Eerie (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
43 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
So boring
pencil_drawings5 August 2019
This movie is overrated, unoriginal and really boring. You need to fast-forward through this borefest, no point in watching it. 1/10
22 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Overrated and Boring Movie
mailagonzales11 May 2019
The movie was extremely disappointing. I had high hopes because of the reviews on social media which turn out to be faked or paid reviews. Bea Alonzo and Charo Santos did their best in delivering their lines. However, the storyline is boring and predictable and even the evil ghost Erika is not scary at all. It looks like a film made to scare kids on the cinema. I have wasted my time and money on this overly hyped movie.
24 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sister Act
Screen_O_Genic30 March 2019
Odd cliche-ridden horror flick on a strange Guidance Counsellor who dabbles in the supernatural to help teen girls who are dying one by one in a convent. Starts out slow but picks up in the end. A fine representation of the genre from Southeast Asia.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Prepare a drinking game for this movie
greatbigdumb5 August 2019
Because it's filled with every horror cliché there is. The first scare is even the good old mirror trick, and it's poorly done.

There are some promising scenes where the main protagonist talks to the ghosts, but they all end up as jumpscares. Be prepared that this movie is filled with these nonsensical jumpscares. They are everywhere, it's as if every ghost wants to jumpscare the main protagonist into understanding what's going on, all the time.

Was there hype for this movie? I dont get it.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Cliches everywhere
heterotopic4 August 2019
This movie thought it was redefining a whole genre of typical horror movies involving your Catholuc school, dorms, and our favorite comfort rooms, but it just smacked right into the cliches. Boring, predictable, eerie (where did the title come from? The supposedly suspenseful music that was also cliche?) music that should make you scared, the thunderstorm, the close-ups of saints' statues, the quick shots of ugly monster-like faces. All tricks to make you jump, because actually there's no story behind this. Oh, and adding the journalist? Come on.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I don't understand the hate
pauladriano-2322113 October 2019
It was a pretty solid film. Don't watch this film expecting scary looking monsters or gore and violence. It's full of clichés, yes, but they're all effective. The best aspect of this film is the atmosphere. I can understand why people thought it was boring but for me it was extremely tense. Overall, the film's not the best but it's definitely not as bad as what the other reviews are trying to say it is.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
H-Y-P-E
pausebreak28 July 2019
The good: Effective lead actress. Watchable 3rd act.

The bad: The 3rd act paid for all the sins of the 1st and 2nd, and that's the most one can say. Movie's a snooze fest, which isn't necessarily bad because slow burn horrors are usually the better ones; but a snooze fest of cliches? You'd lose count of all the movies this one is trying so hard to be. Quite a handful of nightmare scenes, Freddy Krueger would be offended. Japanese horror? We've got you covered. James Wan? Sure thing. A very important school staff meeting to discuss a student's death? Sure, do it in a chapel lit only with candles; because, you know, a school office of some sort is just too unhorror-ish. What else can we put in it? Oh, yeah, make it 1995. There...Eerie. ;)
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Uberly Lame
gervacioasus26 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
So many comfort room scenes, crying girls and bunch of redundancy. Eerie looks like Blanka from street fighter.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Classic Horror movie trope, the fractures between mental health issues and conventional faith.
nhotcool28 March 2019
A Seriously good local horror-drama in a long time, since mainstream bombarded us with trashy comedy robed as horror movies. Mikhail Red took the overused subculture stories of restroom suicide deaths into a smooth yet knotted mystery.

The film quickly builds up great anticipation, an uneasy atmosphere that wails unsettling imagery, all in just the first few gasps of its viewers inside the cinema. The bleak cinematic tonality of the sequences, in combination with James Wan-inspired visual language, works well in setting-up tension.

Red refinedly pulls off good suspense in some events, where notable music score reaches its disturbing peaks. As the mystery untangles, this suspenseful style became monotonous and formulaic for the whole movie. As good as it gets, those repetitions were contradicted by its fast-paced sequence of events - this fueled its smooth narrative and effective character building.

In the midst of the tension, the storyline introduces a contrast between conventional faith and modern approach to mental health. Subtly portrayed that the society even religion contributes to this looming, unresolved complication.

The narrative progression was presented intelligently with its balanced twists-concealment except for its conclusion where it became too spoon-feeding. Nonetheless, the ending relieved the film with its refreshing and fulfilling finale.
12 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
HAS THE POTENTIAL
Honest_Reviewer3213 August 2019
This film had some really spine-tingling scenes and jump-scare techniques wisely used that made this a good horror film. I love how it was very original in using a traditional Filipino Catholic School horror story and turned it into a masterpiece.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Typical pinoy mayhem
mostjaypee28 July 2019
We are doomed! The philippines is doomed! From politicians to its people and its movie makers, we are doomed. A premiere catholic school in the philippines with only 15 students? non linear storytelling that doesn't make any sense at all. The director tries so hard to be Nolan but ends up being shyamalan. Philippines is destined to be doomed!
11 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Should have slept
nocescamille17 August 2019
It was in my watchlist and now I got the time to watch it, i felt like i've wasted it. An hour and so of disappointment. I heard about a lot of good reviews in social media and said to myself, why not. Should've checked IMDB first. -_-
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ghost Story/Murder Mystery
Pairic18 August 2019
Eerie: Filipino Ghost Story/Murder Mystery. It's been done before, the haunted school. girls dying, this film has a few interesting twists though. The voiceover is by the school'd guidance counsellor, Pat Consolacion (Bea Alonzo) she relates the tale of a girl who committed suicide in the toilets decades ago and who is now rumoured to haunt the school. The story has effects on some of Pat's troubled pupis, one is found gibbering in the toilets, totally insane, another is murdered. The school is run by nuns who are more worried about the schools image than the girls.

Pat is herself psychic and in communication with the ghost, Eri. She tries to find out why Eri (Gillian Vicencio) died and who really murdered her pupil. Much of the action is shot in dark corridors of the school and the toilets. Even when it is filmed in offices, ghosts appear. Pat's vivid and terrifying nightmares are often difficult to distinguish from the reality of contact with spirits and may be another form of communication. Angry ghosts, bullying, nasty nuns and Dybbuks feature in this dark narrative. Directed and written by Mikhail Red. 8/10. On Netflix.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
100% TRASH
saltarismenos22 August 2019
I wanted to smash my head upon the monitor. . . . . . .
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Old Fashioned Atmospheric Horror
shoppsi16 August 2019
I loved this. It brought me back to the horror movies I loved when I was younger. I actually went to an all girls Catholic High School in the 80's and remember how spooky it was in the evenings after club meetings, when most of the kids and teachers had left. The nuns lived in a convent attached to the school but luckily most of them were kind albeit strict, lol. Then I went to a small University that used to be a residential school and it was rumored to be haunted and there were classrooms none of us would go up to at night, lol, so this brought back a lot of memories. My heart was racing throughout this movie. I thought it was really well done.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Impressive
bigvin-9890225 August 2019
Filipino directors are evolving. From "Tiyanak" to "Eerie"! Director is taking shots on different angles not just a continuous shot like the other lazy directors. Every one is great. My only problem was the ghost and the other students look a like.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The beginning was lit however - that's about it
manilene16 August 2019
My boyfriend fell asleep watching this movie. Though the story is just average - acting was really above the average. Eerie yet I was expecting an unpredictable story. But indeed, one of the scariest horror movie of the Filipino movie industry!
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not worth thew Viewing
malcolm-cooke29 August 2019
OK so I read a few reviews on this movie about people unable to sleep and can watch it with he light's off and I said sounds good let give it a try. In one word terrible, This series relies on music to make you jump and quick shots of something running. The story is poor the scare factor even more so. I would not bother watching this.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
the kind of film you don't even want to wipe your bottom with.
Bansik29 October 2019
The true horror of this movie was how it was directed and produced. I wasted 1 and a half hour watching this horrible crap. i'm surprised that some people actually find this worth watching. story line was frankly boring. you could predict the events as the movie progress. they fail terribly trying to build suspense by using cliché setups. characters were lame and their dialogues were bland. acting was very mediocre (even though we know bea alonzo is a good actor). effects, make up, setting, were all extremely low budget. Mikhail Red should be ashamed of this garbage.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Visually it's very pleasing
kharisna12 October 2019
And the title "eerie" is on point with the tone set throughout the movie, but that's pretty much it of what's good. The jump-scares are just dumb, the story is boring and uninteresting, nothing about them are worthy enough to spent your hours on.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Atmosphere
elehiguera30 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Almost since The Conjouring I havent felt that any movie building a nice horror atmosphere, instead of relying in easy jumps and scary sounds effects.

The aesthetic works perfectly, and brings you inside the story from the very beggining.

Screenplay still bases its developing in a few cliches of genre, and might be weak at certain points but SPOILER ALERT*F few movies are able to show you the ghost from the very beggining and still succed in scaring you.

Definetely worth watching, definetely worth following what the director cooks next
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Scary And Terrifying Movie!
gfcbcousins21 April 2019
For Me Eerie Is My Favorite Pinoy Horror Movie! Terrifying for me and it also has moral lessons from the movie! Maganda yung twist grabehh! Nood na! Congrats Sa Mga Bumubuo Ng Pelikula Especially Kay Bea At Ma'am Charo! My problem is the ending ahaha i am wondering why did ______ died?! Anyways, i still can remember the face of Erika!
5 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Breakthrough in Philippine Cinema
plsletitrain1 August 2019
Notice I used breakthrough in Philippine Cinema. The formula used by Mikhail Red (who is very young and promising at 28/29 btw), is something we've seen before in some other movies. But he delivered.

The first scenes were a huge turn-off. Because of course, one girl has to go to the comfort room ALONE. Then for some reason (probably had a black out OF ALL DAYS), its dark. Because it has to. And the windows HAVE to be opened so the curtains will fly and make room for a windy atmosphere. Uh-huh. Why oh why can't horror take place in a well-illuminated place???? With a lot of people. At daytime. Haha! At some point, dark atmosphere works against the essence of the film because I can't see the ghost anymore hehe.

Another huge turn off. The overused scene of one picking up a pen that has fallen on the floor then seeing feet on the other side of the table.

A lot of decent jumpscares here. Decent sound effects too. Again, I applaud Mikhail for setting the bar high.

We've seen this all before. The story. The style used by the director. BUT what I find in this movie being a breakthrough is it does create an eerie atmosphere, showing that Philippine horror has evolved. Of course, gone were the days of long-haired pale-skinned ghosts crawling out of the TV. Its time to open the floodgates for themes that may well come under sacrilege, in a country of Catholics. Though, to be fair, there's no sacrilege here as the only religious element involved is the fact that the school is ran by nuns and one of the main (mysterious) characters is a nun. One thing why this movie also did well in the box office and in the critics is for the longest time since Seklusyon (I think), a horror film, that could actually be called a decent horror film, was offered to the masses. Because you know what sells so much like hotcakes here? Infidelity stories! Yeah man, who wants to solve the mystery of the crying lady in the CR anyway when its so much fun seeing the wife pull the mistress by the hair??

Pat (Bea Alonzo) is a guidance counselor in Sta. Lucia Academy, an all-girls school ran by nuns. The atmosphere becomes weird when a student, Erika, commits suicide. Pat encounters visions of Erika and talks to her. Soon, another girl gets killed. Or was she? Pat tries to solve the mystery behind the killings in the school (and the role that the school's head, Sister Alice (Charo Santos has to play), including that of another girl who tries to commit suicide. Everything is not new to the eyes. The ending part was well-made, no mind-bending twists here. The movie was consistent from start to finish.

Now what is truly remarkable about this is the promise of potential from the director, Mikhail Red. Note that he is only 28 or 29...And seeing Eerie, I would've thought this was made by an old-timer. The young man knows what he's doing.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
ldiefhlalmqlsj
charjhoy15 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A Seriously good local horror-drama in a long time, since mainstream bombarded us with trashy comedy robed as horror movies. Mikhail Red took the overused subculture stories of restroom suicide deaths into a smooth yet knotted mystery.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Creepy and suspenseful!!!
chellssaik3 August 2019
A suspenseful ghost movie with wonderful twists! Ghost movies and haunted houses are my favorite kind of story & add some nuns to add some creepiness, the title Eerie is right on point. This movie has an interesting mystery in the story as well. I loved it and if you like ghost movies, you will too!
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed