The Code (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
115 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
A couple of comments and corrections
clubhaus-8124910 April 2019
This show could really use a military adviser.

Captain Maya Dobbins needs some advice on wearing the uniform. IE: No Marine ever wears their garrison cap and an angle. Really looked stupid.

The medical doctor was constantly referred to as Commander, while wearing the 2 full stripes on his uniform sleeve of a navy lieutenant, US Navy rank 0-3.

Two officer ranks in the US Navy can be addressed as Commander - a Lieutenant Commander, Navy rank O-4 with 2 full and one 1/2 stripe --- or a full Commander, Navy rank O-5 -- three full stripes.. An O-6 (4 full stripes) is a navy captain. The US Coast Guard used the same system as the navy.

In the Marines, along with the Army and Air Force O-3 officers are captains, O-4s are majors, O-5 are Lt Colonels, and O-6 are (full/bird) Colonels
44 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hopefully gets better
spf19719 April 2019
A very poorly done imitation of JAG/ A Few Good Men. Hopefully gets better or will end up being a mid season cancellation.
38 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Lots of problems
tmmurphy2810 April 2019
Where to start, male Marines hair would never be that long, Marines never walk around outside without wearing a cover (hat) nor do they walk around outside with their jackets unzipped. All the actors uniforms seem ill fitting and often wrinkled. I've been around Marines my whole life and none of these infractions would fly.
57 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Get your uniforms correct!
Carolinehealth10 April 2019
I was in the Navy for 28 years. One obvious error was the uniform worn by the medical doctor. He was called "Commander". The uniform he wore was that of a Lieutenant.
28 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Also, Hire a JAG Advisor
kgarnjost10 April 2019
As a former USAF JAG, I cannot recall any case where the prosecution was allowed to call the accused as a witness. The right against self incrimination is observed under the UCMJ.
35 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad... could be better... uniform and rank problems.
errekartis-389269 April 2019
As has been mentioned before, this show seems like a JAG reboot. Which is ok, since that show went away many years ago. Story was good, acting is ok. My big problem was uniform mistakes. In the 3rd scene where "Abe" request to prosecute the case. He is wearing the MC dress blue uniform, or more commonly known as "blues". One of the junior officers in the room asks him " What's with the clothes?!" No Marine would EVER say that. The Marine Corps dress blue uniform is a cornerstone of who the Marine Corps is. She would have said "Why are you in your blues?!" The other big mistake was the Base Surgeon's uniform. The Navy's officer blue uniform is adorned with gold bands around the lower portion of the sleeve. They kept addressing the accused as "Commander", O-4 grade, which is equivalent to a Lieutenant Colonel in all the other US branches of service. However he was wearing 2 gold bands which is equivalent to O-2 grade, Lieutenant (Navy)/Captain (all others). An actual Commander would have 3 gold bands not 2. Hopefully they'll improve the show by hiring a military technical advisor, to fix these problems.
35 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If You're Going to Act as a Marine...
AnActualMarine10 April 2019
Please look the part and observe the customs and curtesy's of ACTUAL Marines. Things like a haircut that is within regs, not putting your hands in your pockets, wearing kevlars and flack jackets while riding around in a HUMVEE.

These "Marines" are about as believable as Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny. Kevin Bacon was a more accurate portral of a Marine than these bozos...
49 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Huge goof with Rank.
newffer10 April 2019
Watching the new show the Code. They messed up big time. If they can not get the NAVY ranks right, the show will suck no matter what they do. If you saw it and caught it let me know. Showing rank of Lieutenant and calling someone Commander does not cut it with me.
23 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
They Need the Gunny
wmnvbob14 April 2019
They need R. Lee Emery to fix this. I am sure the Gunny is looking down on this in total dismay. I won't rehash the mistakes others have already addressed. I have been out of the Corps for 50 years. I know some things have changed but not this much. If the lead actor wants play a Marine Captain, he needs to be willing to get a haircut at least. Let me know when you shape up and I might come back.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Dull
pensman10 April 2019
Probably not fair to make a judgement after one episode but I expect to see a decent plot and characters I like enough to tune in again. The cast didn't have even a single character I found compelling and then there was no chemistry between characters. I didn't expect "A Few Good Men," but this was a ripoff without style. I don't know why CBS even went with this. A realize military drama is in style now but the Marines deserve better than this.
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The Code definitely needs to know the military
llythellenfender10 April 2019
Look as a marine I see things that most don't, but I can say the an 0-4 is the equivalent to a Major in the army and marines. Not picking on anyone just so you know. But I'm full agreement that they need to have military person come in and show them how the marines and navy do things and rank and customs and courtesy's, Where the uniforms properly would be very much appreciated.. my opinion is that this is just them trying to make a new Mac and harm and they can't. I love JAG had very talented actors and actresses.. don't think this show will make it..
27 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Get Marine Corps Technical Advice
davejessen-7072810 April 2019
As noted by others, this program is sorely in need of improving its Marine Corps / Navy accuracy. To pile on, Dobbins' garrison cap isn't square on her head and she wears her jacket with her zipper down. Disappointing for CBS to let this happen considering how well they do with accuracy in NCIS.

For errekartis-38926, Navy / USCG O-4s are equivalent to majors in the other services.
26 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
make the ranks of the personnel correct
sumner5_510 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The battalion doctor is supposed to be a Commander. The uniform he is wearing in courtroom , he has the rank of a lieutenant. get a military helper--
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Weak
rswunsch10 April 2019
I wanted to like this. I remember JAG. this was no JAG. Weak writing but even weaker acting. I honestly thought they might fall asleep at any time.

Maybe it'll get better but I seriously doubt it.
22 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
You have got to be kidding me!
jeeponthego10 April 2019
Did no one bother to get military advisors for this poor excuse of a show? They belittle my beloved Marine Corps!
32 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
They should've just brought back JAG, it would've been better.
lovettstough10 April 2019
This show is horribly terrible from the get go! They should've just rebooted JAG & brought JAG back. JAG was way better than this show. I am a U.S. MARINE so I noticed a lot of mistakes as far as rank & uniform & the way they addressed each other according to rank & it was all wrong. I don't see it making the cut but this is only after the first episode. Again they would've been better off & more successful if they just rebooted JAG & brought JAG back with some or all of the same actors & characters.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Do it right or don't do it at all
richieg510 April 2019
Here's a suggestion, hire a military advisor. This show has the ability to attract a huge veteran following, but we expect it to be as accurate as possible. Attention to detail... Uniform and lingo was AFU. I hope it gets better.
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Poor imitation
walt-8846010 April 2019
Uniforms, haircuts, rank designations all wrong. Hire a real adviser, fire the one that you have. There are a lot of former Marines in your area who could straighten you out. I can't comment on the ribbons, as they have changed since I got out, but they don't seem correct. Get a tailor in there for the Service "A" Greens! Way too many wrinkles. Navy Commanders wear three stripes on their sleeves, not two. Shooting badges are not worn with short sleeved shirts. Get your stuff together if you want an audience!
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Insulting to Anyone With Military or JAG Knowledge
rcanoy-0587011 April 2019
There's really not anything that this show actually gets correct. The actors pass for marine Officers about as well as a horse racing jockey passes for an NFL linebacker. While I don't expect a Hollywood dramatization to be 100% realistic and accurate, this show fails at even basic things. It sits at under 5% in realism where the previous JAG tv show was at least around 40%. At least JAG, by in large, seemed to care enough to get the ranks and rank insignia correct. I mean a Navy O-5 CDR in a O-3 LT's uniform? Marines with out of reg haircuts who don't know what their uniforms are called? A senior marine colonel lawyer who believes that people can be "found innocent" at trial? This information is all publicly available with a google search even if you can't afford a consultant. What makes it worse is that the show would actually be better and make more sense if they'd bothered to hire a consultant to make it a little more realistic. The "uniform code" as it's referred to in the show (it's not actually called that, rather U.C.M.J. is the accepted shorthand) that is portrayed is a mockery of the criminal process, when in reality it works very similar to a federal civilian trial. Trial procedures depicted here were far from accurate. Terminology was highly incorrect, uniforms incorrect, law incorrect...it is essentially unwatchable for anyone who has any knowledge of what military justice is really like.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A complete fail
andrewrye-0653511 April 2019
I could only get about 20 minutes into this and that was more than enough. It feels like a JAG wannabe and misses the mark by a country mile.

I won't go on about the incorrect uniforms and rankings, others have done that better than I could. I come from a military family (although not American) and know insubordination when I see it. A tardy officer late for a meeting whinges like a three old to get on a case after being told he wasn't on it. Hijacking a meeting, arguing with a superior officer to get his own way? Then completely taking over the prosecution and arguing his way into a war zone without permission from a senior officer? Riding in a open top vehicle in a war zone with no helmet? Standing with hands on hips and hands in pockets talking to a senior officer ? Why do they say 'with due respect' and then show no respect at all? This is a sham of a series and there is zero to like about the characters. The main character is rude to superiors, insubordinate to everyone and is allowed to get away with it. Garbage programme, without thought for any Military advisers.

For some reason programmes like this (SWAT is another one) are being churned out and are embarrassing to those that actually served.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Can't get much worse.
kstanton-3253810 April 2019
First the obvious. A Commander wearing Lieutenant sleeve stripes. Ribbons out of order. A female Marine wearing her overseas cap at a 45 degree angle like some Canadian RAF Airman in WW2. And the worst of all a subordinate LT mocking a Captain on at least three occasions during a staff meeting. But best of all her comment: "What's with the clothes?" when that Captain walks in wearing his Dress Uniform. No Marine talks like that to a superior and no senior Marine Officer would take it. Marines outside with no covers on, hands in their pockets, jackets unzipped, and haircuts way out of limits and Marine Military Police/Master at Arms sitting down while under arms and guarding a prisoner and on and on. Then we get to the two protagonists who can only be described as Harm and Mac Light from the old series JAG. This can only be described as a poor attempt to relive the magic that JAG was. The dialogue is lame, only a poor attempt at fleshing out the characters, and actors who have no clue about Marine values, traditions or behavior. They act like they're a bunch of Millenials working at some loosely loosely law firm who just happen to wear uniforms. As a Veteran, loyal viewer of all 10 years of JAG, and one who believes you disrespect the military by not caring enough about getting things right this gets one more chance in the next episode. If no change, I'd rather watch reruns of Leave it to Beaver.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Desperatly in need of a real Marine technical advisor
mcliffvt12 April 2019
Very poor copy of JAG right down the character formula (Harm, injured fighter pilot forced into JAG and Abe a wounded infantry officer same same).

I agree with all the comments regarding uniform screw ups. Capt. Dobbins looked like some retro 1940's USO singer with her garrison cover worn at a jaunty angle, not realistic. No Marine, male or female would wear any cover like that.

A non-citizen may enlist in the US military but may not become a commissioned or warrant office. So warrant officer Rami Ahmadi is just not accurate.

If this show is going to attempt to even begin to portray Marine JAG operation they had best hires a good Marine technical advisor ASAP.

One of the things about JAG, NCIS and SEAL team that make them watchable is the accuracy of the uniforms, customs and courtesy, vocabulary. Marines calling a uniform clothes is just about the stupidest lines I ever heard.

I am not optimistic about this shows future.

p.s. None of the lead characters looked anything like the Marines I served with. All pretty faces with no character, but I guess that's Hollywood. Have any of the actors in this series ever served in uniform so that they might understand how Marines interact with one another?
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
They need a new military adviser
robinmichaelbabcock11 April 2019
Why did a Navy Commander (as they called him) have the stripes of a Navy Lieutenant? The USMC issues have been thoroughly covered by others.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Get some Marine technical advisor help
michaelp-5023411 April 2019
First off, I'm a Marine veteran and was thoroughly disappointed in several things. The uniforms need to be fitted better. They looked baggy, unkempt and totally out of sorts. Marines never go into public looking messy, Second, the Marine Corps is the only branch of service that requires wearing your cover, hat, at all times out of doors and the only one that requires removing it indoors. Many scenes had your pretty boys and women without covers out doors. Third, when a an officer is seen out of doors, operative word is seen, that officer is to be saluted by less senior officers or enlisted personnel. Get a grip on real Marines and the real Corps.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Shames the Corps
mcnamaraj-266-95879310 April 2019
They couldn't even get the ranks right. This will be very short-lived if this doesn't get better.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed