The Alec Baldwin Show (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
37 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
WOW.....Really Bad!!
lbelafonte15 October 2018
This show was sooooo bad I had to turn it off and immediately delete it from my dvr never to watch again. Just another hollywood opinionated political talk show sharing their vomit....yawn! Apparently there are no more talented writers or entertainers who can make a good talk show. This show made me sad. I watched two old rich privileged egotistical angry hateful once good actors try to stay relevant promoting hate! People are tired of this. We already have enough shows like this on tv and soon this show will be archived on a shelf somewhere.
44 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great guest. Uninspiring host..
meusvita15 October 2018
I really wanted to love this show, as I'm a fan of Baldwin. However, he seems more interested in grandizing himself rather than being engaged in the conversation. Most late night hosts - or any host (Fallon, Kimmel, et al) are great because they let the guests shine and can pivot on the fly based on what they get the guests to open up about. In the first episode, he clearly talks FAR more than the guest (De Niro) to the point it looked like he, De Niro, was getting bored. I think this show is trying to aim at long form, "smart," conversation; I don't know. Either way, it doesn't hit the mark. It's not clever. It's not funny. It's not educational. It's just Alec monologuing with himself with a few moments in between dedicated to the guest. It didn't flow.
33 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ouch. Ego and anger makes for bad TV.
robota16 October 2018
My goodness how awful. I was curious to watch a new interview show since my retirement from late night viewing, after Leno and Letterman split. I thought that maybe I'd find humor or at least the intimacy of a clever interview. Sorry, not here.
34 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Please do not waste your time. Nothing of substance included
jamesbizs15 October 2018
I feel dirty even having to spend THIS much time reviewing this show. So just take my short and to the point opinion. DO NOT WATCH THIS. The ratings speak for themselves.
36 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Possibly worse than "Last Call with Carson Daly"
jmcd200717 October 2018
As an actor, Alec Baldwin is fine. But who in their right mind decided to give him a talk show, and why I might add? In real life, he is rude, obnoxious and full of himself. Also verbally abusive toward his own daughter too. I just can't see something like this going on for much longer especially when it is now known that this show had one of the worst premieres in ABC's history.
25 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nothing To See Here
uncatema16 October 2018
What an embarrassment. Don't take this reviewer's word for it. Viewers can see right through it. Two thumbs down.
29 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The stars are for the real "stars" on the show
noreenkendall15 October 2018
Show should be titled "All about Alec." I felt embarrassed for him. A little like my disappointment years ago when Chevy Chased bombed on his talk program. Alec Baldwin won't make 8t past whatever number of shows are under contract. Also, I suspect he will have a tough time getting the artists a large audience would want to see and that the producers will demand for continued support.
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
can't watch this show without snickering at Alec for being a dork
AziziOthmanMY17 October 2018
Alex kinda suck at being a talk show host.I hope this gets cancelled. Go back to SNL!!!
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
He's the Trump of Talk Show Hosts
AnonymousMovieCritic26 October 2018
Alec Baldwin is such an egomaniac he just assumed he would be amazing as a talk show host. He was wrong. He talks too much, asks stupid questions--not the juicy ones we want to hear the answers to--then cuts off the guest in mid-sentence. He's itching to jump in and take over the conversation.

It isn't really a show about getting to know famous people, it's a platform for Alec to be on television.....and not surprisingly, it's boring.
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What's that smell????
Ed-Shullivan22 October 2018
I'll tell you what that smell is, and it's simply awful! The first two interviews were with Robert DeNiro and Kim Kardashian and they were simply "dumb and really boring".

I watched the first two (2) interviews Alec Baldwin hosted with the top Hollywood film star Robert DeNiro, and former porn star and now reality TV's Kim Kardashian. I recall a few years ago when Alec Baldwin was being interviewed by the superior Hollywood host interviewer for Turner Classic Movies (TCM) Robert Osborne, God rest his soul. Then Alec attempted to take over Robert Osborne's interview seat after Robert succumbed to his illness. Let's face it, there are very few really sincere professional Hollywood interviewers who can complete the necessary preliminary homework before sitting down face to face as interview host and interviewee celebrity to bring out some hidden secrets and true feelings of their guests and I just have not seen that ability and/or work effort from Alec Baldwin.

In the Kim Kardashian interview Alec asks Kim about her reality show "but this is something that you took control?" and Kim's response was "I really wanted it....since I was 11, 12 years old and I watched the real world." Really Kim? Is that what possessed someone to turn the camera on during an intimate sexual romp encounter with your then boyfriend Ray-J? Before that sex tape was released the then 22-year-old Kim was a little known heiress to the late lawyer Robert Kardashian, and she was employed as the personal stylist of singer Brandy Norwood and Kim became the girlfriend of Brandy's little brother Willie "Ray J" Norwood. Baldwin (purposely?) neglected to ask any question about the initial fame and success Kim attained from her sex tape. Kim even told Alec not once, but twice, "you can ask me anything", and yet Alec avoided the Kim Kardashian infamous sex tape which is really what gave Kim's name such instant notoriety and recognition. Totally misleading, and this is the kind of star quality The Alec Baldwin TV show is attempting to build his brand on?

What I gleaned from the very first interview Alec did with Robert DeNiro was nothing other than DeNiro slouches demonstrably like a slob in his chair and DeNiro probably only used this opportunity to share with his buddy Alec their personal views on the political landscape.

Boy, how I miss the late great Brian Linehan and Robert Osborne as bona fide Hollywood host interviewers. I won't be watching any further episodes of the really boring The Alec Baldwin Show unless Alec's can secure either Clint Eastwood or Donald Trump as their future guest(s). Now either of those two interviews would be quite interesting that even a baboon could be the host interviewer and it would still be entertaining.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
But enough about me...
ozjosh0322 October 2018
If you don't want to kill Alec Baldwin within the first ten minutes of his debut show then you're some kind of saint. His very first question to Robert de Niro is about how similar they are in so many ways. And so it continues. Baldwin can't go for more than a minute without bringing the conversation back to himself. Even when he appears to show some passing interest in de Niro as an actor it turns into sucking up to him, rather than digging for some kind of insight. And then it's back to Baldwin's attitude to making movies, raising his kids, Trump or whatever. Was there really no producer to rein Baldwin in? Or is his ego so appallingly inflated that nothing and no-one can control it?
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
OMG what a trainwreck!
obloco28 October 2018
This show is aptly named, because it is all about Alec Baldwin, not the guests (at least so far).

I'm surprised they had room for the guests since Alec's ego pretty much filled the studio. Go back to acting, Alec, at least you are mediocre at that!

If you want to watch someone with too much ego for his own good actually do a decent long form interview, go back and watch Shatner's Raw Nerve, and skip this piece of crap.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
liberal garbage
self_conscious17 October 2018
Liberal garbage full of hate. DeNiro 's stupidity and agenda turn my stomach
26 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Sycophantic,literal hand holding drivel with old questions.
sepulchered30 October 2018
I like Baldwin but he's so far out of his depth here it's shockingly bad. He asks nothing viewers haven't heard about his guests multiple times before and his level of offering insight into his world over the guests is maddeningly lengthy. Some of the guests look near bemused at how they get to listen to him drone on and have nothing to do but listen him. And, his level of blowing smoke is boundless to the point that even his stars look like they're wondering if this is in fact a first date.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Show? What Show?
rdtaxes-13 November 2018
Does Alec Baldwin know the camera is on? How bad can a talk show get?...Yes, this bad.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An exaggerated sense of self-importance.
jegd-847-63140723 October 2018
'The Alec Baldwin Show' was exactly as I expected; It's Alec Baldwin showing the world he can do a really good Trump impersonation, because they're both narcissists. He may be a dogmatic liberal for some cashcow politicians, but the rest of us have no need for him. Why do I see him on 'Saturday Night Live'? Why do I see him on 'Will & Grace'?. It's bad enough to know he can't act his way out of a paper bag, but to grant him interviews(?) after the decades of abuse he's placed on other people? It's barely been 10 years since he tormented his ex-wife Kim Basinger and vehemenantly chastised his daughter Ireland. People still remember him physically attacking paparazzi, and behaving like a bigot whenever someone angers him. This guy is polluted - Please cancel his career.
14 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Rough around the edges but real life some time is like that.
rnddmauck23 October 2018
Baldwin was never the smoothest cat out there but I say give him some time he's a great host and it will come out in this show.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ever wonder how
fredroyer17 December 2018
Ever wonder how a human being, supremely untalented and without a single redeeming virtue can make a career in show business? This is the question Alec should be asking because as he perfectly well knows, it's not what you know but who you did.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice Easygoing Chat Show
MikeC194 November 2018
A lot of people have been complaining about this show, but I think some are missing the point. Celebrities go on talk shows, generally, to promote things: movies, shows, etc. This show is more about just having a conversation about them as people, without striking any nerves. It's like being a fly on the wall, and sometimes the conversations are quite enjoyable to hear. It's a very relaxed environment, and for a Sunday night, that's a nice way to cap off the weekend.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fills a huge void
joseffydesigns2 December 2018
Charlie Rose got axed (rightfully) and the one on one interview is gone. The late night shows are short stops to sell the project but don't offer any real insight. Glad Baldwin is bringing this back
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great interviews, honest and refreshing
servicessletter5 November 2018
Mr. Baldwin does a great job. He obviously respects his guests and it's interesting stuff. Sophisticated show.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"Actors Studio" without the pretentious overtone
grantit44 November 2018
No studio audience which can take some getting used to, but I find it way better than the forced cheap laughs and awkward tension your typical late night talk show has with their guests.

Bad reviews tell me it's just too different from what they're used to.

What's not to like though? Intimately organic interviews with some favourite actors & semi-talented celebrities. Say what you will about Alec Baldwin, the man can charm the pants off a snake. Haters shut up. It's very good.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not for the "Dancing with the Stars" crowd.
kobrien-636052 November 2018
A good format to get a sense of the people behind the fame. Long segments allow a good back and forth flow without conspicuous project hawking. Really surprised with Baldwins interview skill and ability to challenge without badgering.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best. Talk show of 2018
jkoegel23 December 2018
Love the directness, questions, host, guests, factual conversations!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Most of those 1 star reviews are haters or haven't watched past the first Episode
unitynow8-883-97987429 December 2018
Sure the first episode was all wooden and hard to watch. DeNiro is famous, NY, Tribeca but he is a terrible talk show guest. The episodes since then have vastly improved and Alec has relaxed into it better.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed