Reef Break (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
72 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
It's a little corny, but fun.
NicoletteSteele21 June 2019
I'll skip the synopsis of the show, because that's not what a review is. Reef Break is a light, dramedy that leans slightly to the corny side. Normally I would slam the corniness, but it works here. Maybe it's the beachy set and setting. Or maybe it's the airy vibe a summer series craves. Either way, I found myself enjoying it and look forward to the next episode. For the most part, the cast is great. Some pairings feel forced, while others have incredible potential. Reef Break is a nice "break" from the police/medical/dark crime shows on the air and so far, it's off to a good start.
47 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun!
MJG33330 June 2019
I really like Poppy Montgomery, I really like this show... people should give this a try definitely worth it!
26 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
If it's supposed to be in the US at least use left hand drive cars!
davepasnthru28 June 2019
Like ramsey-48408 said I don't understand why they couldn't just set it in Australia where it is obviously filmed. As it is it's largely a series of good to bad American accents and the occasional US flag on someone's shoulder to say...SEE! It's America. They couldn't even get the steering wheels on the correct side for the US.

My advice is just to let the Australian accent fly and there would be a great improvement!
23 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Guilty pleasure material...
Strudi7421 June 2019
This is one of those shows that you probably won't admit to your friends you watch but set the timer for every week. Yes it's cheesy but the setting is gorgeous, the acting is solid and makes you feel a bit warm and fuzzy afterwards. It has a bit of a throwback feel to shows like Tropical Heat which brings some nostalgia with the modern feel. Recommended.
40 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Cancel this Mess
cockezville30 June 2019
This is one of the cheesiest shows summer has offered. And the American accents on some of cast are horrifying. Poppy plays the same damn character every time. all smart Alec and little anything else. I liked Unforgettable, but this series needs to stay on the Reef. It is bad TV
28 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hard to Like.
katntrek-5516529 June 2019
Poppy Montgomery's character, Cat Chambers, is so arrogant it's hard to like her. Ruins the show for me. Great scenery though.
28 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Why is Montgomery Getting Worse as an Actress?
b_clerkin19 July 2019
When she was in her first US series, Without a Trace, she was very credible - her American accent and acting were really believable - maybe due to being surrounded by good actors, including foreigners who could nail an American accent in Marianne Jean-Baptiste and fellow Ozzie Anthony la Paglia, whose Emmy proves his skill. Her native accent began to slip in in Unforgettable, and so did her annoying habit of being a flippant, reckless hair tossing coquette, which gets really old really fast. The credibility level of that show - as far as plausible situations and believable police procedures - was far below that of Without a Trace, but it was still entertaining.

With this mess, a lazy, half-assed attempt to present a breezy, escapist show for summer audiences, clearly created by using a formula written by committee (Cute lead character name? Check? Potentially interesting, if convoluted, backstory to reveal piecemeal to keep viewers coming back? Check. Criminal with a heart of gold? Check. Cops with feet of clay? Check. Strong women with mad varied skills like hand to hand combat and nurturing? Check. Lots of nasty rich people playing with expensive toys to gin up class envy? Check. Diverse enough for the woke community? Check)

Poppy's actiing has declined even further - her acting is by turns, mannered and affected, or smug and jejune - not becoming on a woman of her age. Sure, it is great to see a normal looking woman in clothing that actual women wear to the beach, but her arrested adolescence undermines anyone's ability to take her seriously. Any comparisons to Hawaii Five-O, the original or current, is a gross insult - as that show, as over the top as it can be, at least has cohesive writing and somewhat plausible plots and far more talented actors.

Poppy's character behaves as though she is the only person with a functioning brain or moral compass in the Southern hemisphere, let alone on The Reef. The rest of them are mediocre actors or worse, save the burly Irishman Ray Stevenson, who plays the soon to be ex-husband who lied to her about being an undercover Fed and who now answerable to nobody even though he still seems to be a working agent. Any scene he is in makes the rest of the actors in it look even more lame, even though he allows Cat to lead him around by his, well... you know.

The guy who plays the horny cub to her cougar is definitely tasty eye candy, except for his execrable hair - it just hangs there in thin strings glued together above his shoulders. I hate man buns when they are not on a samurai, but I found myself begging this clown to bundle that raggedy mess up! Plus he is so wooden, he could be confused with a mast on one of the many sailboats populating Reef Island (really, who names an independent island nation something so banal - is it on the Wet Sea?)

Melissa Bonne, who plays Cat's cohort/nemesis, is the second best actor after Stevenson, but her character needs only a Snidely Whiplash mustache that she can put on and off between being an amoral political hack for a creepy politician and a Strong Female showing her vulnerability as she fights the sisterhood bond she feels from Cat.

I won't even get started with the monumentally lazy work by the writers and producers, who cannot even be bothered with continuity, let alone making sure that the cars are on the correct side of the road. Other people have done a stellar job pointing out that egregiousness.

It is not even awful enough to be So Bad It's Good - which at least affords viewers the opportunity for unintended hilarity. No, it is just bad. I would not be surprised if Poppy's next effort includes the talent free Rachelle Lefevre, whose last series was atrocious, despite the presence of a lot more talent than Poppy's co-stars. It must be the red hair and curvy bodies that keep production and casting companies hiring them. However, we know Poppy CAN and HAS done better, Lefevre just continues to demonstrate her shortcomings as an actor.

So, if you want something for background noise and pretty pictures, with a little bit of a train wreck from which you cannot look away, keep this on in the background when you are working or doing something else that requires minimal attention.
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Incredible!
MycroftHolmes23 June 2019
By that I mean this show is not credible.

Somehow in the first five minutes a wounded fleeing bank robber has somehow gotten onto a flight with not only a bagful of cash, but also a gun! Not only that, there's a Federal Air Marshal on the plane who doesn't notice. But fear not, our heroic leading lady helps capture him, so the Federal Marshal allows her to steal a bundle of money! It's all good because she gave him a knowing wink. When you are as wonderful as she is you can just help yourself to $10,000 or so. This was the point I turned it off.
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolutely horrible!
mapanari1 August 2019
The worst new show on TV. I used to love Poppy, but this smartalec, surgery enhanced implanted character is terrible. I tried to watch the whole 1st epi, but had to flee in horrified fear to come down off my shivering, sweating shakes by watching a little less horrifying show, CNN news. I'm mariginally better now, thank you.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Point Break meets the Gold Coast or Something?
royspray-125 June 2019
This show is stupid bad. Shame on ABC. I thought at first I had somehow stumbled upon a horrible show from the other ABC. but nope. This is all on the great network. Home to Grand Hotel, The Bachelorette, Card Sharks and you name it. Every time I think they couldn't make a worse show. I seriously think every writer, producer and director of what they put out are crinkly old white dudes.
18 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time
reignpdx25 June 2019
Bad acting, cheesy plot lines, fake tropical island. This couldn't be worse me don't waste your time
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Predictable AND boring
alex3277122 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It was already said, smartass woman knows everything (with little to no info) and boom, TV is reporting and boom, all bad boys care about it. Then the nowadays needed single-woman-having-one-night-stand-with-younger-man scenes, add some FBI or SEAL ex-husband (who stays in a lovely friendship with his ex) and you have a TV show. Just make some stunning scenery available and the story will not be really important. After all, the protagonist will save the world on her own. Well, that's not enough for me. If I want to see Magnum, I will watch Magnum, but the original series. So I will give this another shot, cause sometimes TV shows need about four episodes to get settled.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It's just so bad
thesylvaing29 July 2019
We tried to give it a chance. Watched the first 2 episodes but can't watch any more. Terrible acting and story lines.Just bad.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Just another regurgitated show
brad-eauclaire17 July 2019
Crime mystery in a tropical climate...where have I seen this 100 times before ? Cheesy...boring .... Dialogue is corny
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
nooo
ramsey-4840821 June 2019
I was looking forward to this series but having watched the first episode it's a bit of a miss for me, filmed in Australia with Australian actors using American accents, what a shame because it could have been a good show if they had have allowed the setting to be Australian.
21 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The Same Foolish Nonsense
he8821 June 2019
Once again we have a good looking smartass who like cracking remarks while acting fearless. We have a first episode that was completely predictable all the way through (Which was enough to take it off future recording). It's just another like a female Magnum PI, and every other beach detective series rolled into one. You know. locations with beautiful people as lead characters doing extremely dumb things and succeeding anyway. It is the same foolish foremat they keep using time and again. Actually the first five minutes on the plane after landing tells you EXACTLY what kind of nonesense you are in for. Just a lot of cheese and foolishness.
22 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Inconceivable
missesaw-770-22061116 August 2019
....or I would have thought, but someone actually conceived this inconceivable idiocracy (and I don't mean the movie, that was good). This show does nothing but "celebrate the idiot, pretend we are so into it".

I can't even say what it's "worse than", because in all my tv time -- from back in the day when there were only 3 channels -- I've never seen anything this bad. I gotta go wash out my eyes....and ears. Ugh.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst show I've seen this year
boblawicki22 June 2019
Wonder how many doubles they use for poppy doesn't matter they all suck
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Pretty bad...
eyesore-8705128 July 2019
Simplistic plots with childish banter garnished with forced acting. No thanks.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Pretty Pathetic, but...
drglenn-127 July 2019
Terrible story lines, fairly poor acting, completely sophomoric - but Poppy is still somehow cute, so I watch it anyway.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's not good
shalafi012 July 2019
Terrible acting. Characters are not likable. Writing is awful as is the cinematography. It feels as if the took bad ideas off a cutting room floor and decided to make this show. The connections made between the characters seems completely forced. I can only assume that between takes, they don't converse or try to bond in any way. Main character has no on screen charisma. Just all around, a terrible show.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Cheesy
Veritas9928 June 2019
....and so very predictable, that it gets boring...The scenery is beautiful, you can watch if you want to see beaches and waves, the rest is just like a 10 year old's theatre project.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A fun show that just works
mccall-55 August 2019
My girlfriend and I love watching this show. It is definitely not to be taken too seriously, but it is fun. The acting is good, in some cases great. Poppy Montgomery is actually a perfect fit for the lead role, and Ray Stevenson is terrific. Suspend disbelief and enjoy!
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
ABC's answer to Hawaii Five-0
MiketheWhistle21 June 2019
It's pretty obvious that this is ABC's answer to CBS's Hawaii Five-0. You've got a person who's loose with the law to make the law serve justice all in a great beach location. Having said that, it seems like it could be a fun show with a couple of faces I recognize including Poppy who is a great actress.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Same on a major network for putting this out.
orr-5439324 June 2019
I would have gave this 2 stars but the setting is nice so one may watch for that and not have to worry about the bad writing and acting. It is a shame that a small network like TNT can produce a great show like Animal Kingdom and a major network like ABC can only put out this trash. If you want to see a better show than Reef Break then check out Animal Kingdom.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed