The American Meme (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
184 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
A spot for declining influencers
ganzierozzi15 December 2018
This documentary Is somehow an Inception thing. There are a bunch of influencers complaining about the struggle to became famous on Instagram and Vine, and then the fear to Lost popolarity. There Is Paris Hilton crying cause this Life Is hard... Come on, SRSLY?! There Is a a guy that It has calling himself the fat jews that literally live to lick Paris Hilton butt, Just in the Hope to stay on the rich's train, eventually. The documentary itself Is nothing special, automatic pilot and some Easy rethotical skit, in order to try ti make things emotional and Deep, but well, not even a nice try.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Film
katehot12230 April 2018
I saw this film last night at Hot Docs in Toronto and had little expectations going in. I use social media, but I am certainly not immersed in the world. I was truly entertained, captivated and in awe of the subjects of THE AMERICAN MEME from start to finish. I laughed the entire way through, while learning a great deal, and felt deeply for the characters. One thing that surprised me about the movie was that it was a lot deeper and a lot more serious than I thought it would be. I was scared and sad when it ended and I am still thinking about the film and my own personal interactions with social media today. I was also surprised about how diverse the audience was, which was pretty crazy. There was an 80 year old with a walker laughing her head off and a 12 years old sitting next to me (although probably not appropriate for a 12 year old...).

Anyways, go see it. It's pretty amazing.
26 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fame costs, and right here's where you start paying.
noeroa22 December 2018
"The American Meme" explores social media fame under different lights, through various celebrities who have relied on these outlets to gain recognition. The documentary examines the lives of Vine comedians, party animals, models, TV personalities and everything in between, with Paris Hilton as the standout focal point, due to the fact that she embodies American celebrity culture in its purest form and pretty much paved the way for all those who jumped on the fame wagon in more recent times. Many opportunities were missed in the way, where vapid and irrelevant screen time takes away from the more substantial storytelling, who are these people? What drives them?, and is the cost of fame really worth paying?. "The American Meme" has its shining moments, but you will have to navigate through the dull ones in order to appreciate the more meaningful moments.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The American dream rebranded the American Desperation
iainoconnor14 December 2018
This film encapsulates the mindset of fame in the modern age by letting 4 figures speak on how they conceptualize it. A sickness spreading through all of us. Sad but this is the new normal.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Pure Narcissism
grahamvandyke12 December 2018
I could not make it past 20 minutes of this documentary. I know, it's not good to review anything unless you've seen the entirety of it. But this is one of those rare exceptions.

First of all, I doubt there's anything really wrong with how the documentary is made. The problem I have with this was the soul crushing feeling I had watching these pure narcissists at work. It started with American Idol and people wanting to get-famous-quick without putting in any legwork, and has mutated itself into the social media landscape.

Quite a few years ago I started to remove myself from mainstream media. I started watching the Joe Rogan Podcast, and eventually went on to take in most of my information from what would later be described as the "Intellectual Dark Web". What I found was, the longer and further removed from mainstream media I was, the more ridiculous and outlandishly egotistical it was revealed to be. Everything was dripping with self-absorption and the need to sell-sell-sell, no matter the depravity of the message.

I'm not willing to make a thorough review for people so detestable, so if you can actually sit through 98 minutes of watching these kinds of people, I hope you see the light at the end of Dante's Fourth Circle of Hell. Remove yourself from this idiocy.

4/10- P.S. These people are not memes.
31 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Sad reality
aurumogold9 December 2018
I do not like the concept of this movie, do not like when people trying to pretend "look how hard I work". Obviously they are really enjoying their life style and the entertainment industry, what they are doing - just leaving in their reality, they are an attention seeking people.
24 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Totally surprising
tonyavellia4 May 2018
I was very surprised about how I felt after the film ended. I can't stop thinking about the film and I am still thinking about it now, which is why I am writing a review. It comes off as being fun and entertaining to start, but then you realize that there is a ton at stake for the characters and the themes and stories are much more significant than you realize. I feel like I needed to reexamine my own relationship with social media....
17 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Super
steveforrest64330 April 2018
I was lucky enough to attend the premiere of this film with all of the cast and it was so cool. The movie itself was so good and the people in the film were so different on screen than I thought. There was a Q+A after the film with the cast and I was totally engrossed with these people afterwards. They are all so different, but make so much sense. Just wow!
17 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Vomitus
Trump45Sucks10 December 2018
That was the most nauseating 90 minutes of my life. These "stars" of the cyber-world are pompous, annoying and cringe-worthy. When you put your social media "fans" ahead of friends and family, you just might be a bit desperate for attention - every minute of every day. A true waste of celluloid, in my opinion.
25 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very touching
danielmgp_ds21 December 2018
It's incredible how social media has changed many of lives in the world, how someone can be connected with lots of people and celebs its just amazing. This film just made me feel more close to Paris bacause now i really can undestand what she feels inside. All the time i see Paris Hilton like my superhero and that she can do anything she wants and that's true but now i see my idol like a beautiful human being inside and out, she touched my heart in the movie in many times because she showed me that after the problems and the hate people do, someone has to rise and shine and walk around the street like Paris Hilton and reinvent the game of our lives. She decided to grow up and make an empire by herself, thats what really matters, all the love someone can give to others and becoming an angel with beautiful heart like my Beautiful Paris Hilton. That's Hot!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I've felt this far too many times
joykym-dryden20 December 2018
Waking up wanting to be somebody isn't easy. Sometimes I'm plain depressed just thinking about how I'm not where I want to be . I often question myself .... what do these people sacrifice day in and day out for a Moment if fame. Pleasure .... fun....outcome. Is it all worth it? You think your in love and then your boyfriend he's mad and wants to expose you... that's the world we live in . The world I live in . Now it's either expose yourself or be humiliated. I'll expose myself every time over the other guy
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
😚
meganrhodes-6588620 December 2018
I watch the American Meme movie last night I just want to say you are very strong person and beautiful and intelligent I feel bad for everything you've been through not even celebrities deserve that it can be hard sometimes but at the end of the day your happiness is really what matters and you should do whatever makes you happy Paris you're amazing towards your fans and honestly I didn't really understand you till this movie you did a really good job don't ever let anyone take your spark
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect representation of how social media has taken over today's world
alybarrmakeup15 December 2018
This movie was so interesting! I think people of all different ages need to see this! It's crazy how much of an impact social media has on everyone, and how you can quickly gain a huge following through an app. I honestly didn't expect a lot of what I saw in this movie, and it's super eye opening! It's good to know that people are realizing that the age of Social Media may not be as popular as it is now forever, and social media stars are using their following that they have now to build a sustainable brand. I learned a lot about the new age of fame! Would definitely recommend!!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Incredibly eye opening
erinreilly-2739315 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This film was so captivating to watch. It shows an inside look at what it's really like to be famous. It shows that fame isn't everything you've ever wanted. The message the film portrays is very deep. It makes me worry for the new generations who want to grow up to become youtubers or just famous people. What matters in life is relationships. You can be surrounded by people and still be lonely, like krill. And that's when you realize that famous people don't necessarily live a better life than you do. They are just people, and they probably envy regular people. Relationships are the things that make us happy. And this film really gets into the deeper understanding of fame, and the negatives of it. I'm a big fan of Paris and it was nice to know she feels closest to her fans more than anyone else :) Definaltly a must watch!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fasten your seatbelt for this journey in the backstage of social media
ddleys15 December 2018
Dear all,

I can confirm that this documentary is truly exceptional! It deserves 10/10 without any doubt. From A to Z, you will be fascinating by the story of Bert Marcus which depicts the ups and downs of influencers on social media.

First, you will learn how social media work.

Second, you will understand why influencers choose social media as the best medium to share their messages.

Third, you will discover unexpected events that may occur to the life of an influencer.

Fourth, the Documentary presents the stories of various influencers with a special focus on the magnificent Paris Hilton who shows her strengths and weaknesses without any taboos and with professionalism.

Fifth, you will spend such an enjoyable time to watch the documentary and afterwards you will talk about it to your network as there are so many interesting issues that you can talk about. That documentary leaves fond memories.

To summarize, nobody can miss this Documentary as it is truly instructive to anybody in the society. Social media change our way to live and it is so important to grasp current issues in that field. Social media are truly appealing but are also dangerous if you do not use them properly.

The American Meme is the recipe for the use of social media with intelligence. That documentary is a masterpiece since you will never forget it. It is a lifetime experience for all generations. Fasten your seatbelt, be ready to laugh and cry and enjoy it to the fullest! Go!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lovely sweet fairy queen
fcshahsavarian15 December 2018
This movie made me tear up so many times. Maybe because of the state of social media but I mainly felt so touched at Paris's part. She was so honest about herself and us, the little Hilton's. It really touched my heart and I enjoyed her parts of the film. A few months ago I started really including Paris in my prayers. She had stopped posting about her past love and I felt sad and worried for her. On 11/11 (so special hehe) this year I commented something heartfelt on her photo with no expectation. It was four am and I just felt like uplifting her. Not only did she follow me back she commented and liked some of my personal photos. I know there are some little Hilton's that dedicate themselves to Paris but I'm not one of those. I'm just a normal girl that genuinely showed her love and she saw it and acknowledged me. In a world full of "likes" and followers, which the movie showed, she really is about love and CONNECTION. We need to change our views on social media and be more like Paris and be there for and embrace everyone who shows us love. I loved it so much. I love my Queeen!!!! Watch it. Even if you only watch her parts. I didn't enjoy the other narratives as much but it was a good movie.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Heartfelt & Touching. Thank you Paris Hilton.
farrelllibby15 December 2018
I decided to watch the American Meme because I've always loved Paris Hilton, especially her ability to stay true to herself. And I can say with 100% honesty, that this documentary blew me away. All of the influencer's stories, especially Paris', touched my heart. I know this documentary focused on the heavy price that comes with fame, but even as a non celebrity I felt a connection. We live in such a tough world that is dominated by technology and social media. We care so much what other people think about us, and thus we always feel the need to put our best foot forward on social media. It's exhausting and it's definitely taken a mental toll on me and many other people. I appreciate the raw and authentic emotions in this documentary. We all struggle, even celebrities. Because at the end of the day we are all just human. I'm so proud of Paris Hilton for sharing her story. It's not an easy thing to do. Her vulnerability is beautiful.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Be Careful What You Wish For
aimeeknowsbest15 December 2018
I definitely have a new found respect for social media personalities. The general public has no idea the amount of work it takes to make life look "carefree" isn't so carefree. I loved getting to know Paris more on a deeper level. It was interesting to hear her real feelings on everything from the sex tape scandal to her true feelings on the party life. She has matured immensely and become a smart business woman thinking about her future. She just wants a quiet life. Brittany Furlan's story tore me up. She is so strong and resilient. I am so glad she is feeling happy and able to be creative in her relationship and environment. We all deserve to feel that in life. Everyone in the documentary were very open and vulnerable. They all made it obvious that with this fame and money, happiness did not always follow.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yasss!!!
OutdoorOlivia15 December 2018
This documentary lived up to every expectation I had while waiting for the Netflix release. Paris Hilton giving us #littlehiltons and the rest of the world a glimpse into her life now, and reflecting on memories from the past 20 years of her life, she is truly an icon and has become the best role model for many young girls and women.

Getting to see all of the social media influencers in such a raw, unmanufactured way was exactly what we needed to see. @TheSlutWhisper's life outside of champagne facials and seeing the jet lagged blackout morning afters was powerful and gave us a rare view into the extraordinary lives of these people. This film was perfect in every way and I hope that people will remember it years from now. Basically... Loves it

Xoxo Olivia
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great doc
theguytypingthis7 December 2018
This documentary showed the internet influencer landscape from all angles without being preachy or subversive, all in a cohesive storyline. Definitely worth a rewatch.
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
More Than Meets The Eye
akilianetc-232773 July 2018
I like how the filmmaker follows 4 notable social media icons, especially Paris Hilton, as they use their online presence to create something bigger than themselves. I think Bert Marcus does a splendid job approaching industry notables to share the rollercoaster ride that follows when deciding to share your life for millions to watch - also get a glimpse of their life and insight. This documentary is a 'must watch' as it helps the viewer better understand that there's more than meets the eye.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This made the aliens turn around
micheleklassy13 December 2018
I just hope that it doesn't inspire. Really needs to stop
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
American meme the truth behind super Insta stars!
britnimoss24 December 2018
Amazing film on Netflix to watch and see how some stars and regular people become Insta famous daily! It was funny and heartfelt! This gave a glimpse of the daily lives of Insta people and what they go through while trying to maintain their stature. Paris was genuine and gave the audience a chance to see her vulnerable. It was an emotional part of the show which made me love her more for being real!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Paris Hilton is rad.
runningwaters-7394220 December 2018
I follwed her on Insta after watching this. I thought she seems like a nice person. Love all her furry friends. I'm trying to heal from a really bad brain injury..at times I can not even speak right. Legit my life has turned to a living he'll from this. But this film Inspired me to maybe try more to sell my art online. I mean why not. I'm already totally fd like whats there to lose. Anyways interesting film I dug it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
MISS PARIS
veetrejo20 December 2018
I loved the movie. It made me wish the Kardashians never happened because Paris has style, Grace and class. She was and is the reason all of these people have a platform.

I especially liked how the film touched on topics like "real life" after the parties for some "instafamous" people. It was interesting to watch how much our world has changed and what our younger generation is dealing with. When it was over, I went to find Paris on IG and followed her because she is truly the queen of it all and she remained humble and silent while making moves And influencing others ...
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed