"SpongeBob SquarePants" SpongeBob's Big Birthday Blowout (TV Episode 2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Fantastic and a great tribute!
plarailguy13 July 2019
This episode was a perfect way to celebrate the show's 20th Anniversary and a tribute to Stephen Hillenburg the show's creator who sadly passed away from November 2018. Sandy and the others were planning to decorate SpongeBob's house for his party and Patrick has to take SpongeBob on a bus tour to the surface. The surface parts were goofy, fast paste, and funny at the same time. Meanwhile Sandy and the others were planning to decorate his house, but it was ugly and there was a fight and the party collapse. Nice to see Patchy, David Hasselhoff, and Frenchie in this special. The Trusty Slab was wacky and fun to watch the voice actors doing their characters' personality from the show. The ending has to be the best part as it features Patchy meeting SpongeBob as his wish came true after all these years trying to meet SpongeBob in person. The ending also features special guests as they say "Happy Birthday" to SpongeBob. The very end says "Thank you Steve Hillenburg" as this special is a tribute to him as he created the best kids show since the late 90's.
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My favorite of the post 2004 movie episodes
mjjmacs14 July 2019
This episode had me laughing almost as much as some movies before the 2004 movie. It just had that older episode humor that always made us laugh, with a few cameos of old famous gags thrown in. I also loved seeing the voice actors acting out their characters in person for a skit. Overall was an extremely enjoyable episode and I hope there can be more as funny as this one down the line.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best.
saccool13 July 2019
They couldn't have done a better episode to celebrate Spongebob's 20th Birthday!!

Having the voice actors participate the way they did was amazing! I could watch an entire episode like that.
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
gvasquez-5609013 July 2019
This special was very good and I liked that they honored Hillenburg at the end. The best SpongeBob special of all time and I definitely recommend.
20 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A wonderful episode.
It's a little slow in places, and there are a lot of parts I can skip, and some painfully predictable jokes, but there are a lot of great lines, great jokes and great special effects. The ending was really sweet.

By the way, SpongeBob is 33.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best Spongebob episode since Season 3
jonseitz11413 July 2019
This special is Truth or Square done right. Everything about it is perfect, it feels like if this was the last episode of Spongebob it would be the perfect note to go out on. Sadly it is still going on, but at least it has been better as of 2015. There are lots of easter eggs and cameos from characters from the beginning of the series to Season 11. There are even a couple celebrity cameos and most of the main cast make live action appearances. This episode was a perfect dedication to Steve Hillenburg.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Happy Birthday Spongebob
loweree-5160914 July 2019
Loved this special!!! I really enjoyed seeing all the character voices. My favorite next to Band geeks.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Outsanding & Sponge-tastic
j-marrero13 July 2019
I loved every minute of this special, it was a great tribute/love letter to the creator Stephen Hillenberg (especially towards the end) , i totally recommend this & also Thank U Stephen Hillenberg for your legacy of Spongebob
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The new best SpongeBob episode
dedennecheesier13 July 2019
This episode was super funny and entertaining. It has the best ending to an episode ever (maybe besides band geeks). New SpongeBob is really picking up it's steam again.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sublime. Stephen would've been proud.
transfo12 September 2019
Barring some minor cringey moments, this episode has heart and is a fitting tribute to the show, its characters, and its creators. Many classic characters appear and they're handled very well. Some of the live action parts are terrible (the bean party) but the Trusty Slab was perfect. Such a joy to see all the voice actors and actresses on screen together. The episode ends with a thank you to Steve, a fitting end for a great episode.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The scenes with the voice actors make the episode
AttorneyJenn5 October 2019
Honestly, most of the episode was cringeworthy and too terrible for even small children to laugh. But, for those of us adults still forced to endure the show, the scenes filmed with the voice actors playing alternate versions of their characters made viewing all worth while. I would encourage the writers to expand upon those scenes and make a full length episode in the same spirit. Thank you for the brief taste of something truly enjoyable and different.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thank you steve hillenburg!!!
tonwarzq30 September 2019
Thie episode was AMAZING so funny so enjoyable and cool and NOT BORING AND NOT DECENT and not like truth or square.Spongebob quarepants never forget in my mind. Best childhood memorise in my life. THANK YOU STEVE FOR MAKING BEST childhood memorise. I hope you always happy.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Vile
maritolucha13 July 2019
The episode is mediocre like Truth or Square. The only thing that can save this episode is the ending.
5 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Definitely not the best Spongebob scpecial by far
carsonfrederick8 August 2019
This episode definitely did not feature the classic sponge we have all come to love. Spongebob as well as the other characters have lost their personality. And the tour guide, don't even get me started. That character was an embarassment to have been in a Spongebob episode. If you want to watch the best Spongebob special I recomend Shanghaied I would give that one a 10. The reason I give this one a 7 is because it did feature a decent ammount of cameos that were enjoyable.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed