his character - so passionate, determined and vulnerable. The rest of the cast are great as well. They packed a lot into the first episode. It will be exciting to see how the show and character developments will unfold. I know I will be waiting for every episode. Hopefully they will avoid the cliche pitfalls that plague most hospital dramas - romantic entanglements and a constant barrage of traumatic events directly involved the staff.
78 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Refreshing and heartwarming
ebada_shawky23 October 2018
Finally a medical drama without the usual drama. It's not about the endless romance between the doctors and nurses; it's not focused on the sexual perks and pains of the staff's sexual life, it is really focused about the medical aspect of the hospital. The characters are very refreshing and particularly Ryan Eggold is so endearing in his first remarkable role, I've actually never paid much attention to him before. I just hope it doesn't get cancelled prematurely, like it seems to be happening to all good shows lately that are not about superheroes.
29 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nice to see a show where people actually care it's pretty rare these days
Oilerslovr26 September 2018
Loved this show ... the critics reviews are saying terrible things but what do they know they always slam the really good shows anyway ... it's just nice to watch a show where someone actually cares about people and wants to do good ... Ryan Eggold is amazing In this show cant wait to watch next week
65 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing show
emily-uk28 February 2019
It's funny, inspiring and I wouldn't change a thing. It makes me want to work at new Amsterdam or get max to come work in my company. Hobestly cannot fault anything. The writing, the actors and the whole show is well thought out and executed. Hope it gets loads of seasons.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
LOVE THIS SHOW!!
drmahmoudatef23 November 2018
Amazing show !! great acting and accurate medical knowledge...im taking my medical boards exam soon and this show is really helping me remember the diseases ...My only issue is with the physicians wearing the stethoscope wrong, it really bothers me!! For an example when Dr. Bloom was listening to the patients lungs with idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis SHE HAD HER STETHOSCOPE ON WRONG!!! MAJOR TURN OFF!!LOL It happens in every medical show but I just wish somebody can correct it! still an amazing show and I love it! I am all for Doctors caring more about their patients than their check!
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Outstanding!
jcatty-126 September 2018
Best new show I've seen. Interesting storylines and tear jerking. Ryan Eggold is outstanding
69 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Refreshing
dcbrannanshopping17 February 2019
Only saying the other day that I'm getting tired of he weak story lines in all my favourite shows and needed something new......... and watched N.A annnnnnd is hooked just done the 12 episodes in last 4 day, addictive to say the least. Not full of in your face STAT! QUICK INCUBATE! Gushing blood and odd ball graphic injuries. They seem to have approached it with humanising characters and ongoing background stories to each character that haven't all been full revealed as yet. Looking forward to the next instalment of episodes in May. Well done Amazon.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely Loved It
gavpeterson5 March 2019
Such a great watch.

Sadness yet a feel good factor in each episode

The character lads all fit in perfect to the overall stories.

Can't wait for season 2
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant
robscottish20 February 2019
Beautifully cast. Excellent central character. Well written. Well acted. Pacey. Love it
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Keeper!
crazi-claa27 September 2018
I have absolutely fallen in LOVE with the first 20 minutes of the show, refreshing, different than the other Hospital shows. Between this and The good doctor, I don't think any other hospital shows are necessary! AMAZING ACTING, GREAT PILOT!
45 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It was entertaining enough...
blakesmith-3692826 September 2018
For a mainstream medical/hospital based drama series, it was interesting enough that it caught my attention with all of the accurate references to the medical situation happening. A quick example was the reference to the placenta previa with an appropriate strip and monitor present. I dont know, the simple stuff sometimes goes a long ways. I feel like the pilot has created a unique foundation, making me intrigued enough to watch a few more episodes. Well played...cheers
36 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
love the new series
tiiuro4 October 2018
Well i am a biiiig fan of greys anatomy, and i thought no other hospital series can top that but new amsterdam is really good. Can't wait for the new episodes to come
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My new obsession!
knockdolian-6764526 February 2019
I LOVE this...great characters and the acting is phenomenal. I cry and laugh in equal measure.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great watch
krunal0020 February 2019
Hooked from episode one a must watch and can see many more seasons for the program
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This is the one to watch!
adriennehollander26 September 2018
I loved this show! Great script, great actors, great show! I'm moved to tears, 'Nuff said. I recorded FBI & watched THIS IS US, but "New Amsterdam" is the best by far! You can't go wrong with Ryan Eggold as the lead. I loved the diverse cast, varied story lines in the opening episode, and promise of more drama to come!
40 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WOW!
n-aspden-na1 October 2018
Just watched the first episode and loved it. I'm a big fan of House and the Good Doctor and, so far, this is on a par with the best of them.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely love it
ladypenny3016 February 2019
I haven't cried so much watching a tv series before. I love programs like this, I've watched E.R., Grays Anatomy, Holby City, and Casualty but it's refreshing to watch a medical drama like this. Bravo to the writer's, produces, actors for a refreshing and heartful series.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Different
whyslop5426 September 2018
I enjoyed the first episode. I cannot imagine a doctor could actually do the things he wants to change in a real hospital. It would be great if he could. I am a fan of Ryan Eggold and that is the reason I watched. I hope it continues to be good.
22 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed