"Watchmen" She Was Killed by Space Junk (TV Episode 2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
17 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
In my opinion, a good epi, but Lindelof better bring this together in the end
kcmcc-005424 November 2019
It appears I am higher on the first two epis then most of ppl is. I really enjoy the mystery and wtf moments that Lindelof has laid down so far. However, I'm starting to get to the point to where I need answers pretty soon. He has created quite a hole of weird and insane to dig himself out of.

Obviously one of the big critiques of Lindelof from Lost and Leftovers is that he creates too many mysteries that he can't explain. However, I still have confidence that he will deliver in the second half of this season.
50 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This is DC.
dhruvkulkarni08684 November 2019
The main rating in IMDb is 6.9? Wtf this is atleast 8 rating material... Best episode in the series by far, and we finally get some world building and introduction of Laurie Jupiter, who is , IMO, portrayed by a great actor.... I really hope the writers tie this all up in the end....
35 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely fantastic - I think Watchmen is getting better!
UniqueParticle4 November 2019
Very intriguing delightfulness and epic soundtrack! While I understand the hate, I am loving it quite a lot, it is very well written and has mind blowing entertainment value. I feel as if the pilot episode had too much going on so a bunch of people complained, I'm happy not being one of them. Lastly I wanna say Jean Smart is riveting and menacing!!
58 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Watchmen episode 3
pacgd4 November 2019
Excellent episode! Killer sound track. People, (dare I say guys) this ain't the comics. Even if it was the very same people (mostly guys) would still be complaining. Simple, if you don't like something don't watch it, especially just to come here to bitxh about it. Your precious comics will always be there for you. And, on sunday night you could always watch Batwoman instead. For me this series is getting better & I have a little faith that HBO just didn't drop the ball on this. Will we ever get to see the blue guy, thats my question.

My rating for episode 3, 8.5
42 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Something She Has to Do
southdavid5 November 2019
Senator Keane (James Wolk) recruits Laurie Blake (Jean Smart), the former Silk Spectre, turned FBI vigilante specialist, to the investigation of the murder of Chief Crawford, believing that the 7th Kavalry group may not be behind it. Blake's abrasive style rubs up against Sister Knight (Regina King) and Looking Glass (Tim Blake Nelson). Meanwhile Adrian Veidt (Jeremy Irons) continues to experiment on his cloned servants and clashes, in strongly worded letters no less, with a mysterious figure about the terms of their agreement.

I've been saying so far that "Watchmen" was a show I admired rather than loved, this was the first episode that this wasn't the case. This was glorious. Jean Smart, straight off the brilliant run on "Legion" is wonderful in an episode that is almost entirely about Silk Spectre, teaching us about where she is now and providing hints about what might have happened since the events of the graphic novel. She is a dark and sardonic character - as disinterested in due process as the rest of the police seem to be - and also still bitter with Dr Manhattan for abandoning both her and the human race. Because she's the focus of it, the episode is the funniest it's been. It's perhaps also the most straightforward episode so far too, with the conceit of a federal agent taking over a local murder enquiry being a familiar one - admittedly with the agent telephoning Mars for much of the backdrop of the story being slightly less traditional.

Technically it remains as good as ever. Nicely shot, good effects and the music is excellent, there are lots of links to the previous story and Easter Eggs in this episode to keep your eyes open for (the name of the motel!). I keep saying it every week, but I'm hoping rather than expecting that enough of the answers are coming as to more of the outlandish elements, or at least hints. If it can maintain this level of quality though I'll be very happy.
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jean Smart to the rescue.....and not a moment too soon.
apriceaboverubies296 November 2019
I was wavering on whether to stay with this after watching the first two episodes. But Jean Smart shows up as Silk Spectre anchoring this episode. She is brilliant -- tough as nails with a weary 'armies have matched over me' persona. Great actress, excellent script, brilliant episode. I'm staying with it.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So underrated.
starwars8277 November 2019
This episode proves that creator Damon Lindelof, the producers, and the actors all read the graphic novel, understand the graphic novel, and somehow have managed to greatly expand on the heart and soul of the graphic novel in new and unexpected ways. So often with perfect examples of literature or film do we not want a sequel. Movies like Predator, The Karate Kid, The Silence of the Lambs, et cetera operate so much better as stand alone films. Books like The Giver, Catch 22, Rosemary's Baby, et cetera all did not need to be tainted by an additional novelizations. I initially categorized Alan Moore's Watchmen as something I would never want to see have a sequel. I wasn't even too fond of Zack Snyder's film. Basically, I figured the only thing that could make this show not a dumpster fire was Damon Lindelof, Regina King, and Jeremy Irons. And oh my god, do these incredible people not disappoint. Lindelof CLEARLY has a deep understanding of what gave Watchmen its charm, depth, originality, and enjoyability. He expands on the graphic novel in many ways, unafraid to make controversial choices with characters and plot, something the original Watchmen did as well. Lindelof has captured the spirit of Watchmen beautifully and has proven that un-sequel-able mediums can have more story while still feeling earned and genuine. Not nearly enough people realize how great an achivement this show is.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A perfect episode
Fanatic_movie_goer5 November 2019
This was a very interesting episode and one of the best. Laurie Blake is the interest and when her character was introduced, I was intrigued what her character was.

The music is ones again top notch. The Brick -song was very mysterious and it makes you shiver inside. Well done Trent and Atticus!

This was a magnificent episode because the music was right, the acting was correct and the series still has its right place.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best of this season till now.
deepakdst7 November 2019
This was really the best episode of this season with a powerful background music and concepts.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Significant improvement over the first two episodes
emil93-Lobo5 November 2019
Although the constant pandering about racism and white guilt is here to stay at least some connection to actual Watchmen, including the characters are starting to emerge. The actress playing the older Laurie Jupiter has a great screen presence and scenes with Jeremy Irons as older Adrian Veidt are what my Watchmen fanboy fantasies were made of as soon as I heard of that perfect casting.
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best EP so far
andrewjdavis-home9 November 2019
Jean Smart absolutely nails this one, a delight to watch. Also the music has been growing on me throughout the series. When I found out it was Trent Reznor, it made sense. Subtle but fantastically atmospheric.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
More disappointed Storylines
killerindrag4 November 2019
It feels like this series has been on a steadfast decline since the opening episode.

Having the guy who did lost front this show made me really skeptical, but the 1st episode started off strong and gave me hope.

Sadly, it's all been downhill since then, and it's like lost; being that it is moving in a semi-annotated style, that just keeps you guessing and saying WTF to yourself, but in the worst way, and with no answers.

WAY TOO MANY STORY PLOTS AND HOLES !!!

Each episode keeps creating more and more, and I get the feeling most of them are not going to get answered or explained.

I really hope this series picks up, but I'm not counting on it at all, unfortunately.
14 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Finally an episode without overt race-baiting
smarttv-809434 November 2019
Might just be an aberration and we'll slide back into the agenda in episode 4, but I finally enjoyed an episode and may see a small light at the end of the tunnel
10 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Slow burn with this one.
cruise014 November 2019
2.5 out of 5 stars.

The third episode is a slow and weak one. The episode introduces a fun reference from the original Watchmen character. Which does not strike an interest or make it better. Kind of a disappointment. The script and direction is slow and very dragged on with the story. Almost feeling a little disappointed with Watchmen series. The best thing about it is the electronic music score by Trent and Atticus Ross.
13 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
First episode that wasn't horrible
chris-86-1147735 November 2019
The politics of this show are so trite and silly. Episode 3 is the first time the show actually plays with interesting source material. The fact that it centers around someone other than the horribly boring and melodramatic Regina King was a welcome change. I don't expect the show will stay this good. The level of on-the-nose exposition was unbearable, but anything is better than her pretending to have chemistry with her husband and then going off to be a totally implausible superhero. So far this show is barely better than unwatchable.
5 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Journal #3
thisisbs9114 November 2019
Exposition the episode. I've been sour on this so far, but hey there's some world building. You're telling things to me from character to character. But uh ok I'll take it. I have a crazy theory of what we'll see of ozzy, its just that they're all clones and ozzy made of clone of himself to live his own life. But nah that's way too cool to happen.

Nice intro to Silk Spectre, you can tell she's seen some crap. But this phone to Dr. Manhattan, don't think I get it. Overall its better? but not enthralled.
9 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Jumped in Episode 3
frenchcori9 November 2019
Caught episode 3 without seeing the other 2...I feel like they were not needed. Nonetheless I don't know what's going on. The agent seems interesting.
0 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed